Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been arrested?

• 28-06-2016 12:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34

Got arrested after going out on Saturday night and getting into a row with bouncers outside a nightclub after going outside for a smoke and not being let back in. I can't keep my mouth shut after a few pints and it's got me into bother a few times.

It was in town and those public order Gardai in the overalls - they don't take any c**p. Got let out at 6am and still had a mark on my wrist from the handcuffs. Had a load of calls on my phone from my mates wondering where I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

What a hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Kommander Kaputnik

All the time, for being too sexy..its getting to be a nuisance at this stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If your mouth gets you into trouble after a few pints, perhaps pints aren't for you?

Edit: Just saw your other 9 posts. Have you ever done anything that doesn't involve pi55ing in the street and/or acting the tool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

private89 wrote: »
    Got arrested after going out on Saturday night and getting into a row with bouncers outside a nightclub after going outside for a smoke and not being let back in. I can't keep my mouth shut after a few pints and it's got me into bother a few times.

It was in town and those public order Gardai in the overalls - they don't take any c**p. Got let out at 6am and still had a mark on my wrist from the handcuffs. Had a load of calls on my phone from my mates wondering where I was.

You're lucky it's only a mark on your wrist. I had mine shredded resisting arrest while wearing riot cuffs. They twist them and they cut into the skin. I had 31 circular cuts around my wrists, deep buggers too.

Thouroughly deserved though. Drunk and being a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 private89

Yeah I was drunk but didn't really get a chance to explain what happened or get told to head off home. Just got arrested.

What are 'riot cuffs'? Handcuffs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

FortySeven wrote: »
    You're lucky it's only a mark on your wrist. I had mine shredded resisting arrest while wearing riot cuffs. They twist them and they cut into the skin. I had 31 circular cuts around my wrists, deep buggers too.

You'll find the fluff covered hand cuffs leave no such marks. They can be used in very "physical confrontations" with no lasting injuries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭Old School Husqy

FortySeven wrote: »

You wouldn't have been subject to such in an Mexican prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

What's riot cuffs? No I've never been arrested but been in cuffs a few times! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I've been in cuffs, thrown up against a wall and slapped around the face with a huge truncheon.

Must say, I haven't been arrested though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I have been 'detained' twice to answer a few questions.
    Was assaulted by the Chinese police.
    Hit by a water cannon in dublin.
    Charged at by riot police in mexico.
    Pounced on by a police dog in london.

But never actually arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Insert witty joke about the fashion police and 90's dress sense...

Never been arrested. Been questioned. And what was quite funny was they really did the good cop bad cop schtick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Yeah I was drunk but didn't really get a chance to explain what happened or get told to head off home. Just got arrested.

What are 'riot cuffs'? Handcuffs?

They are the more modern handcuffs. They used to be linked by a chain between the bracelets but now have a solid mass. This makes them one complete unit that can be levered in various directions. The leverage on a steel band around skin and muscle is severe.

Good design really. Once they are on it is one twist and you are on your knees in pain. You have to be remarkably stupid to try and resist with them on.

Winterlong wrote: »

You must have some stories when you come back from your travels! You're lucky not to have been arrested after all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Stopped and searched once for "acting suspicious", i.e being in the wrong place at the wrong time, but never actually arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Winterlong wrote: »

Are you James Bond ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Are you James Bond ?

No, just unlucky!

Gods no. That would be very scary.
    What was the name of that UK series set in a womens prison? Terrifying stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Bad Girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No, I got away with it every single time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

I have been arrested around 20-25 times. Never anything serious tho. I have been in court once and had a jlo when I was a teenager.
    Haven't been arrested since i was early 20's (About 8 or 9 years ago) and won't ever again.

Orange is the new black!! Though that's America. I love that show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

TLDR version - I fought the law, and the law won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Twice.

First time wrongfully for which I was administered a good hiding for complaining about.

Second time was eh, not so wrongfully and fully deserved...no hiding though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

I couldn't deal with being arrested and put in handcuffs.... What if I got an itchy nose???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I have been arrested a few times, mostly by customs officers when I was the driver of the 'Midnight Express' Cannabis Smokers bus between the UK and Amsterdam...

http://www.independent.co.uk/travel/high-time-in-holland-1359080.html

Worst day was when the French Customs found 4 kilo of heroin in the luggage compartment of the bus, but I knew who it belonged to and it wasn't mine.

After a few years doing this job I got to know most of the Customs guys on first name terms and the job got easier :)

trixychic wrote: »
    I couldn't deal with being arrested and put in handcuffs.... What if I got an itchy nose???

Tough luck :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I have never been arrested, but I was taken in for questioning by customs in the airport in Santiago, Chile. I picked up a charcuterie selection in the airport in New Zealand as I was dreading the thought of having to eat cattle class airline food during the flight.

I put the remains of the meal into the bag it came with and put it in my Globetrotter 1897 holdall bag. Later on in the flight I filled out the customs form declaring that I had no food that was on the prohibited list. Once at the airport my bags were scanned and I was asked aside for questioning. Chile are extremely strict on the types of food products that are allowed into the country due to their vibrant agriculture industry.

