Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever bring a bit of blow on holidays ?

• 23-08-2016 8:04pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭

Being a recovering Alcoholic I enjoy a smoke on holidays. I only get a Q twice a year, Holidays and a bit for xmas. I just throw it in my toilet bag and always on check in luggage. total value 25 euro. I would only bring a bit if travelling in Europe but would not try Turkey (Midnight Express :eek:) nor US or Asia.
    Yes I am drug smuggling 25 euro worth for myself.
    Anyway, My question is, I have done this for years, But, If I was caught with that amount in Europe what would happen ? Ruined holiday ? Prison ?
    For some reason I don't think it's worth it anymore, my luck is bound to end !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Blow?
    Smoke?

Isnts blow cocaine?
    Can you smoke cocaine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Would you not stick it up your arse to feel like a proper drug smuggler?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Would you not stick it up your arse to feel like a proper drug smuggler?

I'm sure that would give the smoke an interesting aroma!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Is that you, Michaella?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I have no idea what you're on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Just buy it when you get there, absolutely nothing you can be charged with anywhere in Europe anyway.

Don't mess with the travel part of it, not worth it.

We were on j1 in college and one of the lads brought some on a flight between New York and Vegas which I thought was stupid, he didn't tell any of us either

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

eeguy wrote: »
    Blow?
    Smoke?

Isnts blow cocaine?
    Can you smoke cocaine?
    Lump of hash not cocaine. I would never send you shopping !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I doubt your boot hash would even be detected if a sniffer dog smoked it

Do people still smoke hash?

I thought that went away in the early 2000s, along with bootcut jeans and dial-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

chillin117 wrote: »
    Lump of hash not cocaine. I would never send you shopping !

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Blow

2. Blow - Cocaine

erm.. are you sure you've been smoking the right stuff?

bmwguy wrote: »
    Just buy it when you get there, absolutely nothing you can be charged with anywhere in Europe anyway.
    Tried that in Washington once after a while we knew your man was leading us down a dark alley type scenario so we legged it. Don't like looking when I don't know the lingo, area, people etc

I doubt your boot hash would even be detected if a sniffer dog smoked it
    Its just in cling film, surrounded by usb sticks, chargers,Lynx etc !

mrcheez wrote: »
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Blow

2. Blow - Cocaine

erm.. are you sure you've been smoking the right stuff?

It says Bovril on the Buses but they don't sell it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Back in the 1990s I often brought a few bags of grass home from Amsterdam, back when good grass was rare enough here. Maybe IR£30/40 each time.

I haven't smoked any of that sort of stuff in a long, long time but I imagine that with the way airport security is these days the chances of being nabbed are much greater than back in the 90s.

On a side note - blow is term used for cocaine in North America. Here, blow was a term for hash. Again, this is 1990s speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Pim Pictus

Blow was always hash in Dublin. I wouldn't trust American slang after an incident with a fanny over there anyway.

Apt user name OP

crosstownk wrote: »
    Back in the 1990s I often brought a few bags of grass home from Amsterdam, back when good grass was rare enough here. Maybe IR£30/40 each time.

I haven't smoked any of that sort of stuff in a long, long time but I imagine that with the way airport security is these days the chances of being nabbed are much greater than back in the 90s.

An a side note - blow is term used for cocaine in North America. Here, blow was a term for hash. Again, this is 1990s speak.
    Thanks for being mellow...man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

I bring yokes out to Spain all the time if I am going on a dance weekend. No problem, if you are going to be nabbed it will be on the Spanish side. I really could not give a flying about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Blow?!
    Easy there Harvey Keitel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Toots wrote: »
    I'm sure that would give the smoke an interesting aroma!

Most of what people smoke has been up a few different asses(mules) or worse places so the aroma would be the least of my worries if I was to buy any blow or hash or whatever the cool cats call it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

bmwguy wrote: »

Don't mess with the travel part of it, not worth it.

+1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

pudzey101 wrote: »
    +1 :D

Oh Pudzey, you didn't...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Pim Pictus

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Most of what people smoke has been up a few different asses(mules) or worse places so the aroma would be the least of my worries if I was to buy any blow or hash or whatever the cool cats call it now.

Do you reckon the lads are sticking Spar bags full of bud up their hoops to get it from the grow house in Leitrim to the mean streets of Greystones undetected?

