Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Tickets Sept 4, 2016

• 10-08-2016 5:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

How difficult is it to secure two tickets for the hurling final? Is there an allotment for foreigners? (ie Canadians) Will be flying into Dublin the morning of the match and hope to see this game!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,003 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

How difficult is it to secure two tickets for the hurling final? Is there an allotment for foreigners? (ie Canadians) Will be flying into Dublin the morning of the match and hope to see this game!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The likelihood of you getting a ticket is heavily dependent on who gets into it. If Waterford get into the final, wouldn't say you'll get one for love nor money. If Kilkenny are in it, I think you'd get one on the day, by heading up course to the stadium and asking around, should be a good few spares available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 canadianhurler

I guess I'm the newest Kilkenny supporter then. Never liked Waterford crystal much anyway, overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭nikkibikki

There will be touts around shouting "Anyone buying or selling tickets?" I've never bought from a tout do don't know how reliable they are. Cost price is €80. If you know anyone involved in any club, ask them. They don't go on general sale. All clubs get tickets. The clubs in the counties that are in the All Ireland get a very large allocation, other counties get a hand full. Sometimes tickets will be sold online on the Friday evening around 6ish if there are any left that have been returned from the clubs. You'd have to be quick tho! And not fussy about where the ticket is for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

Get as close to the perimeter of the stadium as you can without a ticket.
    Ask a Policeman if he has any tickets.

Odds are he will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Head to quins pub and the dart station entrance beside it, always people selling tickets around there, hold up a card reading tickets wanted ya'll get sorted.

Thanks for the replies. I'll follow the tips provided. One question...what website would the returned tickets be sold on, on the Friday before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭jjjd

Thanks for the replies. I'll follow the tips provided. One question...what website would the returned tickets be sold on, on the Friday before?
    www.tickets.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Are you involved in a hurling club in Canada?

No, I'm not aware of any, at least not on the west coast. Do you think they would be allocated tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

No, I'm not aware of any, at least not on the west coast. Do you think they would be allocated tickets?

They are. I get tickets from New York most years. Canada has a pretty strong Gaa scene. Sorry I can't post a link but put in Canada Gaa into a search page and you'll get their homepage. Might be lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Rackard

Always plenty of tickets floating around for the hurling final. I'm going for years. Never sells out. Doesn't matter who gets to the final either even if Waterford do make it.

Rackard wrote: »
    Always plenty of tickets floating around for the hurling final. I'm going for years. Never sells out. Doesn't matter who gets to the final either even if Waterford do make it.

I dunno, tried to get a ticket 05 and they were gold dust. Didn't try in 13 but was reliably informed they were hard come by. That said your probably right that if you want one you'll get one somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Rackard

I dunno, tried to get a ticket 05 and they were gold dust. Didn't try in 13 but was reliably informed they were hard come by. That said your probably right that if you want one you'll get one somewhere.

13 was handy enough get tickets on the day too except for the replay, shortage then alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

sometimes there could be a better atmosphere in the pubs near Croke Park than at the match its self but would rather be at the match tbh

Only at 2 finals myself (2008 and 2013), in 2008 we had a few spares that we could not get rid off and bought 2 premium tickets off a meath guy on toutless for the 2013 final (drawn Cork vs Clare match, waterford played minor that day).

would love to go as a neutral every year but the time and effort to source tickets (when youre county is not involved in any way) is a bit of pain and its less stressful to watch at home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

I go to the hurling final most years and there are nearly always tickets available on the day from genuine supporters who need to get rid of some. Do not buy from the touts. If Waterford do get to the final then tickets will be a lot scarcer.

As someone else mentioned here, get onto whatever cotacts you have in any Gaa club. All clubs, ncluding overseas boards, get tickets for the final. They will not be realeased for public sale at any time.

Enjoy the weekend - my favourite weekend of the year. If you're around on the Saturday I'd suggest you head out to Kilmacud for the 7's competition. A great days entertainment plus many lads have often got tickets there too.

# Sorry - just noticed that you are flying in on the morning of the game so Kilmacud no good for you!

As someone else mentioned here, get onto whatever cotacts you have in any Gaa club. All clubs, ncluding overseas boards, get tickets for the final. They will not be realeased for public sale at any time.

