Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rio - mtb races - no spoiler tags required

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,526 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

anyone watching ?

gunn rita dahle leading she's ben around for like ever !

What channel is mtb on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,572 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Mickeroo wrote: »
    What channel is mtb on?

bbc red button
    its olympic channel 6 on my telly its tuned in as channel 243

its 470 something on a sky box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Gone where?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Red button not working down in ROI ;)

RobFowl wrote: »
    Red button not working down in ROI ;)

red button only on sky and freesat telly box. not on my satelllite tuner built into to the tv just have to find the 8 olympic channels.

dont think virgin media broadcast the extra channels either as far as i know
    Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Gone where?

out the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Women's cross country race now available on BBC iplayer

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Lemming wrote: »
    Women's cross country race now available on BBC iplayer
    Which is only available in the UK

Anyone wanting to watch (live) BBC red button coverage of any events can do so via a Sky Satellite setup and adding channels (details of which can be found via internet search)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I'm watching the women's race on rte news now. Course looks like great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

I really don't think, it'll make much difference, where he starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I'm watching the women's race on rte news now. Course looks like great craic.

What category of bike are they? The different names I see mean nothing to me

Seven Worlds will Collide

^^^^^^^^^
    Mountain Bikes.
    Mixture of hard tail and full suspension.
    mostly hard tails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Thanks - but are they xc enduro etc. I presume gravity is downhill only?

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Thanks - but are they xc enduro etc. I presume gravity is downhill only?

I only saw XC bikes myself

The winner was on a Scott full sue XC bike.
    It weighs about 9.5kgs.
    It probably has about 100mm travel front and rear.

It's a 27.5 and has tubeless tubular tyres, made by Dugast(maybe wrong spelling) who make tubulars for a lot of the top road teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Brilliant to watch even the Mrs and daughter were enthralled ....no 1 son still argued downhill is better......
    I said downhill was for lazy MTB 's ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

moonshadow wrote: »
    Brilliant to watch even the Mrs and daughter were enthralled ....no 1 son still argued downhill is better......
    I said downhill was for lazy MTB 's ��

"No 1" son is presumably no longer enjoying that position any longer as a result of his mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

Eamonnator wrote: »
    The winner was on a Scott full sue XC bike.
    It weighs about 9.5kgs.
    It probably has about 100mm travel front and rear.

120 mm apparently. Interesting considering many were on hardtails.

http://www.redbull.com/en/bike/stories/1331797327177/bike-check-jenny-rissveds-scott-spark-xco-mtb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

120 mm apparently. Interesting considering many were on hardtails.

http://www.redbull.com/en/bike/stories/1331797327177/bike-check-jenny-rissveds-scott-spark-xco-mtb

The Scott Spark is almost unique in the XC world running 120mm front/rear travel - just about everything else is 100mm! According to the Redbull article she was also running a 1 x 12 speed drivetrain with a 10-52 cassette!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

C3PO wrote:
    The Scott Spark is almost unique in the XC world running 120mm front/rear travel - just about everything else is 100mm! According to the Redbull article she was also running a 1 x 12 speed drivetrain with a 10-52 cassette!

1x12 - diriculous! Wouldn't say no though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭JayWalsh

What channel can i watch the race on today lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

JayWalsh wrote: »
    What channel can i watch the race on today lads?

I think the race will be on BBC1 (according to the info provided on the Virgin Media TV Guide).

The bronze medal match in Men's Basketball is on BBC4.

Not sure about RTÉ2 and RTÉ News Now.

My prediction:
    1) Nino Schurter
    2)Jaroslav Kulhavy
    3) Julien Absolon

We're in business.

RTE News Now

On now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭letape

About to start on rte 2 now too

Live on BBC1 also.

And BBC1

Does Sagan have any chance? (Sorry I haven't a clue about this)

Sagan in 8th place already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭letape

Great start for Sagan - up to 8th already!

If his start is anything to go by, he's in with a great chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Well Sagan is up the front already. Awesome moustache on that guy, Spanish is he?

The hoor is in 3rd place now

Bad bottleneck on that drop section. Nice course, for a man made one.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Awesome moustache on that guy, Spanish is he?

It looks like a dodgy fake moustache!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

BBC commentators really want Sagan to fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Some of these guys will question what the fcuk they're doing in the sport if Sagan manages to medal or even win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

This is way more exciting than today's Vuelta stage :) !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

With so little support is Sagan going to have to go back to the team car for his own bidons?

#Ihavenoideawhatsgoingon

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Wow Sagz #manlove

MediaMan wrote: »
    This is way more exciting than today's Vuelta stage :) !

Carlton was even remarking that it was tough going for the viewers.

The dream is over for Sagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Sagan punctured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Schurter is just unstoppable

Pit stop for Peter

No spare bikes in the pits rather than switching wheels?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    No spare bikes in the pits rather than switching wheels?

No, not allowed change bikes

And what about a bit of foam and CO2, why are we seeing so many with punctures waiting for the tech zone, why aren't they carrying them?