When I was a nipper it was sometimes called ''Draw'' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Diddley Squat

When I was backpacking years ago , I fly from Singapore to Australia and there was this young English lad (about 18) and his bird on the same flight.

He brought his bong and a bag of weed seeds from London to Singapore and on then to Australia.
    He got busted in Perth airport on the flight from Singapore.

They just took it off him and he wasn't fazed. I tried explaining to him how bloody lucky he was not to have been caught in Singapore - he laughed at me .
    Then I laughed at him - the knob would have done a couple of year stretch for that.
    Another English guy nicked a pair of sunglasses in the airport shop - got sent down for a month or two I heard

When I was backpacking years ago , I fly from Singapore to Australia and there was this young English lad (about 18) and his bird on the same flight.

He brought his bong and a bag of weed seeds from London to Singapore and on then to Australia.

They just took it off him and he wasn't fazed. I tried explaining to him how bloody lucky he was not to have been caught in Singapore - he laughed at me .
    Then I laughed at him - the knob would have done a couple of year stretch for that.
    Another English guy nicked a pair of sunglasses in the airport shop - got sent down for a month or two I heard
    Theres playing the game then theres being a gob****e..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Has no one seem that Johnny Depp movie "Blow" about smuggling cocaine? That's always my frame of reference for the usage of the word!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Take it through in your mouth, maybe a 10 spot either side... and in the unlikely event of someone noticing, you could just swallow them with a drop of water.

btw, does the smoke help coming off the booze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Dublinaccount

VonLuck wrote: »
    Has no one seem that Johnny Depp movie "Blow" about smuggling cocaine? That's always my frame of reference for the usage of the word!

The oft use phrase 'hookers and blow' is usually associated with the suited gentleman, business and limousines.

Marijuana of course doesn't fit in that picture.

Marijuana goes with twix bars, and mouldy couches.

So blow must be cocaine.

or possibly clarky cats.

Also from memory the pornographic series 'hookers and blow' had, for its cover, a young lady indulging of cocaine which is carefully balanced in a line on a gifted gentlemans member.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Isn't there a potential death penalty in one of the south Asian countries for drug smuggling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Diddley Squat

Yes ..... thats Singapore.
    They stamp it on your passport on the way in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The oft use phrase 'hookers and blow' is usually associated with the suited gentleman, business and limousines.

Marijuana of course doesn't fit in that picture.

Marijuana goes with twix bars, and mouldy couches.

So blow must be cocaine.

or possibly clarky cats.

Also from memory the pornographic series 'hookers and blow' had, for its cover, a young lady indulging of cocaine which is carefully balanced in a line on a gifted gentlemans member.

Clarky cats? Much better to have some triple sod or yellow bentines. Maybe even some boz-boz. It's a pity that that cake is so hard to find these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

Maybe the OP should give up the blow if he or she's a recovering alcoholic.
    Having an addictive personality will only entice him or her to take risks and do stupid things.

The thing is if you get caught it'll bring all kinds of trouble and anxiety on yourself,could end up picking up a drink again.

100% clean and sober might not be a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I'm highly addicted to Nestle's 'Almond Oats & More' cereal. There must be cocaine or heroin in it or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Mate of mine used to stick a bit of hash into his sock when we'd be travelling to the mainland in the late 90s early 00s, we'd sometimes fly to Bristol or Cardiff, or on other occasions get the ferry to Holyhead.

Never caught.

But then one time I was coming through Holyhead, heading back, and we were running a bit late for the ferry so I was running through the terminal when the Welsh polis pulled me aside and did one of them drug swab things on my holdall style bag, the computer beeped and flashed red and I had to empty me smalls all over the counter.

They did another swab on my passport, and it too came back positive. For COCAINE. Now, I've never taken coke in me life, but I had to explain that only a month previous I'd done a bit of a touristy trip from San Diego down into Tijuana, and a strip club in TJ may have been on the itinerary.

They eventually let me on the ferry when they obviously found nothing in me bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

You can buy drugs anywhere in europe ,
    how stupid do you need to be to bring 20 euros worth of blow,
    when going to an airport ,through intensive security checks .
    You risk missing your flight or being arrested .
    blow =cocaine , ordinary people call cannabis hash or ganja .
    people in arabian countrys have been sent to prison for carrying
    a few cent worth of hash in their luggage .
    Imagine going to prison for a year or more for a few cents worth of hash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

To answer you question, pretty much every time.

