Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The inevitable demise of Lord Ramsey Bolton (Book and TV Show)

• 16-05-2016 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭

Week in, week out, we are 'treated' to the unstable, unpredictable, and malicious actions of Lord Ramsey Bolton. We have seen him commit torture, decapitation, hunting for sport, rape, patricide, and general evil and twisted stuff.

So, what kind of an end can we dream up for a character that deserves such an end to wipe our memories of the suffering he has inflicted on other characters? What can the show's creators come up with so that he gets his just desserts? Or is it the case that there is nothing conceivably despicable enough to satisfy our bloodlust for his demise? :P

How do you want to see Lord Ramsey Bolton go out? :D

Personally, an old fashioned hung, drawn, and quartering would suffice!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Im sure because of the negative fan reaction to him in the show, GRRM will have a POV chapter which shows how disturbed he is by all the torture but feels he needs to do so to impress his father. Deep in his soul he is a troubled poet who longs for a peaceful existence but has had to torture people.out of necessity. In the end we will see him becoming the septon of Baelors Sept and giving sagely counsel to one and all, while living to be a hundred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

386122.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Hopefully Ghost will rip him to shreds. A fitting end considering how many he fed to his hounds.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Hopefully Ghost will rip him to shreds. A fitting end considering how many he fed to his hounds.

I think this or Sansa sticking something sharp and pointy into him are the two most obvious endings for Ramsay. Which means that neither will happen and he'll end up being barbecued by one of Dany's dragons or something equally improbable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Zaph wrote: »
    I think this or Sansa sticking something sharp and pointy into him are the two most obvious endings for Ramsay. Which means that neither will happen and he'll end up being barbecued by one of Dany's dragons or something equally improbable.

I want Theon to kill "that horn blowing coont"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Falthyron wrote: »
    Week in, week out, we are 'treated' to the unstable, unpredictable, and malicious actions of Lord Ramsey Bolton. We have seen him commit torture, decapitation, hunting for sport, rape, patricide, and general evil and twisted stuff.

What show are you watching?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Demise of Rambo Bolton? You've been watching the wrong show op.

Wilier than Littlefinger.

Harder than the Ironborn.

Master tactician as opposed to the cluelessness of Stannis.

Achieved his ascendancy to a true born title with ease while Jon froze his bollox off doing nothing.

Ramsay is the man to defeat the WW. All he needs are 20......no, 10! 10 southron men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,017 ✭✭✭✭klose

Being skinned alive on camera would be a fitting death for the show, gruesomely gorey and shocking to the audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

klose wrote: »
    Being skinned alive on camera would be a fitting death for the show, gruesomely gorey and shocking to the audience.

Especially if it's done by the wildlings. I can picture him just thinking back to Osha asking him "Do you eat them afterwards?"

"... then I've seen worse."

Not that they'd actually eat him but that's what most people from Westeros expect to happen if you're captured then killed by wildlings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

JustShon wrote: »
    Not that they'd actually eat him but that's what most people from Westeros expect to happen if you're captured then killed by wildlings.

Not a wholly irrational expectation since at least one wildling faction, the Thenns, are openly cannibalistic.

DeadHand wrote: »
    Not a wholly irrational expectation since at least one wildling faction, the Thenns, are openly cannibalistic.

True, which would just make it more awesome to see Ramsey being captured by the wildlings and him sh1tting himself as he remembers what Osha says and thinks he's about to be eaten.

I could see Thormund pretending they're going to eat him alive or something just to fcuk with him too. It fits Thormund's sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

In true TV fashion, they never get the death they deserve. Impaled on a spike, cut throat or fall from a height are the ways I reckon he'll probably go.

If I had my way, I'd have a reborn Theon "get medieval" on him or cornered by Ghost and decimated.

It would be all kinds of awesome if they went down the route of Vikings though and had an outlandish death for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

I wanna see a one on one sword fight between the two Bastards, one were Jon totally dominates Ramsey, plays with him and shows how pathetic and little Ramsey is.

I don't think it will be Sansa who kills him, she has a Giant to slay back at Winterfell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

There are numerous cruel medieval execution methods which would be appropriate, given his behaviour, and I think this one would just fit the bill.

"Hey Melissandre, if I kill this fcuker will you bring him back so I can kill him again?"

Definitely not going to happen but it makes for a nice daydream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

Doesn't GRRM like the borrow from history? As recently as the late 1800's, certain Fijian tribes used to dismember stranded/lost/shipwrecked people piece by piece, cook their limbs, and eat the body parts in front of the victim once he/she had regained consciousness. Would be a chilling but amazing scene to see Jon hand Ramsay over to the Thenns after defeating him in battle, and fitting given Osha's words in the latest eposode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

The two main questions here are Who and How?

While I relish as much as anyone the sight of Jon Snow wielding Longclaw righteously and taking Ramsay out with the ease of a cat playing with a mouse........it just wont be as satisfying as some other ways he can go.

He really isnt as depraved as he could be recently, the quick deaths are a bit of a disappointment. Where is the horn blowing, c**k teasing Ramsay of old, send in the pretty ladies and then dismembering Theon at the height of his excitement followed up with him eating a fat sausage right in front of him. Come on now, a knife to the heart for Roose followed by a knife to the throat for Osha? Pathetic.

If they gave him the death he deserves theyd have him raped by wildlings, bits dismembered and eaten, perhaps more raping of the new orifices left from the dismemberment, flaying, burning, brought back whenever he died and then finally, him begging to be killed and just left out in the forest for whatever wants to eat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

The two main questions here are Who and How?

While I relish as much as anyone the sight of Jon Snow wielding Longclaw righteously and taking Ramsay out with the ease of a cat playing with a mouse........it just wont be as satisfying as some other ways he can go.

He really isnt as depraved as he could be recently, the quick deaths are a bit of a disappointment. Where is the horn blowing, c**k teasing Ramsay of old, send in the pretty ladies and then dismembering Theon at the height of his excitement followed up with him eating a fat sausage right in front of him. Come on now, a knife to the heart for Roose followed by a knife to the throat for Osha? Pathetic.

If they gave him the death he deserves theyd have him raped by wildlings, bits dismembered and eaten, perhaps more raping of the new orifices left from the dismemberment, flaying, burning, brought back whenever he died and then finally, him begging to be killed and just left out in the forest for whatever wants to eat him.

Why does everyone assume Jon beats him one on one in a sword fight? Has Jon ever been shown to be a master swordsman?

Is it because he has Longclaw?

whatever wants to eat him.

It could turn out to be Arya's direwolf :D

Why does everyone assume Jon beats him one on one in a sword fight? Has Jon ever been shown to be a master swordsman?

Well we're talking about how Ramsey dies, not about how Ramsey kills Jon so of course in these scenarios we're talking about Jon kicking his arse.

Im imagining a death for Ramsay - so yeah, Jon would beat him in that fantasy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

The smaller grade baddies, like the Thenn chieftain and Karl, have been killed in combat.

But it seems most of the primary bad guys end up being whacked in pretty incongruous ways.

Tywin got shot on the jacks. Roose knifed in the belly unceremoniously. Joffrey poisoned at his wedding. Balon hoofed off a bridge. Stannis killed sitting on his arse under a tree.

Kinda expect Ramsey to slip on blood halfway through flaying someone and break his neck or something.

quad_red wrote: »
    The smaller grade baddies, like the Thenn chieftain and Karl, have been killed in combat.

But it seems most of the primary bad guys end up being whacked in pretty incongruous ways.

Tywin got shot on the jacks. Roose knifed in the belly unceremoniously. Joffrey poisoned at his wedding. Balon hoofed off a bridge. Stannis killed sitting on his arse under a tree.

Kinda expect Ramsey to slip on blood halfway through flaying someone and break his neck or something.

Or die of really bad flatulence.

Choke to death while eating a sausage.

Incidentally that was my first thought when Joffrey started coughing etc. "Holy sh1t he's choking to death, what a hilariously ignominious way to die."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

He's been raised to the sword as was pointed out to him (Was it by Tyrion in the show? It was Donal Noye in the books) when he first joined the Nights Watch and was battering all around him in the training yard.

Ramsey was only taken in by Roose when he was already a bit older and, given his other interests, isn't likely to have trained quite so dilligently as Jon.

That said, I don't care how he dies at this stage. I just want him gone, he's a boring, pantomime villain that the writers have built up way too much. Yara would have made mince meat of him during the rescue when he showed up bare chested and begging to be gutted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Any fight Jon's been in he's been shown to be very good, it's been a consistently emphasised aspect of his character since season one.

Like someone said above, if Ramsey follows the pattern established by other characters whose deaths were eagerly awaited, it'll be some quick, unsatisfying, Omar Little style thing (maybe Rickon will get him!).

