Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ARtist In The Spotlight: Tang1

• 13-05-2016 3:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭

Thought it might be good to bring this thread back to life for the craic and Tang has kindly "volunteered" to be the next victim ARtist to take up the spotlight for the next week and be on the other side of the interrogation stick for once. Cheers Tang

I'll get the ball rolling with a few easy ones to open up.

When and why did you get into running?
    How did you find this forum and why did you start posting here?
    What is your favourite workout?
    What is your favourite beer?
    You play a bit of golf, how's your game?
    Are you any bit worried that TbL could beat you in your longawaited showdown next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Cheers E, feels bit different alright BEING asked the questions!!

When and why did you get into running?

Started running back in 2010 like some here to shed a few pounds after giving up the smokes. My first ever race was with my Dad doing the Galway Bay 10k, think I ran 52mins off very little training. After that I done a bit then stopped done a bit stopped, this continued till 2012 when I decided to take running a bit more seriously.

How did you find this forum and why did you start posting here?

I first joined Boards for golfing advice as my earliest posts will show, but as I became more serious about running in 2012 I wandered over here looking for advice on DCM and joined up to YoungAnne's Novices, I haven't left since!!

What is your favourite workout?

I enjoy 800m repeats to be honest, something like 8x800 off 90sec recoveries.

What is your favourite beer?

Ah beer, my current favourite tipple is Francis Big Bangin IPA by McGargles, had a few pints of it last Friday evening in the Longstone lovely hoppy IPA but not something you could drink all night at 7.1% ABV. My go to beer is anything by Kinnegar Brewing from the missus own county of Donegal, they don't brew a bad beer in my opinion and am partial to there IPA called Scraggy Bay or there Rye Ale called Rustbucket.

You play a bit of golf, how's your game?

My golf is shocking, have played once this year but there was a time I played off high single figures and golfed 5 times a week, I don't really miss it though do enjoy getting out when I can. My wife actually can outdrive me off the tee, hits the ball miles with a driver!!!

Are you any bit worried that TbL could beat you in your longawaited showdown next week?

As sure as night follows day I'll be trumping the Lemon next Tuesday evening, he had his chance last weekend to pay his fellow Galwegian martyboy48 off and take me out along the canal, his loss I'm afraid!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

How many training logs do you follow?

Do you run for a club?

Any long term goals?

Do you do anything to assist your running like strength work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

good on ya tang1!

You played GAA for the mother county to a fairly high standard - do you miss the team element of the sport or do you prefer the solitude of running? Would you ever go back to a team sport again?
    Having reached your goal of completing a marathon what's up next? - would you ever consider the longer distances?
    You have two very successful pacing gigs under your belt, would you consider joining the official pacers for the various races?
    Do you have a bucket list race for the coming years?
    Golf? really? the less said about that the better...
    Who is your favorite boardsie....? (I snuck that in)
    What is your proudest moment so far?
    a) in running
    b) in life
    What is the most positive thing about running for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Good man tang,

What is your post marathon goal?
    What do you eat for breakfast?
    Last album you bought/streamed?
    Didn't know you played ball, what position?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Hello Barry :D

- If you were a superhero what would your superpower be?

- which Harry Potter character are you most like (I'm loony Luna so you can't have her :p)

- have you ever broken the law? :D

- if your life was a film, what film would it be?

- what's your favourite chocolate bar and why?

- tell us a story from when you were in school

- tell us a story from when you were in Garda training in templemore

- what's the best thing about being a Garda?

- what's the worst?

- aside from your family and friends, what are the 3 most precious things in your life?

- if you weren't a Garda what job would you like?

- how did you meet your wife? Was it love at first sight?

- would you rather win a race or run a pb?

- what kind of stuff really annoys you?

- a genie pops out of one of your craft beer bottles and grants you one wish and one wish only. What would you wish for?

Cheers for the questions Ivory Tower,

How many training logs do you follow?

I follow quiet a few, not sure of the exact number. TbL's, Duanington's, FBOT's and dublin runner's logs are required reading. But there's so many other logs i read that I find entertaining and very beneficial when it comes to advice on running and real life stuff.

Do you run for a club?

No, I trained with a club last summer but never joined them. With my working hours I wouldn't have the chance to train with a club properly but I do want to represent one, fed up running for team tang1.

Any long term goals?

Not a man for looking to far into the future, so for remainder of the year it's sub 65 mins at the Mullingar 10 and sub 90 at the Athlone Half.

Do you do anything to assist your running like strength work?

I have a bad left hip and was given a programme to strengthen that up, I still do it as I know if I let it lapse the hip will start bothering me again.

What's the story with the awkward questions AM??!!

You played GAA for the mother county to a fairly high standard - do you miss the team element of the sport or do you prefer the solitude of running?

