Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The scariest moment..

• 19-05-2016 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭

What's the most frightening thing thats happened you??

Mine was when the bus I was travelling in swerved and almost dropped into a Valley :( there was a few hundred feet drop on either side and the bus went up on two wheels and we literally looked down at death...few people genuinely wet themselves

I can't deal with heights ever since... 15 years later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Opening this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

pone2012 wrote: »
    What's the most frightening thing thsts happened uou

That time I got really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really scared and nearly shat myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Reading this
    ONE TIME I WAS HITCHING FOR A LIFT HOME AT NIGHT AND A CAR PULLED IN ABOUT 10 FEET AHEAD THEN I WALKED UP AND OPENED THE PASSENGER DOOR AND THERE WAS A SKELETON DRIVING THE CAR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

On a school tour, driving home after an awesome day when the emergency door on the bus opened and two kids fell out onto the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Really really really bad turbulence....I'm nervous enough on planes at best of times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I'm usually grand on planes but was on a flight that attempted to land three times but couldn't because of gusts of wind on the ground. Pretty terrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I was boxing, and my opponent threw a left uppercut/hook at me. I remember looking down at it as it came towards me thinking "if that hits me I'm in big trouble" and it did hit me. It just exploded on my jaw, and, just like the cartoons, I saw stars. Maybe not stars exactly, but splashes of yellow, blue, and white. I couldn't see anything else.

I'm not sure I'd describe it as scary, maybe it was more panicky, but I was thinking "I hope my sight comes back soon" and I was also thinking "when my sight comes back, where will I be? Still standing? On the canvas? In a hospital?"

When my sight did come back, his left hand was just leaving my field of sight - it had all happened in just a fraction of a second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

On a school tour, driving home after an awesome day when the emergency door on the bus opened and two kids fell out onto the road

Dunno why I found this funny :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

When she text me "I'm pregnant". I barely had facial hair at the time and I didn't even know the girls birthday and where she lived. That feeling of wanting to throw your guts up but nothing will come up. Non stop shakes and lump in your throat.

osarusan wrote: »
    I was boxing, and my opponent threw a left uppercut/hook at me. I remember looking down at it as it came towards me thinking "if that hits me I'm in big trouble" and it did hit me. It just exploded on my jaw, and, just like the cartoons, I saw stars. Maybe not stars exactly, but splashes of yellow, blue, and white. I couldn't see anything else.

I'm not sure I'd describe it as scary, maybe it was more panicky, but I was thinking "I hope my sight comes back soon" and I was also thinking "when my sight comes back, where will I be? Still standing? On the canvas? In a hospital?"

When my sight did come back, his left hand was just leaving my field of sight - it had all happened in just a fraction of a second.

Yeah, Floyd's nearing 50-0 so no real shame there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭RTighe

Happened on one of our bus trips too back in the nineties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Dunno why I found this funny :)

Yeah it was hilarious, 12 years old sitting on the bus watching two
    Of your class mates laying on the road, the cars the opposite side of the road blessing themselves, the panicked screams of the other kids to stop the bus because the bus driver didn't realise the door opened and kept driving. Sitting on the bus watching ambulances and garda Cars come screeching past

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Rock climbing on a sea cliff and a rogue wave deciding I needed to go for a swim in the Atlantic :( On the bright side, bonus helicopter ride!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Earthquake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Mine was when the bus I was travelling in swerved and almost dropped into a Valley :( there was a few hundred feet drop on either side and the bus went up on two wheels and we literally looked down at death...few people genuinely wet themselves

That sounds like something would happen in Italy. The drivers are crazy there on the hair pin bends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

The scariest moment I ever felt was when I was alone hiking in the Donegal mountains on a strawberry LSD trip and I had a bad one. Hallucinating that there was 8 fat little 3 foot trolls attacking and poking me and stealing my cans of beer and laughing their head off at me chasing them around for ages. One of the most vivid hallucinations I ever had, I thought I was going insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Shint0 wrote: »
    That sounds like something would happen in Italy. The drivers are crazy there on the hair pin bends.