I'd really like to see him torn down a bit first though, not even physically, just psychologically. Absolutely literally fcuking everything has been coming up Ramsey recently, despite his tactics consistently nearly entirely of 'Right I'll murder my way out of this short term problem and worry about everything else in the world later on'. One difference between him and the other little shíts with absent-Daddy issues (Joffrey, Viserion, Robin) though is that he's not a physical coward, or certainly not to the same extent. If there's to be any consistency he'd have to go down fighting, not cowering because Sansa is threatening him with a sword or something, that'd just be stupid fan service.

it'll be some quick, unsatisfying, Omar Little style thing

Omar :( too soon :(
    If there's to be any consistency he'd have to go down fighting, not cowering because Sansa is threatening him with a sword or something, that'd just be stupid fan service.

I agree, I see him going down with a "Go on, do it, you haven't the balls" kind of attitude.

Course, if Sansa becomes Wardeness of the North then perhaps she could strip Ramsay of his lands and title and leave him maimed and low born?

Or maybe we could see some of her father in her if he's captured and sentenced to death.

Picture the scene, Brienne offers to execute him for her. Sansa refuses and takes the sword herself: "The one who passes the sentence should swing the sword." or whatever Ned's exact words from Ep. 1 were.

Or maybe we could see some of her father in her if he's captured and sentenced to death.

Picture the scene, Brienne offers to execute him for her. Sansa refuses and takes the sword herself: "The one who passes the sentence should swing the sword." or whatever Ned's exact words from Ep. 1 were.

Nice. Maybe they could do it at the same bit of rock Ned did the first guy.

I'd really love a call-back like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Sansa will only become Wardeness of the North if they kill Rickon. Plus there might be a letter floating about from Rob which legitimises Jon, which would make him the new Lord of Winterfell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

I have a theory that Ramsey being the ultimate bastard, that he will help the nights king get his troops through the wall. Absurd i know.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Sansa will only become Wardeness of the North if they kill Rickon. Plus there might be a letter floating about from Rob which legitimises Jon, which would make him the new Lord of Winterfell.

Does Warden of the North only pass through the male line? Presumably Bran is ahead of Rickon if so.

Will Jon be needing anyone to legitimise him after the rest of the Tower of Joy reveal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Sir Twenty Goodmen will turn on him.
    razorblunt wrote: »
    they never get the death they deserve.

Meryn Trant did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

He did beat a "general" of the Night's King to be fair.

He also seemed to be the one tasked with teaching other NW recruits how to fight with a sword such as Pip, Grenn, Olly and Sam. Tyrion himself refers to the good fortune Jon had growing up with a sword in his hand as opposed to your typical bum recruited.

So Jon is highly accomplished and once more is highly tried in one to one combat over the years than the Bastard of the Dreadfort, whose game is more insidious.

Not saying Ramsay is a bum at one to one combat but Jon is a war vet in comparison to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

It'll involve Theon chopping off his bollox, Ghost eating it, Sansa sticking a hot poker up his ass then maybe one of the Wildling giants using him as a lump hammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Sansa would be physically incapable of the feat.

It takes a monstrous amount of force to behead a human being cleanly and a seriously heavy weapon. If you remember, Theon had great difficulty in beheading Rodrik and you'd have to think pre-Ramsey Theon was many times physically stronger than Sansa and, unlike her, trained with weapons.

All idle speculation anyway- no doubt in my mind that Ramsey will fall in single combat with Grandmaester Pycelle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

It'll never happen but I'd love to see him treated like that man who tried to poison Dany, stripped naked, tied to a horse and forced to follow it through a desert with no water.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

It takes a monstrous amount of force to behead a human being cleanly and a seriously heavy weapon. If you remember, Theon had great difficulty in beheading Rodrik and you'd have to think pre-Ramsey Theon was many times physically stronger than Sansa and, unlike her, trained with weapons.

All idle speculation anyway- no doubt in my mind that Ramsey will fall in single combat with Grandmaester Pycelle.
    They also go on about Valerian swords being exceptionally sharp etc so might not need as much force to remove his head.

Ghost, Sansa or Theon to kill ramsay imo. Or a combo of the three.

I'd be happy enough for her to use a breadknife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

Are there other Bolton's beside Ramsay left?

Cos whatever happens the number one priority for the Starks should be to burn House Bolton off the face of Westeros.