That's a pisstake & an insult rolled into one isn't it. Yes I played GAA to a decent level in Westmeath alright, I was brought up on GAA by my Dad. He's a raving Galway GAA fan, he taught me how to kick a ball like most young lads at 3-4 but the one thing I'll ALWAYS remember him telling me is 'You'll never be any good unless you can kick with both feet". To this day I don't know weather I'm naturally right or left footed, he bred it into me at such and early age. That was my biggest weapon, lads would think I was right footed so started calling to watch my right foot then I'd leave a fullback on his hole by kicked a goal or point with my left. I represented Westmeath at U-14 to minor and was on the periphery of the U-21 team.

I'm a loner at heart so I much prefer the solitude of running, nobody to annoy me!!!

Would you ever go back to a team sport again?

No, I'm to old now sure!!

Having reached your goal of completing a marathon what's up next? - would you ever consider the longer distances?

Not at the minute, but having helped Anto at the Donadea 50k the past few years, it's an event that intrigues me.

You have two very successful pacing gigs under your belt, would you consider joining the official pacers for the various races?

I'd love to if I'm honest, I was only talking to Murph_D about it yesterday to tell the truth. I'd love to help people to achieve there goal times. It's bred into to me from when young & the job I do to help others out, it's second nature at this stage.

Do you have a bucket list race for the coming years?

The Comrades Marathon in South Africa.

Golf? really? the less said about that the better...
    Who is your favorite boardsie....? (I snuck that in)

Well seeing you asked I better say you AM, your fab!!!

What is your proudest moment so far?
    a) in running

That's easy, running Rotterdam is easily the proudest running memory I have had yet. I enjoyed every second of it as most of you well know.

b) in life

Life for me is about my family, nothing else plain and simple. You may say that's cliched or whatever but the day I got married and the birth of our two children are and ALWAYS will be the proudest days in my life.

What is the most positive thing about running for you?

The people, call a spade a spade I wouldn't know you only for running and the same with others. I was bullied badly as a youngster if I tell the truth, constant day to day name calling about the size of my ears, Sam Maguire being people's particular favourite. Football at the time was my out as I excelled at it. When I was on a football pitch I felt invincible, I could do stuff with a Gaelic football lads could only dream about so I played as much as I could. Running is my out now, I'm nowhere near as good at it as with the football but unlike my earlier years the people I have met through running have been nothing but kind and welcoming. Boards is a massive help to me in many ways.

Thanks for the questions Cng,

What is your post marathon goal?

To break 65 mins for 10 miles and 90 mins for the Half marathon, hopefully will have them ticked off by the end of the summer.

What do you eat for breakfast?

I don't eat breakfast, haven't since I was a teen. Bad habit I know, have tried and tried to get into a routine to eat at breakfast but always fall off the wagon!!

Last album you bought/streamed?

Last song I streamed was by a band called Icarus and the song is called "Home". It was my Rotterdam build up song.

Didn't know you played ball, what position?

Favourite position was midfield but I played most of my ball at full/corner forward. I was more dangerous closer to the goal, but loved fielding a football. I could out jump lads 4-5 inches taller than me by just timing my run right. My Dad always told me the story of the great Galway midfielder of the 60's, Sean Purcell. Purcell could catch the ball facing his own goal and turn mid air and land facing the opposition goal ready to attack. I never could do it, but it sounds majestic.

Hey Kate, thanks for wandering over from the Darkside and asking a few questions,

- If you were a superhero what would your superpower be?

Speed, like the Flash. Could win any race I wanted then!!

- which Harry Potter character are you most like (I'm loony Luna so you can't have her :p)

I have never seen a Harry Potter film so haven't a clue on that one, sorry.

- have you ever broken the law? :D

Everyday driving to work, have 8 penalty points for breaking the speed limit!!

- if your life was a film, what film would it be?

Austin Powers International Man of Mystery, it's practically like looking in the mirror sure.

- what's your favourite chocolate bar and why?

Wispa, love the way it melts in your mouth.

- tell us a story from when you were in school

I was undefeated from junior infants to sixth class in the 100 yard sprint at our school sports day.

- tell us a story from when you were in Garda training in templemore

I was chased naked across the main square in the Garda College by Guards while in training, if I was caught or identified I would have been shown the door. Drink was involved of course.

- what's the best thing about being a Garda?

Free coffee!! Ah no, helping members of the public out. It's my favourite part of the job interacting with members of the general public and having the banter and helping them out. Most people are grateful for the Guards and having us there, the little bit of appreciation means a lot to us.

- what's the worst?

Ourselves, best job for shooting ourselves in the foot. We don't help ourselves out at all with some of the $hite that hits the press about us, not saying it shouldn't hit the press but it should not happen in a so called professional organisation like ours.

- aside from your family and friends, what are the 3 most precious things in your life?

GAA county medals, my adidas Tempo Boost and my health.

