Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BEET Ireland.

• 22-05-2016 11:04am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭

Anyone heard anything about these boys lately. Last I heard the had a site in Kildare or somewhere. Website isn't very informative.

With quotas being abolished next year you'd want to be ready to let the handbrake off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

A beet industry is badly needed in this country right now. Incredibly stupid decision to finish beet in this country. Tillage sector has been proper f.ucked since.
    I don't believe any of this nonsense of this country being not suited to beet. There are British sugar lorries on the road in this country. And land lying idle here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭kk.man

All talk..particularly by a certain policitly party..I would say the idea is RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Like milk the price will drop when quotas are abolished, won;t be able to compete in this country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

rangler1 wrote: »
    Like milk the price will drop when quotas are abolished, won;t be able to compete in this country

But unlike milk you can feed it to cattle if price didn't suit. I grow 40 acres of fodder beet to sell every year so could easily sell the sugar beet the same way if sums didn't add up.

Was in with them at ploughing match a few years back and they asked me for€25000 as an investment. I know of 1 man who did pay.

But unlike milk you can feed it to cattle if price didn't suit. I grow 40 acres of fodder beet to sell every year so could easily sell the sugar beet the same way if sums didn't add up.

Was in with them at ploughing match a few years back and they asked me for€25000 as an investment. I know of 1 man who did pay.

I hope they gave it back to him
    I don't think it yields like fodder beet.
    There's a subsidy on sugar thats also stopping this year too in the EU.
    Like the cattle exports, if there was profit in the business someone would be doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

They could alway reinstate the Mallow factory like they did with the Dairygold plant in Mallow :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

I hope they gave it back to him
    I don't think it yields like fodder beet.
    There's a subsidy on sugar thats also stopping this year too in the EU.
    Like the cattle exports, if there was profit in the business someone would be doing it

Are they opening up imports from south America also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Are they opening up imports from south America also?

If that happens we can wave goodbye to our beef industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 EarlyHead

I was talking to some of the lads close to them less than a month ago. They have a site in south Leinster sourced and the capital in place. They have been lobbying hard with all political parties to get into any new Programme for Work along with state supports (with FF and SF being the most vocal on the matter),which has worked it appears http://www.farmersjournal.ie/revealed-the-measures-for-farming-in-the-programme-for-government-207994.

I also questioned the demand and was listed a surprising amount of Irish food/drink companies looking for proper Irish sugar as a core ingredient, along with feed/molasses/beet pulp demands and ethanol by-product. I'm hearing this second hand but still, the lads talking to me are the stoic, 'only talk when I've got something to say' boyos.

Also said it hasn't been easy work with FG/IFA continually playing the 'green green grass'/'white gold' double A-side on repeat, but I got no more elaboration out of them on that.

Personally, I'd love to see it come back. It's a great break crop, the corn used to hammer out of the ground the year after it, can be used as part of the three-crop rule, and used to grown in all parts of the country. I used to look forward to pulling it and drawing it to Mallow...I can remember it like it twas yesterday.

EarlyHead wrote: »
    I was talking to some of the lads close to them less than a month ago. They have a site in south Leinster sourced and the capital in place. They have been lobbying hard with all political parties to get into any new Programme for Work along with state supports (with FF and SF being the most vocal on the matter),which has worked it appears http://www.farmersjournal.ie/revealed-the-measures-for-farming-in-the-programme-for-government-207994.

I also questioned the demand and was listed a surprising amount of Irish food/drink companies looking for proper Irish sugar as a core ingredient, along with feed/molasses/beet pulp demands and ethanol by-product. I'm hearing this second hand but still, the lads talking to me are the stoic, 'only talk when I've got something to say' boyos.

Also said it hasn't been easy work with FG/IFA continually playing the 'green green grass'/'white gold' double A-side on repeat, but I got no more elaboration out of them on that.

Personally, I'd love to see it come back. It's a great break crop, the corn used to hammer out of the ground the year after it, can be used as part of the three-crop rule, and used to grown in all parts of the country. I used to look forward to pulling it and drawing it to Mallow...I can remember it like it twas yesterday.

Of course the parties in opposition will tell you you've a great idea....they don't have to back it up.......you've a lot to learn about politicians.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

I wouldn't put much weight in politicians myself. Like I was told years ago about getting advice off teagasc. If they advise you to walk, run. And if they advise you to run, walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 EarlyHead

Of course the parties in opposition will tell you you've a great idea....they don't have to back it up.......you've a lot to learn about politicians.

I dunno, I'm going on what was said to me but it did end up in the Programme for Government 2016 (with possible state supports) which is what they looked for. What's that worth, I dunno. http://www.merrionstreet.ie/MerrionStreet/en/ImageLibrary/Programme_for_Partnership_Government.pdf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Surely the companies wanting Irish sugar will do the same as every other commodity buyer (ie milk) you pay world price plus a little bit if your lucky. Doesn't mean it will cover production cost. Also doesn't mean there is no market. Just the market is the market. But best of luck to them it will create jobs and bring money into the area

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

just thought id bump this up in view of the articles in ifj.fodder beet making 55 € a ton delivered in west cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

K.G. wrote: »
    just thought id bump this up in view of the articles in ifj.fodder beet making 55 € a ton delivered in west cork

€58/t washed and delivered in kk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Well it would this year. It was 70 a ton in 13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

50 washed and collected in carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

K.G. wrote: »

You couldn't judge winter fodder on this year' irish sugar beet can't compete in world market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

wrangler wrote: »
    You couldn't judge winter fodder on this year' irish sugar beet can't compete in world market

Isn't sugar beet for processing in UK at 20£ a tonne?
    If very Ireland us too work it can't be A plant for sugar, money isn't in that any more. It needs to be bio ethanol or for energy

Isn't sugar beet for processing in UK at 20£ a tonne?
    If very Ireland us too work it can't be A plant for sugar, money isn't in that any more. It needs to be bio ethanol or for energy

Ireland seems to be well down the ieague for paying for electricity production, such is our public service that they'd rather pay the fine's now than pay properly for electricity productionn ....you couldn't make it up really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Ireland seems to be well down the ieague for paying for electricity production, such is our public service that they'd rather pay the fine's now than pay properly for electricity productionn ....you couldn't make it up really

We can’t produce anymore electricity. They are importing coal from Colombia to money point.
    We are phasing out peat energy.
    Wind energy is too sporadic and hitting saturation with objections to new projects.
    Nuclear energy is out.
    Our farmland can barely keep what cattle we have fed with long wet winters and possibly drought ridden summers in future.
    Where are we to turn??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

20silkcut wrote: »
    We can’t produce anymore electricity. They are importing coal from Colombia to money point.
    Wind energy is too sporadic and hitting saturation with objections to new projects.
    Nuclear energy is out.
    Our farmland can barely keep what cattle we have fed with long wet winters and possibly drought ridden summers in future.
    Where are we to turn??
    Smart meters that run backwards and small scale farm produced electricity for a start.

Favourable noises are seemingly being made now on that score??

I know I've a lovely stream that I could no problem run a generator off.
    Maybe even enough to power a beet grinder. :pac:

20silkcut wrote: »
    Nuclear energy is out.
    Where are we to turn??

If farmers were getting the same price as Europe for electricity, there'd be plenty of profit in Anerobi digestion, even to grow crops for it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

If farmers were getting the same price as Europe for electricity, there'd be plenty of profit in Anerobi digestion, even to grow crops for it,

And send land priced crazy like they are in the north and the UK

Even so it'd be a good alternative for cattle farmers, their income is fecked,
    wouldn't do us retiring farmers any harm either, someone to push the dairy guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Even so it'd be a good alternative for cattle farmers, their income is fecked,
    wouldn't do us retiring farmers any harm either, someone to push the dairy guys

There’s tillage men out bidding dairy men, the dairy men are driving things around here and an odd beef man driving land too, then plenty armchair farmers doing f all and complaining about money too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

simx wrote: »
    There’s tillage men out bidding dairy men, the dairy men are driving things around here and an odd beef man driving land too, then plenty armchair farmers doing f all and complaining about money too

Dairy men can’t compete with tillage fellas

Anyway aren’t fellas renting out land getting more than enough - and it’s tax free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Doesn't have to be land though. I'm up North with work all this week and every farm yard you pass the sheds are all covered in PV panels. Up there they have a good tariff for green electricity but here if you produce more than you can consume yourself it goes into the grid for nothing. Huge scope for this here and no requirement to take up land.