Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting old...hating everything...

• 26-06-2016 11:15pm

...are you like me and getting old but not gracefully?

I'm at the younger reaches of the 40s and I've realised that I hate everything. From tattoos to Conor McGregor to beards to Irish fans ole-ing to politics to music these days. Hate it. Want to go back to the days of Panini stickers and trying to get to base 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

first season of Californication dude will sort that out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I am 10 years younger and tattooed, and I still hate everything. It was ever thus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Ah I'm 30 and I've ****ing hated everything for years :-P life eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Grumpy old man syndrome its a well known middle aged phenomenon.

I'm with you on the beards. They have to be over soon. They only ever suited some people. Others unfortunately like Shane Lowry look like they have a face full of pubes. People have to learn just because something becomes fashionable doesn't mean it will suit you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Mid life crisis! Mid life crisis! I can see a motorbike, ridiculous leather trousers and Snapchatting 20 somethings in your future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

You need a task Conor. You need a goal that's hard to achieve, but achievable nonetheless. Doesn't have to be anything big or expensive.

There is nothing more annoying than the Irish fans ole ole ole crap.
    Think of something Irish to sign & stop singing Spanish words!

I was at a Tom Petty concert couple of years ago, some fecking eejit started singing ole etc.
    He actually stopped the concert until they stopped singing, then he said, ' ok, the singing has stopped, concert can go on'

How fecking embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

I'm at the younger reaches of the 40s and I've realised that I hate everything. From tattoos to Conor McGregor to beards to Irish fans ole-ing to politics to music these days. Hate it. Want to go back to the days of Panini stickers and trying to get to base 2.

I'm a similar age but haven't a clue what base 2 means. I hate Americanisms creeping into our speak. We used to shift, wear, snog, fumble, grope, finger or whatever then go home for a ****. Is that the same thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm 27 and literally everything irritates me. My oh takes the long way to places with me in the car so as to avoid trigger points. (Schools during morning or afternoon rush hours, post office and supermarkets on pension day etc) rather than listen to my ranting and raving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

bubblypop wrote: »

I was at a Tom Petty concert couple of years ago, some fecking eejit started singing ole etc.
    He actually stopped the concert until they stopped singing, then he said, ' ok, the singing has stopped, concert can go on'

How fecking embarrassing

You want embarrassing..... Irelands ****ing call.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭jack923

I'm young mate and I'm with you on this sort of I like conor mcgregor though haha

greenflash wrote: »
    I'm a similar age bus haven't a clue what base 2 means. I hate Americanisms creeping into our speak. We used to shift, wear, snog, fumble, grope, finger or whatever then go home for a ****. Is that the same thing?

Lame, awesome, vacation, bucks (money), make out.

All heard or read within the last week or two.

greenflash wrote: »
    I'm a similar age but haven't a clue what base 2 means. I hate Americanisms creeping into our speak. We used to shift, wear, snog, fumble, grope, finger or whatever then go home for a ****. Is that the same thing?

Second base was getting the hand inside the blouse. An awesome feeling circa 1988.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

I even hate this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Second base was getting the hand inside the blouse. An awesome feeling circa 1988.

See grope/fumble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

LOL when you wrote 'base 2' I thought it was some computer game I never heard of! Christ I am old.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

CFlat wrote: »
    LOL when you wrote 'base 2' I thought it was some computer game I never heard of! Christ I am old.

Then been saying second bays since Happy Days ffs

No no I've heard of first, second, third base etc , it was just the way Conor worded it...ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

CFlat wrote: »
    No no I've heard of first, second, third base etc , it was just the way Conor worded it...ffs.

oic ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Funny someone mentioned getting older/grumpier.

My old chap is 62 and he now spends his time giving out about loads of stuff. It started when he retired and it's getting worse.

It's hilarious to hear go off on different topics.

Nothing wrong with having a good old moan from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

I don't even bother forming full sentences half of the time now because I'm so long in the tooth like. Lots of the time if someone asks me something I just say 'I don't know' because I couldn't be arsed.

Hunchback wrote: »
    I don't even bother forming full sentences half of the time now because I'm so long in the tooth like. Lots of the time if someone asks me something I just say 'I don't know' because I couldn't be arsed.

Your user name rings a bell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Do you know what I hate? That fkin new Supermacs ad. And that dope at the end? What's a "quality assured chicken supplier"? Wasn't too much quality for the chicken. Supermacs can go **** itself as far as I'm concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Cantankerous auld fogeydom has not hit me yet, but I have definitely become less left-wing. Still pretty liberal but have just become a lot less tolerant of victimhood and lack of personal responsibility.

How fecking embarrassing
    Similar when Prince played in Cork 1990.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Hate the way you can't adjust the font size oh boards.ie on an iPhone and that in slowly going blind, probably because of this

Am I asking for too much or is the site aimed at eagles that can make out writing so fcukin small

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

No I find I'm the opposite. As I am getting older the more I am learning how the little things mean so much. I have become much closer to my parents and I don't take life or silly things as seriously as I did when I was a teenager.

I'm only 32 but in the last couple of years, I feel that I really have been gaining a better understanding of myself and other people around me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭Old School Husqy

I can maintain an erection for longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

I hate everything. From tattoos to Conor McGregor....

Conor McGregor hated everything once too. Then he quit his job and went to see about a girl.

