Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny thing happend this morning

• 16-06-2016 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭

So at about 9:06 this morning, I am coming up here in the lane to turn right when I get to the top of the road. I'm stopped in traffic with one jeep in front of me and then the yellow box in front of him. As soon as the lights up front go green, the jeep decides to move into the yellow box and stop. Traffic hasn't started moving yet, but he is now blocking traffic coming from our right who want to go across our lane. So when the jeep inches forward a bit, I hang back and let the car come across, not as if I was going anywhere anyway. Car behind me starts beeping at me and hand gestures to move. If I had of moved, I would have had to stop on the yellow box.

As this was going on, a truck was moving from our left and was half way out into the road, looking to merge into our lane. I let him. Followed by loads more hand gesturing from yer one behind and more beeps. I waved at her with 2 fingers. She wanted me to bully my way up a lane, playing chicken with a truck, as opposed to being polite and let him pull out. Good luck to her.

We get to the top, I was now first car and light went orange so I stopped rather than racing through to please her. She then jumps out of her car, comes up to mine and I roll the window down to hear her basically loose her head at me, screaming like a spoilt 5 year old (no, actually I have 3 kids and none of them ever went off on one like this).

"I'm bringing my kids to school, how dare you let a truck out like that. How dare you give me the fingers." I told her it was basic manners to allow other vehicles to merge and she had no right to beep at me like she was and giving me the hand gestures because I let the truck in. She then goes on telling me I don't know the rules of the road. WTF!!! I'm laughing inside, but ask her for the craic what rule I broke. "The rules of the road state you cannot let traffic come out in front of you like that" HAHA

"I'm bringing my kids to school, how dare you give me the fingers". I told her if she had such a problem, then maybe she should call the Guards. One last shout about her kids being late for school now as she walked off. I called after her that it was here own fault if her kids were late for school, but that was like waving a red flag to a bull, she was back, and louder than ever. "How dare you say that, you don't know me, blah blah, blah. It is your fault for letting the truck in that they are late, how dare you tell me to f*** off (presumably referring to my 2 finger salute earlier)"

With that she went off back to her car. Lights went green and I pulled off. Kinda sorry I did now. I should have waited!

So who know what rule of the road I broke by not encroaching on the yellow box when there was no clear exit off it and by allowing a truck to merge with our lane :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Don't mind her. You should have a look how most mammies giving Johnny or Mary a lift to school drive. They decided to build a creche in the housing estate that I live it and the creche is right at a T-junction in the estate. Every morning I see cars parked on the corners of the junction and nobody seems to give a sh*te.

I would have just rolled my window up, turned the music up and ignored her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

shietpilot wrote: »
    Don't mind her. You should have a look how most mammies giving Johnny or Mary a lift to school drive. They decided to build a creche in the housing estate that I live it and the creche is right at a T-junction in the estate. Every morning I see cars parked on the corners of the junction and nobody seems to give a sh*te.

I would have just rolled my window up, turned the music up and ignored her.

ah I got a bit of enjoyment out of it to be honest,
    she was only embarrassing herself.

Know what you mean about the car parking around creches and schools. At my daughters school, you often see cars stopping on the roundabout to let half a class out. But I have clocked one particular car, who not only stops, but parks up on the roundabout, and then proceeds to leave his car abandoned there while he walks his kids into school. There is plenty of parking less than 100 yards away!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I'm actually surprised she didn't play the victim card, saying that she felt "threatened" and "scared" by you and maybe that you "endangered her kids".

I am not sure I would call the Gardai in such a situation. Best bet is probably just to ignore her - society, I'm afraid, if fcuked up big time; Your word against hers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Seve OB wrote: »
    Lights went green and I pulled off. Kinda sorry I did now. I should have waited!

Ye, you should also get a dash cam, because that sounds like youtube gold!:D

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Buffman wrote: »
    Ye, you should also get a dash cam, because that sounds like youtube gold!:D

Was only thinking that afterwards...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,209 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    I'm actually surprised she didn't play the victim card, saying that she felt "threatened" and "scared" by you and maybe that you "endangered her kids".

I am not sure I would call the Gardai in such a situation. Best bet is probably just to ignore her - society, I'm afraid, if fcuked up big time; Your word against hers...
    Doubtful that the victim card trick would work as she approached the OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

kbannon wrote: »
    Doubtful that the victim card trick would work as she approached the OP

Look at the amount of rape cases that we've heard of where after some years it turned out that the woman was lying and the lad was on the sex offenders list for a while. I wouldn't be surprised if she reported it to the authorities and it worked out in her favour...

You should've kept her talking/ shouting until the light went green, then you pull of just before it turns red!
    Let her run back to her car & still miss the lights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Ah sure it's a rule in her made up rules of the road! :pac:

I was on Jervis St. a while back making my way up to the T junction at Parnell St.. If you don't know, the right turn has been closed for local traffic only. I was in the left lane and slowly but surely make my way up to the lights after many traffic light changes. I got to the 2nd car in the queue and some wagon came flying up on my right and then tried to get into my lane in front of me. But, I didn't let her... she let loose and then said "I thought you were a gentleman!"

I broke me bollox laughing and put the window back up. Mrs. Dord had a good laugh too. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭curiosity

OP, nothing bad about your use of the yellow box, and yes, it's polite to leave other vehicles change in to your lane. But you had right of way, and stopped anyway, holding her up. It was 9:06am, so she was behind schedule, and feeling stressed? You giving her the two fingers just set the whole thing off. When does giving someone the fingers ever help in a traffic situation anyway? Would you have done the same if a Transit with a few big lads was behind you?

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Learner%20Drivers/Rules_of_the_road.pdf

Top of page 121
    Right of way
    Traffic travelling straight ahead in either direction along a major road
    generally has right of way at all times.

Top of page 122
    You must also yield to:
    traffic already turning at a junction;
    traffic in another lane when you wish to change lanes;

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

Does nobody else think giving someone two fingers ion traffic is a very unclassy and unnessary thing to do?

Besides it being the height of bad manners (do you regularity tell strangers to fu(k off?) what did you gain other than making an angry person more angry, we need less angry people on the road not more?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And as night follows day, the holy Joes of Motors forum file in…

monty-python-monks-o.gif
    do you regularity tell strangers to fu(k off?
    Regularly enough. In cases like this I'd have ignored them TBH, unless they decided to engage me directly.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

curiosity wrote: »
    OP, nothing bad about your use of the yellow box, and yes, it's polite to leave other vehicles change in to your lane. But you had right of way, and stopped anyway, holding her up. It was 9:06am, so she was behind schedule, and feeling stressed? You giving her the two fingers just set the whole thing off. When does giving someone the fingers ever help in a traffic situation anyway? Would you have done the same if a Transit with a few big lads was behind you?

Top of page 121

Top of page 122

neither of those are relevant to the OP. They dont say he cannot let another vehicle merge into his lane. And if it was 9.06am when this happened they were already late through no fault of the OP.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

Wibbs wrote: »
    And as night follows day, the holy Joes of Motors forum file in…

Regularly enough. In cases like this I'd have ignored them TBH, unless they decided to engage me directly.

And as night follows day, the even holier Joes of Motors forum file in and pick an overused internet phrase to try to be funny and get some thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Does nobody else think giving someone two fingers ion traffic is a very unclassy and unnessary thing to do?

Besides it being the height of bad manners (do you regularity tell strangers to fu(k off?) what did you gain other than making an angry person more angry, we need less angry people on the road not more?

Can't guarantee I wouldn't do it in the heat of the moment... but I'd feel pretty stupid about it afterwards as an adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Turtle-TM

Imo it's always right to tell someone they are a fu(King moron if they are indeed being a moron. If someone wants to have a go at me on the road they will find that they will be met with equal or greater opposition. Be that a woman with her kids in the car who decides she wants an argument or a van full of blokes. Too many people in this world are pussys and will let people have a go and not stand up for themselves, meaning the people like that "lady" who were having a go at the op for no reason, will think it's acceptable behaviour and never learn a valuable life lesson.

