Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glenroe theme on a Sunday night.

• 17-07-2016 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭

A friend of mine messaged me there telling me that there was a documentary on about Glenroe and went on to ask if I remember feeling dread when I'd hear the Glenroe theme on a Sunday night "hahaha."

I told him to cop on to himself and stop repeating these old, trite observations. That, and people who base their whole personalities on Father Ted quotes, highlight a complete lack of originality amongst some Irish people. There's no room for nostalgia when there's a whole future waiting to be discovered.

What annoys you along these lines? People quoting the Simpsons? South Park? At least nobody quotes Family Guy any more, thank God.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

Worst thread ever....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I don't care if people quote the Simpsons. I don't watch it so I wouldn't know where the quote was from.

If fr ted, glenroe, Simpsons etc annoy you so much how do you recognise the quote?

Also the panic of glenroe starting and the homework not even started

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

That, and people who base their whole personalities on Father Ted quotes, highlight a complete lack of originality amongst some Irish people.

If you ever say that again, I'll put your head through the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

What happened Frada, you used to be cool.....

Well holy God!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

If fr ted, glenroe, Simpsons etc annoy you so much how do you recognise the quote?

I love(d) those programmes but I don't like it when people quote them non-stop in conversation. Giggling their way through a half-remembered routine from an episode they haven't seen in ten years. It's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

I was very excited, another chance to see my Fidelma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I love(d) those programmes but I don't like it when people quote them non-stop in conversation. Giggling their way through a half-remembered routine from an episode they haven't seen in ten years. It's embarrassing.

Have you found yourself making noises when getting out of chairs recently and enjoying a cup of tea and a game of chess a little too much on a Saturday night?

If so, welcome to the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I never watched Glenroe. Even as a child I knew rural life wasn't for me, so why would I watch a show about its worst aspects? I was much more likely to be reading a book or checking to see that everything was ready for another week at school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Shut up Meg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Oh look, the fat man has become so massive he has imploded in on himself like a neutron star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I never watched Glenroe. Even as a child I knew rural life wasn't for me, so why would I watch a show about its worst aspects? I was much more likely to be reading a book or checking to see that everything was ready for another week at school.

Worst aspects? Batin' the hoop off Fidelma on top of a hay bale sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Ha. Everyone humming it in their heads now

That's really sad. :( Hope things are more positive for you now.

You missed nothing, Aongus. Pure filth, that's all it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You know what annoys me?

What the fcuk was the m for in Mike Murphy's stupid quiz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

My Dad never missed an episode of Glenroe so hearing the theme tune makes me think of him.

As for Father Ted, I loved it but yeah people quoting it ad nauseam to try and show they were with it became a 'thing' and I hate 'things'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

That, and people who base their whole personalities on Father Ted quotes, highlight a complete lack of originality amongst some Irish people.

Ahem... :mad:

A friend of mine messaged me there telling me that there was a documentary on about Glenroe and went on to ask if I remember feeling dread when I'd hear the Glenroe theme on a Sunday night "hahaha."

I told him to cop on to himself and stop repeating these old, trite observations. That, and people who base their whole personalities on Father Ted quotes, highlight a complete lack of originality amongst some Irish people. There's no room for nostalgia when there's a whole future waiting to be discovered.

What annoys you along these lines? People quoting the Simpsons? South Park? At least nobody quotes Family Guy any more, thank God.

OP that's really good. I saw the thread title and dreaded another 'haha red lemonade, bosco, if ur Irish u will get this" type thread. Bravo

Did you at least watch Where in the World?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Did Aongus hack your account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Did you at least watch Where in the World?

I did. The questions were rather easy and I was always mystified as to how a grown adult could get them wrong when this child of 9 was able to answer them. That's what you get when you let taxi drivers appear on the television I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

#thatawkwardmomentwhenyouknowyourea90skidbythethingsyourmammyusedtosaywhenyouaskedforacrispsandwichforlunchafterdrinkdrivinghome
    frommassthenplayedkerbswithyourfriendswhowereagreatbunchoflads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

You know what annoys me?

It was supposed to be a play on "microcosm". Not the greatest of wordplay examples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

You know you're Irish when... immersion... King crisps... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

MurphysMicro quiz-m! Wasn't quite rapid roulette with Maxi!

Stop the lights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Whatever about the Glenroe theme on a Sunday night hearing the Fair City tune any night gives me an involuntary muscle spasm where I grab the remote and hit random buttons.
    Glenroe had simple humorous storylines but Fair City is just woeful miserable and full of horrendous dialogue and acting. I can recall many scenes from Glenroe but Fair City? Forget it.

I can recall many scenes from Glenroe but Fair City? Forget it.

I'll just leave this here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I can't remember a single episode of Glenroe where Miley didn't say that he was going to kill his father for whatever scheme or scam he was bringing down on their heads that week.

"I'm going to kill me father!", "you won't believe what he's only gone and done now!"

didn't Fair City bring us the first homosexual affair and kiss on Irish telly before the watershed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Having spent time in the UK when I was young... I raise you Take the high road or Crossroads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

foggy_lad wrote: »
    I can't remember a single episode of Glenroe where Miley didn't say that he was going to kill his father for whatever scheme or scam he was bringing down on their heads that week.

"I'm going to kill me father!", "you won't believe what he's only gone and done now!"

didn't Fair City bring us the first homosexual affair and kiss on Irish telly before the watershed.

They didnt actually kiss, they were interrupted.

I do get peed off at the Journal.ie buzz feed forced nostalgia fest though...

The immersion line... My sides are splitting... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Having spent time in the UK when I was young... I raise you Take the high road or Crossroads.
    I used to watch Take the High Road as a child. Morag, Sneddon, Effie... ah, the Scottishness of it all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I farted just there.

The only thing I remember about Take the High Road and Crossroads is their theme tunes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

You seem like the type of guy that gave the teachers homework

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

Jeez..I bet the winter nights just flew by in your gaf :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

#thatawkwardmomentwhenyouknowyourea90skidbythethingsyourmammyusedtosaywhenyouaskedforacrispsandwichforlunchafterdrinkdrivinghome
    frommassthenplayedkerbswithyourfriendswhowereagreatbunchoflads

You played kerbs with the Chinese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

ectoraige wrote:
    You played kerbs with the Chinese?

Great bunch of lads.

I grew up watching Glenroe. But all these nostalgia things on FB get old fast as others have posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

RayM wrote: »
    The only thing I remember about Take the High Road and Crossroads is their theme tunes.

And Benny with his green wooly hat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

You know what annoys me?

Who ever had Hot Milk and Pepper?

Brendan O Carroll before he started dressing up as a woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

If you never watched it how do you know what aspect was portrayed?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Ha

I used to love take the high road

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Real nostalgia would be talking about Bracken ........

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Remember the days before the corn laws were repealed, 1s2d for the quartern loaf, only earning 6s a week, kids crying for bread, bad times.