- if you weren't a Garda what job would you like?

The Army, I originally wanted to join the Army but my Dad wouldn't let me after spending 36 years in it himself. I had applied to go through cadet school in Naas but turned the interview down as I was after getting the Guards.

- how did you meet your wife? Was it love at first sight?

Like every Garda relationship, drunken night in Copper Face Jacks. We had known each other for two years but hadn't spoken till that night.

- would you rather win a race or run a pb?

PB all the way, only in this running lark to beat myself.

- what kind of stuff really annoys you?

Being late, if I have to be somewhere at a certain time I'll be there at least 20 mins early. No excuse in my eyes for being late, leave on time you'll be there on time.My wife on the other hand will ALWAYS be 20 mins late!!

- a genie pops out of one of your craft beer bottles and grants you one wish and one wish only. What would you wish for?

Playing Quarterback for the Pittsburgh Steelers and leading them to a 35-28 overtime win over the Baltimore Ravens in the Super Bowl and winning Super Bowl MVP for my troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

Next marathon.,sub3 or not?
    How much of a handicapp will u give me on tuesday?
    Has my name ever come up on Gpulse?
    For some reason i always thought u were a track fairie,have u ever raced on track?
    Dinner date,,4 burds or 4 lads?

Alright Anto, thanks for the questions,

Next marathon.,sub3 or not?

Not, next marathon I hope to do will be Barcelona next March where I hope to target sub 3.10 all going well. If that goes to plan I'll target sub 3 for the next one. Don't think I'll make the gains endurance wise between now and Barcelona for an attempt at sub 3. Endurance is my weakness.

How much of a handicapp will u give me on tuesday?

I have €50 quid coming my way from the Lemon next Tuesday, was going to let him put it towards his new false teeth but if you finish within 45 secs of me Tuesday evening pick the charity of your choice.

Has my name ever come up on Gpulse?

Not at your current address but jaysis you got up to some stuff while you lived in Ballyer!!!

For some reason i always thought u were a track fairie,have u ever raced on track?

Never raced on the track, have never actually ran on a proper tartan track to be honest.

Dinner date,,4 burds or 4 lads?

Ah 4 burds all the way, they have the fun bits I like, as much as I like the old wrinkly Lemon. Off top of my head Katy Perry, Bianca Kajlich, Miriam O Callaghan and TbL's missus would be my dream dinner 5 ball!! Mind you if reincarnation existed I'd be happy to come back as Tom Hardy or Damien Lewis #mancrush.

Great answers B!! will have to come up with some more :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi tang, thanks for taking this on (did you have a choice?)

- why did you stop GAA?

- what's your favourite distance?

- is this the distance you are best at? (If not, what is?)

- how low can you go at both the above?

- favourite session?

- favourite running shoe?

- run uninjured for the rest of your life or €10 000 000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

You better take the 10m

Hi DG, ah in fairness to E he gave me the choice!!

- why did you stop GAA?

Kind of a story I don't like, my Dad was heavily involved in looking after our local GAA pitch and there was a falling out over it. He gave Galway the OK to play a challenge game on it once and there was a backlash over it. It was remarked "Who the f is he to give anyone permission to play on the pitch, he's not even from Westmeath". My Dad looked after that pitch like a baby, the playing surface was pristine when he was taking care of it.

Now when I heard that after all the years i gave to football in the parish between schools, underage, adult level I had choice words for the hierarchy in the club to shove there football where sun don't shine!! I never kicked a ball competitively since. I transferred to Naomh Mearnog in Portmarnock for my first year working in Dublin but never kicked a ball for them.

- what's your favourite distance?

Favourite distance is ten mile, I think it's a great distance to race. You can't go completely flat out but can't hold back on it either.

- is this the distance you are best at? (If not, what is?)

Not my best distance, PB wise, my 5k would be my strongest. I've a bit of speed in my legs but my endurance wouldn't be my strongest trait running wise. My marathon PB would be slow on McMillan compared to my 5k and 5 mile.

- how low can you go at both the above?

I'd like to think I could go sub 18 at 5k and sub 63 at 10 mile, may take a few years but I'll enjoy trying to get there.

- favourite session?

As stated previously I like 800 repeats, 8x800 of 90sec rec or something along those lines.

- favourite running shoe?

Adidas Boston 4, I had a pair in bright yellow, I like colourful runners. Think I put over 800 miles up in those Bostons before I let them go, maybe the reason I hurt my knee when I did.

- run uninjured for the rest of your life or €10 000 000?

The money sorry, like most have quiet a few outstanding bills that my running will never pay for I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

What are the strongest and weakest parts of your running from a physical point of view and why?

What are the strongest and weakest parts of your running from a psychological point of view and why?

Favourite crisps?

You win a prize of two weeks holiday for you and the family along with entry into any race in the world, where do you go and does the holiday or the race take precedence?

