Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai to raid houses at a reasonable hour, not to disturb occupants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Pc stupidity of this country and the red tape brigade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Working 9-5,

what a way to make a living,

We just deal our drugs,

During normal office hours,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Regardless of when Gardai do property searches... it's absolutely the worst idea for it to be made known to the public.

If it becomes a matter of public record, then law breaking operations can be literally set up to work around them.

For example, if gardai only raid between 12:00 and 18:00 and that became public knowledge, then law breaking operations would be able to be conducted outside of those hours unchecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

What an outrageous idea.

If you don't want your family disturbed by a raid try not breaking the law it works for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

No point creating a commotion waking neighbours,dragging kids out of their beds and frightening the life out of them in the small hours I suppose.
    Makes sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

mohawk wrote: »
    What an outrageous idea.
    If you don't want your family disturbed by a raid try not breaking the law it works for the rest of us.
    Well no it does not.
    a family who claimed they were assaulted and imprisoned after their house was mistakenly raided in a drug search have received an apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

So leave the occupants get up, have their breakfast, cup of coffee, polish their guns, and then raid. Instead of 5 or 6 in the morning when they're sleeping and off guard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

neris wrote: »

Come come now Neris,how can you make such a statement when facted with the towering reality of this gentlemans words...
    Senior barrister Paul Anthony McDermott noted that is generally accepted that raids of private property should only be carried out during regular hours.

There you have it.....if a Senior Barrister sez it's "generally accepted" then "generally accepted" it is....presumably by the Criminal Fraterinity,who would represent his bread & butter ?

The rest of us,however,appear devoid of any "Senior Barristers" willing to speak out on our behalf....sadly,being observant of The Law in modern Ireland,can often be a costly and demanding thing,whereas breaking it (often with monotinous regularity) is encouraged and funded ?

Mad stuff Ted,but there ye have it :o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Makes sense to me. From my knowledge it's not the big time gangsters with guns and giant piles of coke laying around that get raided the most, it's the low level lads. And a lot of times, depending on the age, they'd still be living at home with little brothers/sisters around and parents who have nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Makes sense to me. From my knowledge it's not the big time gangsters with guns and giant piles of coke laying around that get raided the most, it's the low level lads. And a lot of times, depending on the age, they'd still be living at home with little brothers/sisters around and parents who have nothing to do with it.

We could stop raids all together and just tell their mammies on them

kneemos wrote: »
    No point creating a commotion waking neighbours,dragging kids out of their beds and frightening the life out of them in the small hours I suppose.
    Makes sense.

Excellent point...however in the interests of fairness and equality,the GSOC recommendation has to be accepted by BOTH sides...surely...?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/armed-gang-terrorise-family-in-house-raid-234500.html

http://campus.ie/surviving-college/robbers-gripped-girls-lips-pliers-during-terrifying-home-raid

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/three-masked-men-broke-home-3020039

Commotion and disturbing the children,is only an issue when the Gardai embark upon it then...?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Excellent point...however in the interests of fairness and equality,the GSOC recommendation has to be accepted by BOTH sides...surely...?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/armed-gang-terrorise-family-in-house-raid-234500.html

http://campus.ie/surviving-college/robbers-gripped-girls-lips-pliers-during-terrifying-home-raid

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/three-masked-men-broke-home-3020039

Commotion and disturbing the children,is only an issue when the Gardai embark upon it then...?

Absolutely nothing to do with what we're talking about,but carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

We could stop raids all together and just tell their mammies on them

Have them face the long arm of the wooden spoon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

snubbleste wrote: »

You will always find mistakes but as a percentage of homes being raided how many innocent people's homes are involved. Gardai shouldn't ever be assaulting anyone ever.
    Knew a lad years ago whose home got raided. The entire village knew he was dealing but the guards found nothing. They pulled him over a couple weeks later for drink driving and caught him with drugs in the car. He blabbed on about Garda harassment to anyone who would listen but he didn't get much sympathy. He was over the limit and they found drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-asked-to-carry-out-house-raids-at-reasonable-hours-so-occupants-arent-disturbed-34793376.html

It is now recommended that gardai are only to carry out tactical raids during working hours? 9-5? unless a drug deal is about to go do or other urgent emergency.

Didn't the same thing that happened in brussels, the police couldn't raid the paris bombers house until daybreak, and by that time he was gone.

