Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did skangers first appear in Dublin?

• 19-08-2016 10:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭

I'm guessing the 1990s - or was it earlier.

By skangers I mean the likes of lads walking round with the socks up over their tracksuit bottoms and hands down the front who often shout abuse at passers by.

I know there has probably been a visible 'junkie' element around since the 70s/80s but I'm talking here more about rough kids (and adults!) who have little regard for others or authority.

I'm guessing that in the 60s it wasn't usual for adults to be shouted at or intimidated by gangs of teenagers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The same time the Premiership started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

The Vikings were the first skangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Your Face wrote: »
    The same time the Premiership started.

I would actually love to hear he logic behind this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

When it became frowned upon to give little Johnny a clip around the ear for being a bollix.

Scangers are what happen when your little 'angle' (sic) can apparently do no wrong and is let run wild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

By skangers I mean the likes of lads walking round with the socks up over their tracksuit bottoms and hands down the front who often shout abuse at passers by.

I know there has probably been a visible 'junkie' element around since the 70s/80s but I'm talking here more about rough kids (and adults!) who have little regard for others or authority.

I'm guessing that in the 60s it wasn't usual for adults to be shouted at or intimidated by gangs of teenagers?

You really ought to have a look at the old crime stats for Dublin, there used to be pitched battles between teen and early twenties gangs in the streets of Dublin back in the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s, have a look at the Battle of Baldoyle or Tolka Park for descriptions of the violence that used to go on. Lugs Branigan even had his mobile riot squad set up to deal with it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

When they moved up from the country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Dublin founded 988AD

Scangers 988AD plus one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

When the pale wall came down, allowed all sorts into the city and broader county. It's never been the same since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

July 19th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The day after the vikings left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

You really ought to have a look at the old crime stats for Dublin, there used to be pitched battles between teen and early twenties gangs in the streets of Dublin back in the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s, have a look at the Battle of Baldoyle or Tolka Park for descriptions of the violence that used to go on. Lugs Branigan even had his mobile riot squad set up to deal with it all.

Thanks. That's the sort of info I was looking for.

I'm guessing however that most lads in those gangs didn't walk around fondling themselves and had some sort of respect for their elders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

The youths of today are gone astray, it was not like this in my day!
    Or
    You are just old OP, you are just old. As long as there have been people that age there have been complaints about the youths of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Liberty v Ormond Boys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

The tracksuit look debuted about 1987/88; before that it was all about jeans with black slip-ons and white socks, round neck sweaters from Dunnes and black bomber jackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The tracksuit became "fashionable" around 1990-92, by the time of the World Cup in 1994, the trackie (matching shell suit), trainers, slicked down hair cut with a short back and sides was fairly ubiquitous.

I left school in the late 80's. There was one fells in particular in the class from the wrong side of the tracks, but TBH he was always a decent, hard worker. I bump into him about once a year in the street and if he's on his own we'll head for two pints.

Anyway, I met him at Easter, he was out with the young fella (who he had at 18), and he was with his young lad (born around 2007 when the father was 20 and the Granddad was well under 40. All three were in tracksuits, trainers and slicked down haircuts. They even all had gold chains around the necks! Can't say they are skangers, even tough they have the attire, the son (now in his late 20's) has a small tradesmans business and employs 2 (or 3) others. Decent people by all accounts. But it's funny all the same how little the fashions have changed over nearly 3 decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

There were always scobies / skangers / feral scallies wandering around tbh.
    Read through any local newspaper historical copies and you'll see stories of anti social nonsense.
    Sure, they weren't wearing Nike and Adidas back in the 1930s, but they were still up to no good.

I do feel that the volume of them has increased over the past 20 years or so as respect for authority and our fellow citizens has been in a steady decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

Thanks. That's the sort of info I was looking for.