IvoryTower wrote: »
    You better take the 10m

Your on the ball there IT!!!

Thanks Clearier,

What are the strongest and weakest parts of your running from a physical point of view and why?

Weakest from a physical point of view is I'm injury prone, shin splints, plantar fasciitis, two knee operations, torn labrum in my hip, stress fractures, all in the past 4 years but I keep coming back for more. My hamstrings and thighs, have fairly large upper legs and there the only part of my legs that have never given me bother or kept me from running.

What are the strongest and weakest parts of your running from a psychological point of view and why?

My strongest is I'm thick, I won't give in easy. I like to think I dig in as best I can when the going gets tough. Trim 10 mile this year being an example, I suffered badly from mile 7 to 8 but there was no way I was falling off FBOT's coattails and giving in. Weakest, I have very little confidence in myself at times and can choose the easy option instead of aiming higher.

Favourite crisps?

Perri Onion Rings.

You win a prize of two weeks holiday for you and the family along with entry into any race in the world, where do you go and does the holiday or the race take precedence?

The Carlsbad 5k in California, I know I said The Comrades was on my bucket list to do race wise but I love the States and if I had a choice to do any race there including marathons it would be Carlsbad. It holds the world road 5k records for men and women, surely a plodder like me could run fast there to. The race takes precedence of course, I'm aiming for a PB sure!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

What has been your worst race?

What would you be doing with all that time if you weren't able to run?

Who is your fave A/R poster?

Fish, beef or chicken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Donughts. Glazed or plain?

Sub 60 10mile or sub 3 marathon

Does your wife run?

Why don't you use your football experience to coach local kids?

Funniest on the job story?

Can't believe you included Miriam O'Callaghan on your guest list.

Thanks for the questions B,

What has been your worst race?

Think I touched on this a bit last Sunday with Murph_D and yourself, the St Cocas 5k last year in Kilcock. I just executed that race so badly, went off to quick, tried pushing through it, gave up instead of steadying down and finishing the race out, wasn't in a good place mentally either at the time. It was a mess from start to finish. Redemption is coming though June 24th!!

What would you be doing with all that time if you weren't able to run?

It's something I honestly have never given thought to, running helps me out big time with my mental health and it's an out I depend on if I'm having a $hitty day as I know things will be better after a run regardless of length or time. I do a bit of cycling to but don't get the same gains mentally from it.

Who is your fave A/R poster?

Ah you can't ask that! If I want to laugh it's TbL, if I want to learn something about running its Myles Splitz/Krusty Clown, if I want straight talking it's FBOT, if it's how to train and race properly it's Duanington. You see what I'm getting at.

Fish, beef or chicken?

Fish all the way, love it. My Dads home house is 25 yards from the Atlantic Ocean and I spent most of my summers there. Fish was the staple diet along with homegrown spuds and veg so that's where my fondness for it came from. I love monkfish, such a meaty fish and prawns, could eat prawns everyday. Was in Bubba Gump Shrimp in Miami on our honeymoon once and ate my body weight in prawns!!

Cheers V, knew I'd get a doughnut question from you!!

Donughts. Glazed or plain?

Don't eat them, more of a Blueberry muffin man to be honest.

Sub 60 10mile or sub 3 marathon

Sub 3 hour marathon, I don't think you need a sub 60 ten mile to run sub 3 in a marathon. I think sub 3 is more attainable than a sub 60, I don't think I could ever run sub 60 ten mile but do think I could go sub 3 in a marathon.

Does your wife run?

She's just recently taken to it and loves it, she's aiming for her first 5k next month.

Why don't you use your football experience to coach local kids?

I'm going to look into that one, the young lad is just after starting to play so I'd like to help him out and other boys/girls and do some coaching courses.

Funniest on the job story?

I was on my way home one weekend to Tang for what was then known as the long weekend in our job. Anyway finished work at 2pm, home to where I was living in Santry at the time to change my clothes and grab a big bag of dirty washing for the Ma to keep her busy over the weekend. Stuff into the boot and off I set, up Santry Ave and onto the M50 in traffic. Take the M4 exit and heading out past the Spa Hotel. In the overtaking lane and I see this car few cars behind with blue lights and sirens that I had noticed earlier on the M50.

So pull into the slow lane and the unmarked Mondeo pulls in behind me and indicates for me to pull over. Ah here I think I wasn't going that hard. Pull in anyway and step out of the car, next thing I have two Uzi machine guns levelled at me by the boys in the unmarked car from Special Branch, and am told not to move a fffin step. Do as I'm told, the driver approaches me and says 'Bit of a sick fcuk are we?', Ha says I. Open the boot of your car now, so I do as I'm told ****ting myself a bit. Open the boot and the boys spot a big Adidas bag stuffed to gills. 'What's in the bag?" Why I ask, get a few more fooks thrown at me.

I tell them it's a bag of dirty washing, open it we want to see they tell me. So I pull out a pair of smelly jocks and start waving it in there noses and said what the hell is going on, I'm a member myself and produce the badge. They ask me what's the story with my car, I tell them it's a Golf what are ye on about. They had done a reg check on my car on the M50 and it came back with and enquiry on it "Known for bestiality in Tang". One of the lads had put it on my car earlier in the week unbeknownst to me. Two boys with the Uzis thought I had a dead animal or something in the Adidas bag, yer man was only getting me back in fairness for getting him with a black cat banger while he was sitting on the bog!!!

Can't believe you included Miriam O'Callaghan on your guest list.

I wouldn't have been a fan till I met the woman in the flesh through work, take it from me the tv does her no justice what so ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

What has running taught you about yourself that you hadn't realised previously?

What's your favourite/most useful piece of running gear?

What are the most useful running tips you picked up from other runners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

What's your PB's?
    What's your favourite distance race?
    What's your running goals for the rest of the year?

tang1 wrote: »
    Hey Kate, thanks for wandering over from the Darkside and asking a few questions,
    I came from the light :p

And sure while I'm here ....

If you were reincarnated as an animal would you rather be a bull or a stallion? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Do you consider Rotterdam a flat course?
    Will you run Dublin Marathon in the future?
    What annoys you most about this forum?
    Do you follow Westmeath hurling, they are having a great season so far. Going to face Galway soon I think?
    Did you ever play against my cousin Tony Ruane, a tempemental corner back with the emphasis on temper? Cant remember what club he played for.
    Are Dublin beatable this year?
    Do you follow top level athletics?
    And finally the question every Mayo man asks anyone, can mayo win Sam? (The answer to this question is yes even though it's no or "who is this Sam?" If you happen to be a non irish person)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Good stuff B. Interesting read so far. Especially the Galway connection. Strong links with Galway myself. The Grandfather won an all ireland with them way back .

- Irish athlete you most admire past and present?

- if money was no object and you had the means to train professionally full time for a specific goal. What would the event and goal be?

- favourite post race meal?

- any pre race routine that if you didn't do it might affect your mental preparation?

- Which Dublin footballer would you love to transfer to Westmeath if you could and why?

If you were reincarnated as an animal would you rather be a bull or a stallion? :D

He's gonna say stallion :D

Cheers The Muppet,

What has running taught you about yourself that you hadn't realised previously?

That I'm more injury prone as I get older!! In all the years I played football I never once suffered a serious injury of any kind. Since I've taken up running in my early 30's I've probably suffered from most running injuries you can get. Time waits for no man!!

What's your favourite/most useful piece of running gear?

I bought a Kalenji water proof jacket last December when I committed to running Rotterdam as I knew I'd be doing plenty of running in the rain. Not once did I get wet underneath when I wore the jacket and I ran in some downpours during December and January. Best €30 I've spent on a piece of running gear.

What are the most useful running tips you picked up from other runners?

ultrapercy offered me a piece of advice this time last year regarding how to do repetitions in sessions correctly, I used to flake off full throttle on each rep and be struggling to hang on at the end of each rep which would result sometimes in me not doing the session to completion. He told me to work into the desired pace on each rep rather than going hell for leather from the off and it's served me well since I took it on board and has made sessions far more enjoyable as a result to.

Cheers CFR,

What's your PB's?

5k - 18.47 in May '13
    5mile - 31.43 in March '13
    10k - 40.54 in November '15
    10mile - 66.41 in February '16
    Half - 1.31.39 in May '13
    Marathon - 3.24.47 in April '16

What's your favourite distance race?

Love running ten miles, great challenge that you have to pace correctly or your goosed. You can't flake off like a 10k or play it a bit conservative like a Half.

What's your running goals for the rest of the year?

Break 65mins for 10 miles and 90mins for the Half all going well.

A bull, this may end our friendship, but I hate horses, scared $hitless of the things. Got thrown off one when I was about 12 and was thrown onto a concrete post as came off, resulted in a lump on my head the size of a golf ball, so my fear stems from that. Have no fear of Bulls!!

Haha no bull is a good answer! Longer breeding season ;)

Thanks for the questions J, hope your running is going well,

Do you consider Rotterdam a flat course?

I have nothing else to compare it to, so yeah I'd consider it flat. Compared to some of the halfs I've ran its practically downhill!!

Will you run Dublin Marathon in the future?

I certainly hope to, it won't be this year as myself and coach agreed one marathon this year is enough coming from my injury background.

What annoys you most about this forum?

Certain posters purposely stirring stuff and trying to get under people's skin you can see it a mile off that there doing it deliberately but they are not breaking any rules.

Do you follow Westmeath hurling, they are having a great season so far. Going to face Galway soon I think?

