Season 6 Episode 6 "Blood of My Blood" - Speculation thread

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,807 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Yes, I'm sure it is her plan. However it's very obvious and Olenna would see through it immediately. There's no way Cersei outwits Olenna unless, eh, well, the writers need to get the Tyrells out of the way because the finish line is in sight.

I don't think that's unlikely considering the way things went in Dorne.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,421 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Another thing nagging at me is that this "friendly" army appears to have been readily welcomed into the city. The last time the gates were opened for a friendly army, some very bad things happened...
    doesn't seem like that'll be the case, episode outline on IMDB

"An old foe comes back into the picture. Gilly meets Sam's family. Arya faces a difficult choice. Jaime faces off against the High Sparrow."

Doesn't look like it's the Tyrells taking on the high sparrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭kingshankly

ec18 wrote: »
    Is that Sansa's voice at the start?

Sounds like meera to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Confirmed.........

test

Confirmed for the next Episode.
    Benjen Stark is back in this episode. Actor who plays him listed in episode IMDB as "Brother Beyond The Wall"
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4283054/fullcredits?ref_=tt_ov_st_sm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

IMDB is user edited so not really reliable. Michelle Fairley has repeatedly been added to cast lists since the Red Wedding.

That said, I can't think of another way for Bran to survive and Benjen Stark has been a Chekov's gun since the first season.

Sleepy wrote: »
    IMDB is user edited so not really reliable. Michelle Fairley has repeatedly been added to cast lists since the Red Wedding.

That said, I can't think of another way for Bran to survive and Benjen Stark has been a Chekov's gun since the first season.

That's very true, however, one very big difference this time:
    Previously when Michelle Fairly and Joseph Mawle were listed in IMDB episodes, they were for the "previously on Game of Thrones" section. Mawle was always listed as "Benjen Stark", but this time he is "Brother Beyond The Wall". Could be the shows version of Coldhands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Richard E Grant - I would be excited except they have used a number of great actors in teeny parts and not used them to their full capability at all. Max von Sydow being the most recent. But before that Ciaran Hinds, Tobias Menzies, Mackenzie Crook, a tragic waste of Alexander Siddig, Paul Kaye, another tragic waste in Richard Dormer to name but a few. So i wont get too excited for Richard E Grant just yet.

Will Benjen Stark reappear? I hope so. IMDB cannot be trusted so I wouldnt pay any attention to that.

I reckon Theon and Meera are off to Danyerys.

Tell me - was Littlefinger telling the truth about the Blackfish and Riverrun or is Brienne walking into a Frey trap there?

Sam/Gilly and Horn Hill - there is some unrevealed stuff going to happen here. I wonder if Davos is going to run across them at Horn Hill when he goes to rouse the Northern houses? They have cast Sams father and brother too so it seems like it is some kind of relevant storyline but I fail to see what just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Horn Hill is in The Reach rather than the North, no?

Sleepy wrote: »
    Horn Hill is in The Reach rather than the North, no?

Sorry it is. I got confused when I saw the mention of Horn (something) on the map that Jon Snow, Davos etc were looking at.

Forget my Horn Hill theory. Now I really have no idea why we are seeing Sams family home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Sorry it is. I got confused when I saw the mention of Horn (something) on the map that Jon Snow, Davos etc were looking at.

Forget my Horn Hill theory. Now I really have no idea why we are seeing Sams family home.

I'd say you were thinking of house Hornwood, they are in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I hope they do that well.

Merra is dragging the twice-her-size Bran through the deep snow with the army of the dead about 20 seconds behind her.

They should be dead.

Next week's cast member will have a tough challenge plausibly extricating them....

Unless Bran can posess the witewalkers now.... When the whitewalker touched Bran the 3 eyed crow dude said that now they're connected and the whitewalkers knew where they were instantly, well, maybe that connection goes both ways...
    Bran has to survive, it would be utterly pointless to have Hodor sacrifice himself holding that door just so they could get slaughtered in the forest 200 yards from the tree.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Somewhere to ditch Gilly while Sam goes off to learn how to be a wizard

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

I haven't looked at the cast list for next week, but just thinking how Ian McShane was cast for an appearance for this season but has yet to make it. I hope this is the episode.

stankratz wrote: »
    I haven't looked at the cast list for next week, but just thinking how Ian McShane was cast for an appearance for this season but has yet to make it. I hope this is the episode.

