Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you associate with the word 'Introvert'?

• 18-08-2016 9:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 185 ✭✭

I'd consider myself an introvert - yet I hate to use the word. I mean what's it associated with. Is there a fear that an introvert will keep all their bitterness wrapped up, and then one day open fire in your school. Or is there a sort of assumption that you're more inclined to have aspergers?

I've never heard of anything like that being associated with being an introvert.

A lunatic, maybe, but not an introvert - the opening fire bit, not the Aspergers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

When I hear Introvert I think of Underpants wedged up yer hole

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Just another word and label that's used to divide people

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

icecream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Leave me alone, FFS!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 185 ✭✭Frank101

uch wrote: »
    When I hear Introvert I think of Underpants wedged up yer hole
    Why?

Frank101 wrote: »
    Why?
    you sure you're no confusing 'introvert' with the word 'humourless'?

anyway, we're all of the intro/extro scale. it means nothing.

Introspective, maybe, but not introverted.

main thing is bugger to what others think or say. unless you're married to them (and even then...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Why?

Just reminds me of that wedgied up yer hole feeling

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭gavindublin

Nipples

An upside down crucifix.

uch wrote: »
    Just reminds me of that wedgied up yer hole feeling
    Ugh, uch.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

It reminds me of AH users because of the last big thread on it where it seemed everyone was an introvert.. make of that what you will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Welruc

Placebo "Scared of girls"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Person who likes their own company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

focused a lot on their own inner world, thoughts and feelings, embrace alone time, drained by too much stimulation from socialising and unnecessary small talk.

think more than they say, think before they speak. would rather communicate by text, email or writing then make a phone call, unless important.

deuceswild wrote: »
    Placebo "Scared of girls"
    Oh yes, that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

to me its the person with the glass half empty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Robsweezie wrote: »
    focused a lot on their own inner world, thoughts and feelings, embrace alone time, drained by too much stimulation from socialising and unnecessary small talk.

think more than they say, think before they speak. would rather communicate by text, email or writing then make a phone call, unless important.
    TBF.....it's perhaps the most over used word....on the history of the Internet

That describes about 90% of people I know/am related to......people that just keep themselves to themselves and get on with their lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭VonLuck

For me it's someone that avoids human interaction and tends to not be very friendly.

Robsweezie wrote: »

Whoa, ceck out the big brain on Rob.

"Dass right mtherfukker, dass right."

But yeah, aint no thang.

long as you get enough food/sex/ drink etc, it's all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

This topic gets me on my soapbox all the time.

It's easy to juxtapose extreme cases of introversion against some ideal, outgoing standard but the reality is there are much more people that just have a level of introspection. People with introverted tendencies are treated suspiciously. People make lazy assumptions about introverts. Society lazily punishes introverted traits and rewards the outgoing. People with introverted tendencies are told to change because they're defective.

I think it's bloody unfair and I genuinely believe that individuals should take time and examine what assumptions and prejudices they hold against those with introverted tendencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

My dad is an introvert. Quite a big one. Where as I'm the exact opposite. For me it just associates things like... a bit shy maybe. Or at least favouring not to put themselves out there too much.

My dad wouldn't be wrapped up in himself. But he only has a small (albeit very close) circle of friends. For his 50th he prefered a dinner with family then a party. Big parties with lots of ppl are just hell for him. It's almost too much effort for him and can be a bit tiring.

On the other hand I've lots of friends but very few id trust. I love parties. The More ppl the better. And I can rhyme of my life stories in a matter of minutes.

I find he's quite happy just keeping to himself. He doesn't dislike social interaction. He's just not as bothered with it as I am.

I wouldn't associate things like autism or selfishness with introvert though. Introverts are just happy and comfortable being alone (different to lonely).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Give me an introvert over an extrovert anyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Keep themselves to themselves and don't feel it necessary to make smalltalk all the time and keep people updated with every facet of their life.

