Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most interesting thing you've come across on Boards

• 22-07-2016 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭

Just realised it's 4 years to the day since I joined Boards.

What is the most memorable thing you've ever read on Boards? Surely there's one thing that still makes you smile every time you remember it? Maybe there's an argument with a troll that you still can't let go? Or maybe there's just something that sticks out in your mind when you think of this site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

The thread about the Safe.

What an epic saga that was!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I was very innocent and didn't know what a Glory Hole was, thanks to boards I now do! But I kinda wish I didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

The safe thread is up there with face kicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Dirty bugger, coming across things :eek::eek::eek:

Evogate was very funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The prison forum.

Some hillarious threads there.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Ah lads, its a pity the boards wiki is gone cos yis missed some true greats such as "Bubbles" i think his name was with the famed CD burner etc :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

Bring me up to speed on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Definitely the second post in this thread:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056481820

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

kerryked wrote: »
    Bring me up to speed on this?

Look in the legendary threads sticky here in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

The "Safe" thread was brilliant, and for me the "The Rope in Lidl" one was a classic as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Most interesting thing I have come across on Boards...your Ma's face I guess:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I really enjoyed that wedding thread where the couple were stinge-ing out everyone by not providing any grub and not warning anyone in advance (there was some other quirk to their meanness I can't recall now). The thread was started in the weeks coming up to the event by the bridesmaid who was horrified by the plan and didn't know what to do. There were thread updates on the night of the event itself as it descended into chaos and acrimony. Then, soon after, the thread was deleted to protect the guilty!

The 'live update' type threads are great. That safe in the garage one was just magic.

Also, the stinge thread. Love a bit of stinge-spotting I do!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Yer man who wanted to get stuck into his grinds teacher, that was brilliant :D

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

For me it has to be the story of Trent "The Madman", how that thread played out was just incredible.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055716814

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The Wedding forum is brilliant, real popcorn stuff. And I'm a sucker for You Feels You Lose on the Cool Vids forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

a past member called facekicker.

the boards prison. :)

the thread people you take a dislike to - this was closed.

the thread about adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭TheWarChicken

Zombie survival forum. Who knew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

eviltwin wrote: »
    The Wedding forum is brilliant, real popcorn stuff. And I'm a sucker for You Feels You Lose on the Cool Vids forum.

Definitely the wedding forum and 'giftgate' - each invitation was individually written with the gift that the couple requested from the guest - mixer/blender to a bike for their son!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

As soon as I saw the name of the thread I thought 'the safe incident'... That was fun.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I've never really got all the love for facekicker, he was the ultimate one-trick pony. :confused:

As already mentioned, the Weddings & Marriages forum is a ongoing source of epic threads. There was one last year where the couple basically told all the guests what to buy them as presents, and each gift was calculated based on the guest's perceived ability to pay, as judged by the couple. That one ran and ran for ages and never disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Safe Thread

That idiot bride who wanted a stand mixer was gripping stuff for a while

Wasted many a workday reading Your favourite unsolved mystery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Dovies wrote: »
    Definitely the wedding forum and 'giftgate' - each invitation was individually written with the gift that the couple requested from the guest - mixer/blender to a bike for their son!!

Ah that was epic, plus the poster getting together with cupcake guy made it so much better!

Another brilliant thread in the wedding forum was where some one was giving out about a venue and the venue owner/manager posted and showed her up completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Weddings definitely gives some good ones.

Was there one about a fella who thought his flatmate was going to stab him?

Another one was a young lad who was being encouraged to ask someone out. I think I even logged in from a holiday to catch up with that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

More naval gazing on boards... Sure it must be 6 days since the last one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

The wedding guest poo debacle.

(Also Trent and the Lidl rope thread that have been mentioned above.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Definitely the second post in this thread:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056481820

That's fantastic, especially when the OP comes back in still looking for an answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Weddings definitely gives some good ones.

Another one was a young lad who was being encouraged to ask someone out. I think I even logged in from a holiday to catch up with that one!
    That was the Brian and Ciara thread. It wasn't smutty just funny and he got his girl in the end. Wonder if they are still together? I remember some threads about pranks on flatmates which were hilarious. A lot of the fun has got killed off over the years on Boards unfortunately. Either posters were banned or closed their accounts. Some might still be around but don't come out to play that much anymore as they have probably moved on to other websites.

Another wedding thread. A bride asked a work colleague, the OP, she had known for about a year to be her bridesmaid. The bride and her sister tried to hit the OP up for a lot of the expenses around the wedding. The OP pulled out at the last minute because she knew she was being taken for a ride and the bride and sister went into meltdown blaming the OP for ruining her day.

