Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Key broke in bathroom

• 21-06-2016 9:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭

Hey all need help, key just broke in bathroom door, so now the door in locked but thankfully nobody is inside...

How can I get through it, it's a basic lock, this is the same lock on another door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Have you tried McGyver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Can you extract the broken bit of key from inside the lock (with a hairclip)?

... or try the key from the other door with the same lock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's fcuked. Might as well sell the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Is the lock bit very hard to cut through?

Tried to fetch the key out if it, no joy yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You should be fit to get that with a knife. Or else a sledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Can you use a needle nose pliers to grasp whats left of the key inside the lock aaaaaaand twist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Get a philips driver and remove the entire mechanism, the key will fall out in the process.

€50 please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Why were you locking the bathroom door from the outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Burn the door, the key will then fall out near the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

smash wrote: »
    It's fcuked. Might as well sell the house.

That's a bit extreme. Just needs to burn it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Take a few senokot and you'll soon figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭wiz569

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Get a philips driver and remove the entire mechanism, the key will fall out in the process.

€50 please.

Door is locked ,no access to those screws ,

OP you could remove the doorstop and cut the lock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Can you fit a wire hanger into the lock??

That's a bit extreme. Just needs to burn it down.

Insurance accessor: wtf happened here?
    OP: key broke in the bathroom door.

mohawk wrote: »
    Can you fit a wire hanger into the lock??

It's a broke key, not a cheap abortion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

€50 please.

The pic is of a similar lock. The door that the key is stuck in is closed and locked.

No charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

smash wrote: »
    It's a broke key, not a cheap abortion!

Oooooo....

Superglue the broken bit back on to the bit that's stuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Smash it to fu*k with an axe. Might not sort out the problem, but would be good fun all the same!

Is it time to ask how the hell you managed to break the key in the first place?
    And who locks the door from the outside?

exaisle wrote: »
    The pic is of a similar lock. The door that the key is stuck in is closed and locked.

No charge.

In this case the last thing you want to do is damage the lock. I'd suggest tearing down the partition wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Get a gun and shoot your way in....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Remove the handle. Use magnetic screwdriver(s) to try remove the key but since the door is locked you might as well break the feckin' thing and just repair the damage. Or enter the bathroom via window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

At least I know I could trust ye all now, for yous would be all fcuk all good at breaking in anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Stupid Fecking Basta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

PARlance wrote: »
    Is it time to ask how the hell you managed to break the key in the first place?
    And who locks the door from the outside?

Lock was giving trouble so just checking it, and it broke...it is just a small part of the key, and in frustration I threw it and can't find it, cause I'm a spanner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

If door is locked then you can't remove the lock. That comes out when door it open.
    What you need to do is use crowbar or a very large screwdriver to leverage it open. You might damage the door a tad, leverage it at lock..between door and jam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You may get used to sh*tting in a bucket OP.

No damage to door drill out center of lock then use screw driver to turn.

Lock was giving trouble so just checking it, and it broke...it is just a small part of the key, and in frustration I threw it and can't find it, cause I'm a spanner

If some of the key is visible just turn it with a pliers,or unscrew the front panel to give more access.

My brother used to never turn the key fully in the lock so while he was ****ting I'd slide a bit of paper under the door and use a pin to push the key through. It would land on the paper and then I'd pull it back under the door and leave him in there. But my mam never saw the funny side and replaced the locks with slidey ones.

Ah well, you can take solace from the fact that there was indeed something wrong with it at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Get a gun and shoot your way in....

Pop a cap in that Basta's azz...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Being a spanner is no good. You need to be a screwdriver.

Pop a cap in that Basta's azz...

Defence that you thought an intruder was in there may work.

Blasta that basta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Take off the handle, it will give u more room to play, if you haven't done so all ready. Needle nose pliers then...
    Stupid saying it now but if you are tinkering with a dodgy lock, do it with door open.

Can you get access to the bathroom from the outside (any chance the window is open)?
    Even if the key is broken on the outside of the door, there will probably be enough of it sticking through on the other side to get a grip with a narrow nosed pliers if you remove the door handle. Check on the door in the pic first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

semtex, and plenty of it! no half measures now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Magneto is your only man.

Phone Enda.

Can compressed air be of any use?

Have you neighbours? Would they help out......and let you use their bathroom until you sell the house?

If the key is broken beyond the fat part that stops it going into the lock too far, you may be able to rotate it to the position where you can poke it out the far side, ie.remove it from the lock. If it's a standard basta lock, then one of the keys from the other doors may fit it OR if you can find the bit of the key you threw away, it'll have the correct number on it (assuming it was the right one in the first place).
    Some hardwares and locksmiths will let you borrow a complete set of basta keys to find out which one you need (you obviously pay a deposit!).

Can compressed air be of any use?

Why? Have you a flat tyre as well?

fineso.mom wrote: »
    Why? Have you a flat tyre as well?

I think he was going to fart in the door.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Is there a number on the key ehh.. shaft? Eg. Basta 13? If it's a basic lock then it's easy to get a replacement.

To be honest OP, in all seriousness, some of the previous posters were actually right in suggesting that maybe it's time to move on.

Stick the house up for sale and be done with it. What year is the house? If it's in the 15 year range then it's probably around now that it'll start showing these small problems up. And they'll only get worse. And once it goes over 15 years, try getting any kind of realistic insurance policy on it.

Best thing would probably be to scrap it and get a new one in it's place. Something a bit smaller with more reasonable property tax might be a good idea. I know it'll cost a few Euro to get a new one, but at least you know you won't have these problems appearing the whole time. You could spend a fortune trying to get this through the BER, whereas with a new one at least it's something you won't have to worry about for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,079 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Strong wire coat hanger cut and bent to approximate the key shape (i.e. short L shape). You may be able to use get this in far enough at the bottom of the keyhole and rotate it to drive the broken key. A bit of WD40 beforehand would help.

Do a search and you might find a better forum to ask in.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Hey all need help, key just broke in bathroom door, so now the door in locked but thankfully nobody is inside...

How can I get through it, it's a basic lock, this is the same lock on another door

Get the broken part and put metal glue on the broken part and then push key in onto broken key. Hold there for 30 minutes without moving and then turn the key, only to discover that the glue wont hold.

Just take off the door lever, now you can see the broken key. Turn key using a needle nose pliers.

Don't leave us hanging about whether you got in or not.