Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stopped with no tax

• 13-05-2016 12:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭

I was stopped this evening by traffic corps, no real reason, just saw a group of young lads in a sporty car. I only have the car 2 weeks and have no tax displayed, i havnt recieved my log book back yet

The guard approached the window, asked if i was the owner and for my license etc. Took my license. Looked at the lack of disc. Then walked to the back of my car and began writing in a note pad or booklet he had.

He then arrived back to the window, without me even telling him he knew i had just bought the car (ran the plates i assume) he just said to me i need to display tax or ill be stopped again. Handed my license said have a nice evening and walked away.

Im just a bit paranoid about what he was writing on his notepad... ive heard people thinking theyve been let off with offences only to get a ticket and points in the post few weeks later.

Was he just recording the details of the stop? Or can i expect a fine and points for no tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It shouldn't take 2 weeks to get the logbook, where did you buy it from, could the car be stolen or cloned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭jordanfaf

It shouldn't take 2 weeks to get the logbook, where did you buy it from, could the car be stolen or cloned?

Ownership has changed to me on their database. So the log book has gone through. Just not arrived to my house yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

jordanfaf wrote: »
    Ownership has changed to me on their database. So the log book has gone through. Just not arrived to my house yet

He may have been making a note of stopping you to put in the pulse system later so if you are caught again without the tax in order the Garda will know you were previously warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭polarbearhead

No points for tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

You do not need to wait for the log book to tax the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I was stopped this evening by traffic corps, no real reason, just saw a group of young lads in a sporty car. I only have the car 2 weeks and have no tax displayed, i havnt recieved my log book back yet

I always love these sort of statements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I remember a fella giving out about a Garda always picking on him and harassing him. When the judge asked the Garda about this he simply said "He always has drugs or knives on him." They guy didn't seem to understand that this was legitimate reason for him to be constantly searched.

To be fair there was no visible reason, wasnt speeding, gave proper indications, nothing illegal or no modifications on the car. It is however a car that warrants police attention. Very powerful Renault Clio RS with 4 young lads in it. Im not complaining, the guards doing his job and a good one at that as i had no tax displayed. This was my first time ever being oulled over and ive never had a run in with the guards before. Only reason for posting here is im wonderng if the guards keep written/digital records of all stops, which could explain what he was writing.

Thanks all for the responses. Id assume he would have told me if i was getting a ticket, or even seized the car as he was in his right to do

To be fair there was no visible reason,
    i had no tax displayed.

Which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

You do not need to wait for the log book to tax the car.

Correct. I bought a car last Thursday. Haven't received reg. document as of yet.Checked the Motor Tax.ie website today and change of ownership was recorded. Retrieved my pin and taxed the car.

To be fair there was no visible reason, wasnt speeding, gave proper indications, nothing illegal or no modifications on the car. It is however a car that warrants police attention. Very powerful Renault Clio RS with 4 young lads in it. Im not complaining, the guards doing his job and a good one at that as i had no tax displayed. This was my first time ever being oulled over and ive never had a run in with the guards before. Only reason for posting here is im wonderng if the guards keep written/digital records of all stops, which could explain what he was writing.

Thanks all for the responses. Id assume he would have told me if i was getting a ticket, or even seized the car as he was in his right to do

The reason was to check that your vehicle was properly taxed and insured.
    also a very powerful car might raise suspicion but only that the driver may not be insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The reason was to check that your vehicle was properly taxed and insured.
    also a very powerful car might raise suspicion but only that the driver may not be insured.

NO , The guard would merely take a note and place a record in pulse of the stoppage,

he cannot to my knowledge check the online status of the motor tax

Which is it?

"Visible reason". How could the guard see no tax disc from behind me? Again, im not questioning the guards motives. And have nothing against being stopped. I just want to know if anyone has an idea what he was writing.

Yes, i have no tax, this is due to not having the log book, thus not having the pin for revenue to tax it.

Im aware the book shouldnt take longer than 2 weeks. I have called the motor tax office and the book has been processed and sent as of monday 8th, they cant help me as to why i havnt got it yet.

That is it. The guard seemed very understanding of this as ive been told they generally are. But am just a bit curious as to what he was writing.

"Visible reason". How could the guard see no tax disc from behind me? Again, im not questioning the guards motives. And have nothing against being stopped. I just want to know if anyone has an idea what he was writing.

Yes, i have no tax, this is due to not having the log book, thus not having the pin for revenue to tax it.

Im aware the book shouldnt take longer than 2 weeks. I have called the motor tax office and the book has been processed and sent as of monday 8th, they cant help me as to why i havnt got it yet.

That is it. The guard seemed very understanding of this as ive been told they generally are. But am just a bit curious as to what he was writing.

you now know that you can tax the vehicle without the log book so have you done that yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

OP

Go to www.motortax.ie

As you said the car is now registered to you add your number plate the the last 6 digits of your Vin and you can tax it

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

A 2L v4 is not a very powerful car!? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Id say youll be grand but one thing there, this whole having to wait for the log book to tax the car is not correct..Recently went through this with the tax office as I got a new car and as per the revenue site I waited until I got the new log book which was about 2/3 weeks later to tax it.. They back taxed it to the day I purchased the car when I said it to them they said whats on the revenue site is not correct.

