Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming and Community!

• 22-05-2016 12:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭

Looking at a thread that got closed made me think.( which is dangerous;).

I think the farming community is totally different towards people/community's from towns and cities.

I am not trying to start a war here but a thread that got closed recently made a lot of sence to the fact that a lot of farmers on here got their backs up against the wall because of what the OP posted.

The way I look at it you can drink as much TEA as you want or you can work as hard as you want I would treat the person the very same. And the end of the day each person is doing what is BEST for them! Why would you judge them?

But what I can't get my head around with the farming community is how divided they are between each other. A lot of them(weather they drink TEA or work) they give out about their neighbours or how paddy down the road wouldn't scratch his arse or I have even heard it here "Arm chair farmers".

I talk to a lot of different types of people with my day job and I just can't get my head around the farming community weather they are young farmers, contractors or old farmers.
    I'd say at a guess 70% of the farming related people I come into contact with are "emmm" I want to say ODD but it's to strong of a word and will be taken up wrong. (I realise I'm posting in the farming forum by the way).
    You get the feeling that they just want more and more and more basically greedy or driven to drive themselves into the ground with hardship and talk about how the bad the fella down the road is doing to make themselves look better.

For instance one guy had changed farming system. Another asked how was he getting on to a neighbour of his. The reply was "A that fella don't know if he is coming or going". And a nod of the head of disapproval. Like if he knew his neighbour was struggling why not help him out? Instead of talking **** behind his back? Or say something positive maybe instead.

In other community's people are a lot more positive, uplifting, helpful and thoughtful towards one another we're as in the farming community I feel they grunt at each other basically and talk the talk but really deep down they would be delighted if another farm failed. What's this about?? And why is it the case???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Lady lou wrote: »

I think the farming community is totally different towards people/community's from towns and cities.

I am not trying to start a war here but a thread that got closed recently made a lot of sence to the fact that a lot of farmers on here got their backs up against the wall because of what the OP posted.

The way I look at it you can drink as much TEA as you want or you can work as hard as you want I would treat the person the very same. And the end of the day each person is doing what is BEST for them! Why would you judge them?

But what I can't get my head around with the farming community is how divided they are between each other. A lot of them(weather they drink TEA or work) they give out about their neighbours or how paddy down the road wouldn't scratch his arse or I have even heard it here "Arm chair farmers".

I talk to a lot of different types of people with my day job and I just can't get my head around the farming community weather they are young farmers, contractors or old farmers.
    I'd say at a guess 70% of the farming related people I come into contact with are "emmm" I want to say ODD but it's to strong of a word and will be taken up wrong. (I realise I'm posting in the farming forum by the way).
    You get the feeling that they just want more and more and more basically greedy or driven to drive themselves into the ground with hardship and talk about how the bad the fella down the road is doing to make themselves look better.

For instance one guy had changed farming system. Another asked how was he getting on to a neighbour of his. The reply was "A that fella don't know if he is coming or going". And a nod of the head of disapproval. Like if he knew his neighbour was struggling why not help him out? Instead of talking **** behind his back? Or say something positive maybe instead.

In other community's people are a lot more positive, uplifting, helpful and thoughtful towards one another we're as in the farming community I feel they grunt at each other basically and talk the talk but really deep down they would be delighted if another farm failed. What's this about?? And why is it the case???

I think you actually have it arseways completely . I know we mess around but usually I see farmers helping each other more other professions .
    Loan of a tractor
    Help with a calving
    Swopping machinery
    Looking after the place when one is on holidays
    There are loads of ways they help each other out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Jaysus I'd say that about a couple of people but I don't really mean it! It's that I'd know them well enough to feel comfortable slagging them and ripping the piss out of them a bit.
    I'd be really unhappy if any farm failed near me, recently I've seen a couple of small farms belonging to older farmers up for sale and it's disheartening to imagine their lifes work is now priced up and ready to go to the highest bidder.
    There's a close enough group of about eight farmers (and sons/daughters etc) that would work together or call each other for help with calving/dehorning etc. With small farms it's the only way to go especially if people are away working half the time. You scratch my back, I scratch yours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Anyone else's eyes hurt after attempting to read that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

To echo what bullocks just said, I had a lend of a €20,000 piece of equipment off a farmer over the road yesterday for the day. No charge and not held under a compliment. Not too many other businesses that will carry on like that.

