Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2016: Round 5 - Spanish Grand Prix

• 14-05-2016 11:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭

A place to discuss the Spanish Grand Prix....yeah, that's all I got :o I still miss Frostie's F1 threads!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Just caught the end of P3 earlier and saw Max was a tenth up on Ricciardo. Looking forward to the battle between them. Danny will be sweating a little bit more now RBR have promoted a kid to the big team (presumably to keep other teams from signing him and he'll do no worse than Kvyat).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Button, Massa, Hulkenburg all a bit off the pace of their teammates for first run

Poor from Massa unless he had some technical issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

Red bulls looking really quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Kxiii wrote: »
    Red bulls looking really quick.

Would be great to see Max on the second row. Hope Alonso makes P3...looked quick enough there, didn't need to come out twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

They got the timing wrong for massa on the second run, he was the traffic that moved over for hulkenburg at the start of his run.

C4 commentary team had no idea what was going on. It took chandhok in the pit lane to clue them in

Alonso in to q3

Finally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Verstappen looking bloody impressive.

Wonder does max have a shot at third on grid or do Ferrari turn up the engine a bit for q3

Hamilton making mistake on his first run

Myrddin wrote: »
    Verstappen looking bloody impressive.

So far he has shown well, he has something special for sure.

I still hate red bull, they have no class

Amazing stuff from Red Bull. That car has really come on since the first race.

Both Ferrari struggling for grip near the end of lap, maybe just banker lap on old tyres

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Mega lap from ricciardo, there's a statement for his teammate. Red bull impressive there but what happened ferrari? Utterly hopeless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

Great from ricciardo considering he only had a single lap in Q3, be nice to see him leading into turn 1 tomorrow.

Yeah super laps from Hamilton and Ricciardo both at crunch time. Well done both of them. Max did very well I thought, although he looked very close to Rosberg starting that last lap. Be curious to see how his Q3 laps compared to his Q2 best time.

The Sky lads were saying that Red Bull looked fairly strong in race trim on the Medium tyre - here's hoping they get ahead of the Mercs at the start and ruffle some feathers for some of the race at least. :D

Ferrari must've changed something setup wise that sent them backwards. Hopefully they can correct that for the race, assuming it's something they can change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Good qually, really enjoyed it.

Verstappen for podium and driver of the day.

Ferrari seem to be going backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Well that was an exciting qualifying season today. Am delighted to see Alonso and Mclaren Honda in Q3 and at his home race too. Alonso must be very happy. Button not too far of it either. I was surprised do when I heard that Alonso was still using the old front wing and Button the new one thought it would have been the other way around.
    Lewis and Riccardo both done stunning laps and Max was ok. Ferrari not looking good here at all and Massa out in Q1 and then using excuses maybe he should have went out sooner and put in a fast lap then not wait till near the end. Would like to see the two Haas cars and maybe a Renault in the points tomorrow.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

AMKC wrote: »
    Well that was an exciting qualifying season today. Am delighted to see Alonso and Mclaren Honda in Q3 and at his home race too. Alonso must be very happy. Button not too far of it either. I was surprised do when I heard that Alonso was still using the old front wing and Button the new one thought it would have been the other way around.
    Lewis and Riccardo both done stunning laps and Max was ok. Ferrari not looking good here at all and Massa out in Q1 and then using excuses maybe he should have went out sooner and put in a fast lap then not wait till near the end. Would like to see the two Haas cars and maybe a Renault in the points tomorrow.

When it comes to new upgrades, McLaren swap which driver gets first go of it so Alonso will get the next upgrade first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭Harika

https://twitter.com/andrewbensonf1/status/731467811739041793

The gap between Renault and RedBull is becoming very obvious, if Renault really stepping up the game with the Canada update, they might be able to race for wins on their own. Hungary, Monaco and Singapore looks like also a good shot for them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Harika wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/andrewbensonf1/status/731467811739041793

The gap between Renault and RedBull is becoming very obvious, if Renault really stepping up the game with the Canada update, they might be able to race for wins on their own. Hungary, Monaco and Singapore looks like also a good shot for them too.

Renault are going to do nothing this year, they are racing an underdeveloped 2015 Lotus chassis, no way are they going to catch up in 2016. I would imagine they are already concentrating on development for 2017.

TBH I don't see how they can compete against Red Bull, it will be just like the Vettel years with RB's Newey car being the best Renault engined runner and the factory team getting creamed fortnightly; the reason they pulled out in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Is it just Newey that makes the difference between Red Bull and the Works Renault or is there more to why two teams with the same engine are in such different positions on the grid?

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

flazio wrote: »
    Is it just Newey that makes the difference between Red Bull and the Works Renault or is there more to why two teams with the same engine are in such different positions on the grid?

The current renault squad have just taken over a team that for a few years had been in financial trouble. They couldn't pay the bills so at that stage turning up with car and being able to take part is an achievement. It will therefore take them time to put together a winning team and car.

Worth adding also that Lotus had been running a merc drive train so this current chassis was designed with that in mind. Changing to a Renault package automatically means the chassis is compromised to make the new unit fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Everyone starting on Soft tyres, at least a 2-stop strategy for everyone - but a safety car could make it more interesting. If the first few corners don't go smoothly ..?

edit. did I jinx it? damn. :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

Must good chance of Lewis getting win today. Needs a good start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Lulz...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

****!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,538 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Woooooooooooohooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Lewis commits the biggest crime in motorsport.

That opens it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well I didn't expect to see that happen.

I mean holy mother of god :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

I wasn't expecting that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Greatest possible start ever to a grand prix :)

Holy crap! :D
    Brundle saying Rosberg equally to blame there. Come on Max!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Though Rosberg helped create that situation by cutting him off.

Let the debate begin! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Jesus

Wow, I wonder what the punishment is going to be and who's gonna get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Feck debate, that was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

F*ck sky love Hamilton

Sorry it has begun. :p

Merc officals not happy. I'm very happy though. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Autosport wrote: »
    Wow, I wonder what the punishment is going to be and who's gonna get it

Hamilton getting dropped to Manor.