Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how important are fascinators at family weddings?

• 17-08-2016 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭

I'm a bit stuck in getting one to work with my outfit and wondering how much do i need one? I know the other wedding party ladies are wearing one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

TBH I think they look a bit naff and dated but that's me.

The wedding party are wearing them? But that's up to the Bride & Groom so I wouldn't worry too much about that. Check in with other guests and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I personally wouldn't wear one. I'd go full on with a hat or nothing.

Fascinators seem to be one of these really clever marketing ploys against women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

Completely agree. I don't get the appeal of them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

Just saw your outfit on another thread, it is fab! Personally I wouldn't add a fascinator to this outfit, it is perfect as it is! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

The wedding party are wearing them? But that's up to the Bride & Groom so I wouldn't worry too much about that. Check in with other guests and see.

Totally agree. Fine for the races perhaps, but I think they look naff at weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kate253

Okay. I've never worn one. This is my 4th family wedding on his side and to date all the women have gone with them and I haven't but they were cousins and this is a sister so immediate family as such ie family portrait to be looking at on the wall forever!:eek:

But no, feck it, never liked them much either. it's a no.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kate253

Just saw your outfit on another thread, it is fab! Personally I wouldn't add a fascinator to this outfit, it is perfect as it is! :)

Thanks, you're very kind. The majority don't like the shoes with bag and the bag is a keeper so I'm currently looking up other shoes! :o:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Loathe fascinators. Almost never worn with panache: usually they are apologetic. Actually, a pet hate of mine! (sorry, no offense meant)

The hair is usually left hanging down in the manner of "everyday" hair, and this dead bird with bobbing feathers is stuck to the side of the head. It doesn't flatter any face, or balance an outfit, or add to anyone's charm.
    Why do they exist? Because some people are nervous of hats, but think they ought to wear one: so they settle for a sort of half-hat.

You think your outfit needs a stylish finish? Get a hat. I wear simple straw hats, all the time: change the ribbon, add a few flowers, perk it up at a jaunty angle, or shape the brim. A face partly hidden has a flirtatious charm: if you have a "best side", you can show it. Tops off an outfit like nothing else can.

Get a hat and wear it with style (the hair should fit with it) or do your hair nice and just wear that.

PS If you want to see hats being worn with confidence and real style, look at Princess Catherine's hats: especially, her hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

katemarch wrote: »
    Loathe fascinators. Almost never worn with panache: usually they are apologetic. Actually, a pet hate of mine! (sorry, no offense meant)

The hair is usually left hanging down in the manner of "everyday" hair, and this dead bird with bobbing feathers is stuck to the side of the head. It doesn't flatter any face, or balance an outfit, or add to anyone's charm.
    Why do they exist? Because some people are nervous of hats, but think they ought to wear one: so they settle for a sort of half-hat.

You think your outfit needs a stylish finish? Get a hat. I wear simple straw hats, all the time: change the ribbon, add a few flowers, perk it up at a jaunty angle, or shape the brim. A face partly hidden has a flirtatious charm: if you have a "best side", you can show it. Tops off an outfit like nothing else can.

Get a hat and wear it with style (the hair should fit with it) or do your hair nice and just wear that.

PS If you want to see hats being worn with confidence and real style, look at Princess Catherine's hats: especially, her hair.

Fascinators at weddings are nearly always accompanied by a pashmina. Another dated fashion accessory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Kate253 wrote: »
    I'm a bit stuck in getting one to work with my outfit and wondering how much do i need one? I know the other wedding party ladies are wearing one.

Also, as a poster said above Kate, I think the dress you have chosen is lovely and definitely doesn't need a fascinator. Bag is very pretty too and would work very well with gold shoes as suggested .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Importance? From the point of view of 'average fella'. Otherwise known as 'half the people there'? If I may...

When I see one, I think, 'what's that silly little yoke yer wan has on her noggin?!?' I can assure you that's what everybody in trousers will be thinking. Of the other half, I can only presume a sizeable proportion will be thinking the same. So, mathematically speaking, stop worrying about what a fraction of half the other guests will be thinking. If you like them, wear one. If you think they're silly little yokes, don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

ratmouse wrote: »
    Fascinators at weddings are nearly always accompanied by a pashmina. Another dated fashion accessory.

A pashmina is always handy if you spill the gravy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Had my brothers wedding in June and didn't wear a fascinator - just didn't feel right with one on so didn't wear one - simples! It's not a rule that you have to wear one - just wear what you feel comfortable in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Birdsong

If your hair is well styled you don't need a fascinator in my opinion. I didn't for my brother wedding