Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we have a homecoming party for our fans

• 19-06-2016 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭

Was wondering should we have a homecoming party for our fans in the Euro's in France. I'm traveling from Dingle with my 2 kids to Dublin airport to welcome them home on Thursday. I'd love if we had a celebration for the best fans in the world. How about the freedom of Dublin for them. They are a credit to our country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Why, because they travelled away and got drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

I don't know about that but I'd love a going away party for some of the whiners still in the country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,749 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Which of the 50 flights back that day from France are you planning on welcoming?

Also we are not out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

We'll never fit them all on one bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

I hope this is a joke?

A celebration because they didn't start fights and acted like normal people.

Ffs.

Lets have another in Sept for J1 students who don't smash up their lodgings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

genericguy wrote: »
    Why, because they travelled away and got drunk?

Because they are the best in the world. Everyone says so. We won the award in the last euro's and it looks like we'll retain it again. That is something to celebrate. Not easy to get 2 in a row

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,130 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Can we not have ANOTHER thread to whinge about some supporters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭wokingvoter

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Was wondering should we have a homecoming party for our fans in the Euro's in France. I'm traveling from Dingle with my 2 kids to Dublin airport to welcome them home on Thursday. I'd love if we had a celebration for the best fans in the world. How about the freedom of Dublin for them. They are a credit to our country.

Do you think they are all coming back at the same time, to Dublin airport, by plane on Thursday,like the team?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I hear most of them are heading off to fight ISIS, maybe throw them a parade when they've beaten them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Because they are the best in the world. Everyone says so. We won the award in the last euro's and it looks like we'll retain it again. That is something to celebrate. Not easy to get 2 in a row

Every Irish person says so too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

VincePP wrote: »
    I hope this is a joke?

A celebration because they didn't start fights and acted like normal people.

Ffs.

Lets have another in Sept for J1 students who don't smash up their lodgings.

Yes, it's a joke. A joke that somehow wouldn't fit in the other fan bashing threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Was thinking if Russia or Croatia were thrown out over their fans would the fact we have the best fans in the world give us a chance to take their place. Maybe.

Would you ever stop? This circle jerk attitude is embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

As a nation we are starting to look a bit like Idi Amin now.For those too young to remember Idi was a crackpot African dictator who used to award himself a new medal every week.In his own mind Idi was the most awesome man on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Would you ever stop? This circle jerk attitude is embarrassing

You don't get sarcasm, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What measure are you using for this constant 'best fans in the world' nonsense?

Get over yourself. The team is second rate so the consolation is in the fans?

fullstop wrote: »
    You don't get sarcasm, do you?

I do, I know fully what he's saying. He's one of many whinging over the attention our fans are getting, it's a circle jerk in its own right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

You do realise it's completely made up, right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Because they are the best in the world. Everyone says so.

I call shenanigans on this award ceremony.

We can only be best in Europe since this is the Euros.

Sorry but that's just science.

Ffs OP is being sarcastic, he just wants to cry about the attention the Irish fans are getting and feels special enough to have his own thread about it rather than using the one we already have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭luftmensch

It's a football competition, not a fan competition and our team is currently bottom of their group. They don't deserve to progress, and doing so because their fans don't riot when their drunk is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭wokingvoter

archer22 wrote: »
    As a nation we are starting to look a bit like Idi Amin now.For those too young to remember Idi was a crackpot African dictator who used to award himself a new medal every week.In his own mind Idi was the most awesome man on earth.

I'm 51 now and he's well dead and I'm afraid even thinking about him . ****ing awesome he was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I have fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

What measure are you using for this constant 'best fans in the world' nonsense?

Get over yourself. The team is second rate so the consolation is in the fans?

Each of these threads are worth it just for when someone swallows it like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Cringe - Welcome home for the boys in Green Welcome home for the boys in Green - I can hear it , where me leprechaun hat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Maybe we should have a party for me, and everyone else who went out last night had a few beers, a bit of craic and didn't start a row or throw money for refugee kids to fight over??

If I head up to Tralee could you collect me on the way?

We could do a joint "Kerry Welcomes You Home" banner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

It'd nearly be worth not qualifying for the next few tournaments so these threads would end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

DellyBelly wrote:

Pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Pathetic

^^^
    All sorts of harsh!!