But you had right of way, and stopped anyway,

Top of page 121
    Right of way
    Traffic travelling straight ahead in either direction along a major road
    generally has right of way at all times.

Top of page 122
    You must also yield to:
    traffic already turning at a junction;
    traffic in another lane when you wish to change lanes;

Are you for real? I would agree with you 100% if I was in free flow moving traffic. The traffic wasn't moving at all, it was busy rush hour. If we were to go by your assessment, no cars at all would have been allowed to merge into our lane as there is a constant flow of traffic coming up that street.

And by the way, the very next point on both pages 121 & again on page 122;
    It is important to understand that the right of way is not an absolute right. You must proceed with caution while showing regard for other users of the road.
    Vehicles do not have an automatic right of way on the road. The overriding rule is, in all circumstances, to proceed with caution.

Do you think I would have been proceeding with caution had I bullied my way past a truck who was already trying to merge into our lane? Do you think doing such a thing would have been showing regard to other road users?

But then again, maybe you are one of those ignorant drivers who will never let anyone merge into a lane in front of you and do your level best to close any gaps.

It was 9:06am, so she was behind schedule, and feeling stressed? You giving her the two fingers just set the whole thing off. When does giving someone the fingers ever help in a traffic situation anyway? Would you have done the same if a Transit with a few big lads was behind you?

Yea, it was 9:06, but how was I to know she was late and feeling stressed? I agree, giving 2 fingers is not the most polite thing, but hold the phone there pal. I absolutely did not start the whole thing off. As I have clearly pointed out earlier on, she was the one who kicked it off. I just reacted, and then she went mental.
    When does it help, well maybe her reaction to my wave could have been to realise that she was bang out of order doing what she did and then leave it at that.
    Would I do it to anyone else, hell yea. Anyone who has a go at me like she did for doing nothing wrong has often been shown a finger. Thought to be honest, not sure why I showed her two fingers, it normally would just be the one, but maybe it was her persistence that got my extra finger would up a bit more than usual.

I totally agree with you, but see my point above. She was the angry one. I was actually very calm.
    Its like anything in life. If somebody does something wrong, and they are not picked up on it, they will do it again and again. They must be made to realise the error of their ways in order to learn that what they are doing is wrong.
    Now unfortunately in this instance, I couldn't just turn around and tell he that her actions were wrong, so I let it slide, until she persisted, so I gave her the 2 finger salute to see if she would pick up on the message.
    But maybe you are right, perhaps I should have gotten out of the car, gone back to her and explained that her reactions were not appreciated.

Can't guarantee I wouldn't do it in the heat of the moment... but I'd feel pretty stupid about it afterwards as an adult.

I guess I did it in the heat of the moment alright, but considering I came on here and posted about it, I guess the only one I think felt stupid after the whole affair had to of been yer one!

Turtle-TM wrote: »
    Imo it's always right to tell someone they are a fu(King moron if they are indeed being a moron. If someone wants to have a go at me on the road they will find that they will be met with equal or greater opposition. Be that a woman with her kids in the car who decides she wants an argument or a van full of blokes. Too many people in this world are pussys and will let people have a go and not stand up for themselves, meaning the people like that "lady" who were having a go at the op for no reason, will think it's acceptable behaviour and never learn a valuable life lesson.

I was composing my response above while you posted that. Turns out we both said pretty much the same thing.

Hmmm, ty for wondering if I'm an ignorant driver;). I will readily let someone pull out in front of me if traffic is slow/static, and I'd probably have done the same as you, without the gesturing. And no, it's not your fault that she was late, but she probably saw the truck moving in front of you as another delay for her.

She was in the wrong, she gestured, you gestured, a few minutes later you're having a 'heated' exchange with her through a car window. You don't need to react to every car-horn and gesture.:) If that's a road you regularly use, odds are you'll cross paths with her again. You could both apologise.:D

I'm glad I'm down in Cork, where all is calm and civil.;)
    Are you for real? I would agree with you 100% if I was in free flow moving traffic. The traffic wasn't moving at all, it was busy rush hour. If we were to go by your assessment, no cars at all would have been allowed to merge into our lane as there is a constant flow of traffic coming up that street.

