Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gave a guy my number

• 07-06-2016 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭

As title says I gave my number to a guy who worked in the shop near my old house last summer.. he never text me n that was that. I moved houses but ironically am bsck working in the area of said shop and really want a cup of their coffee and one of their salads..but am way too nervous to go in. Am I being utterly ridiculous over thinking it? Thought I'd ask in here as I'd get more replies!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Makapakka wrote: »
    As title says I gave my number to a guy who worked in the shop near my old house last summer.. he never text me n that was that. I moved houses but ironically am bsck working in the area of said shop and really want a cup of their coffee and one of their salads..but am way too nervous to go in. Am I being utterly ridiculous over thinking it? Thought I'd ask in here as I'd get more replies!!!

Wear a grocho Marx disguise, lower your voice and strut into the shop - problem solved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Maybe he just wasn't interested at the time IDK, and yes you are kinda over thinking it, hell the guy might not even be working there anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I would not worry about it. Chances are he will not remember you. If he does then it is HE who should feel awkward, not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Go in, be grand.

I'm more concerned with figuring out if that situation is truly ironic.
    You could argue it is in the sense that by moving away you expect to be away from the shop, but the opposite is the case. But then you're only near the shop because of work, not moving, so there's no direct causal link between moving away and being near the shop, so it'd be a bit of a stretch, but you might get away with it!

Hey, an interesting discussion on defining irony might be a good way to rebreak the ice!

Or just put on a hat, keep your head down and make a funny voice so he doesn't recognise you, whatever works for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Am I being utterly ridiculous over thinking it?

I don't mean to make fun or anything, but to answer your question in one word: yes.

What could possibly happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,805 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yes, you are being ridiculous. Coffee is terrible stuff so get a bottle of Oasis (citrus) instead. Very thirst-quenching on a day like today!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

There IS the possibility that he lost the number and has spent the last year kicking himself and hoping you'll walk back into the shop and into his life again one day. Hell he might even be hovering around the shop on his day off just in case you return when he's not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Go in. Demand to talk to him.
    Pull a knife on him and ask him why he didn't call you.

Then proceed to stab him till he gives a reasonable answer to your very, very reasonable method of interrogation, er, I mean polite question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

erm yeah you're over thinking it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Bob24 wrote: »
    I don't mean to make fun or anything, but to answer your question in one word: yes.

What could possibly happen?

She could die of the embarrassment.

I know a girl from Tralee who once had went out with a ladder in her tights and she saw a guy she fancied and wasn't looking where she was going so she fell down an open manhole and was stuck down there. She nearly died of the embarrassment but luckily she had that ladder in her tights so she was able to climb out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,585 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Is Coffee an innuendo and is salad a suggestion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭JakeBell

Go in and say "Oh hey. Wow, you still work here?". It'll f**k with his head a bit. Last time you wanted him, now you're looking down on him.
    Everyone knows mind games are the best games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Tell him you're pregnant with his child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Last summer? What are the chances of him working there, or remembering you if he does?

If he does remember, what are the chances of him saying anything about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

gramar wrote: »

Football under the jumper for added effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Football under the jumper for added effect

At least if he doesn't buy it she can always invite him out for a kick around.

All she'll need is another jumper for that second goalpost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Men - bast*rds the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

everlast75 wrote: »
    Wear a grocho Marx disguise, lower your voice and strut into the shop - problem solved!

I gave him my number too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Make your own sambos at home and take a bottle of tae with ya...... don't have to see him and save money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

gramar wrote: »
    The best part is that it's a full year since they last saw eachother, let alone they didn't get jiggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Wear your 'lucky' knickers just in case.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 anonydubmous

Hmm

Hmm

Well said.

Ask him to give it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭HornyDevil

You're obviously frothing for the guy so make it a cappuccino when you go in. As for the salad, give it a miss - the guy sounds like a wet lettuce what with turning down the probability of a ride. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    She could die of the embarrassment.

