Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Axl Rose attempting to have unflattering image of himself removed from the Internet

• 08-06-2016 6:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭

Just reading this on the Time website.

Axl is actually trying to have an image from six years back removed from the Internet. It was one of the first images which showed him noticeably heavier than he had been back in the day and unfortunately for him, a meme was born.

I feel bad for the guy but surely this will only draw more attention to the photo and increase in that particular meme, especially now he is back touring (with AC/DC and so will be in the papers as a result. Not as if he is the first to have an image of them result in a meme, this shot of Jessica Simpson resulted in similar jokes. Can't see what he could possibly gain from this. Does he really think he can wipe an image off the Internet? Nobody* has that kind of power ffs.

*Apart from those who work for KPMG obviously.

So what are your thoughts? Good move on his part or bahahahaha?

I thought back in the day AC DC had a reputation as good solid rock band.

Now their singer wants only the pretty poses on the www?

It seems a bit at odds with the bands image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I thought back in the day AC DC had a reputation as good solid rock band.

Now their singer wants only the pretty poses on the www?

It seems a bit at odds with the bands image.

*gasp*

Guns'f***in'Roses, man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Cathy.C wrote: »
    So what are your thoughts?

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cathy.C wrote: »
    Does he really think he can wipe an image off the Internet? Nobody* has that kind of power ffs.
    A lot of these famous types live in an extreme bubble, surrounded by freaks and geeks whose sole purpose is to tell them they're an icon and their poo don't pong. If you're in that bubble for a couple of decades is it any wonder that some of these yahoos - whose egos were often artistically "fragile" to start with - go off the deep end of reality? They're encouraged to do so.

Look at the Charlie Sheen lad. The man was clearly having a nervous breakdown of some description, while off his head on tiger blood or whatever and he was let run on as a freak show. And those earning from him didn't help.

Look at the Johnny Depp lad. Nasty oul divorce bizness there. I read that one of his "friends" within the entourage has come along and said the wife was out to bleed him dry. Damage limitation more like, her lot will be along soon. Anyway what yer man accuses yer wan of, isn't really the story, it's that none of his so called friends who realised this said a damn thing to the Depp lad. It's gonna be the same for Axl.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Streisand effect will presumable kick in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

I wonder is it some sort of condition? That looks like more than just weight gain. Absolutely bizarre transformation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

Two Tone wrote: »
    I wonder is it some sort of condition? .

Yeah - deep fried ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Old-timey People in Not Understanding the Internet Shocker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Tell you what, axl may be a bit of an A1 bellend, but as an avid DC fan, he's a decent replacement (vocally) specially on the Bonn Scott era songs. (The bands best era imo)

Was apprehensive when I heard he was joining the band for a bit, now however, I'd gladly go and see em at a gig with him on vocals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I thought the first couple of posters were confused when mentioning AC/DC and then I Googled it when it was mentioned again thinking all three can't be wrong.

Seems I'm the out of touch one :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

People take too many photographs.

Two Tone wrote: »
    I wonder is it some sort of condition? That looks like more than just weight gain. Absolutely bizarre transformation.

He looks like an evil Leprechaun in that photo.

Actually he has that look of a newly recovering addict in it, where the bloatedness of the sudden compensatory weight gain takes the place of the gauntness of the addict, before it all levels out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

That crazy bastard Mustaine is looking well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

he's a decent replacement (vocally) specially on the Bonn Scott era songs.

Is he fukk. He sings like a strangled cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

jimgoose wrote: »
    That crazy bastard Mustaine is looking well.

the old ones are the best

http://images-cdn.9gag.com/photo/5442509_700b_v1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Separated at birth. Who knew?? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

May as well be trying to push toothpaste back into the tube.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I always had a giggle at the 80's 90's heavy metal types. We're hard!! Satan is lord!! \m/ all the while in spandex and permed hair. :pac:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

May as well be trying to push toothpaste back into the tube.

Um... that's not as difficult to do as you seem to think it is. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

*gasp*

Guns'f***in'Roses, man!
    Yeah but you'll find him mostly fronting AC/DC at the moment.

Maybe Axl just really wants the Streisand Effect to be renamed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭westcoast66

McGaggs wrote: »
    Old-timey People in Not Understanding the Internet Shocker!

Or politicians talking about 'cyber' this and 'cyber' that when talking about the internet...