Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever get called/done jury service?

• 27-06-2016 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭

Got a letter for jury service but I can't do it because of having a criminal record.

Anyway wondering if anybody else has been called to do it and if you did it? Do you get told what to look for or how to come to a decision?

Did most people have the same opinions after hearing the case? Did you feel like you had alot of power in deciding if someone was guilty or not guilty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I got called for it once but luckily I got excused just before it was due to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

I did it a few weeks back, really good experience, glad I did it. Really felt I was doing a duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Got called when I had a newborn so said I was breastfeeding, got me out of it! Wouldn't mind being called again, just at a more suitable time though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Got called, told them I was going on holidays. That was that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Got called and did my service. There's full instructions about the offences in question, their definition and the requirements to meet to return a guilty verdict.

We ultimately returned a not guilty verdict. Not because we thought the person was innocent, but that the case simply wasn't proven.

Still a fascinating experience all told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Got called up once...I told them I was prejudiced against all races

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,902 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Got out of it because I was in college at the time. Always makes me think of this scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Got called up once...I told them I was prejudiced against all races
    If this is legit what did they say, if anything? guessing it might be just joking as I heard it in a film or something. But I wonder what would happen.

I would sooner act a bit mad/odd, well madder/odder:pac:, start using offensive language like it was the norm etc. I also would be interested in people called mulitple times, do you think you were on a a "good list" if you were seen to be co-operative. Or does someone work in department who knows the way it works.

I also wondered about food requirements, I know they are meant to give meals, if you say from the start you have special requirements would you be let off. Can you insist on fillet steak every day due to your "special needs", do you have to have proof etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Mark25 wrote: »
    Got a letter for jury service but I can't do it because of having a criminal record.

Anyway wondering if anybody else has been called to do it and if you did it? Do you get told what to look for or how to come to a decision?

Did most people have the same opinions after hearing the case? Did you feel like you had alot of power in deciding if someone was guilty or not guilty?

Haven't ever been called meself (thankfully), but i would have thought having a criminal record would have ensured you wouldn't get called:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

They don't do anything if people just don't show up so no need for elaborate strategies to get out of it.

Haven't ever been called meself (thankfully), but i would have thought having a criminal record would have ensured you wouldn't get called:confused:

No they just get the names from the electoral register.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Got called twice but was in Antarctica for one and Malawi for the other and was excused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

maximum12 wrote: »
    They don't do anything if people just don't show up so no need for elaborate strategies to get out of it.
    They can fine you. Best not to take the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I was called and turned up, the case was a young fella up for various reasonably minor stuff, thieving - not funny if you have been stolen from, but pretty run of the mill. Anyway the defence looked at the prospective people for the jury, saw this aul wan and decided I would lock him up and throw away the key so I was let go. At the time I was teaching people his age and in fact was perfectly capable of being reasoned in my judgment, but they didn't like the look of me, so I was gone!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Got called but was working abroad so got excused

Dies the notice come by recorded delivery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I've done jury duty for the Coroner's Court twice.

Glad I did it and would do it again but one of the cases was absolutely tragic and still haunts me to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Mark25

I was surprised to get the letter too - didn't think I would.

If I did turn up I wonder would they even know about criminal records at that stage?

maximum12 wrote: »
    Dies the notice come by recorded delivery?

Just ordinary post with mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I also have a criminal record.
    Is it as bad as yours?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I was surprised to get the letter too - didn't think I would.

If I did turn up I wonder would they even know about criminal records at that stage?

if you got picked you would have to give your details to the garda in charge of the jury who would check you out ,

Having a criminal conviction may not disqualify you automatically.

Say if your conviction was road traffic and the case was about an assault it would have no bearing on the case,

you could go along and say it to the garda in the court before selection started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Criminal record for road traffic would be a serious offence surely

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Tigger wrote: »
    Criminal record for road traffic would be a serious offence surely

depends on if its like no tax or dangerous driving drink driving or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

I wanna get picked for jury duty.

I heard they usually go for peeps around the Dublin area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Got called for jury duty in Dublin... almost 3 years after I moved to London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

I would looove to do it. First time I was called was a few years back, I was working in audit and it was busy season so my employers wouldn't let me. :( I was called again a few months ago but was sick so couldn't do it. Hopefully I'll get called again, would love a really long juicy case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Was called a few years ago for a local murder .

