Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jet from Gladiators

• 17-07-2016 11:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭

She was doing some kind of analysis of big brother contestants, the last time I saw her and my husband said that she's still got it!

I remember a Saturday afternoon and my parents were out and my brother was minding me. I was about 10 and he was 15/16 and had all his friends in the house. So we were watching "Gladiators" and all the lads were cheering for "Jet" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Diane Youdale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I had some chicken breast nuggets with garlic mayo earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

My cats breath smells like cat food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

That's a Neighbours thread and a Gladiators thread tonight from you OP. Looking forward to the Blind Date, Catchphrase and Crystal Maze ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Omackeral wrote: »
    That's a Neighbours thread and a Gladiators thread tonight from you OP. Looking forward to the Blind Date, Catchphrase and Crystal Maze ones.

Hope Omackeral that you can come up something far more deep and interesting. I'm sure we would all love to hear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

What about Fun House, or You Can't Say That On Television?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Olishi4 wrote: »
    Hope Omackeral that you can come up something far more deep and interesting. I'm sure we would all love to hear?

Deeper than an ex-gladiator commenting on a load of numpties living in a house for the opportunity to be on d'telly?

So..... pretty much anything, really...?

Here you go, from 2 minutes ago in the existential crisis thread.
    Space obviously has to end somewhere. Then again, space obviously can't end anywhere. It's the most f*cked up thing to try wrap your head around, both are just as likely as each other.

If indeed it does go on forever and in all directions, which of the following is more unsettling ; We are all alone in this vast,vast universe...or we are not.

Deep enough for ya?! :p

Phwoar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

endacl wrote: »
    Deeper than an ex-gladiator commenting on a load of numpties living in a house for the opportunity to be on d'telly?

So..... pretty much anything, really...?

Sometimes endacl, conversations don't need to be deep and meaningful. Sometimes people just want to have a bit a of a chat and fun about old shows or whatever. Sometimes you can talk about "pretty much anything really"! But I'll await your and the other lads deep meaningful threads and I'm sure they'l be very entertaining and deep and we call all whinge and moan about the meaning of life together, great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Sometimes endacl, conversations don't need to be deep and meaningful. Sometimes people just want to have a bit a of a chat and fun about old shows or whatever. Sometimes you can talk about "pretty much anything really"! But I'll await your and the other lads deep meaningful threads and I'm sure they'l be very entertaining and deep and we call all whinge and moan about the meaning of life together, great craic!

See? That's much better! Go, you.

endacl wrote: »
    See? That's much better! Go, you.

Ye but what about Jet? :p

Jet was and is a ride. A total lasher. I loved Gladiators and I loved 90's Saturday night TV. There was a great innocence to it. Even Blind Date was very PG with the crowd wooing at the saucy answers. "Here's our Graham with a quick reminder!". Nowadays it's all people just trying to be lewd and famous.

Back to gladiators though. The glads themselves were like gods and goddesses. They were almost comic book superstars with cool outfits and awesome names like Lightening, Wolf, Hunter and Saracen. I remember how shocked I'd be when a "normal" guy or girl would beat them. Great memoroes. CONTENDER READY?!?! GLADIATOR READY?!?!?

Jet was and is a ride. A total lasher. I loved Gladiators and I loved 90's Saturday night TV. There was a great innocence to it. Even Blind Date was very PG with the crowd wooing at the saucy answers. "Here's our Graham with a quick reminder!". Nowadays it's all people just trying to be lewd and famous.

Back to gladiators though. The glads themselves were like gods and goddesses. They were almost comic book superstars with cool outfits and awesome names like Lightening, Wolf, Hunter and Saracen. I remember how shocked I'd be when a "normal" guy or girl would beat them. Great memoroes. CONTENDER READY?!?! GLADIATOR READY?!?!?

Thanks for that insight. Looking forward to your views in Blind Date, Catchphrase and The Crystal Maze!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Come to think of it there was one particular event where the contestants had to swing by gymnastic rings from one platform to another. The female participants were chased by jet who would usually latch onto them crossed legged and basically drag them off - with some enthusiasm.

phew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I remember when nostalgia was good.

Thanks for that insight. Looking forward to your views in Blind Date, Catchphrase and The Crystal Maze!

Well I gave it on Blind Date just there if you were paying attention!

Catchphrase was great and loved watching it with my Grandad. He was very rare with the compliments but when I got one right he'd say "there's a good lad" and I'd feel ten feet tall. Lovely simple memories. Ill tell you about Crystal Maze next time if ya like :)

Come to think of it there was one particular event where the contestants had to swing by gymnastic rings from one platform to another. The female participants were chased by jet who would usually latch onto them crossed legged and basically drag them off - with some enthusiasm.

phew.

That was called Hang Tough. Lightening was the queen at that one if I recall correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

I used to be scared of the Crystal Maze, I thought that if the people didn't get the crystal in the room they would be trapped in there forever :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

It's funny that if you put a picture of her up on some random website where they would have never had UK Gladiators, you'd get dumb comments like "is that a guy?" and whatnot - http://i2.chroniclelive.co.uk/incoming/article9853117.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/JS70000211.jpg

I was always torn between her and Lightning, such are the dilemmas of an 7/8/9 year old kid at the time. Moral of the story, athletic women are hot.

Mackman wrote: »
    I used to be scared of the Crystal Maze, I thought that if the people didn't get the crystal in the room they would be trapped in there forever :(

They actually were.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

What a woman.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Such a stunner back in the day and had a major crush on her in my teenage years. She also appeared on a show called 'Game World' around the same time which was about Video games. She had a slot where she would give cheats to games people would send in they were stuck on. She used to be laid across a bed in a black pvc leather dress..looking more like something from those late night tv shows you see appear once normal broadcast has ended!

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/sEsiy_8eAps/maxresdefault.jpg