Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who Falls For These Scams?!

• 23-05-2016 10:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭

Just got this private message on Boards from user <snip>;
    Dearest in the lord,
    My name is Rosaline Williams from Sierra Leone living in Togo, When my late husband was alive, he deposited the sum of $1.2 Million (USD) dollars in a Local Bank here in Lome, Togo. I have being diagnosed with esophageal cancer which is a delicate situation and having known my conditions; I have decided to donate this fund to a good person that will utilize this money the way I have instructed herein. I want you to be the caretaker and use this fund for orphanages, widows and also propagating the word of God and to endeavor that the house of God is maintained. Assure me that you will act accordingly as I stated herein and reply me immediately at [email]<snip>@yahoo.com[/email]"

Thanks and remain blessed in the Lord.

Mrs. Rosaline Williams

Who falls for these things?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

She sounds like a nice lady, what's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Trev De rev

Just got this private message on Boards from user rwilliams565x;

Who falls for these things?!!
    I'll take care of it if you don't want to.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Report that PM promptly to make sure they're sitebanned for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

I think I'll actually email her to see what the craic is ha ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

It costs them nothing to send a million of those things, and if they get even a handful of bites that pay even a little, that's a meaningful return. There's no scam so crazy that someone won't hope it's real for them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,525 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's extremely cheap in terms of effort and cost to send these. You only need a tiny success rate to justify the scam to begin with.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

The same people who clog up social media with those "we have 1000 iPad's to give away as we have no storage room, like to receive one!"

Spear wrote: »
    Report that PM promptly to make sure they're sitebanned for that.

Already reported.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

It takes them a few minutes to set up and send this ****e to a load of people expecting even a tiny return. Depending on how quickly it's reported, it takes a few seconds to ban them and rescind the PMs.

Peregrine wrote: »
    It takes them a few minutes to set up and send this ****e to a load of people expecting even a tiny return. Depending on how quickly it's reported, it takes a few seconds to ban them and rescind the PMs.

Already reported!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

There's always one f*cking eejit who thinks with their wallet instead of their brain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Looking for her prince..

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I think I'll scam them, I'll promise to spend the money as per their instruction, but just buy loads of taz bars and chocolate milk instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I think I'll scam them, I'll promise to spend the money as per their instruction, but just buy loads of taz bars and chocolate milk instead.

Blow it all on coke and hire midgets to carry it around on platters to serve to you and your guests

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Blow it all on coke and hire midgets to carry it around on platters to serve to you and your guests

I done that with the last scam I scammed. I never got any guests. :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

The user in question is sitebanned now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

IT costs almost nothing to send emails ,
    maybe 1 in 10000 people might fall for it.
    And if you reply they have your email adress ,
    even if you tell em to f off.
    Every month people in ireland are getting scamming by clicking on
    false emails ,
    eg this is your bank, i need your financial info. etc
    scam emails .
    theres no limit to people,s stupidity,
    Most people lose a few grand and don,t talk about it.
    My bank does not have my email adress ,
    i would not click any links if i got emails from my bank .
    Every day companys get hacked by people clicking links
    in an email ,that installs malware on your pc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

My mother won the German lottery. When I called to her house she was on the phone discussing it with the caller. I asked her did she buy a ticket. No.
    She was in her later 80s.
    When in my brother's house my late father phoned to claim his prize for a quiz on the telly. You know the type: What is the capital of Ireland?: Dublin; chocolate; Napoleon. Half an hour later he was still talking to the scammers, costing my brother a fortune.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

It's extremely cheap in terms of effort and cost to send these. You only need a tiny success rate to justify the scam to begin with.
    So what is your success rate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

There was a woman on BBC one night that fell for a different one. A sick daughter and she sent money to help out. The requests got bigger and the "daughter" needed life saving surgery. This woman in total sent £50,000 and she wasn't looking to make money, just trying to do good.

I used to get a few on a secondary email, I'd take the pi55 for a while until you were passed on to the "lawyer," that is your final link to your windfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hello sir all I needs is all your banks acoont detailers then we just need a small sum for admin fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Discovered today that one of my co-workers is a likely target.
    He's well educated (masters maybe)and youngish yet was talking today about this "Eastern" herbal product that turns your hair from grey to black, is an aphrodisiac and best of all helps you live to 160 years old (apparently there is evidence for these people living to 160).
    I get people who are sick and desperate or old and out of touch falling for scams but he is young and healthy just a massive idiot ( how we know he wasn;t trolling us!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Send her a dick pic and she will run a mile :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

I emailed her for the craic, got aload of praise blah blah blah almight jesus and god blah blah blah, please click this link to confirm you bank details so i can transfer you your money.

I'm currently waiting for my influx of cash!