Wasn't called but saw a guy who was called tell judge he had a farm and couldn't give up his time .

Next up was a business owner who told judge he couldn't do it either .

They were both excused no problem , I was told to wear a suit because nobody will pick you if you wore one , I didn't and wasn't picked anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Got called a few years ago. My doctor signs letters if you don't want to do it so I just got one of them. Heard no more about it.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    if you got picked you would have to give your details to the garda in charge of the jury who would check you out ,

Say if your conviction was road traffic and the case was about an assault it would have no bearing on the case,

you could go along and say it to the garda in the court before selection started.

Suppose that makes sense. Actually checked on Citizens Info and you are disqualified if you've been sentenced to 3 months or more in the last 10 years so that rules me out. It doesn't seem to matter about anything other than if you have been in prison.

Seems you can get exempted easy enough if you want to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

depends on if its like no tax or dangerous driving drink driving or whatever

That's a civil offence I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I've been called 3 times.

1st time was a drug smuggling case.....guilty verdict.
    2nd time I didn't get picked for a jury.
    3rd time was a rape case....guilty verdict.

I found it very interesting and would have no reason to try and get out of it if called again.

After the rape case the judge excused us from jury duty for ten years because of the graphic nature of our case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

did it earlier this year, serious enough case of arson and attempted murder . was shocked when charges were read out and scene was described . was amazing the man survived it

first thing is . its not like you see on tv . mostly waiting around in a room behind the court room

secondly it doesnt give you faith in the legal system . 3 days in we first heard the guy admitted doing it and wrote a statement saying he did weeks ago . and they then reduced the charge :confused: when they had him 100% guilty made no sense considering how serious it was . soon after we were told he had changed his plea to guilty and the jury was excused

thing i didnt like was the jury selection . about 50 people waiting in lobby of court house and members of a certain community going around intimidating them walking up to them inches from their face staring them out of it . following them around into toilets and out to their cars afterwards . it was a disgrace that it was allowed to happen .

overall im glad i did it . id do it again . judge was a decent bloke who tried to keep everyone comfortable . excused now from jury service for 3 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Karmella

I served once about 10 years ago ... got called onto a jury and sworn in and all that craic. Case was awful though. There were close to 60 counts of sexual assault and unlawful carnal knowledge of 3 girls over a period of years. They read out every single count and the guy pleaded not guilty to all of them. The next morning we got sent to the jury room while they talked about the case - and then brought back in and they read out every single charge again and he pleaded guilty! Thank feck, I don't think I'd have had the stomach to sit through the case! Judging by the dates of the charges these girls were only young kids when it happened. One had the same surname so was probably related to him. I think everyone on the jury was convinced he was guilty before there was a shred of evidence!!!
    I was fascinated by the selection though... They call your number and you go sit up in the box. Then the defense and prosecution reject people. There didn't seem to be any reasoning for the rejection though, like they wouldn't ask any questions or anything. As it happened the jury ended up being majority women, which I found really strange as we sat there listening to all the charges.
    Anyway after he pleaded guilty we were excused and didn't have to finish out the full week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I've never been on a jury but I have seen the mini-series...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5I_3eb23zU&index=4&list=PLLhbAU5zAhYnL3Xyr05RCz_-bbFIdkfAc

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Tigger wrote: »
    That's a civil offence I think

We get this in the legal discussion forum from time to time. I have no idea where it comes from but there is no such thing as a civil offence.

Every violation that ends up in court, if proven, results in a criminal conviction. Many of them are not considered to be serious so left out of Garda vetting etc. but they are still permanently on your record.

Even an unpaid parking ticket that gets to court is a criminal conviction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Kop On

We get this in the legal discussion forum from time to time. I have no idea where it comes from but there is no such thing as a civil offence.

Every violation that ends up in court, if proven, results in a criminal conviction. Many of them are not considered to be serious so left out of Garda vetting etc. but they are still permanently on your record.

Even an unpaid parking ticket that gets to court is a criminal conviction.

How does that work given the below?
    Under the Probation of Offenders Act 1907 (pdf), a judge in the District Court may decide that the facts alleged against you have been proven but may decide not to convict you. This is a form of second chance which the judge has the discretion to apply. The charge may be dismissed or you may be conditionally discharged.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Kop On wrote: »
    How does that work given the below?

