Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pilgrim hill

• 21-08-2016 7:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone watch it last night on RTE? It sure highlighted bachelor farmers miserable lives, better than having a nagging wife I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Anyone watch it last night on RTE? It sure highlighted bachelor farmers miserable lives, better than having a nagging wife I suppose.

Jaysus I don't know , I'd rather the wife than living like that !
    "My future -30 acres on the side of a hill "!
    It would make you appreciate what you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

missed it, was out trying to get me a wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I'll give you a bit of advice, make sure you get one with plenty money :)

Thats what yer man should've been at every night of the week or else cutting all the rushes he had !

Bullocks wrote: »
    Jaysus I don't know , I'd rather the wife than living like that !
    "My future -30 acres on the side of a hill "!
    It would make you appreciate what you have
    30 acres of bad land as well, it depends on the wife I suppose some could make a mans life hell or a one that likes spending money.

I love to see her nibs spending money (when we have it ) . I'm not a big spender myself but she makes up for it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

it depends on the wife I suppose some could make a mans life hell or a one that likes spending money.

I'm often shocked by what lads on here seem to expect a wife/partner to be. Within my own dg I don't know of anyone whose wife lifts a hand in the yard. Most of them are well qualified professional women who happen to be married to a farmer. I'm sure some give a hand at year end with paperwork or accounts but that's as far as it goes. They all expect the wages to be in the account around the 20th. Laying hen doesn't come into it. That's a relic of the baby boomers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭milligan2

It's a pretty dark and depressing film that stays with you mainly because we all know a local lad whose life mirrors that of the lead actor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Might be better than a nagging wife but if lads looked a bit harder, had realistic expectations, and put a bit of effort into the relationship they might find a nice wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

The guy that wrote/directed the film is from around my neck of the woods..... Talented at that craic... He has a drama series starting on tv3 on 1st sept.... Based around the same thing as that film..... Pat short is in it.....

I love to see her nibs spending money (when we have it ) . I'm not a big spender myself but she makes up for it !
    It's a long long time since I heard that :)

I'm bringing that saying back along with "on my oath "!

His ould fella stayed very quiet in the bedroom, there wasn't a geek out of him. He said when he died all he could hear was the clock ticking.

He had a right to fire that clock out the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ha, I wonder how much the fella playing his father got.

He was a bit like Benny in the outlaw Josey Wales :) Benny bring up the horses we got us a Josey Wales, when Benny heard the shots all you could was Benny galloping away on his horse, at least Benny made a sound :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Well, did ya get one??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

tanko wrote: »
    Well, did ya get one??:D

no, but i nearly got landed with some one elses one :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

macra are trying to combat this problem of rural isolation at the moment as there is shag all young farmers members of Macra at present so they've set up the young farmers development group to try get lads away from the farms for a few hours a week and meet a few new people along the way

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

I'm bringing that saying back along with "on my oath "!

"On my solum"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

'The blessin' of God on ya!'

'Till be a long time before I darken that door again.'

'Oinseach' has to be my favourite. Got called that once in the heat of the moment by my elderly aunt. She must be the only person in the country that can't speak Irish but can curse fluently in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

macra are trying to combat this problem of rural isolation at the moment as there is shag all young farmers members of Macra at present so they've set up the young farmers development group to try get lads away from the farms for a few hours a week and meet a few new people along the way

Its the one great benefit of part time farming really. It gets farmers away from the land and out of the circle of farmers only to meet people from completely different backgrounds.
    It also has its disadvantages re time constraints but what doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

milligan2 wrote: »
    It's a pretty dark and depressing film that stays with you mainly because we all know a local lad whose life mirrors that of the lead actor

Or woman:)
    Saw it couple of times on DVD. Thought it well done and as Bullocks says it makes you appreciate what you have. Liked that it highlights the whole rural isolation thing. The son/daughter staying at home (I got the impression that it was against this guy's will) to care for a sick/elderly parent because the place CAN'T BE SOLD. Lot of bits in film highlighted the isolation...buying 4 slices of ham in shop in quiet rural town, nobody about when he brings milk to creamery, his mate thatx has a different lifestyle and being breathalised on Way home from pub..
    The fertiliser spreader on an angle on tractor with check chains loose and cutting rushes with a slasher also helped make full for me.

Anyone notice the calf he was selling? Tag number was 1100 or 1400 even though he had around 20 cows, they should have found some fella selling a lower number calf. Was it Listowel or Killmallock mart? That auctioneer sells in Killmallock.

His friend took him to temple bar for the pole dancers but he still managed to get home to Listowel that night, no wonder his ould fella got a turn and died:D

Or the scene where he is lying against the cow being milked with the kicking bar on. How many farmers would do that? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

abbeyfeale mart from what i saw of it

Or the scene where he is lying against the cow being milked with the kicking bar on. How many farmers would do that? :D

I used to when we were using kicking bars and give it a little pull if I anticipated a kick coming .
    In fact I used enjoy the few minutes stretched across any of the cows if there was a few minutes to kill before they finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

macra are trying to combat this problem of rural isolation at the moment as there is shag all young farmers/quote]

I read this bit quick and misread it and before I got to the rest thought macra were being very creative with how they were combating the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

tis listowel mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

macra are trying to combat this problem of rural isolation at the moment as there is shag all young farmers/quote]

I read this bit quick and misread it and before I got to the rest thought macra were being very creative with how they were combating the problem.

Maybe you should send your suggestion on a postcard to the head office 😂😂😂

Better living everyone

270WIN wrote: »
    tis listowel mart
    Are you sure? Where was the creamery and why was he sucking the milk out the top of the tank?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

i know the auctioneer and its listowel mart for sure,other bits could have been edited in for the film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

270WIN wrote: »
    i know the auctioneer and its listowel mart for sure,other bits could have been edited in for the film

Think he do be in Gortalea Mart too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭cute geoge

The mart is abbeyfeale the drover is very distinguished there.I think the creamery is fealesbridge and the nightclub is rubys in fealebridge i would say as well.Come to think of it i saw your man jimmy there the last night i was there ,he was with with a leggy blond ,he seemed to be doing grand

liam7831 wrote: »
    Think he do be in Gortalea Mart too
    I was selling cattle in Killmallock a few years back and he was the auctioneer, I was hoping that he would be taking a break when my cattle came into the ring and luckily enough he did :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

I'm often shocked by what lads on here seem to expect a wife/partner to be. Within my own dg I don't know of anyone whose wife lifts a hand in the yard. Most of them are well qualified professional women who happen to be married to a farmer. I'm sure some give a hand at year end with paperwork or accounts but that's as far as it goes. They all expect the wages to be in the account around the 20th. Laying hen doesn't come into it. That's a relic of the baby boomers.

Reading this, atm her indoors recieves no income just most expenses for reasons related to our happy little supprise, would hate to think was holding her back from what she likes as a day job just lucky we are in a good position.
    Flip side is one of the full timers had kids/family young and missed them growing up as his partner couldnt stand the hours. Ended up working on a veg farm doing silly hours to ensure they could get 3rd level education, he now spends every sunday with atleast one bunch of the grand kids.

The department man was some operator, he called to tell Jimmy that a cow he was going to sell next week had tb, then he tells him he'll have to have a herd test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭RaggyDays

The department man was some operator, he called to tell Jimmy that a cow he was going to sell next week had tb, then he tells him he'll have to have a herd test.

Yes I noticed this too, maybe they should have gone with the line "the cow he sold last week had killed out with lesions"
    But he was very convincing as a Dept official and was very much like something that would actually happen