Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison officer recruitment Dublin

• 08-07-2016 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭

Hi all have any of you seen the advert on public jobs this morning for prison officers based in Dublin???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Descent money for a low skills entry level job but it is as tough a job mentally as probably exists out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Starting on 22,670 is hardly decent for all the crap you'd have to put up with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

italodisco wrote: »

A little over 440 per week before tax? That's an insult to whoever applies

And it that job you'll pay an additional prd top up contribution towards the public servant pension , after all that you'll be left with roughly 380 after all deductions.

I know someone in that job and I can tell you now that you Will get trouble at some point and is it really worth it for that amount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

You need no qualifications , 22,670 is very decent for what could easily be a minimum wage entry level.
    Money gets decent over time ,they publish what they pay out each year and there is always a few non manager levels earning between 70-100K a year with overtime.

That said would not do it personally for 250K a year as it takes such a toll on the individual.

A bit old but will give you an idea
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/prison-officers-and-gardai-rank-as-highest-paid-88525.html

Yes that role could cause serious stress / anxiety.
    I read somewhere that you are expected to do over 300 additional hours a year so that would add up.

Also, I have 5 years in the public service as a grade 3 so I'd be curious what pay level I would start at.

Tough job though, very tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

There's a brilliant Ask Me Anything thread with a prison officer, it's old and closed now but still gives amazing insight into the job for anyone looking into it as a career

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057333310

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

There is no overtime in Irish prisons

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/prison-officers-and-gardai-rank-as-highest-paid-88525.html[/quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭cordub

You need no qualifications , 22,670 is very decent for what could easily be a minimum wage entry level.
    Money gets decent over time ,they publish what they pay out each year and there is always a few non manager levels earning between 70-100K a year with overtime.

That said would not do it personally for 250K a year as it takes such a toll on the individual.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/prison-officers-and-gardai-rank-as-highest-paid-88525.html

Totally out of date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭curiousoranje

I've applied anyway, jobs a job. Wonder will many go for it? same money as new Gardai (but obviously no OT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Hi all have any of you seen the advert on public jobs this morning for prison officers based in Dublin???

IPS can transfer you anywhere once you finish your training, would imagine vacancies are in the larger prisons, Castlerea, Midlands, Portlaoise, Wheatfield, Clondalkin,Dublin.

Salary is Yellow pack though, this new grade of Recruit Prison Officer is a downgrade in salary and conditions compared to the original contract Would not go near it with a barge pole, dealing with prisoners and the abuse, mental and verbal, no thanks.

The older original contracts were better paid ,terms and conditions.

Plenty of patience, understanding dealing with prisoners everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Does anyone know if these jobs are subject to the same ridiculous colour sight requirements that most jobs of this nature are? (Guards/Military)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 anseo!

Few points for those thinking of applying

After training recruits will be sent to a Dublin prison. Transfers in the prison service are done on a seniority basis. You will be looking at a minimum of about 5 years in Dublin before you get a transfer

While the salary is pretty poor the is a number of allowances which will increase it. i.e. working sundays and public hoilday, an operational allowance, working overtime etc

Yes there still is overtime in the prison service, it is now called additional hours(ah)

In regard to older contracts v new contracts the big difference will be on the pension although this was changed in 2012 for all new entrants to the public service. Salarys will incur yearly increments however when new recruits qualify as officers their pay scale will be that of their fellow officers

Does anyone know if these jobs are subject to the same ridiculous colour sight requirements that most jobs of this nature are? (Guards/Military)

Yes its applicable

Yes that role could cause serious stress / anxiety.
    I read somewhere that you are expected to do over 300 additional hours a year so that would add up.

Also, I have 5 years in the public service as a grade 3 so I'd be curious what pay level I would start at.

Tough job though, very tough.

You would start on the same rate of pay as everybody else it would not be considered a sideways move for pay purposes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Bro81

Does anybody know how much service you are entitled to carry over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭apache

You can carry 3/4s of any public service over.

anseo! wrote: »
    Few points for those thinking of applying

After training recruits will be sent to a Dublin prison. Transfers in the prison service are done on a seniority basis. You will be looking at a minimum of about 5 years in Dublin before you get a transfer

While the salary is pretty poor the is a number of allowances which will increase it. i.e. working sundays and public hoilday, an operational allowance, working overtime etc

Yes there still is overtime in the prison service, it is now called additional hours(ah)

In regard to older contracts v new contracts the big difference will be on the pension although this was changed in 2012 for all new entrants to the public service. Salarys will incur yearly increments however when new recruits qualify as officers their pay scale will be that of their fellow officers

Cheers for the info.

You would start on the same rate of pay as everybody else it would not be considered a sideways move for pay purposes

Read the info booklet, you may be able to carry over some of your point in scale. I also emailed publicjobs about it who seem to think if you are a public servant you will get incremental credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Heart Break Kid

Just wondering if anyone had any udea on the level of physicality for the role?

From what I read BMI under 30 is automatic qualification for that at least. To be fair 30+ is the obese range. Obviously they make exceptions for people who are bigger build as per the docs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭muddled1

I don't think you're 100% correct about that, as the information booklet states "A different pay scale may apply if the individual has previously worked in the Public Service."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭muddled1

Read the info booklet, you may be able to carry over some of your point in scale. I also emailed publicjobs about it who seem to think if you are a public servant you will get incremental credit.

You're right; they state that someone with previous public sector experience may go on a different point of the payscale.

As for the bmi no greater than 30, someone with alot of muscle mass would score way over 30% bmi if it's measured using one of those electro static machines you hold onto.