They do! Got one myself 2yrs ago that I bought on tickets.ie the Friday evening before. I bought a Nally Stand ticket but think there was Cusack Stand on sale too. Don't think any went on sale like that last year tho so I wouldn't be relying in it.

nikkibikki wrote: »
    They do! Got one myself 2yrs ago that I bought on tickets.ie the Friday evening before. I bought a Nally Stand ticket but think there was Cusack Stand on sale too. Don't think any went on sale like that last year tho so I wouldn't be relying in it.

Well you learn something new every day! I would have sworn to anyone that they never were. Kilkenny's domination in recent years hasn't helped the demand I suppose.

I'm a cat meself!

Ye should have some sort of reward club card system ye're there so often at this stage. Hope ye don't get too lost trying to find Thurles!

It's not a cheap day out in the big smoke that's for sure! Prefer Thurles, twas the sensible option IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

A Galway Waterford final would make it very very difficult to get tickets.

But a Kilkenny Tipp final is far more likely.

Thanks all for the excellent tips. I'm hoping a pair of tickets comes my way somehow. I've recently been to a Boca Juniors football match in Argentina, I think the only thing that might top that experience would be the All-Ireland Hurling final!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I lived in Drumcondra from 1994 until 1998 and never failed to get a ticket for the hurling final on the street even though the capacity was about 20,000 less than it is now. Never sourced one this way for the football final-much bigger occasion.

Best advice is be patient and not panic, be prepared to wait until close to 3.30, let the sellers blink first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

I guess I'm the newest Kilkenny supporter then.
    You'll need a tin hat for round here so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭granturismo

Thanks all for the excellent tips. I'm hoping a pair of tickets comes my way somehow. I've recently been to a Boca Juniors football match in Argentina, I think the only thing that might top that experience would be the All-Ireland Hurling final!

The athmosphere inside Croke Park will be better if Galway/Tipp or Waterford are playing. If you can find youtube vidoes of recent all irelands, just listen to the difference between the Kilkenny supporters reaction when their team is introduced on the big screen to any of the the opposing teams.

Kilkenny support has been better in all ireland replays generally, where their seems to be a younger crowd with the reduced ticket prices.

It's sad but unfortunately true for a neutral. I cheer for them when they come on myself and I've tried to start a chant or 2 but practically nobody joins in. I really don't know why that is. Maybe on the Hill it's different but I'm way too old for that! As a Kilkenny woman tho, the atmosphere would be crap if KK weren't playing!

Not much of a fab of chanting myself tbh, buy I dunno why we're so quiet, except against tipp in nowlan in 2013. That was a very special occasion in so many ways though. Of we were like that all the time would be savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Not much of a fab of chanting myself tbh, buy I dunno why we're so quiet, except against tipp in nowlan in 2013. That was a very special occasion in so many ways though. Of we were like that all the time would be savage

Savage is right booing and jeering at an injured player as he was helped off the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭shmeee

Special?

Booing and jeering Tipperary players and mentors.

Hurling non stop abuse at the Tipperary subs and management in the New Stand, never seen carry on like it. Animals.

shmeee wrote: »

Special?

Hurling non stop abuse at the Tipperary subs and management in the New Stand, never seen carry on like it. Animals.

Spare a thought for the poor unfortunate Tipp players. They were getting eaten alive on the pitch.

Savage is right booing and jeering at an injured player as he was helped off the field.
    Special?

And then ye wonder why nobody likes ye. "It's because we have borders with every hurling county". Sure it is, sure it is.

Well Mr Canadianhurler according to some in here you'll have your pick of seats in Croke Park now.

And then ye wonder why nobody likes ye. "It's because we have borders with every hurling county". Sure it is, sure it is.

Seriously?

**** me, you have a very tiny mind.

Did anyone here even say that? We commented on the carry on of the Kilkenny supporters which was down right dirty.

That day leaving the **** hole that is Nowlan Park I was jeered by 5 "kilkenny" supporters at their front doors waiting for the Tipp crowd to come out on their way to their cars and head home. Never seen anything like it in my years going to games, and I've been to many a ground around the county, even the bitter Galway crowd wouldn't be up to that carry on. So cop the **** on!