Under the Probation of Offenders Act 1907 (pdf), a judge in the District Court may decide that the facts alleged against you have been proven but may decide not to convict you. This is a form of second chance which the judge has the discretion to apply. The charge may be dismissed or you may be conditionally discharged.

Yes, you can be given the benefit of the Probation Act to prevent a conviction being recorded but it is never sought or applied in relation to minor RTA cases because they are not serious enough. The Probation Act is for things like theft and other more serious offences (but if the offence is too serious, it won't be applied.)

There has also been a practice of accepting a donation to the poor box in place of recording a conviction for minor offences and this is sometimes applied for RTA offences, though less so now that the papers kicked up a storm about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Three times within the space of six years!

Did it the first time around (the case of the stolen Massey Ferguson), wrangled my way out the second call up and the third one got cancelled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Ted Plain

The Constitution requires citizens to display loyalty to the State and fidelity to the nation and that is done by jury service...

... Those who fail to show are failing in a very important civic duty and potentially committing a criminal offence.

As remarked by a judge recently when over half of those summoned didn't turn up.

This is not necessarily an excuse for you to get off. You have to have spent at least three months in prison within the last ten years or at any stage in the past have been sentenced to five years detention or longer.

Was on jury duty recently enough. The leaflet you would have gotten with the jury summons should have outlined that.

If you go and are selected it might just as easily end up being a civil law case and not a criminal prosecution one.

Go for it if you're still eligible. It's an interesting experience. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I've been called twice in the past five years. Both times my employer wrote a letter saying I couldn't do it. I'd like to do it once for the experience though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Ted Plain

That's not how it works. :-)

You are summoned and you show up on the morning.

There will then be a roll call.

Your name will then be put into a box and will then be pulled out. If this happens you have to get up and approach the jury bench.

The solicitors on both sides will look you up and down and object to you if they don't like the cut of you. Each side can object to seven of those called without giving a reason. After the seventh rejection they have to provide justification, but it didn't get to that stage the time I was there.

After all jurors are selected they are sworn in there and then by the judge. You can choose to pledge allegiance to the Constitution or a mainstream religious book.

There are no checks of any kind carried out. You are not asked to provide any identification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

I was called to it before, I think like 100 people get called for the 3 days.
    If you don't get picked for Jury on Day 1 you have to come back for Day 2.
    If you don't get picked on Day 2 you have to come back for Day 3.
    If you don't get picked on Day 3, you're thanked for your service and sent off.

That was my experience anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

rubadub wrote: »
    If this is legit what did they say, if anything? guessing it might be just joking as I heard it in a film or something. But I wonder what would happen.

I would sooner act a bit mad/odd, well madder/odder:pac:, start using offensive language like it was the norm etc. I also would be interested in people called mulitple times, do you think you were on a a "good list" if you were seen to be co-operative. Or does someone work in department who knows the way it works.

I also wondered about food requirements, I know they are meant to give meals, if you say from the start you have special requirements would you be let off. Can you insist on fillet steak every day due to your "special needs", do you have to have proof etc.

You heard it on the Simpsons

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

I say hang 'em all.

I've yet to be called successfully to serve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I haven't yet been called.

My older brother was when he was only 18/19, and was selected. The case was for the murder of a child and he was panicking badly- what full grown person has the emotional fortitude for that, let alone a teenager?

Thankfully the guy changed his plea at the last minute, so my bro didn't have to sit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Was called about 10 years ago. I went in unshaven and dressed in a tracksuit as I was told if you look a bit rough you're more likely to be challenged and as a result told to step down. Sure enough, I get selected and up I go. Defence challenged me and the judge told me to be on my merry way. I was delighted, it was a murder trial that ended up going on for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭PurplePrincess

Did a week 3 years ago. Didn't enjoy it at all. Was selected once and went up to the courtroom but wasn't picked for the jury. After 4 days of sitting in the waiting area listening to the case details I was convinced this country was full of murderers, rapists and paedophiles.
    We were excused for 2 years and sure enough 2 years later I was called again along with 3 of my work colleagues. The director wrote to them and got us excused as it would have caused a problem as we would all have to be replaced while absent. I was so relieved.

Two things that I was curious about was over the 4 days I was there when they called out names a lot of people weren't there, and people who were called up to the courtroom said they had holiday booked exams etc, do they follow up on these and check them out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭rogercross

Do you get paid for all that time?