Many Traffic Corps cars have an ANPR so when they drive behind you it scans your reg and they get a notification you have no tax.

are you sure, I was told there is no online link to the guards in relation to motor tax compliance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

BoatMad wrote:
    are you sure, I was told there is no online link to the guards in relation to motor tax compliance

That was insurance, not tax.

markpb wrote: »
    That was insurance, not tax.

is there an online link for the guards for insurance , I think not either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

OP if logbook comes within the next 10 days , go and tax it , and produce it at a garda station and explain your situation :)

like said above he was probably noting your reg and that you had no tax and if stopped again itll be on system

pudzey101 wrote: »
    OP if logbook comes within the next 10 days , go and tax it , and produce it at a garda station and explain your situation :)

like said above he was probably noting your reg and that you had no tax and if stopped again itll be on system

unless he was asked to present it to a station ( and he would be asked to nominate that station ) , he should do nothing of the sort .

With the Pin too you can apply online and they will email you one

Thanks all for the help. Wasn't aware you could pay without the book. Ill get on that now.

The guards must be able to check ownership as the guard knew i only had it a couple of weeks without telling him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Milly33 wrote: »
    With the Pin too you can apply online and they will email you one

Email you what?

Thabks all for the help. Wasnt aware you could pay withou the book. Ill get on that now.

The guards must be able to check ownership as the guard knew i only had it a couple of weeks without telling him.

yes they have access to the number plate reg and the information behind that m, i.e. the registered owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Email you what?

They'll email you a PIN to tax the car online, the last 6 digits of the VIN is only for newly registered cars.

Email you a Pin to use online for apply for motor tax.

Must say I was quite peed off when I waited to tax it because I read this is what you are suppose to do... I emailed the revenue site about the incorrect information and they said they would look into it but bet tis still the same

Sorry me bad tis the change of ownership on Citizen Info site says

"You cannot tax your vehicle until the registration of the change of ownership has gone through. You can check the status of the vehicle on motortax.ie. You can then renew the motor tax on the vehicle using Form RF100A or online. If the motor tax has already expired, you are not liable for the arrears period from the expiry of the last tax disc to the end of the month immediately preceding the date of sale.See document on motor tax."

That's BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

"You cannot tax your vehicle until the registration of the change of ownership has gone through. You can check the status of the vehicle on motortax.ie. You can then renew the motor tax on the vehicle using Form RF100A or online. If the motor tax has already expired, you are not liable for the arrears period from the expiry of the last tax disc to the end of the month immediately preceding the date of sale.See document on motor tax."

That's BS

what in particular is BS?

That's BS

But that is exactly correct.

If you bought a car on the fifth of may (for example) and the tax had expired since the end of March, you would Pay the tax from the Start of May, and not the start of April.

Booklet arrived this afternoon. paying the tax now. one problem about the arrears

My Booklet transferred to my name on the 29th of april, and was issued on the 7th of may
    the online tax is claiming i owe arrears of 70 eur, dating back to the 1st of april, yet i didnt own the car on the 1st of april?

is this just the way tax is done (monthly calculation) or is there an error of some sort and should i call before paying?

BoatMad wrote: »

There is no live link but Garda records are updated from the motor tax records. This includes the insurance information you input when taxing your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

jordanfaf wrote:
    My Booklet transferred to my name on the 29th of april, and was issued on the 7th of may the online tax is claiming i owe arrears of 70 eur, dating back to the 1st of april, yet i didnt own the car on the 1st of april?

Put it this way, if you had registered as being owner on the 2nd of April do you think you shouldn't be liable for tax in April?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Booklet arrived this afternoon. paying the tax now. one problem about the arrears

My Booklet transferred to my name on the 29th of april, and was issued on the 7th of may
    the online tax is claiming i owe arrears of 70 eur, dating back to the 1st of april, yet i didnt own the car on the 1st of april?

is this just the way tax is done (monthly calculation) or is there an error of some sort and should i call before paying?

Ownership transferred to yo in April so you owe tax for April

Thanks for the help all !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    OP

Go to www.motortax.ie

As you said the car is now registered to you add your number plate the the last 6 digits of your Vin and you can tax it
    that only works when its the first time the car is taxed in Ireland. ie New or just imported. the OPs PIN is the last 6 digits of the VRC serial number but he can also retrieve the pin on motortax.ie

Tax is due from the first day of the month you purchased the car, so you bought the car in April, you pay the entire month of April.

A "nice" car dealer might have dated the documents to the 2/3 May for you, but it too late for that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Deagol

I was stopped years ago one a motorbike that I hadn't taxed for the same reason as you. Mine was actually several months out because previous owner had left the country and shop couldn't get book from him.

Anyway, after being stopped I went to my local garda station and explained the situation. Local Gardai knew I always had bikes and always usually insured / taxed etc and I didn't act the bollix. They contacted the other Garda and he let it drop.

SO, might be worth your while dropping and saying hello to your local ones?

Deagol wrote: »
    I was stopped years ago one a motorbike that I hadn't taxed for the same reason as you. Mine was actually several months out because previous owner had left the country and shop couldn't get book from him.

Anyway, after being stopped I went to my local garda station and explained the situation. Local Gardai knew I always had bikes and always usually insured / taxed etc and I didn't act the bollix. They contacted the other Garda and he let it drop.

SO, might be worth your while dropping and saying hello to your local ones?

If the guard decides to fine me fair enough, i was in the wrong afterall. Wasnt aware i could pay before recieving the book so it my own fault.

He didnt mention any fines or having to produce anything so id say ill be alright !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Im amazed at how long it took to get the book if the car was registered in your name on the 29th of april.I recently purchased a car too and got the book 3 days after it was registered on the system.

I don't think you were stopped because you were a young lad in a high powered clio.The garda was just doing his job,and to be honest a lot of family saloons/hatchbacks these days have 150-200bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

BoatMad wrote: »
    is there an online link for the guards for insurance , I think not either

There isn't for insurance and can't be as policies with no reg are allowed.

There absolutely is for tax