Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know your neighbour?

• 02-07-2016 3:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭

Parents are on one side . Otherside through the fields have been living there years. Across the road is an industrial estate and a small estate with 5 houses would know 2 of the families there from school. So do you know your neighbours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Parents are on one side . Otherside through the fields have been living there years. Across the road is an industrial estate and a small estate with 5 houses would know 2 of the families there from school. So do you know your neighbours?

All of them. As I think my cattle paid a visit to every yard in the locality last winter.....bloody louth cattle :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Moved here 10 yrs ago. Know all of them now. No housing estates here tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    All of them. As I think my cattle paid a visit to every yard in the locality last winter.....bloody louth cattle :rolleyes:

They were only looking to get home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Know then all well as they or their families have been living there as long as I can remember.
    There ones from Dublin live about two mile away and go up past me several times a day. There one of them I wouldn't mind getting to know a bit better IYKWIM :) Always chatty and friendly. Not sure if farming material. One day I moving stock accross the road when he had to stop. i was asked 'Do you have a hot date this evening Daisy, you're milking very early'...Just didn't have the heart to tell him they were bullocks:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Lady lou

Yep. A Bollix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭visatorro

Don't know one side of me. The other side is convicted pedophile. Through the fields is a lad who terrorises the neighbourhood. Guards don't respond to call outs anymore they've been out that often leaving neighbours in fear of his bad humour and quite frankly wishing he'd kick the bucket. Just a bad bunch I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

All of them unfortunately,one real cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Would know all the 'old timers', but a lot of houses build here in the last twenty years. I would know a few of the newcomers, but not even the names of the majority of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Know all reasonably well. New lad moved in near to outfarm and his dogs come with me when I'm checking cattle. They generally arrive back to the house absolutely filthy! I topped his garden the other day as it was meadow high and too rough for a lawn mower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Mixture of one off houses and farmers. Know all farmers to speak to but not one I'd call on if I were stuck. One off houses I'd know to chat with all good enough folks - sometimes get crap blowing into fields which is annoying and one has a shed downpipe running into field that I have to talk to about, will see how decent he is then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Know almost all the farmer neighbours around, the more I know them the better, I get on really well with 2, who are do some relief milking, and another I get silage off. Don't know as many neighbours who have houses but in time maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Know neighbours reasonably well.
    Although there's some you might not see only if theyre looking for help with something.
    Then I have farmer next door neighbours who basically there's a wall between their farmyard and ours. I get on very well with them and every few days I'm in their place or they're in here checking up on each other and we help each other out with different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

3 farming neighbours here and all our yards are in cluster. Get on great with two and the third is grand but just not a mixer and likes to keep himself to himself. Thays grand though and nobody would be quicker to help you out of a bind.
    Houses are generally grand too bar one cnut who has a problem with everyone around him. He chose to move down from Dublin and commute daily back to his financial services job in the city centre uet has a problem with everyone else and is constantly telling us how good we have it. His two dogs are constantly on my cattle despite repeated requests not to have them.in there. The fcuker even has the strain on the barbed wire gone from stepping on it off the the ditch.
    He has tipped shredded paper, hedge clippings and even building rubble over my ditch. I wasn't long about putting it back to his side.
    I will test how much of a cnut he really is when his dogs go "missing" some evening. I rue the day that my neighbour ever sold him a site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

I don't think there's either a house or a yard around me where I wouldn't be served up whole apple tarts and pots of gorgeous tea at this stage thankfully
    I've had to be stern at times with one or two of them be times but forgotten about now,long sorted

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

i think my neighbours know me a lot better than I know them. Too many of the feckers coming to ask me to dig out this or that with the backactor and I have to oblige to try and keep on the right side of them.

Would know all the farmers around me. I'm lucky a few have sons who will come and drive a tractor and trailer for me at silage time which suits me perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Know most of them, a few who moved in that I wouldn't know much about. A lot have died in our town landin recent years.
    One fella (English) takes rocks from stream and stands them up in his garden. Odd time you would drive past and he would meticulously be washing his rocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Know most of them, a few who moved in that I wouldn't know much about. A lot have died in our town landin recent years.
    One fella (English) takes rocks from stream and stands them up in his garden. Odd time you would drive past and he would meticulously be washing his rocks.
    :eek::eek:

Base price wrote: »

Steady base steady...

