Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus Lotto Winners are 'Heroes'?

• 07-07-2016 2:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

This is getting surreal to say the least. A special Dublin Bus is laid on as they collect their money and they are greeted as heroes for buying a few tickets in a chance draw. Free money is nice and good luck to them, but what great achievment are we celebrating here?

I can understand if they did something like gave the money to charity, or raised it for charity. But to see the carry on today outside the lotto centre was just bizzare.
    The 21 bus drivers and one bus inspector arrived, appropriately, in a glistening double decker bus with a garda motorcycle escort.

It seems part of a Irish bull**** mentality that we are unique at.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/irelands-22-new-millionaires-step-onto-red-carpet-at-lotto-headquarters-34864899.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

They're rich now so the gardai provide personal security, regardless of how they got the money

bow, you peasant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Embarrassing - Joe Duffy will have them on his show for a Duberlin Working Class reunion special before we know it. Everyone will say how sound each other is through gritted teeth, while those back at the depot swear the lads were grand and they are so happy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

To be honest, I would agree that the coverage and the approach to the whole thing is a bit bizarre.

However, I don't think I care too much to be overly critical, simply because it is really nice to see positive stories like this one. Fair play to the lads and their families, I hope they get to enjoy their winnings in good health.

If I won any kind of big money like that i would be keeping a very very low profile, but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

No mention of the word hero anywhere in that article...

Personally, I'm delighted for them. It's not a huge win, you certainly wouldn't be giving up your job for a million, but it's a nice bit of security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Oh is that what it was in town? Wondering what all the fuss and red carpet was about, what a load of ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Uriel. wrote: »

If I won any kind of big money like that i would be keeping a very very low profile, but each to their own.

That would be almost impossible in this case I think, which is why they went public - could you imagine 20 or so families keeping quiet? And half the depot resigning without everyone putting two and two together?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Eponymous wrote: »
    Personally, I'm delighted for them. It's not a huge win, you certainly wouldn't be giving up your job for a million, but it's a nice bit of security.

The thread is about the media hype of the situation, nobody is begrudging them here for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Why did you put "heros" in inverted commas? It wasn't mentioned in the article at all. You then go on to say they're not heros. Well, you're right, they're not. But no one is saying they are but you.
    You also mention the "achievement we are celebrating". Who are "we" in this context?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

So a few lads win the lotto and it's posted as a good news story. Great, you would think.

Some people will always find something to moan about. It must be an absolutely shyte existence.

Smile. Be happy for folk. Let good news be just that.

Delighted for them, delighted for anyone who falls on a bit of good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I think the National Lottery generally do that kind of thing for big winners who go public. These winners just happen to have access to a bus (well, around a thousand of them). No big deal.
    in a glistening double decker bus

Now I'm no expert, but that looks just like every other Dublin bus I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

smash wrote: »
    The thread is about the media hype of the situation, nobody is begrudging them here for the win.
    Where in my post did I say anyone was begrudging?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

smash wrote: »

So what if there's hype?

The papers, particularly the independent, are full of utter misery most days. They get a chance to print something that's really cheerful and they do just that. What's wrong with printing good news stories and hyping them up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

RayM wrote: »

Now I'm no expert, but that looks just like every other Dublin bus I've ever seen.

The smell of piss isn't as strong as on the standard ones

That would be almost impossible in this case I think, which is why they went public - could you imagine 20 or so families keeping quiet? And half the depot resigning without everyone putting two and two together?

I meant in a more public sense - you know like arriving to Lotto HQ with balloons and a sparkling bus with media snapping away at ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

My uncle works for Dublin bus I wonder if he won (not in contact with him). I'd still hate to parade around if I won any amount of money. My family will be hitting him up for money if he did win. I'd hate that shíte. If I did win money like that I'd buy close people some things but entitled people asking for a 'loan' with no intention of paying back would drive me mad. Great day for them but I wouldn't be getting on no bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Apart from the Garda escort (which sounds over-the-top but might have been something like one garda taking 10 minutes out of their day - 'meet them at the top of the road and go ahead of them with the siren on until the Lotto building'), it's all fine with me, a happy fluffy story.

Employees win big, employer lets them arrive in 'style'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Everyone that wins gets exact same show just most would not arrive on a bus....

Good luck to them who gives a sh1t where they work to be honest.

you certainly wouldn't be giving up your job for a million, but it's a nice bit of security.

You would if you were close to retirement age, as many of the group are, apparently.

wp_rathead wrote: »
    The smell of piss isn't as strong as on the standard ones

And the driver is less likely to pull over, switch the engine off, throw his bag over his back and go off for his lunch break. And if he does, there's at least 20 passengers who know how to drive the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I imagine Dublin bus just wanted to take advantage of the publicity they were getting and let them use a bus to go into collect the money. As it's a company they may have some sort of requirement to inform the guards if their parading people around in one of their buses for insurance purposes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

ScumLord wrote: »
    I imagine Dublin bus just wanted to take advantage of the publicity they were getting and let them use a bus to go into collect the money. As it's a company they may have some sort of requirement to inform the guards if their parading people around in one of their buses for insurance purposes.

