Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paris Hotel Help Please

• 06-08-2016 12:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Help badly needed with booking hotel in Paris for my boss, his wife, 6 kids and a car (well minibus) for two nights on route from Center Parcs in Normandy to Cherbourg. I have never been to Paris and am totally at a loss as to where to start, do I book on outskirts or city centre, etc. etc.!!! If anyone out there has done this or has any suggestions it would be brilliant. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Jaysus... Talk about passing you a poison chalice!!

Why can't he get off his backside anf do it himself.

I only thought this kind of thing happens in the movies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 ellie055

Feck ya ... I thought someone was rescuing me .. LOL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

ellie055 wrote:

Try booking.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

I'm not sure Paris is on route between those destinations.
    Surely booking a hotel would be based on what your obviously fantastic boss wants to do during his visit to Paris that he couldn't bother his bo llox doing himself as he is far too busy procreating.

try Le trip advisor for better info, if you really feel the need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 ellie055

Ah the boss is a good guy really .. he thinks I'm better at this than he is ... maybe not for long though !!!

It's nearly 2am on a Saturday morning and you are fretting about your lazy assed boss and his bone idle wife's family holiday?

Paris is to the east of both locations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

ellie055 wrote: »
    Ah the boss is a good guy really .. he thinks I'm better at this than he is ... maybe not for long though !!!

You need to ask him questions, is it a cultural and or shopping trip to Paris, is Disney land on the agenda, is it just a stopping off point. After that you need to know budgets and expected services needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

This is not real.

What does boss want? Where does he want to be? Does he need parking in Paris or outside?

If it was me, I'd find out what boss wants. Then go to Trailfinders or similar, and get them to sort it out.

Sometimes it pays to get someone else to do it for you. DIY is grand if for yourself, but boss and missus +six kids + people carrier I suppose.... No way, hand it over once you know their requirements. Get bosses orders (!) on an email too. wink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Budget?

Although if it's for yer boss then the sky's the limit...

6 kids though! Cor blimey, I'd hate to be in a hotel room with them!

You'd really need a house/apartment!

Would it be too risky for airbnb or Vrbo?

Edit: this guy needs to look at a map and reassess his concept of 'en route'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'd look for an ibis or similar on the outskirts of paris...maybe out near an airport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

ellie055 wrote: »

Didn't mean to be nasty to you in my reply.... But I had a terrible time trying to try a room for 4 in Paris couple of years ago. It seems to be built for couples!!

Ended up with a room with 2 camp beds.... Couldn't move in room!! Nightmare... !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

just for reference, the hotel brands you need to be looking at is Novotel and Hotel B+B who have family rooms which can take 4 people in nearly all their hotels. Sometimes Mercure also have rooms with 2 doubles.
    Novotel even does a 2nd room half price deal for families.
    Novotel and B+B are often on the outskirts of cities and in that case normally have free parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Thread Closed by me.
    @OP: Any issues, feel free to pm me.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam