Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Power washer

• 19-06-2016 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭

Looking to get power washer for farm to clean machines after work and sheds and yards. What would be best a electric or petrol. About 500 to spend so nothing major

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

valtra2 wrote:
    Looking to get power washer for farm to clean machines after work and sheds and yards. What would be best a electric or petrol. About 500 to spend so nothing major

Forget electric. Bought top of the range of triace and I'm always fixing it. Get a nice Honda petrol or tractor driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Beefpark

A power capable of cleaning sheds would have to be either a PTO washer costing about €900/1000 or a large petrol costing about €2000. Whatever you buy no point tackling a shed with any less than 3000 psi and 21 litres of water per minute... Oh and turbo head is a must !
    For the tractors and machinery you would get away with a bit less , 2000 psi , a petrol would be the headiest as you leave it set up ... But still going to be €800/900 for something decant .

Maybe buy a handy washer for the machinery and hire a 3000psi once or twice a year to do the sheds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭buffalobilly

Thinking of getting a Pto one here
    With turbo head had lend of neighbours
    Great job for cleaning sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Thinking of getting a Pto one here
    With turbo head had lend of neighbours
    Great job for cleaning sheds.

Had a pto one here, traded it in after 1 year and got a petrol one. PITA having a tractor tied up. It turned Powerwashing into a big job, having to yoke it up every time. Petrol one very handy, go in and do 30 mins when I get a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

Had a pto one here, traded it in after 1 year and got a petrol one. PITA having a tractor tied up. It turned Powerwashing into a big job, having to yoke it up every time. Petrol one very handy, go in and do 30 mins when I get a chance

Agreed!

13 hp Honda petrol engine,Inter or Hawk 3000psi pump, for own use, and a bit of care, will last a lifetime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Bykobap

Topline has Hyundai petrol one for less than 400 euro
    10 litres a min 2000 psi i think
    Nothing special but good enough at that price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Bykobap wrote: »
    Topline has Hyundai petrol one for less than 400 euro
    10 litres a min 2000 psi i think
    Nothing special but good enough at that price

I know from a guy selling the hyundai lawnmowers in a local hardware that the mowers at least are coming back with problems very regularly. I think I would save up and buy a honda even if I had to wait a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭6270red

Hire someone to clean the sheds for you. Powerwashing sheds is a bollox of a job!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

invicta wrote: »
    Agreed!

13 hp Honda petrol engine,Inter or Hawk 3000psi pump, for own use, and a bit of care, will last a lifetime

That's what I have, bought it off local plant hire for €650 cash. I had to spend another 300 on it to get it reconditioned but it was well worth it going like new since. They are around 3.4k new. They are animals on petrol but you won't be long doing a job with them compared to an electric washer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We have a pto washer and I find them cumbersome to use, to the point it's hardly used.

At work we have a 5hp Honda 3000psi washer. Great washer. Cost ~€1800 3 years ago.

_Brian wrote: »
    We have a pto washer and I find them cumbersome to use, to the point it's hardly used.

At work we have a 5hp Honda 3000psi washer. Great washer. Cost ~€1800 3 years ago.

That's surely a 13hp Honda, 5hp wouldn't be much good with 3000 psi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Got a pto washer here for 800, already had hose and lance. Super job for tough work but as said a pain having tractor tied up to it. No point going near sheds without a turbo nozzle. Hired out a big diesel washer alright a few years back was the only thing that matched the pto one but they're a couple of grand to buy. Last year didn't have time myself so hired in a fella to do it. May do the same yet depending on how summer works out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

I bought one of these about 5 years ago. If you see one make sure to throw a match into the petrol tank. Hateful piece of crap. I have a Karcher electric one as well and its alright for washing down machinery. I wish now that I had combined the price of both and got a decent Honda one instead

389353.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

6270red wrote: »
    Hire someone to clean the sheds for you. Powerwashing sheds is a bollox of a job!!!

Same with drawing home turf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Op if it's for washing down yards and machinery you want it for don't bother with a power washer
    Get a volume washer and hook it up to an inch tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Sam Kade wrote: »
    That's surely a 13hp Honda, 5hp wouldn't be much good with 3000 psi.

Indeed.
    Sorry, it's a 13 HP, very handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

quick question all

How are PTO washers as bad as ye say , taking up tractors. Sure the likely hood is your not washing and driving the tractor at the one time anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

You could get a volume washer and ibc tank setup for 500 which will clean heavy muck of machinery or yards faster than anything.
    As for sheds hire a washer when you need it probably only a few days a year .
    I got a 5hp petrol washer at aldi for around 300 euro which is fine for calf sheds once the hose was upgraded but would be lacking in power for a bigger job like slatted house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

quick question all

How are PTO washers as bad as ye say , taking up tractors. Sure the likely hood is your not washing and driving the tractor at the one time anyway

Shir the biggest part of any job is putting the implement on the tractor ha! It is handy to.be able to have the washer there and just do a bit for an hour or so in between everything else, + during the summer a better chance of someone knocking around that could be spreading fert topping etc at the same time while u wash or vise versa. Share some.implements with the neighbour here so the tractor could be needed any day as well for whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

My turbo head is a diseaster. I think there could be something stuck in it or something. It comes out in a straight line not spread out at all, fair annoying.

Open up the back of it, all it is is what resembles a spinning top inside in it. Easy to see if something is up with it.
    Also, there's different rated turbo nozzles for different flow rates and power. If you ring a supplier and they'll them what power your washer is, they'll tell you what the colour the nozzle where the water comes out should be.
    That could be the trouble too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

I bought a PTO hawk with geared unit last year as I have no 1000 RPM in the tractor. It was a disaster and had to send it back twice after only a few hours work done. would be working away and then lose all power so sent it back permanently.

Since then, I've discovered the tractor can achieve 1000 RPM by putting the small gearstick in neutral, PTO to ground drive, and main gear stick in a high gear such as 5th or sixth. So I got a new PTO hawk this year and it's perfect. 6th gear with low revs gives me 220bar pressure and a turbo nozzle as well. All the sheds and silage slab done no bother. Only hassle was explaining to the auld lad how to get the 1000 RPM on.

Open up the back of it, all it is is what resembles a spinning top inside in it. Easy to see if something is up with it. Also, there's different rated turbo nozzles for different flow rates and power. If you ring a supplier and they'll them what power your washer is, they'll tell you what the colour the nozzle where the water comes out should be. That could be the trouble too

Will do thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

I bought a PTO hawk with geared unit last year as I have no 1000 RPM in the tractor. It was a disaster and had to send it back twice after only a few hours work done. would be working away and then lose all power so sent it back permanently.

Since then, I've discovered the tractor can achieve 1000 RPM by putting the small gearstick in neutral, PTO to ground drive, and main gear stick in a high gear such as 5th or sixth. So I got a new PTO hawk this year and it's perfect. 6th gear with low revs gives me 220bar pressure and a turbo nozzle as well. All the sheds and silage slab done no bother. Only hassle was explaining to the auld lad how to get the 1000 RPM on.

Have a pto washer on an old Zetor permanently, great job with the ground drive pto.

djmc wrote: »
    You could get a volume washer and ibc tank setup for 500 which will clean heavy muck of machinery or yards faster than anything.
    As for sheds hire a washer when you need it probably only a few days a year .
    I got a 5hp petrol washer at aldi for around 300 euro which is fine for calf sheds once the hose was upgraded but would be lacking in power for a bigger job like slatted house.

The volume washer won't remove dried in cow dung and uses heaps of water. I use the slurry tanker with fire brigade hose for that job.

They give up after about 100 hours of use!
    There is a ceramic jet nozzle in them that wears out,replacement unit costs about 50 yoyos!

invicta wrote:
    They give up after about 100 hours of use! There is a ceramic jet nozzle in them that wears out,replacement unit costs about 50 yoyos!