I wrap enough for maybe 3 joints in a skin and make a little pack that I keep in my pocket.

One time I had it in my carry on bag and walk right past a dog, he didn't react at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

IF you are going to or from australia .you,ll stop off in abu dhabi ,
    You might get arrested for 50 cent worth of hash ,
    so whats the point of carrying hash.
    When it can be bought in just about any country you might go to as a tourist ?
    Is it some kind of thrill from the risk of getting stopped .
    See nothing to declare tv program, they have dogs going past travelers in queue,s looking for drugs .
    most luggage goes thru scanning machines too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Mate of mine used to stick a bit of hash into his sock when we'd be travelling to the mainland in the late 90s early 00s, we'd sometimes fly to Bristol or Cardiff, or on other occasions get the ferry to Holyhead.

Never caught.

But then one time I was coming through Holyhead, heading back, and we were running a bit late for the ferry so I was running through the terminal when the Welsh polis pulled me aside and did one of them drug swab things on my holdall style bag, the computer beeped and flashed red and I had to empty me smalls all over the counter.

They did another swab on my passport, and it too came back positive. For COCAINE. Now, I've never taken coke in me life, but I had to explain that only a month previous I'd done a bit of a touristy trip from San Diego down into Tijuana, and a strip club in TJ may have been on the itinerary.

They eventually let me on the ferry when they obviously found nothing in me bag.

Do you guys live on the Aran Islands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I'm highly addicted to Nestle's 'Almond Oats & More' cereal. There must be cocaine or heroin in it or something.

You're not far off. Its laced with sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Blow? Here in these parts we called hash "Bit of shmoke"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

justshane wrote: »
    Do you guys live on the Aran Islands?

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the tub of brylcreem hide many secret

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Years ago I arrived at Dublin airport to fly to Amsterdam. I was stoned (We had a joint before the flight to get started) and in the airport I found a quarter of hash in my pocket. I got an envelope and posted it back to myself. I was not going to be the first person arrested for bring drugs into Amsterdam. It never arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

When I was 15 I brought some grass back from London. Was bricking it in Heathrow. Getting on the plane I felt that Billy Hayes, and that at any second the runway would be flooded with cop cars and I'd be pulled from my seat and brought off to Wormwood Scrubs. Sweat was dripping of me. Dublin I was no better. Was sure some sniffer dog would come pounding out of nowhere and start barking at my jacket pocket.

Nothing happened though. That was the long and short of my career as a drug smuggler though. Don't think I'd have the nerve for it.

When I was 15 I brought some grass back from London. Was bricking it in Heathrow. Getting on the plane I felt that Billy Hayes, and that at any second the runway would be flooded with cop cars and I'd be pulled from my seat and brought off to Wormwood Scrubs. Sweat was dripping of me. Dublin I was no better. Was sure some sniffer dog would come pounding out of nowhere and start barking at my jacket pocket.

Nothing happened though. That was the long and short of my career as a drug smuggler though. Don't think I'd have the nerve for it.
    I just don't like the hassle and danger of looking for a bit at the other end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

6541 wrote: »
    I bring yokes out to Spain all the time if I am going on a dance weekend. No problem, if you are going to be nabbed it will be on the Spanish side. I really could not give a flying about them.

Have you ever been stopped by Guardia Civil ?
    chillin117 wrote: »
    I just don't like the hassle and danger of looking for a bit at the other end

Much better to possibly have the hassel of being stopped in international airport if a sniffer dog did go over the luggage and find anything then you could be pulled aside.
    You could miss flight and I don't think insurance would cover it somehow.
    Not worth the possible hassel.

As for the eehjit going through Singapore with drugs.
    Darwin awards are for muppets like that and I have funny feeling that gombeen was destined for a visit to a nick or worse.

Also folks don't carry any in car coming back from France unless you may have caravan full of kids.
    They don't ever seem to be stopped and have dogs sniffing their private parts.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,598 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I studied fine art in college and in our first year they brought us to Amsterdam.

You can only imagine how that went. On the way back, every second person was smuggling something or other. I remember one girl filling her paint pots with little bags of Holland's finest. Another guy just decided to go for it and had a massive bag of all sorts wrapped in cling film in the top pocket of his coat as he went through the airport.

Someone from the group was stopped at an x ray machine on the way through, queue them quietly freaking out - opened up the bag and the offending item was a craft knife :pac: