Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Struggling to make friends

• 12-05-2016 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭

Ok so this post could go either way with people telling me to cop on and the likes but I will tell you my story anyway,
    I'm 29 in a few weeks and I feel like a bit of a loner. I have 3 best friends they all are married, Now. I live in Dublin so I don't see them much, anymore,
    I'm 3 years here and I've yet to make a friendship, that lasts, I'm friends with a girl in work but that is literally it,
    I live with a girl who I'm "friends" with but she's a bit of a vampire sucks the life out of me with stories of men rejecting her, and constantly chasing after men,

I've never made a meaningful connection in Dublin.my boyfriend has a lovely big crew of mates like 12 of them, and to be honest sometimes I'm a bit jealous as I'm
    Afraid he will notice I'm a loner,

We're talking about moving in next year and it fills me with dread as he will soon see that I'm living a sad life,
    I'm doing accountancy exams and I try to make friends in college but the class is a lot older than me,

I do not know If it's me and maybe I'm socially awkward but I do know growing up I stuck to my 3 best friends and that was it, which I now regret. The lack of friends has stopped me travelling and I feel like life is passing me by

I don't know what to do; I am scared when I think imagine if I got engaged and had a hen party and who would go! Or my engagement party or even next year my 30th,

I know this is a massive Post but I'd really appreciate any suggestions on how to meet People

Thank you xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Meetup.com is a good starting point. They have groups for literally everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Musical societies are the best place to make friends imo. The craic is had. I wouldn't have had any friends in Dublin if I hadn't started doing shows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Powerfairy

Hi Op. I could have wrote this. I'm also turning 29 soon. In Dublin and feel like I've not many friends except my childhood ones. I can't make any friends in dublin and there's no one I work with that's really around my age.
    I also love travelling and only last year decided I had to do it alone so I go solo now. My boyfriends not really into it. I don't have much advice except to say your not alone in how u feel.

Thanks for your honesty I'm glad I'm not the only one the feels like this, there should be a tinder for friendships :)

Fair play travelling alone I haven't the courage to do that yet

athtrasna wrote: »
    Musical societies are the best place to make friends imo. The craic is had. I wouldn't have had any friends in Dublin if I hadn't started doing shows!

Thanks a mill I was considering joining a toastmasters as I'm not musical but thank you for the suggestion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭fima

Look up GirlCrew on facebook. They will have one for your area and organise nights and days out, meet ups and holidays and the like. Friend of mine in Dublin loves it and she was in a similar position to you. Good luck x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭KikiDee

Hey OP,

I can't recommend meetup.com enough!! I was in a similar position to yourself. I'm 29 now and at a stage of my life where pretty much all of my close friends are settled down with kiddies and stuff that makes it harder for them to do things. So I joined meetup and now head off regularly to various events. The first one is so so nerve wrecking because you're basically meeting strangers with similar interests as you but it got me out of the house and still gets me out of the house.

I wouldn't worry too much about your BF thinking you've got a lonely life. If you're talking about moving in together, you are both obviously in love. I'd be a little more concerned about your own outlook towards your life. We all get to a point in out lives where we feel a bit like this. Just know that you're not alone in this feeling.

KikiDee wrote: »
    Hey OP,

I can't recommend meetup.com enough!! I was in a similar position to yourself. I'm 29 now and at a stage of my life where pretty much all of my close friends are settled down with kiddies and stuff that makes it harder for them to do things. So I joined meetup and now head off regularly to various events. The first one is so so nerve wrecking because you're basically meeting strangers with similar interests as you but it got me out of the house and still gets me out of the house.

I wouldn't worry too much about your BF thinking you've got a lonely life. If you're talking about moving in together, you are both obviously in love. I'd be a little more concerned about your own outlook towards your life. We all get to a point in out lives where we feel a bit like this. Just know that you're not alone in this feeling.

Thank you for your suggestion just joined meet up and girl crew. :) hopefully it works :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I could have wrote this too!!

I am 32, live with my boyfriend and i have a small handful of close friends that due to geographical/family reasons i see now and then. Thats it! My mom is also a good friend.

Its hard -i find social interaction a little hard and i am hugely intimidated by women so i find female friendships very hard to make. People dont want to make friends at this age i think - most people are done.

Sometimes i feel like i am the oddball but other times i think most people have a few close friends and thats it, maybe others look like they have lots of friends but in reality they dont.

I cant force myself to do things i really dont want to - such as going to meetup groups etc. Any sports i was involved in i found no friendships came from those. people just dont want to make friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭easy1

Parchment wrote: »
    I could have wrote this too!!

I am 32, live with my boyfriend and i have a small handful of close friends that due to geographical/family reasons i see now and then. Thats it! My mom is also a good friend.

Its hard -i find social interaction a little hard and i am hugely intimidated by women so i find female friendships very hard to make. People dont want to make friends at this age i think - most people are done.

Sometimes i feel like i am the oddball but other times i think most people have a few close friends and thats it, maybe others look like they have lots of friends but in reality they dont.

I cant force myself to do things i really dont want to - such as going to meetup groups etc. Any sports i was involved in i found no friendships came from those. people just dont want to make friends.

I'm same age as you,live with my partner and I have a child.I can’t believe how much your life sounds just like mine!