This yoke is fairly new. I'd say it has no more than 8 hours done altogether just have it.a while.

Would it have had a fall? or had the nozzle been damaged in some way?

invicta wrote:
    Would it have had a fall? or had the nozzle been damaged in some way?

Don't think so maybe just dropping it would be enough as that happens. Thinking now there could just be something inside in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Don't think so maybe just dropping it would be enough as that happens. Thinking now there could just be something inside in it.

Dropped mine a short distance and it works on/off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Quick question about petrol Power Washers. Said I would join this thread instead of starting a new one if you don't mind.

I am looking for one for use around the house and for keeping machinery/tractor clean. Not for use with Sheds.

Anyway - My question, and I hope it's not too dumb....

What is the difference between two machines, if they have different hp engines, but are delivering the same PSI.

e.g. If I have a 5.5 hp and a 13 hp machine and they are both delivering 3,000 PSI, what is the advantage of the 13 hp machine ?

Thanks in advance.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

BnB wrote: »
    Quick question about petrol Power Washers. Said I would join this thread instead of starting a new one if you don't mind.

I am looking for one for use around the house and for keeping machinery/tractor clean. Not for use with Sheds.

Anyway - My question, and I hope it's not too dumb....

What is the difference between two machines, if they have different hp engines, but are delivering the same PSI.

e.g. If I have a 5.5 hp and a 13 hp machine and they are both delivering 3,000 PSI, what is the advantage of the 13 hp machine ?

Thanks in advance.

Probably the volume of water per minute. Never mind the litres of petrol per hour.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

blue5000 wrote: »
    Probably the volume of water per minute. Never mind the litres of petrol per hour.

Thanks for that Blue

Petrol, I wouldn't worry about as I won't be doing a massive amount of work anyway, but that's a very good point RE water that I didn't think of.

So 2 washers, can be outputting water at the same PSI, but the one with more HP willbe outputting more water at teh same pressure (and therefore be more effective).

So for the kind of work I am describing, tractor, machinery, footpaths, patios, walls etc, What kind of PSI and Litres/Gallons per minute should I be looking for ?

So for the kind of work I am describing, tractor, machinery, footpaths, patios, walls etc, What kind of PSI and Litres/Gallons per minute should I be looking for ?[/quote]

A power washer,is exactly that!
    The pressure is infinitely adjustable in all reputable machines
    As regards g.p.m. the higher the pressure,more water going throu' the pump

For cleaning sheds such as slatted sheds with dried in sh1t you'd want 3000 psi and upwards of 30l per minute, and a turbo nozzle with that. 15 l would probably be fine for patios etc.

So for the kind of work I am describing, tractor, machinery, footpaths, patios, walls etc, What kind of PSI and Litres/Gallons per minute should I be looking for ?[/quote]

A power washer,is exactly that!
    The pressure is infinitely adjustable in all reputable machines
    As regards g.p.m. the higher the pressure,more water going throu' the pump

For cleaning sheds such as slatted sheds with dried in sh1t you'd want 300 psi and upwards of 30l per minute, and a turbo nozzle with that. 15 l would probably be fine for patios etc.

For dried in sh1t you need 1500 to 1700 psi and I can't imagine any power hose even at that pressure using 6 gallons a minute

Meant 3000!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Bit off topic lads so apologies. Do any of know what it would cost to just hire in a crew to power wash sheds? Time is an issue here and power washing always seems to run down our well. So id be looking for someone to supply water, labour and machine

Meant 3000!

Then you would want a new power hose,pump, and engine after about 20 minutes, (or the fire, which ever comes first!)

Why? My pto washer runs at 200 bar (max of 220) which is 2900 psi. It has done many multiples of 20 minutes without exploding as you predict.

Check your pressure clock!
    At that pressure you'd go straight throu' 40 newton concrete!
    The one here is set at 1600 psi with turbo nozzle and is more than capable of cutting trenches in 6 month old dried cowsh1t!
    Washing machinery,etc, would cut it back to about 1200psi!
    The biggest problem with 3000psi is....how do you manage to hold on to the actual lance? That kind of pressure would stick you to the back wall!