I lived in a city for about six years between college and my early professional life and never found any sense of community like what I find out in the country. The equivalent of yesterday would be like asking for the lend of a brand new car off a neighbour. Not a hope it would have happened. As for gossip and back biting, not to sound sexist but by god try work with a group of women in a large company. They turn into the greatest pen of tramps. All gossiping about somebody, then one of them walks away and the rest of them start on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Diggg

Lady lou wrote:
    I'd say at a guess 70% of the farming related people I come into contact with are "emmm" I want to say ODD but it's to strong of a word and will be taken up wrong.

I cant be the only one that thought "ODD? Obsessive Something Disorder? I wonder what that is" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Bullocks wrote: »
    I think you actually have it arseways completely . I know we mess around but usually I see farmers helping each other more other professions .
    Loan of a tractor
    Help with a calving
    Swopping machinery
    Looking after the place when one is on holidays
    There are loads of ways they help each other out
    However I think OP is referring to the begrudger that lives in most communities. We have 2 near us and they wouldn't do anything for anyone or help if someone needed it. They are disliked within the community and avoided by most.

So Mary lou did you get into dairying after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I would think that a strong majority of estate dwellers would hardly know the names of their neighbours 3doors up never mind lend them their 161 car for a day to pull a trailer that is too big for their car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Grueller wrote: »
    .......As for gossip and back biting, not to sound sexist but by god try work with a group of women in a large company. They turn into the greatest pen of tramps. All gossiping about somebody, then one of them walks away and the rest of them start on her.
    Ha, I used to work with a guy like that. I just put it down to insecurity.
    As for the farming community. I know all the farmers in my area. The place is well built up now and id say I have never even talked to over half of the nonfarming neighbours. I suppose a lot of it is down to farmers still depending on each other. Who else would you call if you needed beastings,tractor stuck or help calving a cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Lot of truth in what the OP says as well. It's not confined to farmers though.Lot of people just constantly out to get one up on other people or con people. You really need to have your eyes wide open in this world. Nothing can be done there is an asshole born every minute.
    It's human nature. Lot of good people out there too.
    I remember I had a flare up with a guy who was renting ground off me. He was dictating when and where I could put my stock. Things came to a head and I ran him. His parting words were "you got rid of me but there will be other ****ers like me" . And it's true you will never be rid of assholes one goes and another takes his place. Human beings like breeding assholes in the same way farmers like breeding mad cattle like limousins. They will always be a part of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Lady lou

Sam Kade wrote: »
    So Mary lou did you get into dairying after?

It's lady Lou. And since you asked no I didn't get into dairy. I'm just stating what I feel is lacking in the farming community. Why you getting so offended.? Did I put your name in the Post directing it at you.?
    I seen your comments on other threads so I should probably just ignore you. You like to be confrontational( basically bully) other posters who say something you don't like. So I'll be blocking your posts!

It's lady Lou. And since you asked no I didn't get into dairy. I'm just stating what I feel is lacking in the farming community. Why you getting so offended.? Did I put your name in the Post directing it at you.?
    I seen your comments on other threads so I should probably just ignore you. You like to be confrontational( basically bully) other posters who say something you don't like. So I'll be blocking your posts!

What's all this? I remember you starting a thread about getting into dairying and was wondering if you went ahead with it.

You also mentioned that your eyes hurt from reading my post.
    Please back on topic i would like to see a good discussion about this.

You also mentioned that your eyes hurt from reading my post.
    Well, it was a bit all over the place, sorry if I offended you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

This thread heading only in one direction again...:mad:

Well, it was a bit all over the place, sorry if I offended you.

Good man. Apology accepted. Now back on topic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

You'll definitely have a mix of people in any community and by in large most are sound. I know there's one lad around my own age who I try to avoid if possible. Always seems to have gossip on everybody and some sort of comment on anyone who has done well for themselves. Not to mention the fact he'd be trying to get info out me about our own place on a night out if he thought I had a few drinks on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Some farmers are odd enough.

I was only saying the same to the sheepdog this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

MF290 wrote: »
    You'll definitely have a mix of people in any community and by in large most are sound. I know there's one lad around my own age who I try to avoid if possible. Always seems to have gossip on everybody and some sort of comment on anyone who has done well for themselves. Not to mention the fact he'd be trying to get info out me about our own place on a night out if he thought I had a few drinks on me.

Sounds like Eusbias from Tarry Flynn !

MF290 wrote: »

Surely I'm not the only that thinks there is big problem with this in the farming Community. I see it everyday. Or else I'm just in the wrong part of the country. Talking to the wrong people. Yes there is sound farmers that I'd get on real well with but then others that I would rather avoid but unfortunately the numbers that I'd avoid Out weighs the good ones and I don't think it's just me who feels that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Bullocks wrote: »
    Sounds like Eusbias from Tarry Flynn !

You have me now, my real name is Patrick kavanagh!

mf240 wrote: »

Haha that's class to be fair :)

I bought a milk tank off a cute Kerry hoor who was as odd as two left feet. The day I rang inquiring about it I asked him would he be around in the evening if I went to see it, he couldn't tell me whether he would or wouldn't :rolleyes: I said I'll have to milk the cows earlier if I'm going, he still couldn't give me an answer. So I milked early and rang him again, he said he'd be around then. All he was doing was sussing out if I were interested but it was a fairly stupid way to find out as he could lose the sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

A farming neighbour of mine said that she would never associate with people who had a number on their door! I always have to laugh at the air of self-importance that is evident in some people, farming or non-farming.

My experience in life is that most people are ok, it's simplistic to paint all with the one colour. We are all different shades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I bought a milk tank off a cute Kerry hoor who was as odd as two left feet. The day I rang inquiring about it I asked him would he be around in the evening if I went to see it, he couldn't tell me whether he would or wouldn't :rolleyes: I said I'll have to milk the cows earlier if I'm going, he still couldn't give me an answer. So I milked early and rang him again, he said he'd be around then. All he was doing was sussing out if I were interested but it was a fairly stupid way to find out as he could lose the sale.

So cute the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

What was his reply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    What was his reply?

Hope it wasn't the same as my neighbours dog, called to him during the week, met his collie in the yard and put my hand down to him only for him to clamp his jaws on my hand for a few seconds.
    When i told the neighbour what happened he said the dog was deaf and i must have sneaked up behind him and scared him:(

tanko wrote: »
    Hope it wasn't the same as my neighbours dog, called to him during the week, met his collie in the yard and put my hand down to him only for him to clamp his jaws on my hand for a few seconds.
    When i told the neighbour what happened he said the dog was deaf and i must have sneaked up behind him and scared him:(
    What a lame excuse.

A yank was touring around Killarney one day when he saw a big dog outside a shop he went in and as he was leaving he asked the shop owner "does your dog bite?" Neo, replied the shop owner, so when the yank was going out the door of the shop he went to pat the dog on the head the dog bit into his arm bringing lots of blood. In a distressed state the yank went back into the shop holding his bloody arm and said to the shop keeper" my God I thought you told me that your dog didn't bite? The shop keeper paused and said "sure, that's not my dag at all" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Surely I'm not the only that thinks there is big problem with this in the farming Community. I see it everyday. Or else I'm just in the wrong part of the country. Talking to the wrong people. Yes there is sound farmers that I'd get on real well with but then others that I would rather avoid but unfortunately the numbers that I'd avoid Out weighs the good ones and I don't think it's just me who feels that way.

Maybe your just on the outside looking in. I've a bunch of farming friends that would all insult and abuse each other beyond any sort of reasonable conversation. But I get calls from them and I ring them regularly whenever anything is wrong. I depend on them and they depend on me . A tourist was in a pub we were drinking in one night and actually got up and left saying we were despicable because of the abuse we were giving each other. Maybe your just being a bit judgemental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Some ould farmers were savages for work and died with there boots on, one particular family down our way could not go in to the house before 9 in the evening or they would be ran out by the ould lady in the house. Seen their father sleeping in the tractor one evening down the field. My ould lad would often take a nap after dinner in the chair he swore by it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Simple answer to this , people talk too much.its one of my wifes pet hates and im going the same way but people wasting talking when they should be getting on with their own business instead of telling stories that are only half true at best

kerryjack wrote: »
    Some ould farmers were savages for work and died with there boots on, one particular family down our way could not go in to the house before 9 in the evening or they would be ran out by the ould lady in the house. Seen their father sleeping in the tractor one evening down the field. My ould lad would often take a nap after dinner in the chair he swore by it .

There was a family near me who back in the 40's when there was loads of manual work on farms would have a big feed of spuds and bacon for the dinner. After dinner they would push the plates to the center of the table and put their heads down for a sleep :D The woman of the house who was fairly robust would crawl up the stairs to bed for a midday snooze :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

There was a family near me who back in the 40's when there was loads of manual work on farms would have a big feed of spuds and bacon for the dinner. After dinner they would push the plates to the center of the table and put their heads down for a sleep :D The woman of the house who was fairly robust would crawl up the stairs to bed for a midday snooze :)
    Nothing wrong with that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ammmm...... mf240...... you don't have sheep...... or a sheep dog. #Awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

U need change of address Lou
    I have paid farm relief to milk my cows so I could milk for neighbors in trouble
    And similar has been done for me
    But there are ass h in every job
    Gust avoid them as much as possible