Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public displays of affection

• 21-06-2016 7:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭

How comfortable are you with PDAs? I'm very uncomfortable with people wearing the face off each other in public. I was sitting down having pancakes for my breakfast one Saturday morning when these two sat next to me and started kissing each other while waiting for their food. There's not much that would get between me and a pancake but that was enough to put me right off.

People on the bus, clinging onto each other and mauling each other like one was going to escape if they let them go, oh please. Could not be dealing.

I'm currently on the train, listening to what sounds like the beginning of a porno behind me.

Myself, I like holding hands when I'm out and about, maybe a quick hug as were walking down the empty aisle in dunnes, sneaky leg rub in the cinema, kiss on the forehead/cheek if I'm feeling particularly daring, but that's about the height of it.

So, are you someone who puts other people off pancakes or do you save all that for when you're by yourself??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

How comfortable are you with PDAs? I'm very uncomfortable with people wearing the face off each other in public. I was sitting down having pancakes for my breakfast one Saturday morning when these two sat next to me and started kissing each other while waiting for their food. There's not much that would get between me and a pancake but that was enough to put me right off.

People on the bus, clinging onto each other and mauling each other like one was going to escape if they let them go, oh please. Could not be dealing.

I'm currently on the train, listening to what sounds like the beginning of a porno behind me.

Myself, I like holding hands when I'm out and about, maybe a quick hug as were walking down the empty aisle in dunnes, sneaky leg rub in the cinema, kiss on the forehead/cheek if I'm feeling particularly daring, but that's about the height of it.

So, are you someone who puts other people off pancakes or do you save all that for when you're by yourself??

Start playing 70's cheesy porno music at them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Sometimes it's nice to be reminded that there's love in the world

/returns to muttering into half empty glass

I don't like it at all.

I was sitting in the train station this morning nursing my hangover and a bottle of lucozade when behold! Two lovers waiting for the other to depart.

They were standing in the middle being all kissy. I was filled with bitter thoughts such as "I bet that's the last they'll see of each other".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

My lowest moment in life came many years ago.
    Standing at the old taxi rank on college green. Busy queue, everyone pushing and shoving and desperately holding on to their spot. 3am. Pissing rain in december. And the couple in front of me necking away....her head practically on my shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I have no problem if it's genuine, but a lot of things like this seem to be "for show"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

A display of affection is fine but monging the face off someone could hardly be described as affectionate. Public displays of horniness are uncomfortable to witness but not as bad to be a part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Yeah... I was in a cool bar in an amazing city enjoying some parmesan truffle fries... On the other end of the bar, a tipsy middle aged couple started wearing the face off each other.

I could see their tongues.

Barf-o-rama.

The fries were left unfinished.

Bastards!

I hold my OH's hand in public. Sometimes a kiss on the cheek when we're parting company but that's it. Anything else is exhibitionism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

No No NO.

It's a private and real thing.

PDAs are not. IMV. Ever.

And embarrassing to witness too. YUK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

Lexie I'd be like you. Holding hands is fine, but to be honest that's about as far as I go. Call me bitter, twisted, and single, but you don't need to be attached to your OH's mouth 24/7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

monging the face of someone.

I lol'd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Ah yea, that sounds a bit full on but holding hands or someone putting their arm around someone is grand.

When my husband and I first started seeing each other, he lived in a different county and he was waiting with me for my train.

We were sitting on a bench holding hands when a group of lads got off the train, a bit drunk and all started singing the chorus of "it must be love" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Eh, I don't give a crap. They aren't picking my pocket or taking my job. So long as they don't expect me to join in, I'm fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Start masturbating next to them, that usually stops that kind of filth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

As the Comicbook Guy once said, Inspired by the most logical race in the universe; the Vulcans, breeding will be permitted once every seven years. For many of you, this will mean much less breeding. But for me, much much more!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

The calling card of the insecure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

Jaysus, yiz are all very negative. I love a bit of hand holding, arms around the waist and sneaky kisses in public. My fella is a nightmare though, he can't engage in any more than a closed mouth kiss in public or else he will get an erection!

Earlier today, I saw a couple full on dry riding on a park bench... no need for that!

Showing affection for some one in public is fine, holding hands, hugging, a brief kiss etc. When you start getting into a prelude of sex, then you have overstepped a socially acceptable boundary.

My fella is a nightmare though, he can't engage in any more than a closed mouth kiss in public or else he will get an erection!

Is he 14?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

smash wrote: »
    Is he 14?

You would think, but no!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

smash wrote: »
    Is he 14?

