Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Black Lives Matter stop Pride parade with list of demands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

No, but if your white you need to check your privilege, bla bla bla.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Well they're true to form

"You need to get on in there and make it all about you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Here's the thing with BLM: any eejit can say they're doing something and part of BLM.
    I can grab a knife, stab someone and say I'm a member of whatever political party.

BLM is just a joke at this stage - too many eejits involved. Their message about police brutality got switched for "it's all about me" somewhere along the way as is the per usual for the nutjobs in the US involved with these nutjob groups who start out good and then quickly find out they're surrounded by nutjobs so they just become a nutjob group.

I hope I emphasized how much I feel these people are nutjobs.

And lord help ye whoever try to get smart and say it's Canada and not the US :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Protest groups with lists of demands.

I never thought I'd live to see the day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

They sound an awful like the mafia, do what we say or else....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I'm going to assume there is microaggressions involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Police officers can also be LGBT and black so why shouldn't they be represented? They are just being assholes and will only turn people against their cause in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's sucks that they think it's ok to resort to a form of violence to get their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Here's a quote from the Nobel prize winning black rights activist, Toni Morrison:
    "People keep saying, 'We need to have a conversation about race. This is the conversation.

I want to see a cop shoot a white unarmed teenager in the back. And I want to see a white man convicted for raping a black woman.

"Then when you ask me, 'Is it over?', I will say yes.

If someone of her intelligence can be that wrongheaded, it really doesn't say a lot about the rest of that movement. Last year a six year old autistic boy was killed by two cops both of whom are now charged with second-degree murder, but yet it received very little coverage in comparison to many of the other high profile police shootings last year.

The shooting of unarmed people in America is undoubtedly an issue which should be addressed but it should be addressed as a whole, not only with regard to the victims which happen to be black. Even if there is a disproportion of blacks killed, it's still obnoxious to have a movement which is essentially calling for more balance when it comes to unlawful killings. All lives matter ffs. Address poor policing as a whole or don't address it at all.

Here's a quote from the Nobel prize winning black rights activist, Toni Morrison:

If someone of her intelligence can be that wrongheaded, it really doesn't say a lot about the rest of that movement. Last year a six year old autistic boy was killed by two cops both of whom are now charged with second-degree murder, but yet it received very little coverage in comparison to many of the other high profile police shootings last year.

The shooting of unarmed people in America is undoubtedly an issue which should be addressed but it should be addressed as a whole, not only with regard to the victims which happen to be black. Even if there is a disproportion of blacks killed, it's still obnoxious to have a movement which is essentially calling for more balance when it comes to unlawful killings. All lives matter ffs. Address poor policing as a whole or don't address it at all.

I remember that when it happened, there was quite a bit of coverage over here. They had a grudge against the dad and purposely shot into the car multiple times, killing the child and almost killing the father. Shocking. There are many instances of unarmed white people being shot by police. People should be angry everytime it happens regardless of the race of the victim. The police are out of control in America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Its dead Jim

Why would they care about Canada? I know in 'Murica it's shoot first, ask questions later but I would have thought Canada was a bit more sensible eh.

Bunch of absolute **** the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

The head of that pride organisation needs to take a long hard look at himself for signing some ridiculous document like that to appease this bunch of nut jobs.

I can imagine some real people's front of Judea versus the judean people's front **** going on that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ladjohn

Black Lives Matter are bunch of idiots, it was started in the wake of Trayvon Martin's death, a guy who was pounding George Zimmerman's head into the ground at the time he was shot, spurred on by the death of Michael Brown who was high and had just commited a strong arm robbery on a conenience store, who did not have his hands up as the autopsy showed, and the police officer was acquitted because 4 black eye-witnesses all testified that Michael had tried to grab the police officer's gun. The death of young people is always sad but these guys were by no means innocent. The whole movement is predicated on lies in the media.

There's a study by Washington State University that shows that cops are actually more hesitant to shoot at black people than white because of the potential outcries of racism. I would post a link but I'm too new to boards apparently.

The riots in Baltimore? What white power structure are they fighting? A majority black city, with a black mayor, a majority black council in a country with a black attorney general and a black sitting president.

Maybe if BLM started talking about the fact that 75% of african-americans grow up in single parent households and that there's very few father figures in the black community then maybe i'd listen to them, but as long as they don the "blackshirts" and stop other folk from expressing their opinions then I'll have zero time for these bleeding heart liberal morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

As it happens it's much more common to kill or rape someone your own race.

