Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't want your milk .thanks

• 27-07-2016 8:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭

Was reading the farming indo yesterday .The all mighty dunsworth didn't explain in great detail the workings of our new dairy support package . Do you have to completely dry off or reduce litres compared to 2015 monthly figures or for how many days or weeks does it apply .I am thick and could not work it out from the article .could someone explain please .Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

kerry cow wrote:
    Was reading the farming indo yesterday .The all mighty dunsworth didn't explain in great detail the workings of our new dairy support package . Do you have to completely dry off or reduce litres compared to 2015 monthly figures or for how many days or weeks does it apply .I am thick and could not work it out from the article .could someone explain please .Thanks

Didn't see the article but IMO the amount will be small. Say a take up of 5k dairy farmers at 11.1 million(maybe double if government support also) anyway that's 2k per farmer, but I reckon a higher take up. If its worthwhile I'll dry up a bit earlier and dry up some heifers also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Isn't it an all Europe scheme? Can't see little Ireland getting much. Only certainty is the closing date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Is this an unoffical subsidy to dairy farmers ? Cos it'll make f-all difference to the world supply/demand and price for milk...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Simply wont be the funding to support the uptake of this scheme in Ireland, looked up the cso figures for Irish milk deliveries from oct-dec 2015, their was 1 billion and 70 million litres sent in, for every 10% reduction below these levels if you take the 14 cent a litre payment it will cost nearly 15 million euro to fund it....
    The 11 million allocated along with say 5 million from the 150 million euro fund which will be allocated on a member states % of total eu milk supply I reckon will barely cover a 10% payout and that's assuming the 11 million will be allocated this way, if their was a massive say 30-40% reduction in Irish milk supply it would cost nearly 50 million to fund a 14 cent payout to irish farmers who reduce supply provided they are actually paid on every litre, very poor reporting from the likes of agriland/farmers journal and co that they didn't bother to work out the particulars of funding this scheme and simply spouting rubbish that 14 cent a litre will be payed out on every litre you produce under 2015 levels it simply wont be the case....
    Lads could find themselves in a nice bind come jan/feb when the 10-12 grand they might be expecting from this scheme only comes to maybe 2000 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

jaymla627 wrote:
    Simply wont be the funding to support the uptake of this scheme in Ireland, looked up the cso figures for Irish milk deliveries from oct-dec 2015, their was 1 billion and 70 million litres sent in, for every 10% reduction below these levels if you take the 14 cent a litre payment it will cost nearly 15 million euro to fund it.... The 11 million allocated along with say 5 million from the 150 million euro fund which will be allocated on a member states % of total eu milk supply I reckon will barely cover a 10% payout and that's assuming the 11 million will be allocated this way, if their was a massive say 30-40% reduction in Irish milk supply it would cost nearly 50 million to fund a 14 cent payout to irish farmers who reduce supply provided they are actually paid on every litre, very poor reporting from the likes of agriland/farmers journal and co that they didn't bother to work out the particulars of funding this scheme and simply spouting rubbish that 14 cent a litre will be payed out on every litre you produce under 2015 levels it simply wont be the case.... Lads could find themselves in a nice bind come jan/feb when the 10-12 grand they might be expecting from this scheme only comes to maybe 2000 euro

+1 brutal reporting, any every man on the street wer getting paid for a few months off. I'd say funding will be around 10-20% of those months supply, so I'll be very cagey as I need cash flow those months..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

how can they get it so wrong ,last year they gave us 1500 for milking more[the way i look at it] , now they think its wise to pay us to cut back ,which is only helping the rest of the world and their prices as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Who got 1500 for milking more last year ,my neighbour who milks 8 cows got it ,i suppose this year he will have to dry cows in start of october to get the handout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

cute geoge wrote:
    Who got 1500 for milking more last year ,my neighbour who milks 8 cows got it ,i suppose this year he will have to dry cows in start of october to get the handout

God above I didn't and I'm twice your neighbours size. Have they no respect for those of us expanding come what may to feed the world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

