Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Busy' farmers with their hands out

• 21-05-2016 9:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭

I am from a farming background myself but I am finding it hard lately to take any farmers seriously. There is very few in my area that are actually busy.

Most of these boys haven't had a profitable year since they started farming, relying on grants and then being allowed to claim social welfare also. Most would look down at people drawing the dole but if it wasn't for handouts they wouldn't be viable themselves.

A large part of the 'busy' day then consists of standing around talking 'sh1te' to anyone who will listen, most likely to other farmers, crying and cribbing about how hard life is for farmers. Having tea about 8 times a day is essential also. Also be sure to look really dirty everywhere you go so people think your hard at it.

I am not painting all farmers with the same brush or trying to insult anyone, just my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    I am from a farming background myself but I am finding it hard lately to take any farmers seriously. There is very few in my area that are actually busy.

Most of these boys haven't had a profitable year since they started farming, relying on grants and then being allowed to claim social welfare also. Most would look down at people drawing the dole but if it wasn't for handouts they wouldn't be viable themselves.

A large part of the 'busy' day then consists of standing around talking 'sh1te' to anyone who will listen, most likely to other farmers, crying and cribbing about how hard life is for farmers. Having tea about 8 times a day is essential also. Also be sure to look really dirty everywhere you go so people think your hard at it.

I am not painting all farmers with the same brush or trying to insult anyone, just my opinion.

Do you feel better now after that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

Do you feel better now after that?

Ya its been something I've been thinking about doing for a while so just glad its done now and out of the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

In the interest of fairness now, you should declare your own occupation and after that utterance you wouldn't want to be a public servant/ luas driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Great well researched post .father often makes a great statement that an ounce of brains is worse than a tonne of sh1t about with some people......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

rangler1 wrote: »
    In the interest of fairness now, you should declare your own occupation and after that utterance you wouldn't want to be a public servant/ luas driver

He's probably an artist given the comment about the farmers looking down their nose at people on the dole.

rangler1 wrote:

Came home from abroad this year, had to sign on for a while, now working in a factory. Starting a job in the public sector shortly

mahoney_j wrote:
    Great well researched post .father often makes a great statement that an ounce of brains is worse than a tonne of sh1t about with some people......

Your father should have been a poet

Came home from abroad this year, had to sign on for a while, now working in a factory. Starting a job in the public sector shortly

You didn't stick long with the factory job. That public sector job your taking must be more attractive (easier work or more money or both).
    That's not a criticism by the way it's something we'd all do given the chance.

You didn't stick long with the factory job. That public sector job your taking must be more attractive (easier work or more money or both). That's not a criticism by the way it's something we'd all do given the chance.

Its neither, just something I've an interest in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭oneten

Hurry up and get to work , I need your taxes to keep producing food to feed the likes of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Expect to hear a lot more whinging from us farmers, this year's giving out season could shape up to be a big one. The future for most is to farm the system not the land.

Its neither, just something I've an interest in

You sure it's no better even taking the long term view. I think it might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭FirefighterT7

And I suppose this farming background you come from was completely self sufficient and all grants were refused? I suggest you spend a day on a real farm and then post back with an informed rant before talking as you say "sh1te"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

If you're as good at the job as you are at trolling you'll get to the top of your profession in no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

dont disagree with you say, alot of lads talk the talk but its easy to fill their day.love tea myself 4 times aday but get two at a time to get my quota in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Why are people still in farming though if it's not paying?
    What is the average amount of money farmers get in grants per year, anyone?

rangler1 wrote: »
    He's going to Templemore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Most of us are waiting for an increase in milk price, dont know how long it will be sustainable to wait though

And I suppose this farming background you come from was completely self sufficient and all grants were refused? I suggest you spend a day on a real farm and then post back with an informed rant before talking as you say "sh1te"..

All grants are gratefully accepted here.

I've worked for farmers that own thousands of acres where people are busy and efficient at the same time.

And did they spend all day chatting?

Subsidies not grants, it's hard to put an average on it, it depends on what farming you were doing 15 years ago how many cattle you had etc.

People are still farming because they have a lifetime of investment put into it, it's not as simple as closing the gate and walking away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

The reality is if grants go small inefficient farmers will all go, the rural economy will be decimated, larger factory style farms will be the only viable option (with 500/1000+ head of cattle), imported meat from likes of South America etc will undercut our beef enterprise. That's the choice that you the consumer need to make, and as things stand the EU isn't a fan of it happening so has kept the grand system in place. That's not to say the current system is perfect, it's not, but the alternatives of scrapping it are not pretty at all.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Subsidies not grants, it's hard to put an average on it, it depends on what farming you were doing 15 years ago how many cattle you had etc.

People are still farming because they have a lifetime of investment put into it, it's not as simple as closing the gate and walking away from it.

Wondered about that.
    You don't often see many farms up for sale even if they're not making much money.

Sam Kade wrote:

Subsudies/grants/free money, its all the same. The only difference is that ye don't have to sign once a month and collect it weekly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Better brush up on his tea drinking skills so

Subsudies/grants/free money, its all the same. The only difference is that ye don't have to sign once a month and collect it weekly.

How is a subsidy free money, when you are in the Gardai would you like if people said you are getting free money from the taxpayer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

No but you have to farm the land. This year as a dairyfarmer I'm going to draw about 24k down, the farm will just about break even, I work about 60hrs a week, 80 in the spring, and I'm one of the lucky ones because I'm lowly borrowed. I'd consider myself in the top 20% in terms of efficency also. 2bh even with the sfp I'm stone mad from an economic point of view, but that's not really why I farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I try to aim for ten cups of tea!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

Probably. The clever one gets the farm, thick one to Rome, stupid one to temple more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Better brush up on his tea drinking skills so

Oh oh. A new over zealous trainee Garda that doesn't like farmers that drink tea. Better take the cup holder outa the tractor so.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Similar to yourself, not a farmer but grew up on one. The subsidies as I see it only really benefit the consumer, they no longer have to pay the real cost of production when buying products in supermarket's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Is there a person in the country that isn't getting money via the state. Be it favourable tax bands, public service, social welfare.
    I agree with a lot of your opening statement but you made one glaring contradiction. You said you can't take any farmer serious anymore but at the same time you didn't want to paint all farmer with the same brush. You seem to be judging all farmers on the actions of a few in your immediate circle.

I try to aim for ten cups of tea!

And five of coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

whelan2 wrote: »
    And five of coffee

God no, you'd nearly feel like getting off of the armchair beside the aga with that much caffeine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Lots of posh farmers on here drinking tea from cups, or do ye pour it onto the saucer first and then drink it, what happened to mugs and bottles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

Lu Tze wrote: »
    Similar to yourself, not a farmer but grew up on one. The subsidies as I see it only really benefit the consumer, they no longer have to pay the real cost of production when buying products in supermarket's.
    Spot on , there there to make food cheaper for the Irish buyer, and to try match the cheap import , farmers get subsides because the product is sold under value .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Name one sector of society, just one, that doesn't benefit for 'free money' as you term it.

You can't because there isn't one. At least farmers are open about what they receive from public funds.

Every employee in the country benefits from subsidies ranging from minimum wage, holiday pay, sick pay, redundancy payments, minimum notice periods etc etc etc etc. The list is near endless so perhaps you should take your head out of whatever hole you have it stuck in and recognise that your sector also benefits from effective subsidies.

Are you going to claim that there aren't 10s of thousands, no, even hundreds of thousands of people in the world equally or better qualified to do your job than you are who would do it for a fraction of what you will be paid to do it for?

They can't do your job, though, because they are prevented by legislation and visa requirements and numerous other hurdles preventing your employer from employing them for a fraction of your wage.

Are you trying to tell me that those hurdles aren't in fact subsidies to keep you in employment that could be done by others for far, far less?

Will you get off the stage FFS and check out reality for a while:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭FirefighterT7

I've a feeling we're listening to the one who didn't get the farm here!

Lots of posh farmers on here drinking tea from cups, or do ye pour it onto the saucer first and then drink it, what happened to mugs and bottles

Jaysus, the ould fellas long ago who used to pour the tea from the cup into the saucer and drink it out of the saucer, what was that about? They weren't posh as it was before mugs were introduced.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If you're as good at the job as you are at trolling you'll get to the top of your profession in no time.

Jasus that's a new one a baby guard troll, with a chip on their shoulder. OP where do you think the money to pay civil servants' wages comes from? I hope they do an online background check before you go to Templemore.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Having tea about 8 times a day is essential also. Also be sure to look really dirty everywhere you go so people think your hard at it.

That's bang out of order... Painting us all like that.

I use a flask and before I go out I scrape the dirt off my shirt with the silage bale knife..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Around €10k. Now watch the row this causes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

I'm still looking for a good looking teacher. Only child with rich parents. And plenty of land.

Around €10k. Now watch the row this causes.

Actually thought it would be more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

Farmers are finding it hard to turn a profit even when recieving subsidies. Yet they are working harder than ever. This is the fault of cheap imports and bad government. Not farmers. Farmers farm when not turning a profit because they are farmers farming land that they love. If they didn't they wouldnt be out day in day out in the ****ty weather without a day off in years. They wouldn't be up at 3 am at caving season delivering calves. They wouldn't have stayed in the same place for so long. They would have gone to templemore:-) you have to have a gra for it because it is relentless and it is hard work.
    Small family farms are an indigenous way of rural life, a vocation more than a job and a big draw for tourists. There needs to be a bit of diversification because the dairy sector for example is not doing well, this is not the fault of bad farmers but of bad government decisions

Ps how much does it cost the state to educate someone for a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Why dont you tell us some of what you learnt abroad. Where were these busy farms with thousands of acres, where the employees have no time to talk?

When you see farmers standing around talking remember that that might be the only time some of them have spoken to a person for the whole week or more. Their conversation is not to your liking? remember that they have not had the opertunities to be educated and travel like you.

If you want to pick a fight then print out your opening post, sign it and pin it to the door of your local at home and go in buy a pint and wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Jaysus, the ould fellas long ago who used to pour the tea from the cup into the saucer and drink it out of the saucer, what was that about? They weren't posh as it was before mugs were introduced.

I think it was to cool the tea out of the cup .
    I don't drink tea or coffee so I'm not as bad as the rest of ye !;

Bullocks wrote: »
    I think it was to cool the tea out of the cup .
    I don't drink tea or coffee so I'm not as bad as the rest of ye !;

What kind of a country person are you? Unacceptable carry on.:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

melissak wrote: »
    What kind of a country person are you? Unacceptable carry on.:-)

My only excuse is my mother is a townie !

Bullocks wrote: »
    My only excuse is my mother is a townie !

Ahh. That explains it. She has given you "notions"