EDIT: Note to self, stop responding to obvious trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

EDIT: Note to self, stop responding to obvious trolling.

There's trolling and there's telling the truth .... was at that match and have never seen the carry on like it inside and outside of the park .. yeah tipp have their fair share of eejits aswell, but remember tis only a game of hurling ... would never go to nowlan park for a match again, genuine tipp supporter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

And then ye wonder why nobody likes ye.

I see your arguments are as well structured and teased out on this thread as everywhere else. Kilkenny disgrace themselves for all time by jeering an injured player off the field in 2013 (the same crowd who praised everyone for clapping Shefflin off three years earlier) and it's to do with something as
    subjective and vague as "nobody likes ye". I'd expect comments like that from an angry 14 year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

//Canadianhurler backs slowly out of the thread, "ok thanks, byeeeeee"

Rosita wrote: »

jeering an injured player off the field in 2013
    Wasn't that the same clown who chased Tommy Walsh around Croke Park trying to get him sent off the year before? That particular farce wouldnt have endeared him to any crowd and in particular Kilkenny. Probably the most unsporting act that I've ever seen on a sports field. If you want to define disgrace, that'll certainly do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Seriously?

**** me, you have a very tiny mind.

Did anyone here even say that? We commented on the carry on of the Kilkenny supporters which was down right dirty.

That day leaving the **** hole that is Nowlan Park I was jeered by 5 "kilkenny" supporters at their front doors waiting for the Tipp crowd to come out on their way to their cars and head home. Never seen anything like it in my years going to games, and I've been to many a ground around the county, even the bitter Galway crowd wouldn't be up to that carry on. So cop the **** on!

Just goes to prove Tipp 'genuine supporters' will hijack any thread to have their cut at the Cats.
    Bitter to the very end.... The chase for yere "1 in a Row" is back on....

MIAOW x36

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

That day leaving the **** hole that is Nowlan Park I was jeered by 5 "kilkenny" supporters at their front doors waiting for the Tipp crowd

Your lucky they didn't start throwing All Ireland winners medals at yee....

Nowlan Park - home of Hurling. :pac:

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

greenspurs wrote: »
    Just goes to prove Tipp 'genuine supporters' will hijack any thread to have their cut at the Cats.
    Bitter to the very end.... The chase for yere "1 in a Row" is back on....

MIAOW x36

Hijack?

I made a comment, you have since bumped the thread back again.

And we leave the bitterness to the Matties from Galway, no one can surpass them.

And I will enjoy our chase for the "1 in a Row" as it's called. Many counties would give anything to get the opportunity.

Nally terrace tickets on sale now on gaa.ie

Or tickets.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭granturismo

Nally terrace tickets on sale now on gaa.ie

Or tickets.ie

€40 for Nally on tickets.ie

Hill 16 ones for sale as well. Is there a danger that this will be a few thousand shy of a full house?

A lot of neutrals that usually go not going for this one, myself included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Hill 16 ones for sale as well. Is there a danger that this will be a few thousand shy of a full house?

A lot of neutrals that usually go not going for this one, myself included.

Why have you decided not to go?

2 reasons really.

1. Club are playing championship on Saturday evening - I usually go to Dublin for the weekend and take in the 7's.

2. Obviously I could still go up Sunday morning but just can't get excited at the thought of seeing Kilkenny and Tipperary there again. I've no doubt it's going to be a good game but it's just not that exciting for me anymore as a 'spectacle' on all ireland final day as I've seen them play so often before.

Wish I'd seen this yesterday. Was waiting until Friday to check. Sold out now it says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Keep an eye out. Head in to town around 12 and you may pick some up.

Wish I'd seen this yesterday. Was waiting until Friday to check. Sold out now it says.

Tickets on sale again tomorrow morning I'm told.

Lar Na Pairce in Thurles will have some from 10.30am.

Could be a mix of all sorts, Unknown yet.

Just a heads up lads.

Mushy wrote: »
    Keep an eye out. Head in to town around 12 and you may pick some up.
    I land at 8:30am, should be in town by 10am and will be looking.