Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever phoned a radio station with a problem or issue?

• 28-05-2016 5:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭

If you turn on the radio or scroll down through there Facebook pages you often see stories. Such as
    Mary, saw two men kissing and she was concerned for her children and she asked them to stop or she moved away. Was Mary wright?
    John has some issue with social housing it's either there's to much of it or not enough.
    Donna thinks it's okay for a woman to slap a man across the face but not okay for a man to slap a woman across the face.
    One I saw lately was a woman saw children left unattended in a car outside a school for about twenty minutes and she was furious so she rang the radio station the next day.
    Anytime I've heard these show they always seem to be the same topics and same callers calling in.
    Do you think these topics are constantly being sent in to radio stations or do they make them up or have you ever rang a radio station with your issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Have I fvck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭fear corcaigh

If you turn on the radio or scroll down through there Facebook pages you often see stories. Such as
    Mary, saw two men kissing and she was concerned for her children and she asked them to stop or she moved away. Was Mary wright?
    John has some issue with social housing it's either there's to much of it or not enough.
    Donna thinks it's okay for a woman to slap a man across the face but not okay for a man to slap a woman across the face.
    One I saw lately was a woman saw children left unattended in a car outside a school for about twenty minutes and she was furious so she rang the radio station the next day.
    Anytime I've heard these show they always seem to be the same topics and same callers calling in.
    Do you think these topics are constantly being sent in to radio stations or do they make them up or have you ever rang a radio station with your issue?

Me personally I have never called in. I'm more of a private person.

I can see the use of them such as recently in Cork a known pedophile left the area after he was highlighted on the radio. Other issues such as anti social behaviour or people may just be desperate for help and calling the radio with a personal problem is difficult thing to do.

There is certainly a case of the station setting the agenda and steering listeners in a certain direction. If they have no topic then they will pull something from a newspaper, social media or mention something that's just hearsay and wait for a reaction from the listeners.

Sometimes people are just ignorant and interfering and will call in with an issue that we think is just redicilulous and none of there business.

Of course the worst of all is John O Donohoe from Cork. F***er is on every Cork and national talk show.

I phoned a station with a problem.

I phoned Atlantic 252 to win a teeshirt, and they had very big problems at the time, dwindling listenership, high overheads etc.

Me personally I have never called in. I'm more of a private person.

I can see the use of them such as recently in Cork a known pedophile left the area after he was highlighted on the radio...

Unless it cured him, the issue wasn't so much sorted as moved along...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

I emailed Liveline once after a particular story wound me up. Got a call from i guess a researcher on a friday to ask me if I'd go on air the following monday.

I said no bother but by monday they'd moved onto a new topic and I heard nothing back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I phoned a station with a problem.

I phoned Atlantic 252 to win a teeshirt, and they had very big problems at the time, dwindling listenership, high overheads etc.

Which DJ were you speaking with?

Dusty Rhodes?
    Rick O'Shea?
    Dicks R Purple?
    Robin Banks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Heckler wrote: »
    I emailed Liveline once after a particular story wound me up. Got a call from i guess a researcher on a friday to ask me if I'd go on air the following monday.

I said no bother but by monday they'd moved onto a new topic and I heard nothing back.

What was the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Suas11 wrote: »
    What was the story?

Forgive me now it was a while back. I think it was to do with some reality show on RTE where the prize was a house. A couple won but the next day some gutter journo was slamming the area and saying they are gonna regret winning that etc etc. (a different county to me. Nothing personal just hated her tone)

I emailed da liveline ripping her to shreds and got a call but like I said they moved on over a weekend so nothing came of it.

Be interested if anyone can remember the name of that show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I wrote into the Sunday World problem column. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭pillphil

Ruu wrote: »

Go on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The Chris Barry show on FM 104 is like the Irish equivalent of the Jeremy Kyle show. It seems to be the same callers on it all the time. I've never actually phoned a radio station but I have emailed one a couple of times and they discussed the topics I brought up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

^^^^the researchers put on their best townie accent and "call in" spouting pony about whatever controversial topic they think will make actual people call in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It's fecking gas though. They'd have about 5 people on at the same time hurling abuse at each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Which DJ were you speaking with?

Dusty Rhodes?
    Rick O'Shea?
    Dicks R Purple?
    Robin Banks?

Noah Listeners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Heard some old biddy ring in and comment on a cyclist not wearing a helmet in the opening credits of one of those soaps. Her concern was legitimate....that it's sending out the wrong message. Fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

Back in the noughties I worked as security in the reception of a very well known Dublin radio station who had a show like this. The host was as always 'controversial' & was known for hosting stories that others 'wouldn't.' The receptionist whom I knew very well would ring people when topics were in full swing to get them to come on air to deliberately inflame an already emotive topic.

Each time the caller would have a different name but the voices were the same. They had a core of about 6 different people who used a few different names. Apparently all the late night talk shows used to do this. Haven't listened to any of these shows in years as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Noah Listeners

Hugh Jarse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Radio romance count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I think most of those calls are staged. On the Dublin stations they're set up apparently anyway. They have the same mad bigots ringing in all the time.

I can't even listen to them, never mind ringing in. Thick gob****es shouting abuse at each other. It's the lowest form of radio IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭Sarn

Inadvertently. I rang in to enter a competition on Today FM, couldn't believe my luck when I got through, only to find the person on the other end say 'Hi you're through to the Gerry Ryan show'. I had a momentary pause of embarrassment, before apologising and telling them that I was actually trying to get through to the Ray Darcy show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The Abyss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I think most of those calls are staged.

My friends father was a producer in a radio station and yes if the lines were particularly quiet he would be a caller with an issue - "women drivers are terrible..." etc. The phone lines would light up. Job done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Ruu wrote: »

Tiny penis issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

My Dad once got so irate about the price discrepancy for a packet of hayfever tablets between two pharmacies, he complained to a station (in fairness it was about €12). They called him 20 minutes later by which time he calmed down and came to his senses and tell them to get lost.
    "I could have been one of those eejits" were his words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

29 hours in and no mention of Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I have texted in a few times to newstalk and got a call back to go on. I never did but they read out the text.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

galljga1 wrote: »

1850 715 ...... 815

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Tiny penis issue?

No, massive penis, couldn't get a woman to satisfy me. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

galljga1 wrote: »

It's teddible Joe, eye blayem de gubberment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nick Abbot used to ring other radio phone in shows from his own radio phone in show. That was gas until Branson got fed up paying the fines for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I was on radio twice. On one of those occasions I won a Burger King Voucher.

I do advise people who have complaints to ring Joe Duffy on a fairly regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

The Chris Barry show on FM 104 is like the Irish equivalent of the Jeremy Kyle show. It seems to be the same callers on it all the time. I've never actually phoned a radio station but I have emailed one a couple of times and they discussed the topics I brought up.

"je see you, je see you!? You're a fuuckin disgrace to your childerdin!"

"you dont know me, you don't fuuckin know me so shut your mout! "

" I know that your a fuuckin tramp who spends her childerdin allowance on drink ye pisshead!"