And by the way, the very next point on both pages 121 & again on page 122;

Do you think I would have been proceeding with caution had I bullied my way past a truck who was already trying to merge into our lane? Do you think doing such a thing would have been showing regard to other road users?

But then again, maybe you are one of those ignorant drivers who will never let anyone merge into a lane in front of you and do your level best to close any gaps.

Yea, it was 9:06, but how was I to know she was late and feeling stressed? I agree, giving 2 fingers is not the most polite thing, but hold the phone there pal. I absolutely did not start the whole thing off. As I have clearly pointed out earlier on, she was the one who kicked it off. I just reacted, and then she went mental.
    When does it help, well maybe her reaction to my wave could have been to realise that she was bang out of order doing what she did and then leave it at that.
    Would I do it to anyone else, hell yea. Anyone who has a go at me like she did for doing nothing wrong has often been shown a finger. Thought to be honest, not sure why I showed her two fingers, it normally would just be the one, but maybe it was her persistence that got my extra finger would up a bit more than usual.

Hmmm, ty for wondering if I'm an ignorant driver;). I will readily let someone pull out in front of me if traffic is slow/static, and I'd probably have done the same as you, without the gesturing. And no, it's not your fault that she was late, but she probably saw the truck moving in front of you as another delay for her.

She was in the wrong, she gestured, you gestured, a few minutes later you're having a 'heated' exchange with her through a car window. You don't need to react to every car-horn and gesture.:) If that's a road you regularly use, odds are you'll cross paths with her again. You could both apologise.:D

Fair enough about your driving, but you were trying to insinuate I was in the wrong, so I had to ask the question!!!! :) To many drivers out there who are rude and ignorant and will do their best to bully their way through traffic. I see it every day. And where does it get them.... most of the time worse off to be honest.

I didn't react at first, or at second for that matter. I only reacted when she persisted.
    No heated exchange, I pretty much said nothing, and when I did, I just spoke and didn't shout like she did.

I have nothing to apologise for.

Calm and civil.......!!!!! sure yis are all rebels down there :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Look the OP obviously had an angry slag behind him who should learn some manners. Still, he didn't help himself by succumbing to her provocation. Its never a wise idea although I know sometimes you can't help it. Its what brings about road rage and sh1t can then escalate into something quite serious.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,209 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

We all have a cross to bear!
    Personally, I'd rather settle for some cranky oul one! :D

I think my comments on your driving (as you described the incident) were positive. I quoted from the ROTR to show what she might have had in mind. Besides, you were there, I wasn't. :)

My driving is average at best:P, but I've always regretted any incident when I've lost my temper whilst driving.
    Fair enough about your driving, but you were trying to insinuate I was in the wrong, so I had to ask the question!!!! :)
    OP, nothing bad about your use of the yellow box, and yes, it's polite to leave other vehicles change in to your lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

can be funny at times watching other drivers getting themselves all worked up and angry because you didnt go through an orange light or let a car in or dont pull off at a junction when you can clearly see you,ll never pull away coz of oncoming traffic.

I was doing coach lessons a few weeks back and waiting to make a right turn at a T-junction onto a busy main road, wasnt a safe gap in traffic for a 38 foot 17 ton bus to pull out at so were waiting a while. Car behind starts hammering on the horn then next thing pulls up on the left side of the bus and can see through the door he,s loosing the plot roaring an screaming in his car at me and the instructor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Some time ago a very laid back friend was sitting in his van in a queue of patient drivers waiting for a truck to finish a fairly brief unload when a woman back in the line started leaning on the horn, yer man put up with it for a little while and then hopped out of the van and ambled back to yer one , "here" he said " if you want to trot up there missus and move that truck I'll stay here and keep me hand on the horn".... No more beeping...