Oh, young men are so cute like that. It's like when you scritch the end of a cat's back just above its tail, and it puts its tail straight up in the air. :) (No, I restrict myself to one particular middle-aged dude these days, heh.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭strawdog

Don't like PDA's myself, unfortunately when you're in the early stages of 'courting', as i seem perennially to be, it tends to be the only option as you usually only see each other in public. I try and be somewhat discreet with where the gob lobbing happens, but still terribly uncomfortable and self conscious with constant opening of eyes to make sure no one is watching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Haha this actually reminds me of meeting a guy a few years ago. We were sitting in his car on the backseat in Salthill. He was sitting upright but I was kind of lying into him, he had his arms around me rubbing my tummy and we had his hoodie thrown over me to keep me warm. It was just becoming dark, when this weirdo drove in, parked right next to us and was very blatant in trying to enjoy the show that wasn't even happening. He was having a great look in, trying to get a great view and not caring how obvious he was. Moment killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Boyfriend probably arranged the whole thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

As the Comicbook Guy once said, Inspired by the most logical race in the universe; the Vulcans, breeding will be permitted once every seven years. For many of you, this will mean much less breeding. But for me, much much more!!

Loneliness and cheeseburgers are a dangerous mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Couldn't give a toss as long as it's not intrusive. But when it's right up in your face it really can be enraging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Time and place for everything. I saw a couple the other day on a busy street ..... she was pushing the pram with one hand and holding his hand with other. I mean ffs, we get it, you're in love! But lets focus on the job at hand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭dinorebel

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Couldn't give a toss as long as it's not intrusive. But when it's right up in your face it really can be enraging.
    Unless you're Dogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

I don't think most people mind the likes of holding hands or smooching.

But nobody wants to see some lad named Anto groping and wearing the face off some Chung wan down the back of the 17a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

I just don't understand it.

I was in the cinema one time and the couple in front of me would just randomly lean in and have a quick snog before returning their attention to the film. Like why bother paying to see a film if you're going to miss half of it. I eventually moved because I found it too distracting. Similarly I don't get why couples go out on social occasions with friends and have to be in constant physical contact, I don't know maybe they think other people don't notice that they're constantly petting each other, maybe they think they're being subtle. People seem to define themselves by the fact they're in a relationship, very odd behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭NikoTopps

My boyfriend told me that he loves the whole kissing and holding hands thing in public because it shows people "he's mine" and "I'm his" type thing. Sounds a bit silly but I think it's nice to be seen together and comfortable around each other.

Of course full on grinding is off limits in public though :pac:

NikoTopps wrote: »
    My boyfriend told me that he loves the whole kissing and holding hands thing in public because it shows people "he's mine" and "I'm his" type thing.

Ah insecurity veiled in affection.

:p

Ah insecurity veiled in affection.

:p

Perhaps being a same sex couple we are more prone to insecurity. Who knows? But I don't feel the need to have to limit my affection for him just because we're not at home.

I do wonder about very obvious public displays. Is there perhaps an unconscious need to show "ownership" or a kind of "look what I have and I'm going to show you how amazing we are".

The couple who can sit in comfortable silence, maybe having a Sunday coffee and both reading the paper, no great desire to constantly touch and kiss, that to me shows a long lasting love and the ability to find intimacy in just each other's company alone.

I do wonder about very obvious public displays. Is there perhaps an unconscious need to show "ownership" or a kind of "look what I have and I'm going to show you how amazing we are".

The couple who can sit in comfortable silence, maybe having a Sunday coffee and both reading the paper, no great desire to constantly touch and kiss, that to me shows a long lasting love and the ability to find intimacy in just each other's company alone.

Personally I am a touchy feely kind of person and so is my boyfriend so that just wouldn't work. And in my own relationship sitting together in silence would mean "there's something underlying and we need to talk".

I guess everyone is different with these things and read the room, if people around seem uncomfortable then just stop but in my experience Irish people don't tend to care at all.

Personally I am a touchy feely kind of person and so is my boyfriend so that just wouldn't work. And in my own relationship sitting together in silence would mean "there's something underlying and we need to talk".

I guess everyone is different with these things and read the room, if people around seem uncomfortable then just stop but in my experience Irish people don't tend to care at all.

You are right. Everyone is different.

I remember being on the Luas last year. I was actually on my way to a date. There were a couple standing who couldn't keep they're hands off each other. A woman actually asked them to stop!! I was embarrassed for all.

