Pokemon go

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Thanks! And what does the Transfer button do when viewing a captured Pokemon?

Sends the Pokémon to the professor. It's gone for good, but the professor gives you candy for that pokemon, which helps for levelling others. So say you transfer a Rattata, he'll give a Rattata candy to you in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

Thanks! And what does the Transfer button do when viewing a captured Pokemon?
    you send that pokemon to the professor in exchange for 1 candy. Collect candies to evolve pokemon. each pokemon has it's own type of candy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Do not deliver Pokemon without a lucky egg.

You'll level up much faster, save all your evolving for the same period.

I've gone up 9 levels in 3 days now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

selastich2 wrote: »
    you send that pokemon to the professor in exchange for 1 candy. Collect candies to evolve pokemon. each pokemon has it's own type of candy.

maturepokemonplayerfeelslike.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Do i need to have the app open on the phone or just running for steps to register?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Amalgam wrote: »
    maturepokemonplayerfeelslike.jpg

pokemon2.png?w=700&h=475

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

RossieMan wrote:

Does transferring get you XP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Working near the Riot office is great, they keep putting a lure outside :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭quad_red

The app is in a pretty dire situation in terms of stability.

After picking up anything (a stop or a pokemon) the touch screen becomes unresponsive. The person onscreen still moves as I move but nothing on screen works. Restarted it manually a few times but gave up.

(iPhone 6 btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

Yeah, haven't been able to catch anything today without it freezing.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I haven't run into that many issues, certainly nothing like that. I've had a few occasions where the net started acting up in the middle of catching a pokemon, causing the game to more or less freeze up, but other than that it's been fine really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,345 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Servers are getting hammered cus of the official UK release, that coupled with the US waking up around now means things are gonna get worse as the day goes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭quad_red

Well it's totally banjaxed now. Sitting here a psyduck thing appeared. Ping it 5 consecutive times with a ball thing and got a 'nice' each time. The ball thing would start to suck it in and do the animation but it would then reset and the psyduck would reappear with the ball disappearing in a puff of grey smoke.

Is that supposed to happen? Can a pokemon rebuff the thing like that?

Then a fish thing appeared. I got that first time. And now all it's showing is a great cartoony meadow with the pokemon ball thing sitting there. Leaves are moving but the app is otherwise unresponsive.

App crashed and going back in neither of them have saved.

edit: The journal thing says the psyduck 'ran away'. No record of the fish thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

Have a gym which I've made aged to level up to level 7 and 4 other trainers. I'm actually hoping I can hold onto this one for a while, 11 hours is my best so far. You really need like 10 people on the same page to try and keep one in a popular area. Good fun though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Anyone got any links for abilities? Don't wanna keep a pokemon if the abilities are bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Can't get over how high levelled some people are in Dub already! It's grand playing it til about 6pm when the American people login, then its a bit of a black hole while servers are hammered. Although may get better with UK release!

Also if you miss with your pokeball and it's still on screen you can tap it to pick it up again!

Had a lure module there and plonked it near the library at DIT, handy for just sittin at desk, got a lot of magikarp for some reason! (it takes 400 magikarp candy to get a Gyrados..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭RedXIV

duffman13 wrote: »
    Have a gym which I've made aged to level up to level 7 and 4 other trainers. I'm actually hoping I can hold onto this one for a while, 11 hours is my best so far. You really need like 10 people on the same page to try and keep one in a popular area. Good fun though

There's a gym I pass on the way home that appears to have stayed in the same hands for almost a week. It's on my team so I battled it to get myself a spot in it. Still going strong 2 days later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

Shlippery wrote: »
    Had a lure module there and plonked it near the library at DIT, handy for just sittin at desk, got a lot of magikarp for some reason! (it takes 400 magikarp candy to get a Gyrados..)

the candy levelling system is kind of ridiculous.

No problems getting a pigeot, a golbat, a hypno or a ratticate in Dublin, but if you want something else you're pretty much out of luck without days of serious hunting.

Wonder do all places have the same common pokemon, or is there a city overrun with Charmanders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

Growliths seem to be quite fond of Eileen McLoughlin park in Dublin, I've caught three in there now and haven't seen them anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭RedXIV

eeguy wrote: »

No problems getting a pigeot, a golbat, a hypno or a ratticate in Dublin, but if you want something else you're pretty much out of luck without days of serious hunting.

Wonder do all places have the same common pokemon, or is there a city overrun with Charmanders.

There are certainly places where others tend to appear more and you can hunt properly. Magikarp at the canals and Magmar at Marley Park seem to be common ones.

One of my friends posted a picture of him surrounded by 4 Mr. Mime in Eyre Square yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

quad_red wrote: »
    Well it's totally banjaxed now. Sitting here a psyduck thing appeared. Ping it 5 consecutive times with a ball thing and got a 'nice' each time. The ball thing would start to suck it in and do the animation but it would then reset and the psyduck would reappear with the ball disappearing in a puff of grey smoke.

Is that supposed to happen? Can a pokemon rebuff the thing like that?

Then a fish thing appeared. I got that first time. And now all it's showing is a great cartoony meadow with the pokemon ball thing sitting there. Leaves are moving but the app is otherwise unresponsive.

App crashed and going back in neither of them have saved.

edit: The journal thing says the psyduck 'ran away'. No record of the fish thing.

Yeah that's not a server issue it's just a tough psyduck

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Got Golduck, oh yeah!
    RossieMan wrote: »

You'll level up much faster, save all your evolving for the same period.

I've gone up 9 levels in 3 days now.
    This is the ebst way to level, I got 40-50k xp at lunch just levelling up like 20 pidgeys and other random stuff as they are so cheap

Yeah there are places with all sorts as common...this place in the US had eevee as common :/

Sae6VE0.png

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

btw there is a messenger app out now to talk to other players
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.shadoweinhorn.messenger&hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭Shlippery

But the same with powering them up, your starter is pretty much doomed. My bulbasaur can't even be powered up due to lack of bulba candies. I've managed to catch a Squirtle and Pikachu as well but...unless you catch more, they're pretty much dead weight.

It's gonna take me a while to get a Gyarados, Magikarp needs something like 400 candies to evolve :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

eevee is actually common enough round here too :P

jonnycivic wrote: »
    eevee is actually common enough round here too :P

Only saw one ever.

this is cool http://www.pokemon-map.com/

What is the craic with these lucky eggs?

Only saw one ever.

this is cool http://www.pokemon-map.com/

I got one of those an hour ago our where I work.