If an executioner's weapon was used she could do it. Yes the weapon would be very heavy but that's the point of an executioner's axe or sword, it's not designed for combat. You lift it over your head and let gravity do the work.

That said I certainly wouldn't mind if she took a chop, almost killed him and he had to live in agony for a few seconds while she took a second or third swing at his neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

I imagine he will see a grizzly end on the show. Something to pay fans off for all the **** he has done.

But, I think it would probably be out of character for the Starks to do something nasty to him, I can see the Lord of Winterfell, who ever it is at the time, simply having him beheaded or hung.

Sansa probably wouldn't be able to do it physically, but Brienne is her sworn sword, and has half of Ned Stark's sword at her hip. I can see her being the one to step forward to do it. Jon would "pass the sentence and swing the sword" but he wont be Lord of Winterfell, and I think Rikon is ****ed, leaving Sansa.

Also, I don't think Jon is so amazing and Ramsey so crap that a fight between them would be onesided.

We saw Jon fight someone similar to Ramsey in Crasters Keep. Ramsey fights with short weapons, close to his enemy, unarmored. He is definitely a skilled fighter and will cause serious damage in the fight to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    He did beat a "general" of the Night's King to be fair.

He also seemed to be the one tasked with teaching other NW recruits how to fight with a sword such as Pip, Grenn, Olly and Sam. Tyrion himself refers to the good fortune Jon had growing up with a sword in his hand as opposed to your typical bum recruited.

So Jon is highly accomplished and once more is highly tried in one to one combat over the years than the Bastard of the Dreadfort, whose game is more insidious.

Not saying Ramsay is a bum at one to one combat but Jon is a war vet in comparison to him.

I disagree. Jon, like all sons of noblemen, is trained. Ramsay will also have been trained, albeit with less discipline than Jon. There is nothing to suggest Jon is the next Arthur Dayne - he can fight but "highly accomplished" is less pushing it and more giving it a great big kick. He trains the others in the Watch precisely because he had training. They're thieves and sons of bakers and carpenters.

As for killing the WW, that was down to luck rather than swordfighting skill. Sam also killed one ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Judging how Game Of Thrones usually goes, he'll probably die peacefully in his sleep of natural causes. :D

We spent three seasons waiting for the Starks to get revenge on Joffrey and in the end he got poisoned in what was mostly a political maneuver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

I disagree. Jon, like all sons of noblemen, is trained. Ramsay will also have been trained, albeit with less discipline than Jon. There is nothing to suggest Jon is the next Arthur Dayne - he can fight but "highly accomplished" is less pushing it and more giving it a great big kick. He trains the others in the Watch precisely because he had training. They're thieves and sons of bakers and carpenters.
    I'm not so sure that Ramsay would have been trained. After all he was the original Reek and was barely tolerated. His use of knives would indicate a certain street fighter experience but Jon is trained and battle hardened from his time beyond the wall and defendiing Castle Black.

I'd say advantage Jon in a straight fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Ramsay was "trained" by the original Reek and not a master of arms like Rodrik Cassell so I'd have Jon in the bastardbowl

Not to say he wouldn't be dangerous as he'd have a wild unpredictable style

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Ramsay was "trained" by the original Reek and not a master of arms like Rodrik Cassell so I'd have Jon in the bastardbowl

Not to say he wouldn't be dangerous as he'd have a wild unpredictable style

There was some recent fight of Jon's (maybe at Craster's Keep, can't recall) where he seemed to get caught on the hop by a dirty move as well, he still, somehow, has a bit of a blind spot for that sort of stuff I think. Physically it seems like he's probably bigger and stronger, he has more experience in face-to-face combat and he's probably better trained and seems to have a strong natural aptitude, in a fair fight he'd have the edge most likely, but therein lies the problem :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

TV version. Littlefinger will slip him the dagger rather than Jon or Sansa striking a blow. Petyr has to earn his way back in with Sansa some how, what better way than killing her evil husband.

Jon will rescue Rickon rather than fight Ramsay, hope I'm wrong mind you as Bastardbowl is one of the more fun fan theories to look forward too but I just think Littlefinger has to make up for whoring out Sansa like he did and killing Ramsay would do just that.

Books version Ramsay took off Ser Rodricks arm with a machete, Jon has a Valarian steel sword so I'd give if to Jon in the battle if they do cross swords the book is too far from the tv show now to really know what will happen until it is out.