Id be slightly introvert in that I keep my private life private and generally don't like chit chat/gossip etc unless it's about football golf or horseracing/show jumping and only in my latest job have I realised how introvert I am(at least in relation to my colleagues).
    I've got given out to twice in the past few weeks, not scolded like a child but genuinely given out to as if I owed them something (and should keep them updated on every little thing in my life) for not informing my colleagues of my father's 60th and also for not telling them I went for a drink with a woman they know.

Come to think of it maybe I'm not introvert and they're just nosey parkers.

Introversion isn't the same as shyness. People who are introverted love their own company above all else. Peace and solitude are what they want, not large crowds or big parties. I don't believe that's because they can't handle lots of people and the like, they simply would rather a quieter vibe.

Of course as with most things relating to human behaviour Introversion is a spectrum. I can
    be very introverted. Half the time I long to be in the middle of nowhere, just my books and me. Loud noises and shouting bother me. Big concerts and events don't hold any interest for me.

Yet I really really like people and am very good in social situations. I have no fear or anxiety about putting myself out there. Joining a group where I won't know a soul doesn't phase me one bit. I'm am very very far from being shy.

I just happen to love my own company and doing things by myself.

Keep themselves to themselves and don't feel it necessary to make smalltalk all the time and keep people updated with every facet of their life.

Id be slightly introvert in that I keep my private life private and generally don't like chit chat/gossip etc unless it's about football golf or horseracing/show jumping and only in my latest job have I realised how introvert I am(at least in relation to my colleagues).
    I've got given out to twice in the past few weeks, not scolded like a child but genuinely given out to as if I owed them something (and should keep them updated on every little thing in my life) for not informing my colleagues of my father's 60th and also for not telling them I went for a drink with a woman they know.

Come to think of it maybe I'm not introvert and they're just nosey parkers.
    That's interesting - because in many ways I'm trying to be more extroverted. But I'm also trying to gossip less. It seems you're describing women, more so than extroverts.

I also try to be confident, as opposed to arrogant... and not brag about things. Maybe there was a good reason why that woman went out with you.

Having a conversation with someone who gossips a lot in your direction will feel weak the moment that you don't give them gossip back. With those sorts, I just be extroverted, but keep the conversation about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

An introvert to me is somebody who would rather be on their own than in the company of others. Now would ye all mind f**king off and leaving the thread please.

That's interesting - because in many ways I'm trying to be more extroverted. But I'm also trying to gossip less. It seems you're describing women, more so than extroverts.

I also try to be confident, as opposed to arrogant... and not brag about things. Maybe there was a good reason why that woman went out with you.

Having a conversation with someone who gossips a lot in your direction will feel weak the moment that you don't give them gossip back. With those sorts, I just be extroverted, but keep the conversation about them

Individuality is far more nuanced than trying to be more extroverted or more introverted. There isn't a set of guidelines you can follow.

this threads gone quiet.....:)

#confessionsofanintrovert is trending on twitter coincidentally

I know very few people who consider themselves extrovert. Everybody feels shy. I feel shy sometimes, and I'm one of the very few I know who does consider themselves extrovert. I still prefer my own company to other people's, it's just madness not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I'm a bit Shyza Minnelli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Type it into Instagram and you get like, selfies of girls who are like, so deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

I know very few people who consider themselves extrovert. Everybody feels shy. I feel shy sometimes, and I'm one of the very few I know who does consider themselves extrovert. I still prefer my own company to other people's, it's just madness not to.

Introvert and shy aren't the same thing.

I'm not remotely shy, but being in company is exhausting to me— I would feel more in need of a rest after a fun day out with friends than I would after a day spent working hard on my own.

In my view, that's introversion: not an inability to be around people or be outspoken or entertaining, but a preference for being alone, and the feeling of "God, finally" when you get a quiet moment to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Introversion is drawing your energy from within, whereas extroversion is gaining your energy from external stimuli. Most people will have a preference for one style, but will also exhibit aspects of the other style too

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

****Monday morning shocker**** People on the interwebs late at night likely to be more introverted!! :eek:
    I still prefer my own company to other people's, it's just madness not to.
    Madness you say? It would be "mad" for a cooperative social animal like humans to go too much towards that thinking. Throughout history and culture those seeking excessive solace were rare enough and considered either holy or mad.