Let him away...if he wants to stand in the airport cheering home hungover folks...what harm????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

thebaz wrote: »
    Cringe - Welcome home for the boys in Green Welcome home for the boys in Green - I can hear it , where me leprechaun hat
    Ah the Top Hats! ... more EMINENTLY CRINGEWORTHY than those inflated hammers.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭12Phase

The fans actually got a great deal of coverage on French and international media, even CNN. That's FAR more than the team got given our relatively lacklustre performance.

All I'll say is given how positive the French media was (TV, radio, papers, online) it'll actually quite likely impact the tourism sector here, improve sales of Irish goods in France (it's actually one of our growing markets for high-end 'food and drink). I'm not kidding, it's the type of PR you can't buy and it did 'go viral'.

Things like cleaning up in Bordeaux actually made the headlines of one of the largest circulation papers in the French market Sud Ouest, there was an entire segment on them on Canal+, le monde wrote about them, they were in various sports magazines and online etc etc etc

All the Euro fans' behaviour has done was confirm to the French that the Irish are great craic while confirming all the negative things they've always thought about the English unfortunately.

The way the Irish fans behaved and the craic was genuinely appreciated. It has been a nice antidote to the background of threats of terrorism, high security, thuggish behaviour from English and Russian fans etc etc

I wouldn't underestimate it and it's not just self congratulatory either. They've genuinely been model fans.

A home coming might be going too far, but it's just nice to see Ireland's one of the grown ups when it comes to this kind of thing. There are a several countries that have a % of fans who see these events as proxy wars and destroy them for everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

archer22 wrote: »

Lets have a party to celebrate the hard working people in this country who cannot afford to go and get drunk in France for two weeks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I hear most of them are heading off to fight ISIS, maybe throw them a parade when they've beaten them.

Slightly bad taste, but fcuk it, it's AH.

Irish Fans Rescue Kidnapped Schoolgirls From Boko Haram
    http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/06/17/irish-fans-rescue-kidnapped-schoolgirls-from-boko-haram/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

The way the Irish fans conducted themselves was indeed very nice and a credit to our country, fair play to them all. Having a home coming party for them you got to be joking, lol lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

maryishere wrote: »
    Lets have a party to celebrate the hard working people in this country who cannot afford to go and get drunk in France for two weeks.

Some Irish people working the mines in Perth know how to 'party'. How quickly we forget our transgressions in our rush to pin medals on ourselves for our exemplary behaviour abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I think this is a nice idea. How about a big picnic and barbecue in the airport car park. Someone rent a marquee and tow a few hundred cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Some amount of fellas getting baited here in this thread! Good work OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

maryishere wrote: »

They should work harder and then they could afford to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

dirtyden wrote: »
    They should work harder and then they could afford to.

Some people are doing the best they can and still cannot, for whatever reason - ill health, kids, mortgage, redundancy, negative equity, other commitments - take 2 weeks off to get drunk in France and watch millionaires kicking a ball around a pitch for 2 weeks. 'Tis the holidaymakers who spend their hard earned money in Ireland and who keep their money circulating here instead of in the red light area of Paris (as reported on the radio ) who deserve the party;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The Garda immigration lads at Dublin airport should be made to hand our fans People of the Year awards when they pass through on the way back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Make it a national day of celebration, day off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Which of the 50 flights back that day from France are you planning on welcoming?

Also we are not out yet.

LOL! thats the spirit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Omackeral wrote: »
    Amazing how many he (she?) has reeled in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

Would not the people who went to the airport to greet and applaud the homecoming fans not then be plastered across social media as a fine example of the best behaved supporters' supporters in the world....or at least in Ireland.
    And would they not in return be entitled to a similar welcome - in their own driveways at least - by journalists from CNN or failing that a 'runner' from Northern Sound (The Spirit of Cavan & Monaghan).........
    .....maybe not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

Omackeral wrote: »

I know! I think we should throw the OP a 'Welcome To Dublin' party! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Ruu wrote: »
    Make it a national day of celebration, day off!

Day off you say? Done! I'm in.