All this thinkering around by the eu in the dairy industry is a joke.I reckon there are some rightly pissed off tillage guys at what's going on at the moment.we are dealing in a world market and the cheerleading at the end of the quotas and expansion,expansion was all u would hear.its about time we got used to standing on our own two feet and stop looking for handouts.but I suppose the ifa,icmsa etc only ever have the poor mouth and its so deeply engrained into them its a default position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Was talking to uk farmer recently and he said happy day to see the back of
    "EU directive " .Have ye heard of that word before .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

kerry cow wrote: »

Your right. He made a mess of explaining it, either that or he hasn't a clue how it'll work either.
    It'd be a no brainier if we could reduce by what % we wanted and got paid the full 14.4c/l on all this %.
    They'll be no profit in milking on this year once grass is out of the diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

The op asked for an explanation not an opinion. I like he would be grateful for same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Wait a minute, not more grant funded dairy farmers being offered yet more money for their highly profitable businesses. Hmmm something doesn't read right, where are the quotas in that sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭sthilmick

The global market is grand if everyone is playing by the same rules even the bord bia inspectors don't have the same rules old fella was told to do something a while ago brother was told not to bother with it next time brother was told the same thing as the old fella the first time he did it and following inspection asked what did he do that for. Cows in the USA and Newzeland ain't being scrutinised like Ireland. If the customer wants quality assured meat milk and cereals better be prepared to pay for them. Otherwise it's a race to the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

In Western Australia five farms will not have milk contracts renewed and so it looks like they will have to exit the business. There is too much milk being supplied according to the processor.

They're probably right lads were dancing at the crossroads here when the quotas went it was the celtic tiger for farmers as far as I can see borrowing money on inflated milk prices to buy stock machines and build sheds and parlors now reality has kicked alot of people on the ass guess who's gonna win the banks again

The op asked for an explanation not an opinion. I like he would be grateful for same.

Wouldn't we all..!!
    The explanations are not yet available therefore all we can do is give opinions unless Phil Hogan is on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Well c4 how did john dunsworth quote figures in the indo?? We don't need Phil we need john

C4d78 wrote: »
    Wouldn't we all..!!
    The explanations are not yet available therefore all we can do is give opinions unless Phil Hogan is on boards.

I'm sure Phil will do well out of it

Well c4 how did john dunsworth quote figures in the indo?? We don't need Phil we need john

John gave a half a story. 14.4c/l was figure he gave but a lot of details are missing on whether you'd get it on the entire volume you reduce by. The first quarter you could opt for would be October to December and you have to give notice of your intentions to reduce in advance and by what volume in comparison to last year.

Link to Agriland article on scheme
    Check this out on Agriland! http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/voluntary-supply-reduction-scheme-can-boost-milk-prices-quickly-icmsa/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Why doesnt the EU try to increase demand? Like advertising to encourage people to eat more dairy products such as skimmed milk instead of soft drinks or butter instead of margarine.

I doubt the EU has made any effort to encourage consumption in growth markets like Africa or China. You can ship a carton of milk to China for about 8 cent as a container returning to China from delivering goods to Europe are going back empty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

C4d78 wrote: »
    John gave a half a story. 14.4c/l was figure he gave but a lot of details are missing on whether you'd get it on the entire volume you reduce by. The first quarter you could opt for would be October to December and you have to give notice of your intentions to reduce in advance and by what volume in comparison to last year.

Link to Agriland article on scheme
    Check this out on Agriland! http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/voluntary-supply-reduction-scheme-can-boost-milk-prices-quickly-icmsa/

Sooo, to claim another handout all you have to do to maximize your take is...deliver your milk to the neighbor and split the 14cpl handout between you...simples.

Thanks rangler. Lovely.

Just like the old days! :)
    I did plenty of that. Gravy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Dawggone wrote:
    Sooo, to claim another handout all you have to do to maximize your take is...deliver your milk to the neighbor and split the 14cpl handout between you...simples.

