Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Non-Swearword Swearword

• 18-07-2016 9:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭

Everyone is fond of **** or *****. Some people are even more enamored with ********* or even you hairy ****. But anyone can say ***** or ****** and it doesn't require much imagination.

Old school swearing without swearing seems to be the way to go. Calling someone a dirty bowsie or a backstard.

Even using "Cheese and Rice" instead of the much reknowned zombie magician.

I feel like there has to be more out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Cabbage.
    Spoon.
    Specimen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Gunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

You Donkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Fup.
    Baxtard.
    Pedrophile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Struggling with the oul swear filter OP, ya 'Smeghead'.

Ah, thats the favourite none swear by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I don't know if this counts, but I used "farkakte" for years and years without realizing it was not my grandmother's made-up word. (It's Yiddish for "sh!tty" but in practical use comes closer to "f@cked up" in the sense of "broken".)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Flibbertigibbet. I use to try and use it instead of 'fúck' in front of the kids. Instead of saying 'Ah fúck...', I'd try and say 'Ah, flibbertigibbet...'. It cheers you up straight away.

I never realised until looking up the spelling now that it meant 'A frivolous, flighty, or excessively talkative person'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Patser

Siucra - there's a lovely, aggressive flow to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

"Absolute helmet" always makes me laugh.

Also really enjoy putting the word "thundering" in front of any swear word. Gives it an extra kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Patser wrote: »
    Siucra - there's a lovely, aggressive flow to it

Very good one. In Texas it was, "Aw, sugar".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Strumpet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Ride me sideways was another one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Flamin Galah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭scouttio

Mouth breather and spanner and particular favourites of mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Flamin Galah!

Rack awf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

My own most recent favourite was to call someone "not much better than a dry heave"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Numpty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Schmo-hawk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I got into a habit of saying "Jeez Louise" when my nephew was around and i say it all the time now. My husband hates when I say it. He says it's worse than cursing. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Rack awf!

Oy!

Who the flamin heck, dya reckon you're talkin to, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Olishi4 wrote: »
    I got into a habit of saying "Jeez Louise" when my nephew was around and i say it all the time now. My husband hates when I say it. He says it's worse than cursing. :)

Your husband has a point, well Jeez Louise is ok, I really hate when adults use words like poop, 'I'm absolutely pooped' etc kid talk by adults is bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭TheWarChicken

Banjaxed is one of my favorites. Referring to something broken. E.G. Jaysus you've gone and banjaxed the car you right eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Scutter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

i use dip stick occassionally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

My aunt in law used to say "Jaykesht" instead of Jesus or Jaysus. I think it was a west Cork thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Been saying 'SHNOLLOX!!' for many a year now.

It's parts of Shit, Nonsense and Bollox combined.

Has to be shouted for full effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

d u n k .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

You handicapped biscuits

ye basket case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Bellend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Sponge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭recyclops

absolute wagon

Ya Clown!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

It's more when it takes this form:
    5rtytry56 wrote: »
    ye basket case.

I'll basket case you.

recyclops wrote: »
    absolute wagon

I'll wagon you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Goosed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

Crumbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭bradolf pittler

Scruffy looking nerf herder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

Ye Poxbottle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Gowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

"Jesus Christ" or just "Christ" for short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,532 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Geebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

I always find 'You moron' quite effective for really ruffling people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Twunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Gob****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Plonker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭webpal

ah for f..... flutterin flapperjax sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

My Dad has some great ones.

"You wouldn't find him in a lucky bag" is one of his favourites.

"**** me pink" is his usual term of surprise also :P