Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The disgruntled youths of Ireland

• 10-08-2016 9:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭

Ya'know the type.

Probably born to a strict and slightly old-fashioned mammy, forced to play GAA even though he couldn't kick a ball to save his life. Usually these lads are fairly intelligent and do alright in school but throughout the years a resentment and a bitterness grows inside them for the people and the place they grew up around but he keeps his head down and stays quiet until he goes to college.

Then it all comes out, while listening to death metal one October night he comes to the realisation that he hates God, hates diddly-eye music, hates the Irish countryside, hates mammy's soda bread, hates picturesque white cottages, hates sheep, hates daysul, hates hurling and football and can't stand the gaeilge one bit at all.

Then they usually go away to some far flung place or Dublin if they can't go foreign for whatever reason and find a job and come back gloating about how absolutely amazing the place is but how long does the bitterness last?

What usually happens to these f*ckers when they leave their 20's, do they become all sentimental and want to go back or do they continue their crusade against the old Irish ways?

I reckon most countries experience the same phenomenon to some extent. I'm curious to know if these people end up carrying a life-long hate for sheep or whatever animal was common in their home country? What kind of personality are they likely to take on when they're older?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Giacomo McGubbin

Don't be so hard on yourself, you'll get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Hates soda bread? Now I know you're making it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

You expect someone to read all that?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Living up to your username there OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What was that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

The miserable bastards should just live under the stairs.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Nowt wrong with a bitta death metal

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

They join boards and finally feel they have a voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Post about their great life's in financial service sectors of non English speaking European countries on boards

To grest effect on wind-ups though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I'm disgruntled after reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Is 'gruntled' the opposite of disgruntled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Did you forget to mention Daddy in the OP or is it all Mammy's fault?😠

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Post about their great life's in financial service sectors of non English speaking European countries on boards

To grest effect on wind-ups though :pac:

Is that a Ninja Squad outside your door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

What usually happens to these f*ckers when they leave their 20's, do they become all sentimental and want to go back or do they continue their crusade against the old Irish ways?

They become Internet forum moderators

You alright there shítebag??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

What is it with the increase in mentally retarded threads in AH recently?

/disgruntled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Is 'gruntled' the opposite of disgruntled?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I think regruntled is the opposite

'gruntled' being the neutral state /position.

How to regruntle a ****ebag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Gruntled is an actual word. The Merriam-Webster dictionary puts it as "to put in a good humor".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Advert break!

HAVE YOU BEEN DISGRUNTLED?

NOT YOUR FAULT?

CALL REGRUNTLED LAWYERS 4 U,

One of our fully trained operatives will pretend to give a **** in a highly credible fashion and following a script will help you reach the conclusion that you could be entitled to compensation on a no win, no fee, no chance basis

Call now for a free quote

Ted111 wrote: »
    I think regruntled is the opposite

'gruntled' being the neutral state /position.

How to regruntle a ****ebag?

Nope, gruntled means satisfied.

I accept though that it is a back formation from disgruntled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Grunting like a pig in sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Were you watching last Vegas on rte op?
    Or is the impending leaving cert results on your mind

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Is that a Ninja Squad outside your door?

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I don't know anyone like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ya'know the type.

Probably born to a strict and slightly old-fashioned mammy, forced to play GAA even though he couldn't kick a ball to save his life. Usually these lads are fairly intelligent and do alright in school but throughout the years a resentment and a bitterness grows inside them for the people and the place they grew up around but he keeps his head down and stays quiet until he goes to college.

Then it all comes out, while listening to death metal one October night he comes to the realisation that he hates God, hates diddly-eye music, hates the Irish countryside, hates mammy's soda bread, hates picturesque white cottages, hates sheep, hates daysul, hates hurling and football and can't stand the gaeilge one bit at all.

Then they usually go away to some far flung place or Dublin if they can't go foreign for whatever reason and find a job and come back gloating about how absolutely amazing the place is but how long does the bitterness last?

I reckon most countries experience the same phenomenon to some extent. I'm curious to know if these people end up carrying a life-long hate for sheep or whatever animal was common in their home country? What kind of personality are they likely to take on when they're older?

We get the **** otu of ireland and create lives for oursleves in more open-minded countries that offer a bit of variety and where people are less judgemental and more interesting and don't go out of their way to moan about other people who don't fit their narrow mindset. Simple.

Anything else I can help you with tonight?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

We get the **** otu of ireland and get create a life for oursleves somehere else where peoeple are less judgemental and more interesting.

Anything else?

That's a myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

They become an online shill for FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

That's a myth.

Nope. If it was, I wouldn't exist.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Ladies and Gruntlemen, thank you for the gettin learned on some new words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

I'm not one of these people. I like my hometown but to be honest can you not see where they're coming from? Forced into a certain lifestyle with no outlet. Alot of the countryside is steeped in GAA and traditional Irish ways of life. There's nothing wrong with that either but I would be very resentful if I found no one I could relate to and felt isolated for years.

In general I find that these people become ye know, people! They find like minded people when they leave home grow happy and become well adjusted. So what if they have bitterness and resentment to their hometown/village. They hated it and left they didn't sit there whining about it. As far as their concerned their living the life they finally want to and probably rarely think of where they came from because they're enjoying themselves. Just my experience anyway.

I find the opposite to be true of those well adjusted to living in rural Ireland and find Dublin a place to avoid. The thought of moving away from home is unthinkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Its the psychology of it all that I'm interested in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

You just described a friend of mine OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Is it because I is a gruntle?

Think culchie, dis culchie, dat culchie, dese and dose culchies. Don't forget de udder culchie.

Go farm in NZ. Make a fortune; come back; don't gloat. Go back to NZ.

Not your ornery onager