I'm from the south of the county and there's only one hurling club there based in Athlone. Hurling is mainly concentrated north of Mullingar. I'd keep an eye out for there results but know very little about the game in the county.

Did you ever play against my cousin Tony Ruane, a tempemental corner back with the emphasis on temper? Cant remember what club he played for.

There was two Ruane brothers who played for Loughnavalley, a brutal junior team who's clubs first team played out of Division 7 in Westmeath. Our third team was in Division 7 to and I was one of the named players for a few years who played for all 3 adult teams as I was young. One played midfield Colm I think and was handy, thick as a ditch with a temper but strong as an ox and farmer fit, hated playing against him! He had a brother who played in backs but not sure of his name

Are Dublin beatable this year?

Plain and simple, no. There supremely talented and Jim Gavin has them believing it's up to themselves how many they want to win. They have huge pick and bucket loads of money at there disposal to. Other counties are playing catch up I'm afraid.

Do you follow top level athletics?

A bit, if there athletics on tv I'll watch it or record it. Do my best to follow the top level Irish athletes and what there doing. I think it was sad to see Mark Kenneally not getting a chance to have a go at marathon qualifying this time round, great runner and top bloke to boot.

And finally the question every Mayo man asks anyone, can mayo win Sam? (The answer to this question is yes even though it's no or "who is this Sam?" If you happen to be a non irish person)

Mayo can win Sam no bother, they just have to stop talking themselves out of it. The current team has some great footballers on it and it would be a shame for them to keep going and not win Sam. I think it's a mental thing with the Mayo footballers. To many great Mayo teams and footballers have gone unrewarding over the years because of it. Because it certainly ain't down to lack of quality teams or players.

Cheers R, great to see your getting back to your former shape,

- Irish athlete you most admire past and present?

This will be controversial but I'll stick to my principles, Martin Fagan, sky was the limit for the man and he messed up. I do believe the depression story as a sufferer myself I know when your down crazy ideas can go through your head making you make hair brained decisions. He was a beautiful runner to watch in full flow, it was if he barely touched the road as he ran. Loss of a great talent that a country like ours can't afford to lose.

- if money was no object and you had the means to train professionally full time for a specific goal. What would the event and goal be?

The 5k, it's my strongest event PB wise, and the one I could improve most at I feel as there is/was bit of speed in my legs. Training to run the Olympic 5k and medal, none of this make the final rubbish, aim high.

- favourite post race meal?

Alcohol!!

- any pre race routine that if you didn't do it might affect your mental preparation?

Not writing my children's names on my hand before racing, helps looking down at them when the going gets tough in a race to dig in more for them.

- Which Dublin footballer would you love to transfer to Westmeath if you could and why?

Connolly, I despise the way he has to bring the dirt and hard man stuff into his game but there is no doubting the lads talent. I used to kick frees with both feet like him to, it's a dying art. He's the first man I seen do it since Maurice Fitz. When Connolly is on his game he's one of the few players in the country who could beat a team by himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Great read B and well done for taking this on. Never knew you played GAA to such a high level. Few questions for you :)

When your kids time comes would you guide them towards running over the GAA?

Would you abolish the leinster championship if you had the power?

Is the marathon the longest you will run or would you be tempted by an ultra?

Cheers J, keep them legs fresh for Tuesday evening!!

When your kids time comes would you guide them towards running over the GAA?

GAA is in my heart, so I'll probably encourage that first but won't push it on them. My Dad never pushed it on me but was delighted when I showed such a big interest at a young age so he done his best in an encouraging way for me to improve and progress at it. To be honest it broke his heart a small bit when I stopped, to this day when I go down home he asks me when I'm going playing again!!! I hope to be the same as him whatever they show an interest in sports wise.

Would you abolish the leinster championship if you had the power?

No because the likes of the Kildares, Meaths and Laois' am sure have aspirations to knocking the Dubs of there perch in the coming years. The rest after that in Leinster are at nothing I'm afraid. My own county getting to a Leinster Final last year shows how poor the standard of football is within the province and that's not me being bitter it's just the truth.

I work with a lad who came on transfer lately from Galway, he was on the periphery of the Galway senior panel a few years back but he transferred to what is regarded as one of the stronger club sides in Meath, he says the standard of club football in Meath is shocking. Unless that improves Meath won't be doing jack for a while in Leinster.

Is the marathon the longest you will run or would you be tempted by an ultra?

Would like to do the Donadea 50k someday if Anto lets me, but not for a few years yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Hi Barry,

1. Running Rotterdam was a highlight for you - what made the difference in your training this time that helped you get to the start line after the previous disappointments?

2. Why are there so many runners in the Gardai?

3. Pain - you seem to have a gift for absorbing it. What's your secret?

Thanks for the answers so far.

Hey Denis, cheers for the questions,

1. Running Rotterdam was a highlight for you - what made the difference in your training this time that helped you get to the start line after the previous disappointments?

