Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vice Principals (Danny McBride + Walton Goggins + Bill Murray) [HBO]

• 11-06-2016 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭

OK, presumably a small role for Bill.. but still looks great!

From the creators of Eastbound And Down.

Starts July 17th.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've been looking forward to this for a while. Walton Goggins in a comedy role. Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'd watch Walton Goggins in any damn thing.

Anticipated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I've been looking forward to this for a while. Walton Goggins in a comedy role. Yep.

Yay Walt in a comedy role, show stealer I predict

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

Think Walton Goggins has shown in Justified he has great comic performances in him, looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

Walton Goggins had a "comedy role" on Sons of Anarchy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Think Walton Goggins has shown in Justified he has great comic performances in him, looking forward to this.

I think he performs on this fine line between downright hilarious and weirdly threatening, you just don't know what's going to happen from one minute to the next with the characters he plays; you are never completely sure what their motivations are. Justified was the best example of this, but it was to be seen recently enough in The Hateful Eight too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

this is getting so close now, cant feckin wait, love danny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Is this a 22 minute episode show, or a 45-60 minute one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

^ 22 minutes according to Wikipedia..

Ah ****, I even read the Wikipedia page looking for that but didn't see it! Great stuff, looking forward to this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Starts on Sky Atlantic on July 26th

Isn't it a case that HBO's own-brand content is the 22-minutes and their content based on other works is usually the 1-hour runtime? Unless I've got that arseways, I'm 99% certain I heard that somewhere before.

HBO comedy shows usually run about 27 minutes.

The sopranos, six feet under, carnivale, boardwalk empire, vinyl... I don't think any of these were adaptations and they ran about 52 minutes an episode.

Decent, if not outstanding, opening. Will bill Murray be in it regularly?

I'm interested and will watch more, but I have to agree it was a fairly underwhelming opener which is disappointing considering the talent on board.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I feel it will improve now that
    the two lads are on the same page and working together to take down the new principal
    but yeah until that moment (which was at the very end) it was underwhelming albeit good alright.

I doubt we will see much more of Murray but maybe a small cameo here or there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I thought it set things up nicely enough.

Looking forward to the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

I thought it was ok. For me it had a feeling of the movie Stepbrothers. It only really got going in the final third and I think Murray was only there for hype and to drag viewers in. Goggins was all I needed to get dragged in. In the end I felt he was more of a distraction. He had really only one good line. In a way I wish they'd opened with a double episode, one for setup and a second to give us a real taste of the actual show.

Episode 2 is a huge step up. I thought it was brilliant. Very dark and funny. I really liked it

By the way, can we get Bill Murray removed from the title of this thread? It's misleading as, according to IMDb, he only showed up for one episode. The way the show appears to be going now I'd doubt he's going to be back either.

squonk wrote: »
    By the way, can we get Bill Murray removed from the title of this thread? It's misleading as, according to IMDb, he only showed up for one episode. The way the show appears to be going now I'd doubt he's going to be back either.
    To be fair.. I did also follow that with "OK, presumably a small role for Bill.."

Hardly misleading if he did feature, albeit for a small time.

PS - watched first episode at weekend, and enjoyed it. McBride and Goggins are great together!

Major improvement in Ep2. As mentioned previously they really should have double billed it for the first two episodes to get a step in the door. I would imagine a large amount of people were turned off by the fairly weak opener.

McBride is good, but Goggins is incredible!

He's basically KFP again but damn he's funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭jennyjoy

I haven't started it yet but it looks so funny is it as good as it looks in the trailers?

Just watched the opener myself, nothing to write home about. Wasn't terrible but nothing special. Bill Murry doesn't look like he'll have much of a part in it at all.

I'll watch the second one later, I believe it's much better and some here have also said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

I think Bill Murray does this type of thing to let directors know he's still alive. He did the same thing in the first episode of Alpha House.

i thought it would be better tbh. and yep danny mcbride is playing kenny powers again but a much more pathetic one. not in love with him like i was with kenny, yet anyway! will keep watching but its a bit disappointing so far for me.

Watched the 3rd one, it's definitely the best so far but still underwhelming. Goggins was in this weeks for about 30 seconds.

It's not really that straight up funny more uncomfortable funny like we all know someone like McBrides character and the show makes me feel like that :D

It's only a half hour long so I'll keep watching for now.

Third episode was gold! Directed by Danny McBride as well, but definitely the best so far even if Goggins was a bit thin on the ground. Hooked now and will definitely be watching the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,963 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

That was a brilliant episode. ****ed buttholes :pac:

Out of the 3 so far I thought the third episode ranked number 2 with episode 2 being top so far. The reason for me is that Episode 3 didn't have Goggins. For me, Goggins is what turns this from being a great show to being a brilliant show. The whole stalker saspect though was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

DubTony wrote: »
    I think Bill Murray does this type of thing to let directors know he's still alive. He did the same thing in the first episode of Alpha House.

Im not sure thats the case.He is supposed to be near impossible to track down if you want him to work with him.
    He has no agent and no telephone iirc,I think people have to post scripts and leave messages at his local post office and he will get back to them if he feels like it.

thought that episode 3 was pure scutter :( so disappointed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

seen the first 2 episodes. i really like this, looking forward to tuning in for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Opening scene was brill with the two lads. McBride really cracks me up.

I thought the latest episode was average enough. There were some funny bits for sure but the ending was a bit meh. I still think that the house burnign episode was pure comedy gold that they haven't really equaled since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

yabadabado wrote: »
    Im not sure thats the case.He is supposed to be near impossible to track down if you want him to work with him.
    He has no agent and no telephone iirc,I think people have to post scripts and leave messages at his local post office and he will get back to them if he feels like it.

Yep. He keeps a low profile alright.

Found the last few episodes to be much better. The two main guys being on the same page and both being featured in all of the episodes helped. Also it was nice to see things actually go Gamby's way a little bit in the last episode. Yeah I am sure that the "Horseface" teacher will drop the folder bomb on him and ruin things but it really is refreshing for a character like that to not always awkwardly screw up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

really enjoying this series. Not as good as McBride's Eastbound and Down but still very good.

All the cast are very good.

Anyone who say the most recent episode only one thing can sum up the end

giphy.gif

Sheeeeeit that ending...

Gotta say I'm loving this show.. this week's episode went pretty dark..

.. gonna be a long wait now unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Really liked it as well, certainly wasn't expecting that finale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Waiting to see it on SkyAtlantic,
    DubTony wrote: »

If anyone wanted to catch him, he was a barman at his son's restaurant opening at the w/end :P

But he is notoriously hard to reach, as he said on Graham Norton a while back, that you leave messages on an answering machine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Pretty poor show, with zero laughs. Not a patch on Eastbound and Down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Really enjoyed that

Goggins was great and McBride was his usual awkward self.

Roll on season 2

Season two will be the last one apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Season two will be the last one apparently

I'm surprised it got a second season.I was disappointed with it,I was expecting a whole lot more from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

I'm surprised it got a second season.I was disappointed with it,I was expecting a whole lot more from it.

It's already all filmed apparently.

I think it's been an enjoyable show. Not near as good as Eastbound and Down but it still has its charms.