Shint0 wrote: »
    That was the Brian and Clara thread. It wasn't smutty just funny and he got his girl in the end. Wonder if they are still together? I remember some threads about pranks on flatmates which were hilarious. A lot of the fun has got killed off over the years on Boards unfortunately. Either posters were banned or closed their accounts. Some might still be around but don't come out to play that much anymore as they have probably moved on to other websites.

Another wedding thread. A bride asked a work colleague, the OP, she had known for about a year to be her bridesmaid. The bride and her sister tried to hit the OP up for a lot of the expenses around the wedding. The OP pulled out at the last minute because she knew she was being taken for a ride and the bride and sister went into meltdown blaming the OP for ruining her day.

lol - it was Brian and Clara!

Yes, that wedding one was excellent as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Still searching.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The girl showering all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

lol - it was Brian and Clara!

Yes, that wedding one was excellent as well.

Sorry, I made a typo in my post. The girl was Ciara but definitely one that stands out for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

That was me and my waster of a housemate who hung around at the top of the stairs with a knife trying to get into my room.

It was around that time that I figured I never wanted to be living with another human being again (wife being the illustrious exception) and go back to my solo hermit lifestyle which I previously enjoyed for years :pac:

Duggy747 wrote: »
    That was me and my waster of a housemate who hung around at the top of the stairs with a knife trying to get into my room.

It was around that time that I figured I never wanted to be living with another human being again (wife being the illustrious exception) and go back to my solo hermit lifestyle which I previously enjoyed for years :pac:

Oh do link us to it Duggy!

One thing I've noticed is there are a number of very insightful and interesting posters who will post in a low key way but get their point across succinctly and very impressively.

Equally there are some who are fond of repeating themselves and do the whole mega-multi-quote thing and manage to say very little at all, and even less of worth.

Other than that, the safe thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Weddings forum is always good for a visit. The wedding with no food had me hooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Edenhazard in the "Know your Lookalikes" thread was one of the best threads in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Duggy747 wrote: »

Oh wow i remember following that one, must be years ago now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

The thread about the guy taking someone's headphones off while on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

There's a thread for ledengry posts that covers this.

Why not create some new interesting content yourself instead of harping back to the same old threads repeatedly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Smondie wrote: »

Why not create some new interesting content yourself instead of harping back to the same old threads repeatedly?

Fair play... That's a very important contribution.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Carrotcrunch

New to boards as of last week. Got a couple of questions answered which is great but there are so many trolls on here. It's putting me off. Is there any way to filter out all the sh1t? I don't want to read people giving out and calling other people names. This might be the wrong place to post, just getting the hang of this! Thanks

johnayo wrote: »

oh my God, this is my favourite post ever. I'll be talking about this for the next 20 years!

Am I in the club now? :D

johnayo wrote: »

oh my God, this is my favourite post ever. I'll be talking about this for the next 20 years!

Am I in the club now? :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

New to boards as of last week. Got a couple of questions answered which is great but there are so many trolls on here. It's putting me off. Is there any way to filter out all the sh1t? I don't want to read people giving out and calling other people names. This might be the wrong place to post, just getting the hang of this! Thanks

You can ignore individual users.

however if you've already ignored me, you won't get to see this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Carrotcrunch

You can ignore individual users.

however if you've already ignored me, you won't get to see this.

Lol no haven't ignored you :)

Didn't know you could do that - thanks. It's mad on here, people hate that other people like things they don't like. What's that all about?! If you don't like a tv show/ radio show/ band/ actor just don't watch them lol. No need for slandering and name calling

Anyway thanks, I'll ignore to my hearts content now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

check_six wrote: »
    I really enjoyed that wedding thread where the couple were stinge-ing out everyone by not providing any grub and not warning anyone in advance (there was some other quirk to their meanness I can't recall now). The thread was started in the weeks coming up to the event by the bridesmaid who was horrified by the plan and didn't know what to do. There were thread updates on the night of the event itself as it descended into chaos and acrimony. Then, soon after, the thread was deleted to protect the guilty!

The 'live update' type threads are great. That safe in the garage one was just magic.

Also, the stinge thread. Love a bit of stinge-spotting I do!

I need link to this

There was a funny one on the weddings forum about providing only vegan or vegetarian food at a wedding once too.

The weddings forum seems to produce the most outrage of any forum on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The Thunderdome was amazing. The insults were on a different level to anything I'd ever heard before, I'd literally cry laughing at some of the exchanges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Can someone post up the link to the safe thread? Dying to read it and can't find it!

Gift-gate is definitely up there. That turned into a love story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Can someone post up the link to the safe thread? Dying to read it and can't find it!

Gift-gate is definitely up there. That turned into a love story!

You'll find the Safe thread at the top of the page in the "Legendary Threads" Sticky.