Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noob purchaser advice

• 21-06-2016 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭

Been reading this forum for a while and yis do seem like decent enough skins, so I figured I'd hit you up for some advice! :pac:

Forgive any ignorant/noob questions - I'm not particularly learned when it comes to watches!

Have had a hankering for a while to get a couple of new watches for a bit of variety as much as anything else, so possibly looking to purchase over the next couple months. The purchases won't be at the higher end of the spectrum as I'm not in a position financially to do so (though Seamasters are nice...).

So, the question: What would any of you recommend? I'm thinking along the lines of Steinhart or Tissot. Some examples of what I've been looking at:

PRS200 (I like the black/red leather strapped variant of this one, but I already have a black dialled watch, so want a bit of variety).

Steinhart

Ocean Two (I know this is sold out just now, but you never know!)

Any comments on how decent those watches are? Would you class the first Steinhart as a 'dressy' watch, or should I be going for something a little more like this?

Are the likes of Watchshop and them decent sites to be buying off? Anything you'd warn against when buying?

Be gentle :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Anjobe

Steinhart and Tissot are both good brands, you'll certainly have difficulty finding a better quality watch than Steinhart in that price range.

The first Steinhart you linked is pretty big (47mm), probably too much so for a dress watch that should fit nicely under a shirt cuff.

Watchshop is grand - quick, reliable, no customs duties and generally a good bit cheaper than buying on the high street here. You can probably find cheaper if you look around online though.

Some other brands you might want to take a look at would be Certina, Hamilton. How about Seiko if you like automatic divers (www.yorkshirewatches.co.uk is a good source)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

Anjobe wrote: »
    The first Steinhart you linked is pretty big (47mm), probably too much so for a dress watch that should fit nicely under a shirt cuff.

Christ, I never even noticed that - cheers! Way bigger than what I'm looking for, even as a non-dressy watch.

Thanks for the rest of the advice too - I'll look into Certina and I have seen some Hamilton stuff, but will take a closer look now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Steinhart-pilot-watch-Nav-B-uhr-47MM-handwinding-flieger-steinhart-Unitas-6497-/182175338259?hash=item2a6a7f0f13:g:kvkAAOSwGIRXZRV4

Keep an eye on this one, it will give you an idea of market value. Welcome to the forum.

I reckon the best value watches are a couple of months old, usually still under warranty, where the seller got tired of it etc.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

the links to the watches you put up would generally not fall into a "dressy" watch category

A lot of Steinharts are built around the same base....41mm case. They are a great daily beater but I wouldn't really wear my Steinhart as my dress watch

Maybe a Tissot Visodate
    Marmara-Park-Saat%C3%A7im.jpg

Seiko Sarb065
    688818-seiko-sarb065-cocktail-time-240820135533.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

Cheers for the advice lads - appreciated.

@ Lex: I figured they probably weren't overly 'dressy' watches, thanks for the suggestions! :)