Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football and patriotism?

• 16-06-2016 6:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭

1916/patricks day - No Flags

Somebody's kicking a ball around a field - Everyones a ****ing patriot now, flags everywhere.

What gives?

My opinion? Miniature american flags for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Go away please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

What's the question?

From your post it looks like you are giving out about lack of patriotism and at the same time, a show of patriotism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its supporting a football team not murdering people that's why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

Its supporting a football team not murdering people that's why

Uh oh.

UH OH.

..........And the snakes. No one murdered any goddamn snakes either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

The same thing happened before WW I, if I were an archduke I wouldn't be taking any rides in an open top.

I don't even know how those people can afford all those flags on the dole inanyways.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

There were tonnes of flags around for 1916/Paddys Day?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

There were tonnes of flags around for 1916/Paddys Day?

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The amount of bloody moaning going on here about the football is unreal. If people want to get behind the team then more power to them. Either enjoy the football or just ignore it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I thought it was for the Rugby no?

U20's are smashing everyone at the moment.

7's team did quite well over the weekend.

And we beat South Africa with less on the field than them.

Story Bud? wrote: »
    I don't even know how those people can afford all those flags on the dole inanyways.

The worst ones are those who spent their dole money on flegs, spent their kids maintenance payments on flights to the L'Euro's, went "sick" off their tax free nixers and and and...

...are racist, homophobic, heterophobic, bigoted, ignorant, breakfast roll eating, perverted, wife beating, Liverpool fans.

McGruber wrote: »
    The worst ones are those who spent their dole money on flegs, spent their kids maintenance payments on flights to the L'Euro's, went "sick" off their tax free nixers and and and...

...are racist, homophobic, heterophobic, bigoted, ignorant, breakfast roll eating, perverted, wife beating, Liverpoll fans.

Fcukin Liverpool. Always trying to walk it in.

Pickpocket wrote: »
    Bad spelling/grammar or the simple inability to type kills humour stone dead. It's like stuttering while telling a joke.

Try harder.

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE FCUKING FLAGS!!!!

AND PATRIOTISM!!!! STOP GOING OFF TOPIC!!!!!!!!!!! <3

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Had to smile this morning as the Postman rode past our house on his bicycle bedecked with about six or eight miniature Tricolours sellotaped all over his bike :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

CruelCoin wrote: »
    1916/patricks day - No Flags

Somebody's kicking a ball around a field - Everyones a ****ing patriot now, flags everywhere.

What gives?

My opinion? Miniature american flags for everyone.

There were loads of flags at the paddy's day parade so don't give me that.

As for 1916? That was a more sombre affair, you probably would have started a whinge thread about "all the feckin eejits waving flags instead of remembering the dead"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Mec27

**** off back to d4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

LordSutch wrote: »
    Had to smile this morning as the Postman rode past our house on his bicycle bedecked with about six or eight miniature Tricolours sellotaped all over his bike :)

Sure you probably rang up An Post to make a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Either enjoy the football or just ignore it.
    It's not easy to ignore, to be fair..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

namloc1980 wrote: »
    The amount of bloody moaning going on here about the football is unreal. If people want to get behind the team then more power to them. Either enjoy the football or just ignore it.

I think the issue is more the amount of bandwagonning.
    Everyone suddenly become a massive footie fan when the national team does well, and they will be the same people who the rest of the year will moan about people talking about football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

The same thing happened before WW I, if I were an archduke I wouldn't be taking any rides in an open top.

Serbia didn't qualify

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

If the leaders of 1916 ever bet the world champions 1-0 I'd wave a flag for them too! But they didn't and them's the breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

FTA69 wrote: »

Why? Would you complain if the postie rocked up to your gaff in London sporting the England flag?????

FTA69 wrote: »

No, I thought it was quite nice knowing him as I do. But it did occur to me how quickly things can change in these championships, one minute everybody is flying their flags, and the next day everybody's going round looking miserable after their team (any team) has been knocked out of the Euro's (next week)? :(

Let's hope the ROI do as well against Belgium as our Northern brothers did against Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Rugby fans don't put up flags, it's a working class or dole class thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

Is it not just an excuse to spend more time in the pub/go on a lads only holiday in France? It seems harmless enough, although I'm sick of all the tat hanging off houses in the town. I find myself skipping over headlines in our media about how wonderfully well behaved the fans are? They're adults, are they not supposed to know how to behave when they drink, or do they deserve some sort of special prize for not fighting in the streets? I suspect it's less about supporting the team than it is about extra drinking and who has the best fans, whatever, I'll be glad when it's over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No flags on St. Patrick's Day?

What Ireland do you live in?

There's bloody loads of flags around on St. Patrick's Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What about Denny Rashers and patriotism? (The best and only rashers worth eating)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

LordSutch wrote: »

I'm surprised you didn't push him off his velocipede and administer a good thrashing with your whip.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I think patriotism adds a fun and friendly competitive edge to sports in general. Nothing wrong with it, sometimes it gets out of hand like in Lille or lyon or wherever it occurred recently between english and russians. But generally it doesn't and its not something we should spend too much time criticising

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Mec27

wakka12 wrote: »
    I think patriotism adds a fun and friendly competitive edge to sports in general. Nothing wrong with it, sometimes it gets out of hand like in Lille or lyon or wherever it occurred recently between english and russians. But generally it doesn't and its not something we should spend too much time criticising

As the multiethnic German team belted out their anthem the other day I couldn't help think that this may be one of the last few tournaments where national anthems are played before games. What a shame that would be.

On a similar note, isn't it weird seeing the divide between the European immigrant countries(England, Germany and France) and countries like Croatia, Poland and Ireland. Ireland still hasn't really had it's first immigrant footballer as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Mec27 wrote: »
    As the multiethnic German team belted out their anthem the other day I couldn't help think that this may be one of the last few tournaments where national anthems are played before games. What a shame that would be.

On a similar note, isn't it weird seeing the divide between the European immigrant countries(England, Germany and France) and countries like Croatia, Poland and Ireland. Ireland still hasn't really had it's first immigrant footballer as far as I know.

Ah I doubt it, I think all that anti nationalism stuff will die down soon enough and it'll be okay for people to be proud of their countries again.
    Also it was weird but I find it weirder that we don't have immigrant players considering we are an immigrant country on par with levels of immigration seen in the countries you mentioned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭cd07

McGruber wrote:

...are racist, homophobic, heterophobic, bigoted, ignorant, breakfast roll eating, perverted, wife beating, Liverpool fans.

**** nuff said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭cd07

A bitter utd **** at that. 💣🛩✈✈✈🔥🔥🔥🔥

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Mec27 wrote: »
    Ireland still hasn't really had it's first immigrant footballer as far as I know.

What do you mean by "immigrant footballer?" Someone who moved here when they were a young kid, and ended up playing for the national team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I suggest you start a blog.