Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Post Rebel Tour of Cork Sat 10th Sep 2016

• 11-07-2016 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭

Most difficult but best cycle I like to do each year.

Registration is now open and returning to the Beara Peninsula for its 5th year. Usual 85km (challenging enough) and 160km (very challenging!) routes available.

see http://www.corksports.ie/index.cfm/page/an-post-rebel-tour for details.

Starting from the Eccles Hotel in Glengarriff, Cyclists will pedal their way along some of the most breathtaking scenery in the Beara Peninsula.

Distances:
    160km - Rebel Challenge
    85km - Rebel Rider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

The 160 was the best of about a dozen sportives I did last year and I highly recommend it. The scenery (if you get the weather) out around Allihies is amazing and the organisation first class.
    Unfortunately this year it clashes with the Causeway Coast Sportif and the Dublin Bike Ride is the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

551.JPG
    Probably going to get this wrong as have not posted pics before but here goes.

Took this after Allihies.

I don't normally stop to take pictures but this one just stopped me in my tracks.

ogf80y.jpg

Snap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

^ favourite spot on a bike, just before the pain on the other side of allihies lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Shriner

Beara Charity Cycle is on this Saturday if anybody fancies having a lash off this route in preparation for the Rebel Tour. bearacharitycycle.com - lots of jaffa cakes on offer at foodstops!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭cjonesy1

Anyone else having problems registering? I keep getting the message "valid code is mandatory for the 160km challenge". I'm going through the non CI member route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

booked so better get training. I have done this in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 and each year was always harder than previous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Registered for this very little cycling done in the last 2 years but up for having a crack off it. What's the story with leaving early has anyone attempted this previously?

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Registered for this very little cycling done in the last 2 years but up for having a crack off it. What's the story with leaving early has anyone attempted this previously?

They want everyone to start together and follow the pace car however if you start early the food stops will be not available and there will be no marshals at the intersections.

BailMeOut wrote: »
    They want everyone to start together and follow the pace car however if you start early the food stops will be not available and there will be no marshals at the intersections.

It won't be an issue at my pace.:)

Leave early every year, if flying solo you'll meet groups rolling out early on th caha pass.

shaka wrote: »
    Leave early every year, if flying solo you'll meet groups rolling out early on th caha pass.

What time leaving are you talking about roughly?

Before 8 at least.

I started in ardgroom last year and cycled into Glengariff over the healy pass, got to start of caha pass before 8 and there were good few groups gone up the road in front of me.

Organizers saying only 150 spots remain (see here)

Only 60 places remaining!

When there gone there gone!

Going to really struggle on the 160 but still can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Has anyone heard anything about sign in? There's usually an early option in the Oriel House Hotel in Ballincollig on the Thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

http://www.corksports.ie/index.cfm/page/signindetails

Thursday 8th September - Gaelscoil Ui Riordain - (5-8 pm) (the new school on the link road)
    Friday 9th September - Eccles Hotel, Glengarriff - (5-8 pm)
    Saturday 10th September - Eccles Hotel, Glengarriff - (7am until half an hour before each event)

forecast is looking good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dvntie

http://www.corksports.ie/index.cfm/page/signindetails

Thursday 8th September - Gaelscoil Ui Riordain - (5-8 pm) (the new school on the link road)
    Friday 9th September - Eccles Hotel, Glengarriff - (5-8 pm)
    Saturday 10th September - Eccles Hotel, Glengarriff - (7am until half an hour before each event)

forecast is looking good!

You coming out of retirement for this one then?

hope the fog is gone by Saturday as there is no way we can cycle in this.

Yes you can it's grand

dvntie wrote: »
    You coming out of retirement for this one then?

Fcuk u T

Big crowd here for sign on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭cjonesy1

Anyone know how many are taking part?

cjonesy1 wrote: »
    Anyone know how many are taking part?

2000 I believe and I think way more do the 85 than the 160.

Fcuk u T

Big crowd here for sign on

Sold out by all accounts
    See ya there on Sat

2000 I believe and I think way more do the 85 than the 160.

"Maximum capacity for 2016 is 2,500. Registration will close automatically once this number is reached"

Sold out this evening according to Cork Sports crowd.
    majority will be doing the 85 though all right, because its plenty!

dvntie wrote: »
    Sold out by all accounts
    See ya there on Sat

you wont, you'll be off an hour before me!
    (you might catch me on the pull back into Glengarriff)

Has settled down weather wise, hope it holds.

Day of suffering tomorrow, not near enough done but can't wait anyway.

Three of the four of us in same boat this year although I'm suspicious one fella has more done than he is letting on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

Great buzz as always on Glengarriff. Last man home......
    https://youtu.be/s2O6LkAxt7U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭nok2008

That 160 was one tough cycle. Did not have enough done but at least mostly good weather and something to train for next year

A savage day on the bike. One shower of rain near the start couldn't dampen down the enthusiasm. Then the sun came out and warmed us up.
    Savage views to be had everywhere.
    Brilliant organisation yet again.
    The only negative was those clowns that decided to discard gel wrappers on the road and not put in their pockets.
    Anyway for those who have never been, here's a little taster of what's to be seen in that part of the country

Anyone see the Goldwing broom-wagon? Some guy got a lift back to Eccles on a Goldwing with his broken bike on his lap!

