Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lonely drink

• 03-09-2016 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭

Just curious how many of you are enjoying a lonely drink in front of the screen tonight? Jeez I think this has gotten beyond miserable, but I can't be arsed going out to those crowded pubs and banging music. Netflix, red wine and boards for me. Any more losers on the night shift here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

In Ireland, having a few quiet beers at home instead of drinking 20 pints in a nightclub definitely makes you a sad alcoholic.

Get help, pal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I was doing same until a couple of buddies called over out of the blue. It's grand but a few times I've gotten totally blotto alone which is worrying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

UFC and a bottle of wine!
    Loving life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i'm enjoying myself watching the saps getting soaked at EP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Peroni and Mrs Doubtfire...maybe she counts as company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

op there is an aa type group on here that may be able to offer support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    op there is an aa type group on here that may be able to offer support.

Having a drink at home alone on a Saturday night doesn't make you more of an alcoholic than someone who might drink 3 or 4 times as much out with friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Denial usually comes first. Dont ley it beat you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭zSparc

Ah come on, I'm doing a server migration right now and I have to be available for any work-related calls. It's just boring, so I enriched the evening with a few glasses, what's wrong with that.
    The point is, though, that I find it extremely miserable to stay in, work and drink on my own. I'd love to say "back in the day", but I won't...

It's my "Richard Cheese" evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'm having a glass of Japanese whiskey.

Nothing lonely about it though. Just relaxing.

osarusan wrote: »
    I'm having a glass of Japanese whiskey.
    Sake? How does it taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

zSparc wrote: »
    Just curious how many of you are enjoying a lonely drink in front of the screen tonight? Jeez I think this has gotten beyond miserable, but I can't be arsed going out to those crowded pubs and banging music. Netflix, red wine and boards for me. Any more losers on the night shift here?

Joining you man. Still have half bottle of red here.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Joining you man. Still have half bottle of red here.

Be my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Having a bottle of red wine OP. Sláinte to all having a drink too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Sake? How does it taste?

Really do need to get out more if you think Japanese whisky is sake dude...

............................................________ ....................................,.-'"...................``~., .............................,.-"..................................."-., .........................,/...............................................":, .....................,?......................................................, .................../...........................................................,} ................./......................................................,:`^`..} .............../...................................................,:"........./ ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../ ............./__.(....."~-,_..............................,:`........../ .........../(_...."~,_........"~,_....................,:`........_/ ..........{.._$;_......"=,_......."-,_.......,.-~-,},.~";/....} ...........((.....*~_......."=-._......";,,./`..../"............../ ...,,,___.`~,......"~.,....................`.....}............../ ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-" ............/.`~,......`-...................................../ .............`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....,__ ,,_..........}.>-._...................................|..............`=~-, .....`=~-,__......`,................................. ...................`=~-,,.,............................... ................................`:,,...........................`..............__ .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==`` ........................................_..........._,-%.......` ...................................,

Something didnt work well here...

Really do need to get out more if you think Japanese whisky is sake dude...

Well while I agree, I have to say that japanese whisky isn't most popular commodity. I'm only into Japanese movies, not drinks. Sorry bro.

Sake? How does it taste?

Not sake, whiskey. This whiskey, to be exact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭dragona

American Horror Story and some Johnny Walker Double Black :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

There's no E in that whisk(e)y

dragona wrote: »
    American Horror Story and some Johnny Walker Double Black :)

Ohh I miss me old good JW... I have a pub across the road, might pop out in me slippers and get a naggin under the counter.

By the way, I just bumped into http://watch5s.com/

I didnt know it's legal, did any of you come across it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Am in the middle of a 17-day working trip to Bahrain - haven't had a beer in ten days, probably won't for another week.

Feck off!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Am in the middle of a 17-day working trip to Bahrain - haven't had a beer in ten days, probably won't for another week.

Feck off!
    I don't get it, I thought tolerance works both ways...

Oh, wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

Count your lucky starts. I was going to nip out and grab a few tins and got waylay-ed and now I'm left nursing a pint of ribena...

Grumble, grumble. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 captain dildano

Is that Whisky any good @Osarusan? I might get my Dad a bottle. He's an aficionado of Whisk(e)y.