Unless it's cute George's neighbour in which case you'll have to deliver a bigger bulk tank as well.

newacc2015 wrote: »
    Why doesnt the EU try to increase demand? Like advertising to encourage people to eat more dairy products such as skimmed milk instead of soft drinks or butter instead of margarine.

I doubt the EU has made any effort to encourage consumption in growth markets like Africa or China. You can ship a carton of milk to China for about 8 cent as a container returning to China from delivering goods to Europe are going back empty

Ah come on!
    The Eu are at fault for not creating a market for milk powder??

Out of interest, when was the last time you purchased some for you or your family and friends?

kowtow wrote: »
    Unless it's cute George's neighbour in which case you'll have to deliver a bigger bulk tank as well.

In the good old days, a few quid to the tanker driver and he'd take the sample from the refrigerated tank...suppose we'd have to persuade George's neighbor to upgrade now that things are so strict...

Just think gravy...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

sthilmick wrote: »
    The global market is grand if everyone is playing by the same rules even the bord bia inspectors don't have the same rules old fella was told to do something a while ago brother was told not to bother with it next time brother was told the same thing as the old fella the first time he did it and following inspection asked what did he do that for. Cows in the USA and Newzeland ain't being scrutinised like Ireland. If the customer wants quality assured meat milk and cereals better be prepared to pay for them. Otherwise it's a race to the bottom.

Of course the consumer wants quality milk, meat and cereals but when push comes to shove money talks. I'm guilty of it myself and I'm sure we all are. You can charge them a premium price for a premium product but don't be surprised when it gets left on the shelf in favor of a cheaper alternative

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Dawggone wrote: »
    Ah come on!
    The Eu are at fault for not creating a market for milk powder??

Out of interest, when was the last time you purchased some for you or your family and friends?

I didnt say milk powder, I said milk in cartons. You can ship a carton of UHT to mainland China for 7/8 cents a litre. There is no need to sell it in the form of powder. UHT isnt to the taste of Irish Consumers, but the Chinese have no issue with it

Powdered milk is still pretty popular in developing countries where people dont even have a fridge. Powdered milk isnt a choice for them, it is all they can drink

newacc2015 wrote: »
    I didnt say milk powder, I said milk in cartons. You can ship a carton of UHT to mainland China for 7/8 cents a litre. There is no need to sell it in the form of powder. UHT isnt to the taste of Irish Consumers, but the Chinese have no issue with it

Powdered milk is still pretty popular in developing countries where people dont even have a fridge. Powdered milk isnt a choice for them, it is all they can drink

Uht to China?

I'd be aiming to sell product into markets where the populace can afford fridges...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dawggone wrote: »
    Uht to China?

I'd be aiming to sell product into markets where the populace can afford fridges...
    Thats were my milk is going, everyday collection here this months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Looked at scheme ,thought about it and not going to bother .no money and no guarntee of how much or cruically when (Feb March ??proab later)this will be paid out I'm ploughing on as normal ,lots of high solids milk produced from grass and wraps and up to 4 kg meal from now till Dec 20 ,guaranteed cheque every month and bills cleared by Dec 31

J DEERE wrote: »
    Of course the consumer wants quality milk, meat and cereals but when push comes to shove money talks. I'm guilty of it myself and I'm sure we all are. You can charge them a premium price for a premium product but don't be surprised when it gets left on the shelf in favor of a cheaper alternative

A fair point but I think that Ireland is not cashing in on its best selling points people in other countries think of Ireland as a lush green wholesome country especially in the US the upper middle classes in the states would pay a little extra for quality produce more than enough to consume the total exports of this little country there are supermarkets with budgets bigger than the GNP of this place and we should be flogging to them say that the farmer was getting 40c per litre and the beef man could get €4.25 per kg for quality not organic just quality assured and produce slightly less make more profit from slightly less. The yanks have 2 choices feed lot really cheap or organic really expensive we should be looking at the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