Whatever my own opinions are I wouldn't dream of telling a couple to knock of the kissy huggy craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Or it could mean that they're bored senseless of each other. It's a fine line.

PARlance wrote: »
    Or it could mean that they're bored senseless of each other. It's a fine line.

Indeed it is. Who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Nothing like a big pda....not people shouting "get a room"....but a big lip locking kiss and squeeze.....bring it on :)

A drunken enough fingerbang on a crowded night link is where it's at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Few years ago I was in the Gate theater (I'm not posh, won the tickets on Classic Hits). Was really enjoying this play but there was this couple in front of us who wouldn't leave each other alone. She had her hand permanently on the back oh his head running her fingers through his hair giving the fcuker a non-stop scalp massage. Was annoying the arse off me so I tapped her on the arm and in a hush whisper said 'Excuse me but that's very distracting'. She turned her head and looked at me with her posh surprised scowl and then dismissively turned back around continuing on as before, giving her significant other this seemingly never ending Indian head massage. So without really thinking about it I shouted "Lady will you please stop distracting me!". Well she whipped her hand away from his head as if she was on 'I'm a celeb..' and had just realized that her hand had been in a box of tarantulas. The interval was a little awkward I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Teenagers wearing the faces off of each other in public is something you can put down to age. Adults doing likewise is pathetic. Over a certain age you should know the difference between acceptable and unacceptable behavior. A couple being affectionate is fine but full on tongue battles and heavy petting on the street is just annoying to observe.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Few years ago I was in the Gate theater (I'm not posh, won the tickets on Classic Hits). Was really enjoying this play but there was this couple in front of us who wouldn't leave each other alone. She had her hand permanently on the back oh his head running her fingers through his hair

a) I would deem your reaction out of order- it's hardly indecent.

b) I wish I had someone who would run their fingers through my hair

c) I wish I had hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭CloudCumulus

If it's things like OP mentioned (except hand holding, I hate it), a quick hug in the frozen aisle of Dunnes while deciding which pizza to buy is grand and sometimes sweet to see couples doing it.
    Myself and OH were out with my parents and this pair in the bar were clinging to each other, we were commenting on how weird it was.
    They were French too, I think most other Europeans have different attitudes to PDAs than we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭CloudCumulus

cantdecide wrote: »

b) I wish I had someone who would run their fingers through my hair

c) I wish I had hair

It wasn't indecent, but it was bothering him and I fully understand how it could be annoying to see a hand moving up and down in your direct vision. He paid good money for those tickets (they don't have to know it was classic fm or whatever).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Permanent hand holding is stupid. Really annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

cantdecide wrote: »

Not indecent, just irritatingly inconsiderate plus in my defense she did have very long white painted finger nails and about seven different rings. The couple beside us thanked me as we were leaving which I wasn't surprised at as they had been sighing and rolling their eyes in her direction from the outset also. To be honest I'd much rather she'd have done an Alanis Morissette on him than rolled and waved her hand in our faces, which essentially what her head massage amounted to.

Otherwise though, I'm not really bothered by public displays of affection. Seen a few couples in cinemas over the years doing all sorts of things to one another but if they're not making noise or whatever then I'm not bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Not indecent, just irritatingly inconsiderate plus in my defense she did have very long white painted finger nails and about seven different rings. The couple beside us thanked me as we were leaving which I wasn't surprised at as they had been sighing and rolling their eyes in her direction from the outset also. To be honest I'd much rather she'd have done an Alanis Morissette on him than rolled and waved her hand in our faces, which essentially what her head massage amounted to.

Otherwise though, I'm not really bothered by public displays of affection. Seen a few couples in cinemas over the years doing all sorts of things to one another but if they're not making noise or whatever then I'm not bothered.

that is taking PDA to a whole new level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Winterlong wrote: »
    My lowest moment in life came many years ago.
    Standing at the old taxi rank on college green...

I think my life has had many lower moments than yours :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

I was in a supermarket and in one of the aisles there was this couple just standing there holding each other. It wasn't an embrace whereby one might have been upset...no they both just had their eyes closed in a hug. I walked on.....came back about two minutes later and these pair of tools were still there. Arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Irish_Elect_Eng

Being offended by PDAs is just an extension of the modern attitude of many that they some-how have a say in the (legal) behavior of others. And even then most of it is driven by simple jealousy. Personally, my only reaction to PDAs between a couple is to smile and feel a desire to be in proximity with my own partner.

(Note: I am talking about PDAs between couple in a relationship, Not Public Indecency or Drunk Strangers or Music Festivals )