I know a girl from Tralee who once had went out with a ladder in her tights and she saw a guy she fancied and wasn't looking where she was going so she fell down an open manhole and was stuck down there. She nearly died of the embarrassment but luckily she had that ladder in her tights so she was able to climb out.

Then what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Remember the old maxim:

Strong minds think in terms of concepts, mediocre minds in terms of events, poor minds in terms of people.

It might well be embarrassing to be the supposed reject heading in but this stuff is piddle and crap in the grand scheme of things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭blueb

coffee and salad.. what a horrendous combination.. thats the only thing you should be embarrassed about.
    Maybe he wasn't interested but i guarantee you he was flattered, who dosnt like compliments.
    Dont b worried :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Go in, have one of their gorgeous salads, and coffees and do a Meg Ryan.

Then wink at him, say you have my number and walk out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭blueb

Cathy.C wrote: »
    Go in, have one of their gorgeous salads, and coffees and do a Meg Ryan.

Then wink at him, say you have my number and walk out.

sorry but thats horrible advice... ud look like a crazy person, especially if the guy dosnt remember her :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Pablodreamsofnew

God this is going to sound harsh but if he didn't bother calling you, doubt very much he'll remember you. Fair play to you taking the chance though.. I admire that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

God this is going to sound harsh but if he didn't bother calling you, doubt very much he'll remember you. Fair play to you taking the chance though.. I admire that.

I don't think its that hard to remember somebody, even if you took only a vague interest in them at the time..
    I remember practically everybody Ive ever met if I saw them and we spoke a little and I knew their name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

The guy could have a girlfriend or wife or he could be gay. Lots of reasons why he didn't call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

The guy could have a girlfriend or wife or he could be gay. Lots of reasons why he didn't call.

A simple courtesy message would have done then.

Why would he accept the number if he was gay?
    Wait did you two talk at all or did you just leave the number and thats it..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

A simple courtesy message would have done then.

Men don't do that.

Yeh it'd be so awkward to call somebody to tell them you weren't interested

Men don't do that.

You speak for all of them do you?

wakka12 wrote: »
    Yeh it'd be so awkward to call somebody to tell them you weren't interested

A text would do.....awkward no.....respectful yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

You speak for all of them do you?

He's does, he was voted as our representative at the agm earlier in the year

jamesbere wrote: »
    He's does, he was voted as our representative at the agm earlier in the year

Well that's ok then......carry on....

no way would I text if wasn't interested (I'm a girl) it leave open a dialogue and maybe an annoying stalker as she would of then had his number. Just because someone gives you their number doesn't mean you are obligated to do anything!

I would not remember someones face for years ago.

I would struggle to remember someones face from yesterday to be honest.

no way would I text if wasn't interested (I'm a girl) it leave open a dialogue and maybe an annoying stalker as she would of then had his number. Just because someone gives you their number doesn't mean you are obligated to do anything!

You see I think it is just a simple text. It took someone guts to do that and just a 'hey....thanks but I am with someone/gay/like dating inanimate objects/hell I just don't want to'.......takes 10 secs of your time.......just wouldn't hurt someone.....thats just me.....

Winterlong wrote: »
    I would struggle to remember someones face from yesterday to be honest.

Same.

You see I think it is just a simple text. It took someone guts to do that and just a 'hey....thanks but I am with someone/gay/like dating inanimate objects/hell I just don't want to'.......takes 10 secs of your time.......just wouldn't hurt someone.....thats just me.....

but then the person has your number? Nay he never gave her any indication that he did like her and she gave her number. I appauld her but expectant a reply? nay

Hide it? .....just I couldn't but I wasn't chosen as this years rep like the one doctor was so just my personal opinion.

Why would it hurt less if he sent a text saying he wasnt interested? Pretty sure he got the same message across by never interacting with her!

wakka12 wrote: »
    Why would it hurt less if he sent a text saying he wasnt interested? Pretty sure he got the same message across by never interacting with her!

Well......'no I'm not interested' next day would have not left the op in the position she is in since last Summer had he shown her that kindness.