A fair point but I think that Ireland is not cashing in on its best selling points people in other countries think of Ireland as a lush green wholesome country especially in the US the upper middle classes in the states would pay a little extra for quality produce more than enough to consume the total exports of this little country there are supermarkets with budgets bigger than the GNP of this place and we should be flogging to them say that the farmer was getting 40c per litre and the beef man could get €4.25 per kg for quality not organic just quality assured and produce slightly less make more profit from slightly less. The yanks have 2 choices feed lot really cheap or organic really expensive we should be looking at the middle

The yank wouldn't have a clue if we were getting 4.25kg or 3.70/kg . the factories will charge the same price but just get more money

A fair point but I think that Ireland is not cashing in on its best selling points people in other countries think of Ireland as a lush green wholesome country especially in the US the upper middle classes in the states would pay a little extra for quality produce more than enough to consume the total exports of this little country there are supermarkets with budgets bigger than the GNP of this place and we should be flogging to them say that the farmer was getting 40c per litre and the beef man could get 4.25 per kg for quality not organic just quality assured and produce slightly less make more profit from slightly less. The yanks have 2 choices feed lot really cheap or organic really expensive we should be looking at the middle

I'd like to agree with you but I think you're a bit wide of the mark. The US isn't going to be our holy grail and I say that as someone with experience of living there. We seem to fail to realize that the Americans are quickly catching on to the idea of grass fed, antibiotic and hormone free produce themselves as people are educating themselves more and taking much more interest in where their food is coming from. Grass fed produce is now sold in nearly every supermarket and restaurant and is not being sold at the premium price that organic demands.

I totally agree with you but the grass fed is still a premium price over there I'm talking about aiming just below as I understand it in the US stores there's A. beef B grass fed beef C organic beef and D organic grass fed beef. The beef in A is feed lot pumped with hormones **** B is conventional farming as we know it with only grass there's a huge price gap bet A and B a massive jump again from B to C and up to D and the largest demand V supply is for B in the supermarkets say that we're producing B- using a certain amount of concentrate and beet to supplement the diet but mostly grass. In an industry of tonnes it's cents that make the difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

I totally agree with you but the grass fed is still a premium price over there I'm talking about aiming just below as I understand it in the US stores there's A. beef B grass fed beef C organic beef and D organic grass fed beef. The beef in A is feed lot pumped with hormones **** B is conventional farming as we know it with only grass there's a huge price gap bet A and B a massive jump again from B to C and up to D and the largest demand V supply is for B in the supermarkets say that we're producing B- using a certain amount of concentrate and beet to supplement the diet but mostly grass. In an industry of tonnes it's cents that make the difference

The demand is hardly that big for grass fed with meal? The us is in a much better position to produce either 100% grass fed, grass+meal and organic beef than here

The logistics will never make it possible for us to sell at B- as you put it and make money. The beef has to be slaughtered, hung, processed then shipped across the Atlantic. The price jump from A to B isn't that big, a couple of dollars per lb across the board is all. There has been a shift away from the consumption of red meat and dairy in the metropolitan areas of the US. These are the areas with the disposable income but there has been a shift towards consuming plant based protein and veganism.

Whole foods market had Irish beef for sale at 21.99/lb. The same steak, grass fed and hormone free American raised was displayed beside it for 12.99/lb

The demand is hardly that big for grass fed with meal? The us is in a much better position to produce either 100% grass fed, grass+meal and organic beef than here

You think? Not really sure what you mean use the whole wholesome green thing to create a market aim it at the right place something slightly aspirational but not unachievable. We're faced with it every day in our own lives from VW cars that are average at best to budwiser and that's crap bord bia are sitting on their hands covney spent 5 yrs wanting to play soilders and to get in line to replace Kenny the. The whole world is smoke and mirrors why can't we do some of that milk in Ireland is high quality so is beef what's the problem with biggin it up cattle prices went up again in the UK this week and they are talking about live export to Turkey as if it's a good thing