Is washing his stones a better way of phrasing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

"Sky clad" is he? :D

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    "Sky clad" is he? :D

Don't you be encouraging her

Fully clothed tg.
    Guy lives on his own after a separation. Had a dog and another neighbour (the father of the fella who sold him the house) poisoned the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Know everyone on my road fairly well and have one neighbor in particular that I get on mighty with. His father was sick this spring and I kept an eye on cows calving and did the feeding and things for him if he wasn't around. Likewise if I was going away somewhere he'd keep an eye on mine for me and we'd often swap a few breeding heifers and things like that. Have another elderly neighbor and I keep an eye on his cows for him aswell around calving, I'd be up checking my own anyway so it doesn't make much odds to me and he lives a few miles away from the farm and he's the whole time trying to throw me a few bob but I'd rather not be taking money off him. One fella from Dublin that's starved mean with a holiday home beside us that I wouldn't be too keen on but I salute him away on the road and talk away to him if I got cornered. I wouldn't like to be on bad terms with someone I'd be meeting a couple of times a day to be honest. Try to keep to myself for the most part but wouldn't see any of them stuck if I could help them out with something either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Is washing his stones a better way of phrasing it?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'd know just about everyone in the parish but that's more a factor of the age of the kids. 4of them from 6-14 so between gaa, soccer and school and the demographic of most of the new arrivals we're in contact with a lot of people. It'll be interesting to see how well we are tuned in in later life. Being involved in committee's helps with connectivity too. Tbf a lot of groups around here would be hard pressed to keep going without the "blow-ins".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Maybe we should start a do you know your family thread. Some fella who's internet broke said he spent the evening with his family, he said they seem like nice people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Id know most of them our yard would be more or less joinin one of the neighbours and we dont speak at all ever i only gad a conversation with the older lad once there we often done a turn for them too rarely we got one back but the thing is we never fell out over anything so i cant understand why we dont talk at all

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

would know most of them, except one or two who bought out farms in the last few years. To either side of me is the same family ( parents on one side, daughter on the other) we get on well with them and would give each other a hand when needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Im from a village of about 9 houses. Same familys living there for years. id know them all very very well. 2 familys of dubs, one are sound. the other ok but theyd burn the ear off ya if you stop to talk. Theres one english fella lives at the top of the village gave me **** for years for riding the horse by his house. Was always ringing parents etc until when i was 17 i jumped off the horse n grabbed him by the troath. Hes never bothered anyone since.

My next door neighbours are great. Fella the same age as me sheared all my sheep and did the feet at the same time as doing his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Im only a blow in :rolleyes: since Dec 2009. ( My dad is originally from the far end of this parish though, so only back to the old ground)

Few neighbours are great. Especially a few couples our age. We bought the place off their parents when they separated.

Lovely couple next door. Originally from Meath, lived in England for years and years and moved back here in 08/09. Id do anything to give them a hand. The husband died a few months ago. Sad loss

Man across road keeps himself to himself. Kinda old school. But again if he is stuck he would call me for a hand. Id always run to him, for simple reason he would only ever ring when real stuck. Even thought im sick to the teeth telling him Id help anytime

Other side of me is for sale. Enough said. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Im only a blow in :rolleyes: since Dec 2009. ( My dad is originally from the far end of this parish though, so only back to the old ground)

Few neighbours are great. Especially a few couples our age. We bought the place off their parents when they separated.

Lovely couple next door. Originally from Meath, lived in England for years and years and moved back here in 08/09. Id do anything to give them a hand. The husband died a few months ago. Sad loss

Man across road keeps himself to himself. Kinda old school. But again if he is stuck he would call me for a hand. Id always run to him, for simple reason he would only ever ring when real stuck. Even thought im sick to the teeth telling him Id help anytime

Other side of me is for sale. Enough said. :D

i wonder what there opinion of the neighbours are :p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Live on a very developed road. Was originally only a few farming families, but over the years, over 60 houses there now. Have a lot of relations living nearby so letters continuously going to the wrong house. Would be far friendlier with the farmers locally. All are sound in fairness. Sad when the old neighbours pass away.
    It took one individual to move into the area to realise just how great all the others are. He has the biggest house on the road and objects to everyone else building. I've heard more than one neighbour talk about him in expletives. I've land bounding his house and have been warning by more than one neighbour not to let my cows break in. I don't want a confrontation, not that I'm afraid of him, more afraid I'll loose the cool myself.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Kind of weird where we live. Get on great with most of the neighbours and we help each other out when we can. There is one lad who moved here recently with his family and is odd as f*ck and avoids all contact with anyone locally!