But then again BLM knows this - from their own site:
    The movement doesn’t care about black-on-black crime.
    However, those who insist on talking about black-on-black crime frequently fail to acknowledge that most crime is intraracial.
    Ninety-three percent of black murder victims are killed by other black people.
    Eighty-four percent of white murder victims are killed by other white people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

biko wrote: »
    As it happens it's much more common to kill or rape someone your own race.
    But then again BLM knows this

Yeah but black people murder black people on account of suffering slavery and prejudice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

She 100% obviously didn't intend to be taken literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Isn't it amazing this thread is so quite, almost 1,200 views and only 22 comments.

Hmmm, I wonder why that is?

I was hoping to get some opinions from the LBGTQ community about the boycott of police floats from their parade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

If we needed any more evidence that the Left has basically disappeared up its own backside and dragged society along with it, I'd say these actions by BLM have provided it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

SeanW wrote: »
    If we needed any more evidence that the Left has basically disappeared up its own backside and dragged society along with it, I'd say these actions by BLM have provided it.

What I don't get is why they gave into their demands, banning police floats like c'mon, what about the gay police officers???

I'd be fuming...

What I don't get is why they gave into their demands, banning police floats like c'mon, what about the gay police officers???

I'd be fuming...

Also I'm pretty sure people attending the parade are grateful for a police presence after what happened in Orlando and the guy caught with weapons who was heading for another pride parade. LGBT police officers are part of the community, if they are going to help protect parade goers then they have even more of a right to participate IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

Should we have started this thread with a Trigger Warning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

Hi guys, I'm a bit nervous on this thread with all you white people...who are you really here for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Who are the special ones at this stage ?

All you need to do is tell them a hand singing gorilla killed a inter racial gay couples transgender child after that child entered its space and wait for them to pick a side. I give them 30 years to come to an agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Isn't it amazing this thread is so quite, almost 1,200 views and only 22 comments.

Hmmm, I wonder why that is?

I was hoping to get some opinions from the LBGTQ community about the boycott of police floats from their parade.
    I was actually at the parade. I read in the news afterwards that the head of the parade said that they had no intention of honouring the demands, they just signed it essentially to shut them up so they could get on with the parade. Pride is an unimaginably big event over here (which I never realised before arriving a couple weeks ago) and for many businesses along Yonge st (not gay bars) and the surrounding area it's their biggest day of the year, so it's understandable they wanted to get the parade going.

In terms of the police, it's ridiculous. Toronto is one of the safest cities and does not have the racial problems the US has so it's just idiotic for BLM to try and transpose racial problems from the US onto Canadian society where they don't exist. The police out for pride were amazing. They were getting photos with everyone, all had rainbow flags and were having a great time themselves. Had nothing but a positive impression of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The worst thing about American movements like that is how people five thousand miles away feel like somehow it must involve them, or that they need to share their meaningless opinion on it all.

Why does anyone give a shit? Let the yanks do what they have always done... divide opinion, and use it to stifle the small fellas.

People here always give out about the likes of 'plastic paddies' and all any of the same people do is absorb american media, and form notions on the behalf of others when they haven't got the fcuking faintest of ideas about what it's like to be any of those people.

Stop using this crap as a means of sparking discussion about race issues in fcuking Baltray, like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

It amuses me when people trot out the "Black on Black" crime stats as a diversion away from the real subject. It's not simply about gun violence and people being shot by white people.

This is about systematic and structural racism in which Law Enforcement Officers have been trained to profile Black/Brown suspects differently from White suspects. Even a Black police officer who has dealt with the same racist indoctrination can be part of the system.

I can't speak about the issues in Canada, but this systematic/structural racism thing has been an issue since slavery, through Reformation, through the Civil Rights Era, and now.

Meanwhile in the US, there have been two more police involved shootings. Both involved Black men shot by police who suspected/feared that the Black men had a gun.

Alton Sterling was shot and killed in Baton Rouge yesterday. You can search for the multiple videos showing that he was on the ground, detained, when the police officer pulled out his gun and shot him point blank in the chest. The two cops involved in this incident are White.

Today, an unknown victim (status unknown) was shot during a routine traffic stop while his girlfriend and her small child were in the car. The girlfriend just ended a Facebook live stream of the video. I would post the link, but I can't remember what the rules are about posting graphic videos. The cop involved in this incident is Asian-American. Update: he has died.