Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobsite radio...dab OR bluetooth conundrum

• 13-07-2016 9:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭

straight to the point,buying a worksite radio. Iv all makita tools so sticking with them,problem is its a choice between either bluetooth or DAB,they dont seem to offer a radio that has both. which would be a better choice? dont really understand benefits of dab, yet could only see me sparingly using bluetooth. Id be more inclined to plug an ipod into it. which should i plumb for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭StreetLight

I'd vote for DAB, especially if you're in the Greater Dublin area. RTE Gold is a DAB-only station which plays a great mix of music, with no adverts!

It's unusual to have a DAB-only radio, so check further to see if it also has FM. You'll have the best of both worlds.

If it has an AUX input, you can also plug an external source in, such as an iPod, if you have the correct lead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

If it has an AUX input, you can also plug an external source in, such as an iPod, if you have the correct lead.

It's unusual to have a DAB-only radio, so check further to see if it also has FM. You'll have the best of both worlds.

I'd vote for DAB, especially if you're in the Greater Dublin area. RTE Gold is a DAB-only station which plays a great mix of music, with no adverts!

Would a dab radio have better sound quality?? Or is it literally just a few extra dab channels? I'm really in 2 minds. Can't see why they just wouldn't make one with both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Are Newstalk and Today FM available on DAB?

No idea mate. I know feck all about it. Think it might be a waste of time to be fair. Especially if there's limited stations and coverage as stated above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bluetooth gives you way more options. Also radio sound quality won't be a big factor on a job site.

colm_mcm wrote:
    Bluetooth gives you way more options. Also radio sound quality won't be a big factor on a job site.

Think so myself mate. Just making sure I'm not missing a trick with DAB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

dbagman wrote: »
    Think so myself mate. Just making sure I'm not missing a trick with DAB.

TBH, I wouldn't worry about either feature.

DAB has such a small range of stations that it's not really a key feature. And with a load of lads hammering and drilling in the background, does it matter if the sound is crystal clear digital?

Bluetooth - well, it's grand, but you need to be sending music to the radio from someone's phone, which has to be left in close proximity to the radio (usually about 5-10 metres). So if you're playing music from your phone via bluetooth, and you go off for a coffee, the music will cut out.

So either way, you're going to end up using the bog-standard FM radio more often anyway.

Bluetooth - well, it's grand, but you need to be sending music to the radio from someone's phone, which has to be left in close proximity to the radio (usually about 5-10 metres). So if you're playing music from your phone via bluetooth, and you go off for a coffee, the music will cut out.

Think I'm gonna go with Bluetooth. It can be used as a soundbar for your TV and as it is im forever playing music from phone to my TV so think I might get more use out of it. Was more just sound quality I was thinking about but as you say won't make a huge difference on site