Two words, Myles Splitz plus training way smarter. He oversaw my training and made sure I was following tough days with easier ones and longer runs with recovery days. Just I trained smarter thanks to him keeping an eye on me. I don't some hair brained stuff in the past on my own and look back shaking my head at it now. I remember doing a 18 mile LSR few years back with MP stuff at the end then the following evening was scratching my head wondering why I found it so hard to break 20 mins in a 5k race. No wonder I got injured so much!!

2. Why are there so many runners in the Gardai?

A lot of Guards are very conscious about keeping themselves fit and in shape, there are the exceptions I know but where I'm currently based there's only 3-4 of the station party who are not active in some way regularly. One of us finished 3rd in the Irish Elites race last year at DCM and there's plenty in the job that regularly knock out sub 2.45 marathons. The working hours are actually quiet conducive to training and running races.

3. Pain - you seem to have a gift for absorbing it. What's your secret?

I'm thick & stubborn I suppose, i don't like stuff getting the better of me whatever it is. Oh there has been times when I have given in to it but not to many. Think that famous post by tunguska helps to where he said to embrace it and it will pass and it always does in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great stuff so far B...

- which PB do you now consider to be your weakest - coming off the back off Rotterdam
    - Do you think long term in terms of PBs or do you stick to medium term goals?
    - What drives you on in your training? I know there are times that I question my sanity, you must have such times yourself?
    - If you could re-run one race from the past 12 months and give it another go, which would you pick and why?
    - do you train with\without music?
    - 3 albums to take to a desert island?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭aero2k

I'm really enjoying this - great questions and even greater answers. I'm particularly fascinated by the football stuff - I didn't realise you had played to such a high level.

I have to point out though that the only safe answer to the favourite boardsie question is RQ - I'm surprised she hasn't been on giving out.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Playing Quarterback for the Pittsburgh Steelers and leading them to a 35-28 overtime win over the Baltimore Ravens in the Super Bowl and winning Super Bowl MVP for my troubles.

Why the Steelers? Would you be wearing that gawd awful bumblebee gear they sported this year?!

Would it be a hail mary, 99 yard rush or perfectly executed clock managed 3rd down littered winning drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Well Tang, great reading.

If you could be the Boss of a one-man station anywhere in the country, where would that be?

What's you favourite non sporting book?

What's your favourite sports book?

What Soccer team, if any do you follow?

What's the one piece of advice in relation to running, you received that you would pass on to a newbie??

Favourite all time International sports person ?
    Favourite all time Irish sports star?

Retirement is a few years away, but What's your next dream job???

What's your favourite TV programme?

Cheers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Hi Tang,

Loving the answers so far. I only have one and it's one I've been meaning to ask on your log for a while.

This may seem like a bizarre way to start a question but do you think that your previous injuries were almost a "blessing" in disguise in terms of your first marathon experience? Obviously blessing isn't the right word and they were no doubt **** at the time but do you think they ultimately made you better prepared in terms of being a better runner, more miles done before tackling the distance etc. Sorry if that comes across strange, just interested in your perspective of it all.

Apologies about delay in answering folks, our wee one was admitted to Crumlin late last night, she's was very poorly the past 24 hrs but had picked up a bit by time I was leaving the hospital this evening. Will get around to answering the questions in next while.

Cheers D, well done yesterday, not the result you wanted but a solid run that no doubt will stand to you.

- which PB do you now consider to be your weakest - coming off the back off Rotterdam

I think there all weak D to be honest, apart from my 5k I think they all should be better than what they are. Plenty to work on for the rest of the year.

- Do you think long term in terms of PBs or do you stick to medium term goals?

Don't like looking to far ahead so medium term, only two I'm concerned with for the rest of 2016 are my 10 mile & Half, if other PB's tumble in the lead up to those races that's a bonus but I'm only focused on those in the medium term

- What drives you on in your training? I know there are times that I question my sanity, you must have such times yourself?

I nearly jacked the running in altogether in Autumn 2014 when I gimped my hip, genuinely had enough was fed up getting injured and basically had my fill with running. Done nothing for a while but the wise old sole that is my wife encouraged me to get back to it, try once more and if I broke again leave it at that so that's what I did. Got help from Mark Kenneally and got back on the road, I've been injury free since January 2015 you could say, so I'm thankful for that, I won't question the sanity yet as I'm just glad to be running for so long injury free, hope that makes sense.

- If you could re-run one race from the past 12 months and give it another go, which would you pick and why?

Kinvara Half in March, re-run it without my hip locking up and finally break 90 mins that I was on for before it happened.

- do you train with\without music?

Without running the roads, with if I'm just doing a recovery run around the local GAA pitch or if I'm using the canal where there is no possibility of meeting traffic. Far to dangerous on the roads I run to have headphones on.