I'm guessing however that most lads in those gangs didn't walk around fondling themselves and had some sort of respect for their elders

Respect for elders - highly doubt it, have a read of this, the terrified the people living in their neighbourhoods (I hate the Indo but decent enough article) - http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/the-animals-who-prowled-1930s-dublin-26878497.html

Fondling themselves, probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

It was before my time, but me da told me a whole mob of them took over the GPO about a hundred years ago, and f+*)ed the place up big time,decent respectable people couldn't get a stamp or a postal order for a week, I don't think they had tracksuits back then though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Dave0301 wrote: »
    I would actually love to hear he logic behind this one.

What's he logic?
    Is it the systematic equivalent of the fictional He-man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

15:37 on Mar 5th 1990

Some kerfuffle on the 51B from town which resulted in a loud 'Wha' de fuk are you lukin' at ?'

Astonished everybody right there and frankly, we've not fully gotten over it yet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Even before we migrated out of Africa 2 million odd years ago, they were there. Some studies suggest they may have even been there before the big bang, just 'existing' before there was anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

You have to go way way back to the Tallaght By-pass days when the traveller caravans rolled onto the by-pass site and the mountains of rubbish and human detritus piled higher and higher. The Girls stayed in the caravans safe from the onslaught of the hungry rats but the boys had to go out on the search for the brown gold(copper) and to protect their mickeys from the hungry rats running up their legs they would tuck their pants into their socks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

There was a perfect quantum storm about 25 years ago which resulted from Celtic becoming a religion among knuckle-scrapers, cheap beer and cider everywhere, British Soccer on TV constantly, poor quality gold plating on Jesus medallions and really poor bootlegs of BIC disposable razors coming on the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

A real skanger doesn,t work, does nixers for cash ,smokes hash,drinks cans ,dutch gold .
    lives with single mother , and has kids from at least 2 different mothers .
    He may not bother paying any child support unless she take,s him to court .He may live at home ,visit his single mother girlfriend a few days a week.
    Only certain brand sneakers , tracksuits can be worn.
    gold chains are not worn unless you are a rapper or black.
    they,ll spend alot on phones or a certain brand of sneaker .
    The 2016 version is on facebook ,takes selfies ,maybe on snapchat .
    they mostly smoke hash or just smoke cigarettes or roll ups .Skanger kids
    always wore jeans and had very short haircuts .
    he will likely own an xbox and play call of duty and fps console games .
    the worst skangers rob cars just for the craic ,go for a joyride and wreck the car.
    every skanger supports celtic and watchs sky sports if they can afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The day after the ice age ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

McDermotX wrote: »
    15:37 on Mar 5th 1990

Some kerfuffle on the 51B from town which resulted in a loud 'Wha' de fuk are you lukin' at ?'

Astonished everybody right there and frankly, we've not fully gotten over it yet.

51B wasn't around in 1990, and 1990 is far too late "in-any-ways". Skangers first appeared with the discovery of shiny tracksuit - that would have been the mid-80s.

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Winterlong wrote: »
    The Vikings were the first skangers.

Skanger Skangerson was the first Viking skanger but apparently the first skanger appeared long before that......

St Patrick got rid of them with the snakes before they came back with the Vikings.....then Brian Ború got rid of them before they came back with the Normans (they were own as chavs by the Normans).....

Skanger Fitzskanger was the Norman skanger given domain over the land north of the Liffey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

When the planet Skangton was just about to explode in 1991 they evacuated in their space pods. Small fragments of their planet, which are called Skangtonite, can be used to kill them if you can find them. Red Skangtonite doesn't kill them. It just makes them even more stupid and anti-social. Traces of red Skangtonite can be found in Dutch Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

There,s country culchie skangers too, they act the same ,only difference is they go to gaa matches and have a country accent .
    dublin skangers dont like hurling, gaa , but may go to a dublin match especially if they get to the final ,semi final stage .
    They play consoles xbox or sony , they dont bother playing pc games .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

When did skangers first appear in Dublin?

Shorty after The Battle Of Clontarf when the Vikings were defeated, the first documented reports emerged of tracksuit wearing muppets, who had tracksuit bottoms tucked into their white socks. They've been breeding like rabbits ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭Tow

Your forgetting the shell suit area during the late 80's:

Here is the former Sir Jim sporting one:

http://i57.tinypic.com/2db9o5u.jpg

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?