That's what you want now for dried in sh1t, and a good bowl of weatabix that morning.

Now, Sir
    So far I've stuck to the topic(ie) power washers

As far as I can see,either your,or,my pressure guage is gaga.
    Once or twice I have opened mine to 2000psi,with the following results
    (1) nearly impossible to hold the lance against the pressure on the work surface
    (2) have taken the surface off concrete with that pressure
    (3)--most important,is the fact that after about 5minutes, the manifold on the engine(13ph Honda), would be crimson in colour,the oil in all 3components ie engine,gearbox and pump would be smoking,
    Now either my guage is reading too low,or you have a far superior set-up

.....and by the way, ---- IF and WHEN I ever have need to discuss my dietary fibre needs, I will do so,with somebody who knows what the're talking about!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Jesus better not admit to using my hawk at 1000rpm it does 30l/min at 4000psi. With a turbo nozzle that is speced to suit. And it has never blew up yet. Makes the job a pleasure as its so fast. Usually run it a little lower at 3-3500 psi. It can take bits off weaker concrete but only if you try.
    Fantastic way to clean up a machine before you paint it. Blasts the rust off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Now, Sir
    So far I've stuck to the topic(ie) power washers

As far as I can see,either your,or,my pressure guage is gaga.
    Once or twice I have opened mine to 2000psi,with the following results
    (1) nearly impossible to hold the lance against the pressure on the work surface
    (2) have taken the surface off concrete with that pressure
    (3)--most important,is the fact that after about 5minutes, the manifold on the engine(13ph Honda), would be crimson in colour,the oil in all 3components ie engine,gearbox and pump would be smoking,
    Now either my guage is reading too low,or you have a far superior set-up

.....and by the way, ---- IF and WHEN I ever have need to discuss my dietary fibre needs, I will do so,with somebody who knows what the're talking about!!!!
    Something wrong with your setup... Mine runs at 3500psi and no problems. My old electric kranzle runs at 2000psi and my Granny could work it... My wife regularly does! Maybe eat some porridge too.....

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Something wrong with your setup... Mine runs at 3500psi and no problems. My old electric kranzle runs at 2000psi and my Granny could work it... My wife regularly does! Maybe eat some porridge too.....

According to Invicta you'd be blown into the neighboring county at 3500 psi. Don't be telling lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

st1979 wrote: »
    Jesus better not admit to using my hawk at 1000rpm it does 30l/min at 4000psi. With a turbo nozzle that is speced to suit. And it has never blew up yet. Makes the job a pleasure as its so fast. Usually run it a little lower at 3-3500 psi. It can take bits off weaker concrete but only if you try.
    Fantastic way to clean up a machine before you paint it. Blasts the rust off
    According to Invicta you'd be blown into the neighboring county at 3500 psi. Don't be telling lies.
    We also have a hawk and run it off the IH454 on the 1000 pto shaft. For normal cleaning like machinery, tractor, van etc I just keep the revs low. When it come to dried in ****e on the aluminium of the lorry/trailer or slatted unit, calf sheds etc then I just up the revs to blast it off.
    I can hold the lance against the high pressure although in fairness my arm would get tired after about 15 minutes - but I'm a hardy country lassie ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Beefpark

I've a PTO Comet which I always run with the tractor flat out !
    Puts out just shy of 4000 psi and 30l or minute...only job if you want to make progress in cattle sheds .!

Check your pressure clock!
    At that pressure you'd go straight throu' 40 newton concrete!
    The one here is set at 1600 psi with turbo nozzle and is more than capable of cutting trenches in 6 month old dried cowsh1t!
    Washing machinery,etc, would cut it back to about 1200psi!
    The biggest problem with 3000psi is....how do you manage to hold on to the actual lance? That kind of pressure would stick you to the back wall!

Think you need to check your pressure gauge, washer is ran at just over 200 bar here as well with appropriate TB nozzle, no issues.