BMI isn't a % scale but I assume that's a typo, also given the stereotypical person that works in a security job I assume that's why they then send you for a more detailed medical.

They'll measure BMI by simply using the weight to height ratio.

BMI isn't a % scale but I assume that's a typo, also given the stereotypical person that works in a security job I assume that's why they then send you for a more detailed medical.

They'll measure BMI by simply using the weight to height ratio.

Yes you're right my bad, for example I'm 5'10/ 178 cm tall but I'm 97 kg. I've very little visible fat but a decent amount of muscle. From what I gather though the bmi calculation will consider me a right ol tubby lol

I'll worry about that if I manage to pass the testing / interviews lol

Yes you're right my bad, for example I'm 5'10/ 178 cm tall but I'm 97 kg. I've very little visible fat but a decent amount of muscle. From what I gather though the bmi calculation will consider me a right ol tubby lol

I'll worry about that if I manage to pass the testing / interviews lol

Yeah you're just over, I wouldn't be worrying about it though I'm sure that's massively more preferable to some lanky streak turning up!

I can't believe the bloody colour vision thing has me yet again!

The very best of luck with it Disco!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 lucky79

hi guys, is there any age limit, as for garda it is 35 years old max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

is it 30 or 40 years service?

no i mean if i'm 37 years old, would that be too old to apply?

30 years service as far as I know. No age limit mentioned in the info booklet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭ando88

I have the supervised test tomorrow, iv'e done well on the practice tests, anyone else in tomorrow @8.45?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭The Red Lad

I just applied through public jobs last week anyone have any idea when i will hear more information a month /two ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

ando88 wrote: »
    I have the supervised test tomorrow, iv'e done well on the practice tests, anyone else in tomorrow @8.45?
    For the PASO3 job??

Shane Fitz wrote: »
    For the PASO3 job??

yes

For the PASO3 job??

Sorry i just noticed its wrong thread, yes i meant the PASO3 recruitment assesment

Yeah you're just over, I wouldn't be worrying about it though I'm sure that's massively more preferable to some lanky streak turning up!

I can't believe the bloody colour vision thing has me yet again!

The very best of luck with it Disco!

Best of luck to you too, with a bit of luck your eyes will be kind and the doctor will see that I've got mostly lean mass

muddled1 wrote: »
    You're right; they state that someone with previous public sector experience may go on a different point of the payscale.

It also says directly underneath that "entry will be at the minimum point of the scale"

speaking from experience i know several people who have joined the prison service from other public sector departments whom all started on the minimum point.

Dper are the only department who could give real clarification on this point.

lucky79 wrote: »
    no i mean if i'm 37 years old, would that be too old to apply?

37 is by no means too old for the job however a point to remember is you will have to retire at 60 and your pension will be substantially lower. You will miss out on 14 years pension contributions

thanks that is good point, but still lets say23 years of service would give me some ok pension? i applied for the job, they were encouraging members of other eu countries to apply, so i will try my luck.

lucky79 wrote: »
    thanks that is good point, but still lets say23 years of service would give me some ok pension? i applied for the job, they were encouraging members of other eu countries to apply, so i will try my luck.

You will get roughly 65% of a full pension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭jimbobjnr

I'm a serving officer since 2007 so if anyone has any questions fire away.first one I seen is overtime. The prison service is basically the only service with overtime left.we have to work 90 hours overtime every 3 months and a rate of 1.8 .if you are not required to work the 90 in those 3 months you still get paid the balance at the end of the 3 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

If I was to brig existing g public service over with me how much would I be allowed. And would I be placed higher on the pay scale with regard to service rather than as a new entrant

Nope you would start on the same pay scale as everyone else.you can carry your service for pension and retirement reasons but all salary will be the same

jimbobjnr wrote: »
    I'm a serving officer since 2007 so if anyone has any questions fire away.first one I seen is overtime. The prison service is basically the only service with overtime left.we have to work 90 hours overtime every 3 months and a rate of 1.8 .if you are not required to work the 90 in those 3 months you still get paid the balance at the end of the 3 months

Would you say the job is worth it for new recruits entering the service on reduced conditions than you entered in 07? Do you enjoy the job overall?

Cheers.

Would you say the job is worth it for new recruits entering the service on reduced conditions than you entered in 07? Do you enjoy the job overall?

Cheers.

If you can afford to live on those wages and don't live to far from Dublin then I would.you salary will competitive after a few years .it has good job security and a good pension. Do I enjoy it? That's debatable but that's just me. The job is hard as you want to make it to be but your work mates are your best friends.the reduced rate sucks but that's just how it is across the board for the public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Abcd1617

How many night shifts in a month do you have to do. What is the night allowance rate . I presume when you complete your three years as a recruit you go on to a new salary scale . Have you ever had any hassle out of work with ex prisoners.

Abcd1617 wrote: »
    How many night shifts in a month do you have to do. What is the night allowance rate . I presume when you complete your three years as a recruit you go on to a new salary scale . Have you ever had any hassle out of work with ex prisoners.

Nights you have to 9 to 10 every 3 months but it depends in the prison. Prisons with fewer staff mean fewer in the roster pool so more nights. But you can swap your nights with lads who like to do them and there are many.

I live in Tallaght and I think I've only ever had one instant were someone shouted something at me.you wouldn't be hanging around the same places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

The money is really not great for that job.

Considering the Sea Fisheries Protection Officer Jobs that were advertised recently, the starting salary was 31k.

Grumpy fishermen or hardened criminals, I know which one I'd rather deal with