Also, what's Sake like? I'm gonna go out on a limb and assume you've tasted it.
    ?

Is that Whisky any good @Osarusan? I might get my Dad a bottle. He's an aficionado of Whisk(e)y.

Also, what's Sake like? I'm gonna go out on a limb and assume you've tasted it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

You know you've had enough when you can't repeat this;

"Whiskey makes you well when you're sick.
    Whisky when you're well makes you sick."

Damn. Sorry about the double post. Some really weird sh!t going on when I tried to edit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Captain Morgans and Gilmore Girls on Netflix.
    Been living in outer Dublin area a few years now and any friends I had around here have all moved home/elsewhere so weekends like this when himself is gone to visit the family, it's just me and the dog. Never thought my late 20s would be so thrilling!
    Cheers big ears ;)

Absolut pear vodka is lovely. I would never have thought so, but I'm having to switch from beer due to gassy stomach issues. I'm really surprised at how nice it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

Red wine and a movie.. babysitters and a night out need serious planning...

cbyrd wrote: »
    Red wine and a movie..
    What movie?

Also, what's Sake like? I'm gonna go out on a limb and assume you've tasted it.
    ?

That one is quite good, but strong at 51%.

I've moved on to this one which is nice but too sweet.

Sake, like anything else, depends on the maker.

The best I've ever tasted was superb, and cost plenty, but you can also but 4 litres of sake for about 14 euro, so you can imagine how that tastes.

The Cool wrote: »
    Never thought my late 20s would be so thrilling!
    Well that cheered me up a bit, I'm 39.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

zSparc wrote:
    What movie?

The love punch. Tg4 .. easy watching funny..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I have a mental picture of you now...

cbyrd wrote: »
    The love punch. Tg4 .. easy watching funny..

I went through this tonight:

Fantastic. And I love the sountrack too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I'm like that a lot since I reached my Thirties OP, think I'll buy a VR headset next LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots

Skype club with a couple of mates. Admittadly one mate has joined us late as he was at a party and is now trying to force Tomorrowland videos on us. We're trying to enjoy EP but he's having none of it. We need a bouncer to throw him out soon. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Do it all the time. Bottle of wine and flick through the channels. Found some great films that way.

Drinking alone does not make you an alcoholic or sad or a loner.

Some of us like the solitude to unwind. Could not be arsed with going out every Fri or Sat since I hit 26.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I'm 50. My husband sits up by himself a couple nights a week drinking beer and watching films on TV, which is fine with me because he also smokes and it always makes me sneeze, cough, and get a sore throat if I'm in the room with him. Tonight he's turned in early with a sore head and I'm up sipping a dram of something Scottish, single malt, and expensive. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

DVD-Lots wrote: »
    Skype club with a couple of mates. Admittadly one mate has joined us late as he was at a party and is now trying to force Tomorrowland videos on us. We're trying to enjoy EP but he's having none of it. We need a bouncer to throw him out soon. :)

EP is hardly cutting edge these days but Tomorrowland? FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Had drinks at the flicks. Popcorn, NoBo and beer. An interesting combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots

nocoverart wrote: »
    EP is hardly cutting edge these days but Tomorrowland? FFS!

Now he has grabbed his acoustic and is playing the same chord over and over again. Just like at festival with some randomer at 5am........:cool:

Speedwell wrote: »
    I'm 50.
    To be honest that makes no difference.
    Although me being 39 I'd love a 50'ish lady to pop out with me some time, quality time, much better than cheap girls in their 20's if you ask me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I played a very unfit preseason 90 minutes earlier so these old legs had no intention of leaving the house this evening. Picked up 4 bottles of shipyard american on the way home. Tried to watch the UFC card but (8 months preggers)mrsTeal was not having the very substandard card so we started on Narcos season 2 instead. Her ladyship is now in slumberland so I'm enjoying my last bottle while watching college football. . .and an enjoyable evening was had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭scooby77

Few cans and watching "See no evil, Hear no evil" again for 1st time in 20 years given the week that's in it. Couldn't tempt herself to watch, so yep drinking on my own and enjoying a great film☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I didn't want my drink to get lonely so I made sure it had company :)