It was in Portugal, ill assume most the driving behaviour is similar because damn this guy was moving....what was crazy was there was a crash up ahead of us and he didnt even see it..until the last minute..hence the swerve

At 12 i probably couldnt fathom how lucky we were...the amount of people that wet themselves spoke volume though

Heights are a no go for me since...Its severely restraining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Drinking a pint with nearly a gram of pure mdma in it,lost the power to even hold my neck up,thought I was a goner.all I can remember was being slumped against a wall outside the bar and my mates squeezing the two sides of my mouth and pouring orange juice into me.

Many many years ago I spent a week up the Wicklow mountains outside enniskerry on a college field trip, not long after Annie McCarrick went missing.
    I had to thumb a lift down to Bray, because there was no ATM in enniskerry, got down ok.
    On the way back, got a lift with a real weirdo, I didn't notice until I was in his Jeep 5 mins or so, he started asking me if I was scared up the mountains, telling me how lots of women go missing up there, & most of them are raped & dumped in the bogs.
    Sweat was rolling off me, while I kept up the cool exterior, telling him I wasn't scared of anything etc etc .
    When he drove past the turn for where I was staying, I really nearly peed my pants!
    The more he said I should be scared, the more I acted cool, I'm not scared!!!

Then he turned down a tiny lane, grass in the middle of the road kinda place.
    Stopped then in the middle of nowhere & told me if I turned the corner, I'd be back where I was staying.

Well I ran like fcuk away from that Jeep, turned the corner, and there was my hostel.

To this day I don't know if he was trying to warn me to be careful or just being a prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Running this hydrolic machine. Something got trapped, threw my hand in, it got stuck. Saw this big piece of metal come flying towards my hand. Pulled it out just in time, scratched the fcuk out it all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The scariest moment I ever felt was when I was alone hiking in the Donegal mountains on a strawberry LSD trip and I had a bad one. Hallucinating that there was 8 fat little 3 foot trolls attacking and poking me and stealing my cans of beer and laughing their head off at me chasing them around for ages. One of the most vivid hallucinations I ever had, I thought I was going insane.

Hiking? Mountains? Alone? On Acid?

Ah heyor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

The first few moments after a car crash and my mam wasn't able to breathe. I was convinced that something was really wrong, that she was going to die. It turned out that she had cracked her sternum against the steering wheel, wasn't able to take a deep breath because of the pain and had started to panic a bit. It was the worst fear I'd ever felt, my heart was pounding so hard it actually hurt like hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

When I was 15 working in a factory on an old cardboard box press with no safety guards or stop and I caught my arm in between 2 moving rollers with less than 1 inch clearance. Was able to pull against the rollers to stop my elbow going into the machine and simultaneously reaching for the reverse switch which was awkward to reach. I ended up with crushed muscles and a fracture.
    My father got such a fright he sold it but 2 weeks later it happened to the new owner. He could not reverse it and had his whole arm ripped off from the shoulder.

Arghus wrote: »
    Hiking? Mountains? Alone? On Acid?

Ah heyor!

I used to live in Buncrana and always close to the mountains and once a week I used to hike to them, I just had this fascination with the mystery of the mountains right outside of my abode. I agree though, I didn't do it again mind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I used to live in Buncrana and always close to the mountains and once a week I used to hike to them, I just had this fascination with the mystery of the mountains right outside of my abode. I agree though, I didn't do it again mind you.

I know Buncrana, are you sure you were hallucinating trolls and it wasn't just some of the lads from town? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

For me it was having a choking fit while home alone, I'm always choking for some reason and it's never fun but this one was really bad, started getting tunnel vision and at that point did think I was going to die, but got it under control.

Oh and finding my housemate after she'd had a brain hemorrhage. Scary stuff but glad it wasn't her body I found

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Who does acid on their own though? That's never a good idea.

I know Buncrana, are you sure you were hallucinating trolls and it wasn't just some of the lads from town? :p

No, those fellers from Buncrana are a wild bunch I know this, but they are not 3 foot tall, and why the heck they would be up the top of the mountains at 3am in the morning. You've got to hand it to LSD, it does what it says on the tin, it can create some real life-like hallucinations.

September is near :)

Flint Fredstone
    Who does acid on their own though? That's never a good idea.

For a private experience, that is why I done it up the mountains, one hell of a trip that's for sure. Wouldn't do it again alone though, not a chance.

Yeah it was hilarious, 12 years old sitting on the bus watching two
    Of your class mates laying on the road, the cars the opposite side of the road blessing themselves, the panicked screams of the other kids to stop the bus because the bus driver didn't realise the door opened and kept driving. Sitting on the bus watching ambulances and garda Cars come screeching past

Can you add any more to this drama? When does the filming start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Going into anaphylactic shock. That feeling knowing in minutes you will be dead if the adrenaline doesn't kick in is terrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Being with my cousin when she had her first seizure and stopped breathing- we were both 13 and had decided to go shopping in town with our 2 similarly aged other cousins, so no parents around.
    None of us knew what to do- I can still hear one of the other girl's screams as her lips turned blue from lack of oxygen. Thankfully a passing nurse stopped and rang an ambulance, got her into recovery position etc.
    Only lasting side effects was a nasty concussion from when she hit the deck and it's only happened once more in the 15 intervening years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

More of a shock than scared but when working maintenance years ago the chap working on the machine next to me trapped his hand in the machine. He literally caught his hand between two plates and squashed it down to 5mm.
    The absolutely delirious screams from him as we took what remained of his hand out. They patched his hand back together but he never recovered much use if it or the fingers. He was wearing laytex gloves which didn't puncture, so he just had a big blob of blood and flesh In the glove on the end of his arm, it was awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I've two.

First one was waking up just as the mini bus we were in was flipping over and rolling down a embankment. I smashed the window with my head and missed rocks by milimeters , extremely lucky to have got away with my life,

The second one and by far the worst was when our 4 week old had the whooping cough and turned blue when we were bringing her to crumlin. The misses was driving and i was in the back with her getting her breathing again. Touch wood she's being perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

I remember choking when I was about 7 or 8, only my elder brothers were home at the time and I can vividly remember them trying to get it out.
    They were panicked and tried hitting me on the back (I think thats only for small babies) and then when that did not work the hemlich.

That did not work for ages, and I could start to see black, kinda like tunnel vision and an extreme feeling that "I am going to die" when everything went black. It was bizarre because I was very scared, but when it started to go black I felt calm and accepting of it. That scared me more when I think back.

Thankfully one of the hemlichs worked, woke up vomiting. Then was shaking and crying for about 2hours and then got shouted at to shut up because mum and dad were coming home and they can't know about what happened.
    They still don't. :D
    Its one of the few things I can remember very very clearly.

Similarly, before I was born, one of my brothers went swimming with the neighbours and apparently nearly drowned but only my siblings know about it, not my parents :pac:
    We are all safe now touch wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

was that the 66 to Liffey Valley , that route would scare the sh1t out of me too

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I think mine would be when I was heading to the Wicklow mountains on a warm summers day with my dog and then GF.
    There is a waterfall on the way up (can't remember the name) but has a steep drop and pretty high up.
    The dog needed take a crap badly so I stopped the car and let him out for his businees. I got out as well.
    He must have heard the water and ran to it and somehow got stuck next to the rocks in the river about 20m or so from the edge.
    He couldn't get free so I hoped the fence and carefully walked to where he was.
    I got to him and got him free and as I turned to walk back to the grass I lost my footing and fell.
    I managed to throw the dog away from me near the grass which let him run away but I was being brought to the edge of the river and then it was a pure drop to the bottom and 100$ death.
    This all happened in a matter of seconds but just before the edge I got traction and was able to stop myself and get out of the river.
    I'm fully sure I was being watched that day cause there is no way I should have been able to get out of that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

bear1 wrote: »
    I think mine would be when I was heading to the Wicklow mountains on a warm summers day with my dog and then GF.
    There is a waterfall on the way up (can't remember the name) but has a steep drop and pretty high up.
    The dog needed take a crap badly so I stopped the car and let him out for his businees. I got out as well.
    He must have heard the water and ran to it and somehow got stuck next to the rocks in the river about 20m or so from the edge.
    He couldn't get free so I hoped the fence and carefully walked to where he was.
    I got to him and got him free and as I turned to walk back to the grass I lost my footing and fell.
    I managed to throw the dog away from me near the grass which let him run away but I was being brought to the edge of the river and then it was a pure drop to the bottom and 100$ death.
    This all happened in a matter of seconds but just before the edge I got traction and was able to stop myself and get out of the river.
    I'm fully sure I was being watched that day cause there is no way I should have been able to get out of that situation.

Your dog was your girlfriend ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Sheeeeit

One of mine was as a teenager at home on my own I was eating a chocolate bar, think it was one of those white chocolate Dream bars, but anyway I had a square in my mouth and I some how managed to inhale it down the wrong hole before I even started to chew. Commence a minute or 2 of absolute panic. Immediately went red in the face choking and couldn't catch any sort of breath. I started running around the room in such a panic and can still remember thinking "oh my god there's no one here to to give me the heimlich". Eventually I managed to cough up the square of chocolate after what seemed like ages. There was a few seconds there where I thought I was a goner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I've 2, first one was after a head on crash I was involved in. It was my fault and the guy in the back seat in the other car was flung into the back of the passenger seat, trapping a girl sitting there. She was screaming "I cant feel my legs" as she was taken away in the ambulance, I was petrified and inconsolable as I realised I might have paralysed someone. She was fine thankfully.

Second one was quite recent. I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes back in January and had my first bad hypo 3 weeks ago. My wife was at a wedding with a friend and I was home with my young kids when I started feeling it coming on. I checked my bloods and was very close to passing out. I managed to get some sweets and orange juice into me and felt fine in a few minutes, but was petrified as to what could have happened had I lost conciousness.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I hurt my back playing football a few years ago, I thought I'd sleep it off.
    The next day after no sleep and being in agony all night, I went to A&E. Got an X-Ray and the doc said that it's nothing, probably just a pulled something in my back that will heal.

A few hours later, I got a phone call.

"Mr. Bap, our senior lad has been reviewing your X-Ray and has found something"

The moment silence after that felt like hours.

"There is a dark area on one of your vertabrae, we think you might have a fracture in your spine, you need a scan."

It took about 2 weeks to get the scan done. 2 weeks of being ever so careful about everything I done.

There was nothing wrong.

When I was 7 I was down with a friend at the local pier where I grew up.

Tides out and my friend is climbing down a rope to get to the boats that are stuck in the mud. I'm watching him and lose my balance, falling off. It's about a 20 foot drop, probably more, and I'm falling head first with nothing at the bottom but hard mud or the corner of a boat. Just past halfway down I manage to grab the rope that he used to get down and I right myself, slamming into the wall and slide down the rope, burning my hands but thankfully no scars.

I don't really remember the fall, bar grabbing the rope, but I remember looking up and seeing all these concerned faces just staring out and down at me and amazed that I had, well, survived.

Years later I found out that it was also the scariest moment for my mum, who was there to witness everything from a few hundred feet, just at the top of the road. She told me that time had slowed down for her as she saw this little body just fall suddenly, not knowing I grabbed the rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

To Alcohol wrote: »
    Your dog was your girlfriend ? :pac:

:D I meant the dog AND my then HUMAN girlfriend :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Nothing too scary has happened me but last year i got knocked down on the way to work. That second before the car hit me and i looked at it and thought " oh f**k" i was able to take a step back and the car threw me up in the air .
    I was lucky as it was mostly the side of the car that hit me and the car came off much worse then i did.
    I remember the people who were also just walking to work helping me and they were all really nice and wanted to call an ambulance, but i just got up and walked to work.

I'm more careful now when i'm crossing the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I hurt my back playing football a few years ago, I thought I'd sleep it off.
    The next day after no sleep and being in agony all night, I went to A&E. Got an X-Ray and the doc said that it's nothing, probably just a pulled something in my back that will heal.

A few hours later, I got a phone call.

"Mr. Bap, our senior lad has been reviewing your X-Ray and has found something"

The moment silence after that felt like hours.

"There is a dark area on one of your vertabrae, we think you might have a fracture in your spine, you need a scan."

It took about 2 weeks to get the scan done. 2 weeks of being ever so careful about everything I done.

There was nothing wrong.

Two weeks to get a scan for a possible back fracture! that's ridiculous! Glad it was ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Spokes of Glory

I was about 7 or 8 on hols in Wexford. Day wasn't great so we kids decided to go to the swimming pool in a local hotel. Long story short, I ended staying there after the others had had enough, and after some time I was the only person in the pool, not a life guard in sight.

At some point I decided it would be great craic to stick a pair of armbands on my ankles instead of my arms. I had visions of vaulting around the pool like an astronaut on the moon. Of course the laws of physics kicked in immediately, and I found myself completely inverted, head on the floor of the pool, feet flailing around on the surface. I clearly recall realising I was drowning, the sensation of water filling my lungs, and desperately trying to pull my upper body back to the surface. Luckily I hadn't been stupid enough to try this experiment in the deep end. I managed to just barely reach a bar or something around the side of the pool and pull myself back up and out, followed by 5 minutes lying like a semi-drowned kitten at the poolside, coughing up water. And still no guard or attendant ever saw me. Sauntered home and never mentioned it to the folks until years later.

Almost became a Darwin award right there.

Spokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

2 events are seared into my mind......

First, the apartment I was renting in Boston was raided by ATF looking for a former tenant!! Dem boys don't mess around!!!

Second, waking up on an operating theatre table - I'd been prepped for an abdominal op and was anaesthetised - then I became aware I could hear things but I was effectively paralysed and I was just waiting for the 'cut'........it turned out they'd had problems tubing me so they brought be out from the anaesthesia in a bit of a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I was 7 years old and was outside kicking a ball around on the street.
    Our neighbour's two doors down had a daughter who was a bit of a trouble maker, she was a teenager at the time.
    She was hanging around outside their gate with a friend of hers.

Taken unawares, her friend ran up and grabbed me from behind.
    The neighbour produced a dart and began to point it into my jugular vein.
    I didn't scream, I was just in shock at having been grabbed but I felt the dart at my neck.

I have no idea why they did that.

Luckily, my father happened to see this happen from the front window.
    He ran out and chased them away. He went to their door and confronted her father.
    He never told me that he said that day but it worked. She never looked in my direction for years after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

valoren wrote: »
    Taken unawares, her friend ran up and grabbed me from behind.
    The neighbour produced a dart and began to point it into my jugular vein.
    I didn't scream, I was just in shock at having been grabbed but I felt the dart at my neck.

Even as a teenager that's pretty disturbing and wouldn't bode well for future behaviour.

I was once out for a cycle to try out these new shoes I got, which clicked into the pedals. Me being me I went out without figuring out how to take them out again. On a country road I came face-to-face with a truck coming in the other direction, that absolutely should not have been there as it was too big and the road too small. I pull over to let the truck pass and, of course, I can't get my feet out, lose my balance, and fall over as it passes, into the path of the truck. It misses crushing my head by inches - close enough to feel the gush of wind as it passed.

I've had far too many near death experiences, mostly because of my awful balance.

Edit: I've also fallen out of trees and tall rocks.

Pretty certain I'm Wolverine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Really really really bad turbulence....I'm nervous enough on planes at best of times

Its only really scary the first time though, any frequent flyer worth his/her salt knows that 6-10 pints,a handful of benzos and a few in flight whiskeys sorts that out. That said, if its an important business meeting, a nice bit of sniff is handy too.