I don't like the sound of this

The article said "code of practice" not regulation , so I'd imagine a senior or more experienced Garda would use discretion.

Absolutely nothing to do with what we're talking about,but carry on.

You suggest not ?

One wonders if the perpetrators of such raids,having returned to their own residences to count out their ill-gotten gains,are now entitled to a form of immunity before the Gardai can mount a raid ?

The Gardai don't raid premises willy-nilly,but when they do,it has to have an element of surprise...otherwise it's not a raid,but a prearranged meeting,which Gardai also engage in.

For sure,those few families and individuals who are wronged are entitled to recompense,but this does'nt strike down the necessity to engage in these raids on a surprise basis ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

There,s not that many raids,
    it makes sense ,if its a big dealer raid at 9pm.
    maybe its something to do with reducing overtime pay .
    I think the big dealers are smarter than to store a large amount of drugs in the house they live in .
    They can rent apartments or use other places to do that .
    its handy for the dealers to know ,
    i,m safe before 9am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

We had a raid in our complex ar 11:30 pm recently full tactical unit followed by DS ,
    Smashed 3 doors to bits ,
    I'd say some raids will be carried out regardless of the time of day or night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

That's not really related though is it? It doesn't seem to have been a planned search. They thought a car they were following pulled in to the house and got back up to go in and arrest him. That kind of search wouldn't be related to a warrant search.
    Makes sense.

Well that's when they tend to do crime and have the evidence still on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Drug dealers work 9-5 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Armed drug squad came through our front door a few years ago.
    Middle of the night. Had a large boot on my back holding me down, a rifle in the back of my head, and a third Garda handcuffing me.
    My roommate was dragged out of his bedroom and the same done to him. He was sleeping in the nip.

Once they realised we weren't the previous tenants they were looking for (they moved out 7 months earlier when we moved in) they promptly left.
    Front door was off the hinges too.

We didn't even get an apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Emm.... You guys do know that the whole point of doing raids early in the morning or middle of night is to catch people off guard, yeah?

Start doing it in the middle of the day and you run the risk of people easily looking out their window to see a bunch of garda running to their door, giving them those few seconds to flush drugs for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

This is a total non-story which has been sensationalised by the Indo.

Basically, the Gardaí are being asked to carry out raids at reasonable times if possible. There is nothing to stop them raiding at 5am if they need to.

Gardaí battering down a door does give people a fright. It's in the cops interest not to go annoying everyone in the neighbourhood if it can be avoided.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If raids only happen during working hours then working people are more likely to be out and therefore have their doors broken down which means more likely to be burgled before they get back in from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Good. If we put the fear of God into the parents maybe they'll do a better job raising their children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

neris wrote: »

I don't think we refer to individual cops as PC in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Dear Senior Barrister Paul Anthony McMoron.

You are an idiot.

Why would you want to operationally restrict the AGS from doing their job?

How's about you spend time with a search team, chasing leads, collecting evidence, forming a plan, breaching, arresting and hopefully closing a case before you spout more bull****, yoi cocknosed fcuktard.

Is it not bad enough that the Gubberment publically announced that they will be monitoring known criminals text messages.

So, now they will communicate using encrypted messaging service and organise activities for outside AGS raiding hours.

Some people in "authority" need a good hard slap in the face sometimes and to be told to cop the fcuk on.

Sure, lets get an online petition going to restrict the use of flashy lights and sirens on emergency service vehicles.....they should only use them from the hours of 10:00am to 10:05am.

/rant kinda over

McGruber wrote: »
    Dear Senior Barrister Paul Anthony McMoron.

You are an idiot.

Why would you want to operationally restrict the AGS from doing their job?

How's about you spend time with a search team, chasing leads, collecting evidence, forming a plan, breaching, arresting and hopefully closing a case before you spout more bull****, yoi cocknosed fcuktard.

Is it not bad enough that the Gubberment publically announced that they will be monitoring known criminals text messages.

So, now they will communicate using encrypted messaging service and organise activities for outside AGS raiding hours.

Some people in "authority" need a good hard slap in the face sometimes and to be told to cop the fcuk on.

Sure, lets get an online petition going to restrict the use of flashy lights and sirens on emergency service vehicles.....they should only use them from the hours of 10:00am to 10:05am.

/rant kinda over

I think you are blaming the wrong guy there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

reducing overtime pay.... (as was mentioned above)

No it doesn't. The vast majority of searches are done by the unit that is working at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Public Houses will be delighted.