What I personally associate with the word? Shy, unsociable, thoughtful, isolated, self absorbed. In extremis, yep I would think Aspergers or on that spectrum and have met a few like that. They can be socially boring for me TBH and with those who don't suffer from actual social phobias or autism spectrum my feeling tends to run towards if you're not going to make the effort for people other than yourself, then why the hell did you come out and meet us.

EDIT I'd be a mix of both, like most average folks. Yes I like my own company(if anything slightly more than average), but I also realise the universe doesn't revolve around me so make the effort in social situations. If I want to be introspective I do it on my own time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I got extroverted in that test thing but I always thought I was fairly introverted but like others have said, I think I'm a mixture of both. I try my best to be more extroverted because although it takes me more effort, I feel good after taking part in extroverted activities so I am trying my best to be more active in my community and stuff like that.

I think that sometimes when people define themselves as introvert, it sounds like it's supposed to be something unique or out of the ordinary but most people I know are introverted. I mean of course it's good to be able to be reflective and enjoy your own company but the definitions don't really say anything good or bad about anyone really. I think some extroverts and introverts have good and bad qualities like anything really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think people are too complex to be described as either one of the two labels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

Your Face wrote: »
    I think people are too complex to be described as either one of the two labels.

Nope I'm an extreme extrovert. Apparently to the annoying side of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Introvert is someone who might enjoy company but they are revitalised by time alone. Excess socialisation can drain them.

I personally don't know any people who I can say are definite introverts or definite extroverts. Human behaviour is very complex and a lot of us move in and out of these positions. In fact I think that's healthy. What I have come across is a huge amount of people who cannot be alone. They are constantly seeking out external stimulation.

This sets alarm bells ringing in my head. If you can't be alone with yourself, if you are constantly looking for distractions away from your own thoughts, feelings, and experiences, then perhaps you need to address why that is. Why the constant need for people? For attention? For busyness? For loudness? How can you live a life where you run away from yourself?

Now of course I'm not saying this is the case for all those who are closer to the extrovert end of things. It's just something I wonder about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Quiet, shy,awkward, anti social
    I myself am an introvert, obviously I don't believe this to be what introversion means but it is what I immediately associate with the word when somebody says it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Dry shyte

No Craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Dry shyte

No Craic

You mean they are not prepared to put themselves out to entertain you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Likes to sit alone at lunch time at the same table at the same time with a bowl of vegetable soup and reads a book or a newspaper rather than sit with the team and talk. Humourless, passive aggressive, moody and a conservative negative outlook on life. Likes rigid routine and dislikes anything new or different.

Very very strange the amount of negative connotations so many of you have regarding introversion. I wonder what that's about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Proper intoversion:

Happy (maybe even happier but i don't like that version) alone.
    Loving your own mind.
    Not really affected by what others think once you're harming nobody.
    Knowing exactly what you want and like

Tolerating extroverts (joke).

Very very strange the amount of negative connotations so many of you have regarding introversion. I wonder what that's about.

everyone seems to have their own interpretation of what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Its because many people wrongly believe it to mean quiet and anti social and unfriendly. Which are things a lot of people don't like..so thats why 'introverts' have a bad rap

wakka12 wrote: »
    Its because many people wrongly believe it to mean quiet and anti social and unfriendly. Which are things a lot of people don't like..so thats why 'introverts' have a bad rap

It's the amount of incorrect assumptions I'm surprised at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Proper intoversion:

Happy (maybe even happier but i don't like that version) alone.
    Loving your own mind.
    Not really affected by what others' think once you're harming nobody.
    Knowing exactly what you want and like

Tolerating extroverts (joke).

That's it for me.

Happy with your own company. Keeping your thoughts to yourself.

But not anti social. Will enjoy the craic as much as the next but doesn't want, or need, to stand out in the crowd.

It's not a bad thing. So what if somebody is quiet?