- 3 albums to take to a desert island?

The 4th Dimension - Around the Day in 80 Worlds
    The Sound Crowd - Crowd Control Volume 2
    The Prodigy - Music for the Jilted Generation

I encourage anybody to sit down, open and clear your mind a small bit and listen to 'Sixth Season' by the Sound Crowd, impossible for that song NOT to put you in good form. Piece of musical genius in my opinion, but I'll be ripped to shreds for having that opinion.

Cheers shotgun,

Why the Steelers? Would you be wearing that gawd awful bumblebee gear they sported this year?!

The Steelers because I had a great aunt God rest her who lived in Pittsburgh so them because of the family ties. There's a photo down in Connemara in my Grandparents of my Dad and his 6 brothers, big gorilla Connemara mountain men apart from the youngest uncle who was only 4-5. They all had tshirts on with numbers of the famous Pittsburgh defence of the 70's.

Dad - 75 - 'Mean' Joe Greene
    Colm - 78 - Dwight White
    Liam - 68 - LC Greenwood
    Bartley - 63 - Ernie Holmes
    Sean - 59 - Jack Ham
    Seamus- 58 - Jack Lambert
    Maidhc - 47 - Mel Blount

The Steelers Defence of the '70s is the best defensive unit in NFL history bar nobody, that unit played at the highest level for over ten years and won four Superbowls. People say the 85 Bears or 00 Ravens were the best ever, for a one, two year period maybe tops for both, they wouldn't hold a candle to the 70's Steelers for longevity or titles won. Art Rooney buying the franchise for $2,500 that is now worth over $1.9 billion isn't bad business now!!! Thought the Bumblebee kit was cool but I'm biased.

Would it be a hail mary, 99 yard rush or perfectly executed clock managed 3rd down littered winning drive?

A 4th quarter drive ala Big Ben in 2008 against the Cardinals and threading the needle to Santonio Holmes with 35 secs left would be the way I'd do it.

Cheers Anne, congrats again on the great PB Friday evening, that 5 mile PB needs to be updated!!

If you could be the Boss of a one-man station anywhere in the country, where would that be?

Jaysis you got me there!!! My knowledge on one man stations wouldn't be great, I think Longwood was so for closeness I'll say that.

What's you favourite non sporting book?

I haven't read a non-sporting book since I read Wuthering Heights for my leaving in '97 so I'll have to pick that!!

What's your favourite sports book?

There Life's Work - Story of the 1970's Pittsburgh Steelers. Great read and some sad stories in it to. The Steelers had a famous centre called Mike Webster who played for them in the 70's, the centre is the guy who pitches the ball back to the quarterback so comes in for a fair amount of punishment. He died in 2002 of CTE a neurodegenerative disease, but doctors reckon he had been in the equivalent of 25,000 car crashes from playing American Football throughout his life.

What Soccer team, if any do you follow?

Manchester United, hard watching them this season, jeez!!!

What's the one piece of advice in relation to running, you received that you would pass on to a newbie??

Stay away from TbL!!!

Favourite all time International sports person ?

Michael Jordan, greatest basketball player of all time. I have an All Ireland Schools medal from 96/97 for U16. Wasn't much use but loved the game, used it more to improve my jumping for the GAA.

Favourite all time Irish sports star?

I don't actually have a favourite Irish sports star, I admire a few like Roy Keane and Sonia O Sullivan but that's about it. I've never genuinely had a Sports Star who was my hero, don't buy that whole thing really. My hero is my Dad for teaching me what he did and serving 9 tours in the Lebanon so his family had food on the table. He was captured by the Hezbollah in 1981 for about 24 hours, it's when they realised he was Irish and a 'friendly' that they freed him. That's proper hero stuff in my eyes rather than overpaid spoilt prima-donna sports stars full of there own $hite.

Retirement is a few years away, but What's your next dream job???

Retirement!! Way to far down the road for me to even think about.

What's your favourite TV programme?

Only Fools and Horses, never gets old and is still hilariously funny to this day. I like stupid television, something that doesn't take to much concentration to watch. Spend enough of my day being serious!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Apologies about delay in answering folks, our wee one was admitted to Crumlin late last night, she's was very poorly the past 24 hrs but had picked up a bit by time I was leaving the hospital this evening. Will get around to answering the questions in next while.

I hope she's ok Barry? must have been a tough day for you and the family.

annapr wrote: »
    I hope she's ok Barry? must have been a tough day for you and the family.

She seemed to be improving throughout the day Anna, so we're hoping she's over the worst. She's only a small little mite, not a big bruiser like her big brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Hannibelle Smeeeth

Really enjoying the read Tang. Loving the GAA angle too and the stance you took.

I dont have a question, but couldnt continue on reading without saying sorry to read your daughter is so poorly. Hope she's improving and is home soon.