Great day out again although the rain coming over Caha put a bit of a dampener on things.

Savage tour in every way,some of the best scenery in the country some bit chin hard climbs and well organised bar nearly getting taken out of it by ambulance pulled in at the bottom of healy pass descent.

Started off getting soaked after leaving jacket, arm warmers and shoe covers in car - warmed up after that.

Any photos up yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Shedite27

shaka wrote: »
    Savage tour in every way,some of the best scenery in the country some bit chin hard climbs and well organized bar nearly getting taken out of it by ambulance pulled in at the bottom of healy pass descent
    Either you were "nearly taken out of it by a moving vehicle" or "nearly hit a pulled in vehicle" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭straighttohell

They/we've been poxed the last few years with the weather for the RT. Again this year, the day sandwiched between horrible weather First time it reached max numbers. Can't see it get any bigger, had to park nearly 3k out of town.
    Chapeau to the young lad running the 85k food stop. Giving constant vocal instruction for arrivals and keeping that Q moving. That Healy pass is worth the admission price alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

First time doing the Rebel Tour 85k as not enough time (or training done) to do the long one due to family commitments. Thoroughly enjoyed the day bar the heavy rain shower early on. Loved the Healy Pass descent as you can easily see if the way is clear ahead to use all of the road.
    If anyone went down a gilet size yesterday i will swop a small for a medium, asked for a medium and did not try it on until lastnight when i noticed it was a very very snug small :D

Lady in the hotel reckoned that the route / venue will be elsewhere in cork next year? I hope not as i am on for the 160, stunning route.

I hope not. Be very surprised if the route changed, it's just very good and they sold out all the places this year. When the rebel tour was in Cork City I didn't think much of it.

Change of venue would be possible, start venue could easily change to CastletownBere, don't think Kenmare would be an option as you couldn't really call it the Rebel tour if it started and finished in Kenmare :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

As much as I love the current route a bit of variation doesn't do any harm. Bantry or Clonakilty would be good alternatives. There are plenty of scenic challenging routes around those two towns. We could head back to glengarriff in a few years.

Down around Schull, Mizen and Baltimore is stunning too. Roads around Clon would be very busy.
    Ive some vague recollection of hearing they've one more year in Glengarrifff and they're changing it, i.e 6 in total.

As long as they keep it away from East Cork I don't mind, it's a bit Waterfordy over there! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

There are 2 other cycles along that route every year the Beara Charity Cycle which takes in the Healy Pass and also the Ring of Beara Cycle so,if it does move there are other options.

From Bantry there is a cycle to Mizen and back called the Wild Atlantic Mizen Cycle

There is also one around Clon but cant think of it now.......

Keeks wrote: »

There is also one around Clon but cant think of it now.......

http://www.cloncycle.com/

& its on the same day as the Rebel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Star hurl

Any photos yet ?

They/we've been poxed the last few years with the weather for the RT.

Wasn't there this year but it sounds very like last year - generally grand but with one or two heavy showers. For the SW of Ireland in September, I certainly would't say "we've been poxed". Last Friday in Connemara, now that was poxybiggrin.png

Maybe I've misunderstood the expression "we've been poxed"? Could it mean we've been lucky/fortunate?

On the suggestions of changing the route, please don't. It's a fantastic circuit starting at the most accessible town (unless you are coming from Kerry/Limerick). If you want variety, just do some of the other sportives mentioned above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

Great event as usual. Super efficient organisation with the bar code readers for registration. Lots of marshals, and guards at major junctions. Good selection of food and plenty of it. Amazing scenery. Google helpfully stitched together a few pictures I took at the top of the Healy Pass (while I was recovering).

29549314691_d18650eebf_c.jpg

The souvenir gillet is great quality, my only complaint is that it is a bit small. I think XL was the largest they had which barely fit me and there were a few people a bit more substantial than me out there. All sorts of people out on the 85k, which I think is great.

No issues with cars at all, the roads are quiet and any motorists we did meet were very patient and considerate. I feel a bit bad for the population of Glengarriff which is a small enough town hosting a huge number of cyclists. Fair play to them, I appreciate it and I'm sure all the other cyclists and organisers do too.

HivemindXX wrote: »
    The souvenir gillet is great quality, my only complaint is that it is a bit small. I think XL was the largest they had which barely fit me and there were a few people a bit more substantial than me out there. All sorts of people out on the 85k, which I think is great.

some of the more generously sized of us, managed to squeeze into the XXLs on offer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

some of the more generously sized of us, managed to squeeze into the XXLs on offer!

Cool. I just need to manage early registration then. Or eat a few less pies.

HivemindXX wrote: »
    Cool. I just need to manage early registration then. Or eat a few less pies.

i was cursing my pie consumption towards the top of the Healy!

and then this kicked off

I was OK on the healy pass, my pie consumption cursing was out around allihies... Scenery made up for it.

Usually spot a few boardsie jerseys, didn't spot any this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

first batch of them - hopefully more on the way soon :)

http://www.corksports.ie/index.cfm/page/rebel-tour-16-photos