Pokemon go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Its dead Jim

I only noticed CP??? on Pokemon I haven't caught yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

How does that work then. Do u turn location off?

No you still need location on but it doesn't have to keep redrawing the map from the network as its saved locally so saves battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Some fierce fighting going on for Dublin Castle Gym right now

Only just reached level 5. How exactly do gyms work? I have to defeat someone who left their pokemon behind? Surely my pokemon are very weak in comparison?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Only just reached level 5. How exactly do gyms work? I have to defeat someone who left their pokemon behind? Surely my pokemon are very weak in comparison?

Right lets hope I get this right.

If you choose your team (Lets just say Valour/Red) and you are at a gym location, if you tap into the gym and it is controlled by a Valour/Red then you can fight them to up your team/gym prestige level. If the gym is empty you can occupy it and gain coins etc.
    If lets say the gym is blue then you can challenge the owner and fight for control of the gym for your team.

@ lvl 5 I have a 150CP Spearow and a 128 Drowzee and I managed to take a gym this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,136 ✭✭✭eldamo

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Right lets hope I get this right.

If you choose your team (Lets just say Valour/Red) and you are at a gym location, if you tap into the gym and it is controlled by a Valour/Red then you can fight them to up your team/gym prestige level. If the gym is empty you can occupy it and gain coins etc.
    If lets say the gym is blue then you can challenge the owner and fight for control of the gym for your team.

@ lvl 5 I have a 150CP Spearow and a 128 Drowzee and I managed to take a gym this morning.

I took a bash at one in grand canal dock at lunch just to see how it was done, failed, but got the gist of it, the attacker has the advantage of being human controlled and being able to dodge, picked up some stronger guys on the walk back, good game this, battery life is taking an awful hit here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Not to be rude, but couldnt you just look that up with Google? No doubt it'll be asked a million times yet in the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

RossieMan wrote: »
    Not to be rude, but couldnt you just look that up with Google? No doubt it'll be asked a million times yet in the thread.

There's plenty of guides out there with more comprehensive explanations than you'll get here.

We're all just learning too.

Pretty hilarious at lunchtime, myself and two other lads went over to capture a gym and met a few people playing, some knowing looks and some giggles from girls. :pac: Pretty sure 2 girls we met together took the gym off us about an hour after we got it. I dunno what they'll do about the curve, it seems almost impossible to hold a gym for longer than it takes for someone to come past it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Pretty hilarious at lunchtime, myself and two other lads went over to capture a gym and met a few people playing, some knowing looks and some giggles from girls. :pac: Pretty sure 2 girls we met together took the gym off us about an hour after we got it. I dunno what they'll do about the curve, it seems almost impossible to hold a gym for longer than it takes for someone to come past it.

I think the city centre gyms etc will be very very difficult to hold. I got one last night in the middle of a cemetery and appears to still be under my control (Raticate with only 350CP) but I'm thinking it's simply down to less footfall.

I think it's really going to push toward moving in groups like Ingress tried to encourage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

RedXIV wrote: »
    I think the city centre gyms etc will be very very difficult to hold. I got one last night in the middle of a cemetery and appears to still be under my control (Raticate with only 350CP) but I'm thinking it's simply down to less footfall.

I think it's really going to push toward moving in groups like Ingress tried to encourage

Seems to be the case. There were a good few in Merrion Sq at lunchtime. Seems the best time to play, just before the US comes online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

Good haul today, magmar, raticate, pigeot, rhyhorn and that evasive jynx that eluded me yesterday.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Would love a magmar, got an onyx but it's useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

I saw a magmar yesterday and when I finally got it (after it breaking free from the pokeball about 5 times) the game crashed and it didn't appear in my list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Cantstandsya

Anyone using this on an iPhone 5? Very enjoyable game but it's freezing a lot on me. Wondering if it's a server issue or my phone being a bit too old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

20 young lads hunched around a tree in the pouring rain in the park while I was walking my dog.

I took advantage of the lures they had set. razz berries in portals from level eight

Where did you get the Onyx?!
    That's the main one I want!

Anyone using this on an iPhone 5? Very enjoyable game but it's freezing a lot on me. Wondering if it's a server issue or my phone being a bit too old.
    My OH definitely has more problems with the game crashing than I do, he's on a 5S and I'm on a 6S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,136 ✭✭✭eldamo

RedXIV wrote: »
    Where did you get the Onyx?!
    That's the main one I want!

spotted one near the luas bridge between the convention centre and guild house this morning, was running late so didn't get to investigate, just came up on my nearby pokemon thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Just after getting this on iOS....wish I had found out about that Pikachu starter Pokemon earlier :(

Convinced herself to join last night, she and my eldest have decided to join a different faction from me. Just to mess with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

How do I get this on my iPhone 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

Guys, Glasnevin Cemetery is FULL of pokestops , litterally about 20 of them! Went by on the bus but definitely going there 2moro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Whats the best mobile data plan to use to play the game ? I usually just use wifi everywhere and top up credit once every 3 months or so. Thats gonna have to change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Dratini!... Awesome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Whats the best mobile data plan to use to play the game ? I usually just use wifi everywhere and top up credit once every 3 months or so. Thats gonna have to change

Three do all you can eat data (15gb a month, if you go over the speed gets restricted) for I think 20 a month. Signal can be a bit hit or miss though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Three Prepay. €20 per month for unlimited data and other non Pokemon related stuff plus you keep your €20 and can spend it through Google Play or on monthly data add ons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Serious competition for the gym in Eyre square in Galway. It's changing hands every 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Three do all you can eat data (15gb a month, if you go over the speed gets restricted) for I think 20 a month. Signal can be a bit hit or miss though.
    Kavrocks wrote: »
    Three Prepay. €20 per month for unlimited data and other non Pokemon related stuff plus you keep your €20 and can spend it through Google Play or on monthly data add ons.

Factor in that the 3 prepay AYCE data offer is a 30-day affair, and there's no auto top-up feature. As soon as it hits midnight after the 30 days, then they gouge you for out-of-bundle data at huge rates.

Depending on your usage though, that may still work out cheaper than the €25/month for unlimited data on a SIM-only billpay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,948 ✭✭✭cee_jay

Same at the Samuel Beckett Bridge in Dublin earlier. Walking to it the gym was red. By the time I got there it was Blue with 3 Pokemon. Defeated them and it was then yellow. Within 5 minutes it was back to Blue. There's now 4 Blue Pokemon in it (within last half hour).
    The Google gym seems to change quite often also.