It was quite a scary experience and the opening lines of questioning were delivered by an extremely overweight man in a cheap mustard suit. It was also my first experience of trying to communicate in my basic Spanish with a man speaking the notoriously strong Chilean dialect. I explained that the proceeding 24 hours had been traumatic - watching Ireland losing to Wales in the quarter final, before having to travel in economy class on a transpacific flight. He asked me did I understand the gravity of what I had tried to do? It went back and forth. His attitude eventually softened and he commended me on not offering a bribe like many others who had found themselves in the same situation in the past.

I apologised profusely for my unintentional mistake and we eventually had a lovely chat about the strength of the Chilean economy. He asked me for my email address as he had a son studying finance in the University of Santiago. I was happy to offer it, and any advice to his son, on the proviso that I might not be able to reply immediately as I intended to spend a month travelling through their beautiful country. It is a stunningly beautiful country.

Lesson learned though. Rules and laws are there for a reason.

I've been arrested several times, but they were all occasions when I was homeless, and the cops tended to think most petty crimes were my/generally homeless people's fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Yes, twice. For disturbing the peace while drunk.
    I was 16 at the time.
    I look back now and I can't believe that was me; I wouldn't dream of doing anything that could result in me being arrested again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Prisoner cell block h?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭terenc

A few marks round your throat!!! Sorry your wrists, but then again lack of oxygen might make you more stupid then you are already are so thank god they dident stop air reaching your brain!

I hate handcuffs now, makes your chest feel tight and hard to breathe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I have never been arrested, but I was taken in for questioning by customs in the airport in Santiago, Chile. I picked up a charcuterie selection in the airport in New Zealand as I was dreading the thought of having to eat cattle class airline food during the flight.

I put the remains of the meal into the bag it came with and put it in my Globetrotter 1897 holdall bag. Later on in the flight I filled out the customs form declaring that I had no food that was on the prohibited list. Once at the airport my bags were scanned and I was asked aside for questioning. Chile are extremely strict on the types of food products that are allowed into the country due to their vibrant agriculture industry.

It was quite a scary experience and the opening lines of questioning were delivered by an extremely overweight man in a cheap mustard suit. It was also my first experience of trying to communicate in my basic Spanish with a man speaking the notoriously strong Chilean dialect. I explained that the proceeding 24 hours had been traumatic - watching Ireland losing to Wales in the quarter final, before having to travel in economy class on a transpacific flight. He asked me did I understand the gravity of what I had tried to do? It went back and forth. His attitude eventually softened and he commended me on not offering a bribe like many others who had found themselves in the same situation in the past.

I apologised profusely for my unintentional mistake and we eventually had a lovely chat about the strength of the Chilean economy. He asked me for my email address as he had a son studying finance in the University of Santiago. I was happy to offer it, and any advice to his son, on the proviso that I might not be able to reply immediately as I intended to spend a month travelling through their beautiful country. It is a stunningly beautiful country.

Would a man of your character and standing society not have a private plane of your own ?

Surely life would insufferable should you have to travel on an ordinary airline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

u ok hun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

A couple of times in Holland for silly stuff, peeing in public, driving stoned, car theft(not really just the owner didn't know i was driving his car while he was away on holidays).

Was always amazed how good dutch cops' english was.

Twice here in Ireland and once in Germany. 20 years ago, jaysus!

I've been arrested several times, but they were all occasions when I was homeless, and the cops tended to think most petty crimes were my/generally homeless people's fault.

Had you done something to 'deserve' to be arrested or was it just because you were homeless/begging whatever?

When I've been arrested I knew what it was for even if I didn't agree with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Yeah, was nearly shot too.

Moral of the story, airsoft guns are not toys. :pac:

It got thrown in a cell when I was 15 or so for drinking by my old primary school. Good craic

Had you done something to 'deserve' to be arrested or was it just because you were homeless/begging whatever?

When I've been arrested I knew what it was for even if I didn't agree with it

Lingering (didn't know that was a crime) being accused of thefts, apparent harassment, etc.

I'm disappointed you traveled long haul in coach. That's not the Aongus we all know. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Candie wrote: »
    I'm disappointed you traveled long haul in coach. That's not the Aongus we all know. :(

He's gone down in my estimation, that's for sure.

It's just such a non-Aongus thing to do, stew in the stalls with the proles. Disappointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It's just such a non-Aongus thing to do, stew in the stalls with the proles. Disappointing.

I don't even know who he is anymore. :(

There are also his unfortunate lapses with spelling and tendency to repeat his playful little anecdotes. I'm starting to wonder if all is well in the house of Von Bismark.

Stress affects us all I suppose. Perhaps mindfulness isn't the magic bullet Aongus thinks it is.

This is like finding out Santa isn't real?
    All that learning to burp the alphabet in prep for our first date, it's been all for nothing :(

I've certainly gone off taking him out for a kebab. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Kinda believable till you get to this part...... he commended me on not offering a bribe. :pac:
    I had a good lol anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

There are also his unfortunate lapses with spelling and tendency to repeat his playful little anecdotes. I'm starting to wonder if all is well in the house of Von Bismark.

Stress affects us all I suppose. Perhaps mindfulness isn't the magic bullet Aongus thinks it is.

Aongus works in finance, doesn't he? They're going through a lot at the moment. Truly turbulent times, and a lot of stress of course. Many of Aongus' colleagues' livelihoods, Aston Martin DB9's, and 100% bonuses are at risk. The potential of losing your brothers (and sisters) in arms would affect anyone's composure.

Aongus, we're here for you. We all fully believe you can create bountiful wealth without being productive in any way. It is your calling.