I think itll be later in the season. Get HYPE!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

I actually thought Ian McShane would be one of the dreary Iron born but it seems like they've dropped the other brother.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Full disclosure - I know the storyline which McShane is reportedly involved in. This alone is making me look forward to it, but also Ian McShane is a great actor and as good as I feel this season has been so far, I'm excited that he has yet to make his appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭amos13

stankratz wrote:
    Full disclosure - I know the storyline which McShane is reportedly involved in. This alone is making me look forward to it, but also Ian McShane is a great actor and as good as I feel this season has been so far, I'm excited that he has yet to make his appearance.

Didn't McShane say he was there to
    bring back a beloved character? I'd love if it was LS and Brienne encounters her on the road to riverrun but I feel it will be the hound.

amos13 wrote: »
    Didn't McShane say he was there to
    bring back a beloved character? I'd love if it was LS and Brienne encounters her on the road to riverrun but I feel it will be the hound.

Yeah he more or less confirmed same.

I'd say the show runners are sickened with him and his various comments in interviews!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭Degag

2ndcoming wrote: »
    I know it's not 100%, but there are a couple highly interesting cast members listed for next week's episode on imdb.
    I see one but is there another?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Tell me - was Littlefinger telling the truth about the Blackfish and Riverrun or is Brienne walking into a Frey trap there?

Wondering that myself. I think Podric went off with Sansa and Jon, so it's possible
    she instead dies being hanged by the brotherhood/LS, presumably after one more scene with Jaime or him there to witness it. With the changes in Sansa's story and Arya not really needing any help, I suspect that she might be one of the headline deaths this season, she's not serving any particular narrative purpose and they really seem to be decluttering, anyone who doesn't absolutely need to be here (Roose, Doran etc) seems to be falling pretty quick. And that's a death that would really 'land'. The whole Tormund thing just makes me believe it even more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,089 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

ec18 wrote: »
    Is that Sansa's voice at the start?

Nah Meera's voice I think, she gonna blame herself I say as she did effectively tell Hodor to sacrifice himself and abandoned him "Holding the Door"

Wondering that myself. I think Podric went off with Sansa and Jon, so it's possible
    she instead dies being hanged by the brotherhood/LS, presumably after one more scene with Jaime or him there to witness it. With the changes in Sansa's story and Arya not really needing any help, I suspect that she might be one of the headline deaths this season, she's not serving any particular narrative purpose and they really seem to be decluttering, anyone who doesn't absolutely need to be here (Roose, Doran etc) seems to be falling pretty quick. And that's a death that would really 'land'. The whole Tormund thing just makes me believe it even more

I don't like that!!
    Unless she gets the ride off either Jaime or Tormund. Preferably Tormund, he knows what he's doing with the laydees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Degag wrote: »
    I see one but is there another?
    Young Ned - The Tower of Joy one rather than the kid from this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I'm pretty sure GRRM has confirmed in the past that Brienne doesn't die in that last book scene, he confirmed the word she said is "sword", as in she agrees to kill Jaime for LS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

2ndcoming wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure GRRM has confirmed in the past that Brienne doesn't die in that last book scene, he confirmed the word she said is "sword", as in she agrees to kill Jaime for LS

I'm confused now, I thought that was confirmed in the books?
    doesn't Brienne show up again in a Jaime chapter? Jesus I really need a re-read
    But show and book could diverge on this I think.

Although
    you would think that Sansa didn't need a lesson in not taking Littlefinger at face value, but apparently she does. It's just with the way it was done with her keeping the source of the info from Jon and Davos, just feels like it's leading to a character death, but I hope I'm wrong, may Brienne live to beat seven shades of shíte out of many more people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Sound the continuity alert klaxon!

This show is the worst, it's been literally unwatchable since they recast The Mountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Links234 wrote: »
    This show is the worst, it's been literally unwatchable since they recast The Mountain.

Indeed. There are enough continuity errors to not have to pick the ones that probably aren't continuity errors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

That reminded me how much recasting has happened in the show. The Mountain (twice), Beric Dondarrion, Daario, Three-eyed Raven, Leaf. Tommen and Myrcella were recast too but that was probably age-related.

Anyway, any huge meathead who can deliver the Elia Martell lines with viciousness can play The Mountain. He's not a particularly deep character.