Dont take this the wrong way. But I am pretty sure you are talking a load of bollox.

A bit ott but its a feel good story the things some people moan about, heres to my lotto syndicate getting a big but not too big lotto win sometime :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Heard one of the winners tipped the driver a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'm happy for those guys.

That stunt with the bus was DB's idea not theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

Free publicity for Dublin Bus. Well done to them, the winners and hope they enjoy their winnings.

Now what I find cringe worthy is people congratulating people on this site for becoming moderators. Well done for wasting more of your life on the Internet and not evening getting paid for it. Go out and get some fresh air instead of wasting your time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

So what if they were paraded on a bus if your lotto syndicate was to win I'm sure your employer would put on something speical it just so happened they worked for a bus company

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Hilariously provocative thread title :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

I once worked for a bank that got a €19bn bailout from taxpayers, and most people who hear that will say, "yeah, but which one?"

Imagine cribbing over a borrowed bus, like!

Wouldn't it be just typical if another Dublin Bus syndicate won the Euromillions this week?

You wait ages for them to win it, and then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Arragh good luck to them. The 22 of them have 700 years service between them.

Now if it was a Luas Drivers syndicate then I would be fuming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Jodotman wrote: »
    Free publicity for Dublin Bus. Well done to them, the winners and hope they enjoy their winnings.

Now what I find cringe worthy is people congratulating people on this site for becoming moderators. Well done for wasting more of your life on the Internet and not evening getting paid for it. Go out and get some fresh air instead of wasting your time.

Hey re-reg, what up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Some of the bus drivers at the begrudgers in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Jodotman wrote: »

Publicity for Dublin bus?

Yeah I'm gonna take the alternative to Dublin bus tomorrow because of this.

What's the alternative bus company again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

All part of the publicity machine once the National Lottery realised some of them were willing to go public.

Delighted for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Why would they need a Garda Escort tho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Because they needed to get there fast of course.

I would say really for a little security as lot of publicity and you never know how others will take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

It was more than likely for show.

Also, someone on that bus had a €23m ticket. Its a potential security threat. An unlikely one given the ticket was probably signed but none the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

The cheering was a bit odd and some of the winners looked uncomfortable with it, to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

No mention of the word hero anywhere in that article...

Sure is, a Garda motorcycle escort. Not too shabby at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

FFS, this is disgraceful while there are old people lying on trolleys in hospital corridors.

The money for the police escort could have funded three hospitals for a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Fantastic day out. Well done to all those involved.

Jesus lads are ye jealous much?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Heros for what exactly ? what a hape of shoite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Heros for what exactly ? what a hape of shoite

OP is the only one who mentioned the H word. Very disingenuous putting it in quotation marks in thread title.

God forbid a group of co-workers/friends should celebrate a nice windfall. Hope they enjoyed their big day and the money makes life a lot easier for them and their families.

For those of you with milestone birthdays/weddings/anniversaries coming up...go easy on the balloons and streamers. It's not like you've cured cancer or defeated ISIS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Collie D wrote: »
    OP is the only one who mentioned the H word. Very disingenuous putting it in quotation marks in thread title.

God forbid a group of co-workers/friends should celebrate a nice windfall. Hope they enjoyed their big day and the money makes life a lot easier for them and their families.

For those of you with milestone birthdays/weddings/anniversaries come up...go easy on the balloons and streamers. It's not like you've cured cancer or defeated ISIS.

If they don't give me a slice of money they can fook off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

The 21 lads who kept their workmate in the syndicate while he was getting treatment for cancer are pure class imo.

Delighted for them all.

http://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/euromillions-winner-feels-like-won-11584595

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

jobyrne30 wrote: »
    The 21 lads who kept their workmate in the syndicate while he was getting treatment for cancer are pure class imo.

Delighted for them all.

http://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/euromillions-winner-feels-like-won-11584595

Nice to see good news for a change!

I wonder what the reaction would have been had it been a syndicate of LUAS drivers that had won it? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

newport2 wrote: »
    Nice to see good news for a change!

I wonder what the reaction would have been had it been a syndicate of LUAS drivers that had won it? ;)

They'd have protested trying to get the prizemoney increased and the money they spent on the ticket back. Arseholes.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

FFS, this is disgraceful while there are old people lying on trolleys in hospital corridors.

The money for the police escort could have funded three hospitals for a year.

I think the drivers should be shot and their winnings distributed to all the sick people on trolleys in hospital this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think the drivers should be shot and their winnings distributed to all the sick people on trolleys in hospital this weekend.
    That's such a waste, there are loads of starving dogs in pounds all across the country that could use that bus driver meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66