No wait, sorry, that was Goodwill Hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Just wait till you get to the docking bay, blow your... er. . mind:

For grumpy old haters, this thread is highlarious (hic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm probably a year older than you, OP, and feel the same, although maybe not as strongly. Those, and other things, annoy me but if I really think about it, they are really only minorly annoying. I think I like the idea of having something to give out about.

When I bought my house 19 years ago, I had this idea of me being this grumpy old man that the kids in the estate would have a nickname for, mainly because they thought I was a bit odd (and because I'd take their football after they'd kick it into my garden.) In reality, I couldn't be bothered taking their football, or moving them on when they decide to congregate outside my house ( :confused: ). It would take too much effort, so I give out about them to myself and leave it at that.

As part of our drinking culture, they are singing in Irish. "Ól é! Ól é! Ól é!" = "Drink it! Drink it! Drink it!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

How fecking embarrassing

Going to a Tom Petty gig is embarrassing enough, you must have had an overload that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I find the opposite.
    As I get older I have become a beacon of acceptance, a role model for the worlds youngsters in fact. I am so full of worldly wisdom that it hurts (could be arthritis either, I'm not sure)
    That being said, I would gladly nuke france this morning just for the craic:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Yep, same. Turned 44 recently and I hate all of the above. Particularly hate the whole soccer "we're going to win the Euro's" ****e, mcgreggor and all boxers/mma plebes are just jumped up twats, when did acting like a wild animal make anyone special ??
    ****in RandB music !!

Fleawuss wrote: »
    Mid life crisis! Mid life crisis! I can see a motorbike, ridiculous leather trousers and Snapchatting 20 somethings in your future!

I love that 40s is "mid life", truly. So I've another 40 years ... bring it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Agreed. Life is way too short to be chewing yourself up hating things. I love life, its great....somethings annoy me but hardly any piss me off enough to hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

When I was in my early 40s, I suddenly lost my full ability to cope with stuff. It was so bad that I went to see a therapist (of course, I'm American, so the impetus was more "I'm not living at my full potential" and less "holy f!ck, I think I'm losing my mind"). The wise older woman showed me I'd been coasting along without learning a lot of the coping skills that most people learn when they are younger, and she taught them to me. I still get occasional periods that could be characterised as "anxiety" or "depression", but I can deal with them now that I know what they are, and not be overcome by them and let them ruin the way I want life to look. You could have shouted "just get over it, life is too short" at me morning, noon, and night, and I would have had no idea what you meant or what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

I'm around the same age, and the best thing about getting older is not giving a fúck about anyone or anything (apart from my loved ones of course).

Small things don't matter a damn to me anymore, although I find myself shouting at the telly now and then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

I'm around the same age, and the best thing about getting older is not giving a fúck about anyone or anything (apart from my loved ones of course).

Small things don't matter a damn to me anymore, although I find myself shouting at the telly now and then!

Same here , the people who give a **** are over there and I am happily over here, well most of the time and usually when there is feck all I can do about the issue anyway. Why get upset ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,592 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Will be 48 this year , don't hate everything , instead I enjoy the simple things and don't sweat the small stuff :) Life's too short so enjoy it while we can , and we can still (pretend) to be fountains of wisdom and advice :D

Shouting at the tv also helps though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

its all down hill from here. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭YungKeo

I'm 18 and life is great but I'm already starting to feel like this. For the past year I've felt very disgruntled whenever I've seen fellow pups acting the ape, or any time I've heard Conor McGregor speak, or when anyone posts complete tripe about how great he is.

I'm hoping my cynicism and hatred for trivial things has just peaked early and that I'll gradually become more accepting :D

I also hate whingy posts like this and I also hate irony.
    I also hate when people try to be ironic.

I need a hobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

YungKeo wrote: »
    I'm 18 and life is great but I'm already starting to feel like this. For the past year I've felt very disgruntled whenever I've seen fellow pups acting the ape, or any time I've heard Conor McGregor speak, or when anyone posts complete tripe about how great he is.

I'm hoping my cynicism and hatred for trivial things has just peaked early and that I'll gradually become more accepting :D

I also hate whingy posts like this and I also hate irony.
    I also hate when people try to be ironic.

I need a hobby.

There is such a thing as a "quarter-life crisis". I think we don't give our young ones enough support while they're starting out, and it's a shame because a little extra care could make them so much more confident and stable in later life, and would give a boost to the babies too.

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Life's too short so enjoy it while we can , and we can still (pretend) to be fountains of wisdom and advice :D

Those coping mechanisms are a great thing to pass on to the kids.

That's if you have kids?

Sorry, didn't mean to presume you have kids just because you're a 48 year old woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,592 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Those coping mechanisms are a great thing to pass on to the kids.

That's if you have kids?

Sorry, didn't mean to presume you have kids just because you're a 48 year old woman.

Thought you'd presume I have kids because of my name :)
    But then again , I don't assume you're pacman :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I like lots of things, many of them are just different things from the things I used to like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I'm 32 and I hate everyone and everything except my parents, my dog, walks in the snow and wine. I've felt altogether jaded with mankind for as long as I can remember though this has accelerated hugely since I left the bubble of education and had to survive "in the real world". I hate to think what I will be like when I am old, then again I probably will never find out - all this toxic negativity has got to be bad for one's health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Want to go back to the days of Panini stickers and trying to get to base 2.

Base 2, don't you hate when these aulfellas get all the expressions wrong from the tv. It's like Martin's Life and Game of Throws :pac:

Lave him alone, he's watching Game of Throws!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I hate you, I hate your family and I hate your face!! :mad: