Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poor mouth irish man is fifth highest in the for wealth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

When can I have my share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

'To calculate your net worth, subtract all your debts (mortgage, loans, etc) from your assets (pension fund, investments, mortgage-free property, home equity, etc).'

Hahahahahaha!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Tell that to the homeless people I have to step over every 5 meters or so in Dublin City Centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

petes wrote: »
    'your assets (pension fund, investments, mortgage-free property, home equity, etc).'
    What are these magical things the article talks about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

seamus wrote: »
    What are these magical things the article talks about?

Mam and dad had some of those yokes as far as I know. Mythical things from a time long past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

I have €117 in the bank and €65 in my wallet. That's every penny to my name right now. Feels good being rich :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I have €117 in the bank and €65 in my wallet. That's every penny to my name right now. Feels good being rich :cool:

Yeah but you don't owe anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Is it fair to say that including property equity into the mix which makes us 'richer' than the Germans, means the Germans have more liquid cash and investments so might appear to be richer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I owe €370,000.

That's me with -€370,000 in my wallet. How rich do you think I feel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

smash wrote: »
    When can I have my share?
    You're not allowed a share unless you've already got 6 shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I owe €370,000.

A wallet?

Look at the fancy rich boy with his money holder!

If I had anything, I put it down my jocks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

whiskeyman wrote: »
    A wallet?

Look at the fancy rich boy with his money holder!

If I had anything, I put it down my jocks...

So, you have nothing in your jocks?

Don't worry, your secret is safe with us. Greyworm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I owe €370,000.

If your house is worth €380,000 then that's actually +€10,000, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

The guys saying they have only a few euro need to look at themselves the joke is on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Believe me, there are lots of people in this country who are very wealthy.

They are not sick with a terminal illness or other life changing things.

That's the reality. Money helps, not being in debt helps, but health and the ability to live is beyond any debt or wealth.

Been there, got the t shirt. So there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Currently in the bottom half of the country in terms of wealth, but working hard to eventually get to the top half.

It's a shame that the majority of people on a similar wealth level as me have the idea of trying to drag the upper half down rather than striving to join them.

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Currently in the bottom half of the country in terms of wealth, but working hard to eventually get to the top half.

It's a shame that the majority of people on a similar wealth level as me have the idea of trying to drag the upper half down rather than striving to join them.

well said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Bubbaclaus wrote: »

You've bought the fairytale. Hope it works out for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I owe €370,000.

I'm not rich enough to be allowed owe that amount of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

You've bought the fairytale. Hope it works out for you.

Trying to better your situation is a fairytale now?

Jesus wept.

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Trying to better your situation is a fairytale now?

Jesus wept.

No matter what there are people that will always try and drag you down always negative this poster would be one of them. One of the richest countries in the world ... So much opportunity for education etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,437 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Debt is not wealth! Headline should say Ireland is one of the most Indebted countries in the world

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Debt is not wealth! Headline should say Ireland is one of the most Indebted countries in the world

The article says it subtracts debt from assets. Nowhere does it say a negative equity loan makes someone richer.

We 're still codding ourselves though. Our overall debt issues are a very serious problem and as you can see, we haven't learned anything about the crash. God forbid if there was another crash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I tried to spend my house on a packet of fags. They didn't have change.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,543 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

We 're still codding ourselves though. Our overall debt issues are a very serious problem and as you can see, we haven't learned anything about the crash. God forbid if there was another crash!

It's not "if", it's "when".

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

All this cash yet we can't string a sentence together or a thread title .

It's not "if", it's "when".

I'm actully very worried about this. We have to start protecting and preparing ourselves for this. Think of the children!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

stoneill wrote: »
    I tried to spend my house on a packet of fags. They didn't have change.

A packet of fags!! Well for some!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,543 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I'm actully very worried about this. We have to start protecting and preparing ourselves for this. Think of the children!

Nothing's been done to prevent it happening again. As I said, it's "when".

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Nothing's been done to prevent it happening again. As I said, it's "when".

Sure the last one wasn't even that bad. People just like to make an awful big deal out of things.

I had to leave the country. Anyway, I'm now isolated from the effects so good luck to ye!

I'm not isolated from the effects. I was being facetious. Help me! :(

I thought you were being serious. As regards help, people need to stop voting for the fools who got the country into the mess to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Tell that to the homeless people I have to step over every 5 meters or so in Dublin City Centre

Probably more of an "I gotta get high" issue than a wealth issue really.

You give those customers money (matter of fact, we do, every week) and they stay where they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

I don't think the number of homeless is any indication of the wealth of a nation , every country has them and allot of richer countries than Ireland have far more , been to the center of Paris lately , Manhattan or San Fancisco , it wont ever be eliminated and that's ok.

People with no cash or assets need to reflect on themselves their life choices and why in a society with free education to third level and one of the most over inflated welfare systems in the world they have failed to better their own situation.

Stop just looking to blame and tax everyone, take some responsibility and initiative and sort your situation out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Is it fair to say that including property equity into the mix which makes us 'richer' than the Germans, means the Germans have more liquid cash and investments so might appear to be richer?

I read an article about a week ago that suggested todays kids can expect to see little or no inheritance or property from their parents.
    Those parents are living longer and are thus more likely to require nursing home care since they have fewer kids to spread a home care burden and those kids are also working 24/7 to pay for their own home so they simply don't have the time to care for elderly parents.
    This means property is not really the asset it once was, it is now a sunk fund for elder care later in life as the state will through the 'fair deal' demand the value of the asset to fund nursing home places.

conorhal wrote: »
    I read an article about a week ago that suggested todays kids can expect to see little or no inheritance or property from their parents.
    Those parents are living longer and are thus more likely to require nursing home care since they have fewer kids to spread a home care burden and those kids are also working 24/7 to pay for their own home so they simply don't have the time to care for elderly parents.
    This means property is not really the asset it once was, it is now a sunk fund for elder care later in life as the state will through the 'fair deal' demand the value of the asset to fund nursing home places.

Sounds about right. Is it wrong though? It's still an asset, one which is used to pay for care in the twilight years of the owners' lives. If we want property to remain an asset like it once was, then this care needs to be paid out of regular taxation which just shifts the wealth to the wealthy again. Is that fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

I owe €370,000.

Did anyone put a gun to your head to buy a house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

davo2001 wrote: »
    Did anyone put a gun to your head to buy a house?

It wasn't a house. Drug deal gone bad. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

median household wealth of 110k in the UK.

that's insane

probably a lot of it tied up in London

I thought you were being serious. As regards help, people need to stop voting for the fools who got the country into the mess to begin with.

A lot more complicated than the 'fools' I'm afraid

conorhal wrote: »

This is why inheritances should be gifted and houses signed over long before people get to this stage thus preventing the state taking the assets.

People work hard and have some assets and they get taken while others get the same care for free. Feck that, people need to plan to keep stuff away from the tax man/state.
    we want property to remain an asset like it once was, then this care needs to be paid out of regular taxation which just shifts the wealth to the wealthy again. Is that fair?

It's very fair that the property remains an asset. People with the money to buy assets have contributed large amounts of tax all their lives propping up those who pay less or nothing. Then when they get old they are expected to pay out again. Totally unfair as these are the people who have actually funded the system so should definitely be able to avail of it.

The money to pay for elder care has to come from somewhere. If it's not paid as a pro rata against who can afford it, then the general taxation will take it from those currently working. With the aging population and demographics, this is not sustainable and has been identified by the government as such.

The taxes these people paid didn't support the same level of an aging population as the following generation and shafting this generation on taxes just supports the accumulated wealth to their detriment.

A lot more complicated than the 'fools' I'm afraid

Well voting for them again won't help things.

Ah our democratic, financial and economic systems are in bit of a mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I don't think the number of homeless is any indication of the wealth of a nation , every country has them and allot of richer countries than Ireland have far more , been to the center of Paris lately , Manhattan or San Fancisco , it wont ever be eliminated and that's ok.

People with no cash or assets need to reflect on themselves their life choices and why in a society with free education to third level and one of the most over inflated welfare systems in the world they have failed to better their own situation.

Stop just looking to blame and tax everyone, take some responsibility and initiative and sort your situation out.

Go away out of that with that sensible taking responsibility not blaming others type talk.